Where Have The Characters Gone

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "Good you have a good memory and so do I.Darran was put off on the wrong but yes Donaghy did hit Aida n and got sent off.I remember a worse bang by Ger Brennan v Declan O sullivan in 11 but he did nt get sent off. you mention 15.was nt that the day Philly eye gouged.I remember many things like Mickey O sullivan being stretchered off in 75 to John Finn getting his jaw boke in 85 vDublin to Finbarr Cullen (offaly) getting his jaw broke also v dublin.My memory is fairly good too.Diarmuid Connolly v Cuaran Fitzpatrick v Kildare which can be seen on youtbe not to mention a few biting i ncidents also.Ask Paul Kerrigan of Cork.Oh what a lovely bunch when yiu think about it.Actually Fenton and O Sullivan and the Brogans would nt resort to that but then again they all came from Kerry blood."
Fair play Mick, all good fun, ive never denied in fact you know i have acknowledged we are as gamey as we come. Thats the opposite to the lack of self awareness shown on here from the south west, when it comes to blanket defenses, cynicism, your own staunch defense above is indicative of trying to protect the mental flame of "off the cuff" "whiter then white" projection that Kerry fans like.

Kerry are a great footballing county and the pity it is, it doesn't need to be safe guarded, let their achievements speak for themselves and people will make their own made up even if the twain of opinion doesnt meet. Yee should be comfortable in your skin really. You have to acknowledge some of the dignity, sportsmanship of your own county posters on here is poor and they are intent on being provocative on the wind up.

Look we all know the root cause here of this kick of describing Dublin as robots and Kerry as off the cuff, we're worse for being baited really. we'll all hopefully have a few pints on the day, if we indeed all make the day.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 21/06/2021 13:50:39    2352374

Replying To TheUsername:  "
Replying To avonali:  "[quote=AfricanGael:  "An upper cut like that from CiarraiMick deserves a thumbs up !"
People could trade uppercuts in here un til the. cows come home. What good would that. do?"
You know he and oneoff or ditch are the multis of that very angry Kerry man dont you.

I told him a long time ago, i wouldn't respond to him or any of his usernames."]Good to see you're still trying to claim you're not using multiple accounts.

oneoff (UK) - Posts: 1380 - 21/06/2021 13:56:22    2352380

Replying To TheUsername:  "Fair play Mick, all good fun, ive never denied in fact you know i have acknowledged we are as gamey as we come. Thats the opposite to the lack of self awareness shown on here from the south west, when it comes to blanket defenses, cynicism, your own staunch defense above is indicative of trying to protect the mental flame of "off the cuff" "whiter then white" projection that Kerry fans like.

Kerry are a great footballing county and the pity it is, it doesn't need to be safe guarded, let their achievements speak for themselves and people will make their own made up even if the twain of opinion doesnt meet. Yee should be comfortable in your skin really. You have to acknowledge some of the dignity, sportsmanship of your own county posters on here is poor and they are intent on being provocative on the wind up.

Look we all know the root cause here of this kick of describing Dublin as robots and Kerry as off the cuff, we're worse for being baited really. we'll all hopefully have a few pints on the day, if we indeed all make the day."
I am very comfortable with Kerry s success and Kerry s sportsmanship in general. People can bake up their own minds. I don't have to try. And yes pints will be drank.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3675 - 21/06/2021 14:01:44    2352383

Replying To AfricanGael:  "An upper cut like that from CiarraiMick deserves a thumbs up !"
I'd go's far as to say that it was a hyper upper cut, a beaut.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 21/06/2021 14:02:15    2352384

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "It Was one of your own that was highlighting Kerry s foul play so a reminder was sent. Let he who has not sinned cast the first stone. Also you are picking me up wrong. I have relations r from Dublin and my children are dubs so I'm not saying anything about Dubs in general. I'm just pointing out that certain posters are able to throw in about Kerry s play so I can point out some of Dublin's play Avon. All counties have done bad things and some more than others. We all can throw stones. There an be a nasty undercurrent from some one here and yes some are Kerry but the others are Dublin. It's never praise but constant jibes. Now I know it's a minority but it's not nice. None of us are holier than thou!"
Yes, there was certainly a nasty undercurrent to your post. None of us is holier than thou is certainly true. Maybe that is something we could all reflect on.
But just look at your last few sentences again. You most certainly are saying things about Dubs in general. Your post specifically states that it was the leavening influence of Kerry blood that saved the Brogans, OSullivan and Fenton that from indulging in foul play. Now maybe that was written in anger but it is a silly, nasty comment and you ought acknowledge that.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 21/06/2021 14:04:21    2352385

Replying To TheUsername:  "Fair play Mick, all good fun, ive never denied in fact you know i have acknowledged we are as gamey as we come. Thats the opposite to the lack of self awareness shown on here from the south west, when it comes to blanket defenses, cynicism, your own staunch defense above is indicative of trying to protect the mental flame of "off the cuff" "whiter then white" projection that Kerry fans like.

Look we all know the root cause here of this kick of describing Dublin as robots and Kerry as off the cuff, we're worse for being baited really. we'll all hopefully have a few pints on the day, if we indeed all make the day."
I cant get over how much me calling my team off the cuff footballers (and they are) has got to you, its really rattled you :-)

Anyway we'll look to our own, it's what we do in the kingdom.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 21/06/2021 14:07:06    2352387

Replying To avonali:  "[quote=AfricanGael:  "An upper cut like that from CiarraiMick deserves a thumbs up !"
People could trade uppercuts in here un til the. cows come home. What good would that. do?"
You know he and oneoff or ditch are the multis of that very angry Kerry man dont you.

I told him a long time ago, i wouldn't respond to him or any of his usernames."]The bad news for you is I have only one username

AfricanGael (UK) - Posts: 1947 - 21/06/2021 14:07:44    2352388

I told him a long time ago, i wouldn't respond to him or any of his usernames."]Lol, you stopped talking to me because I showed you up on so many occasions, you were clueless about dublin football when you first arrived on hoganstand and after I had to educate you a few times you couldn't handle that a farmer from the back end of kerry knew more about dublin gaa than you did.

I will say you've studied hard about dublin gaa in the mean time (although you didn't know mick Galvin was managing the dublin a few weeks ago) and you still know little about the game of football its self before 2011.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 21/06/2021 14:54:47    2352398

Replying To avonali:  "Yes, there was certainly a nasty undercurrent to your post. None of us is holier than thou is certainly true. Maybe that is something we could all reflect on.
But just look at your last few sentences again. You most certainly are saying things about Dubs in general. Your post specifically states that it was the leavening influence of Kerry blood that saved the Brogans, OSullivan and Fenton that from indulging in foul play. Now maybe that was written in anger but it is a silly, nasty comment and you ought acknowledge that."
Yes it was said in anger and maybe should have been.it was nt meant as an insult.it was meant more to point out that while some posters constantly put down kerry it is worth remembering that kerry people like myself came to Dublin and some of their children played for Dublin.Brian Fentons Dad is a die hard Kerryman but is thrilled with his sons success and rightly so.Both of Cian O sullivans parents are from Kerry,Brogans Mom etc.In my lifetime watching Dubs win all irelands from76 to present every single team had a child of Kerry on it.Both Kerry and Dublin have shared a great history throughout the years.No insult was meant and if taken i apologise and for the record i certainly am not a bigott.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3675 - 21/06/2021 14:57:06    2352400

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "Yes it was said in anger and maybe should have been.it was nt meant as an insult.it was meant more to point out that while some posters constantly put down kerry it is worth remembering that kerry people like myself came to Dublin and some of their children played for Dublin.Brian Fentons Dad is a die hard Kerryman but is thrilled with his sons success and rightly so.Both of Cian O sullivans parents are from Kerry,Brogans Mom etc.In my lifetime watching Dubs win all irelands from76 to present every single team had a child of Kerry on it.Both Kerry and Dublin have shared a great history throughout the years.No insult was meant and if taken i apologise and for the record i certainly am not a bigott."
Fair play Mick. You are not. a bigot. Apologies for that.
I am well aware of the connections between both counties.
AS you know, my own Dad was a proud Kerryman. He won medals with North Kerry. I can remember the house getting egged when he hung a Kerry flag out the window after the '78 All-Ireland. My first cousins played for. their county at several levels. One of my cousins was a prominent member of of the great Kerry team of the late 2000s.

From what I can see, supporters of both counties -myself included, I regret to say- are equally guilty of dishing out insults. It has been going on for years now. There are Kerry men here who blatantly dislike Dublin and vice versa. The thing is what do you do when you see your county being insulted. Do you respond in kind or do you try to rise above it? The anonymity afforded in a forum such as this can. bring out the worst in all of us.

I guess it takes real restraint to rise above it and not respond in kind- some days I can manage it, other days I just can't resist the impulse to respond in kind. And this is the reason why threads are continually being contaminated and hijacked by the Dublin v Kerry debate. I guess it's utterly selfish of us all to think the whole forum ought to revolve around this stupid conflict. I think it's also linked to a deeper issues like the perceived economic/political/ infrastructura advantagesl enjoyed by Dublin. It's just a variant of the old Dublin V Rest of Ireland debate

Anyway, it's pathetic really to think that grown men and women are happy to spend their time in these rooms slinging insults at each other. We are all as guilty as each other for keeping this idiotic BS going.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 21/06/2021 15:50:33    2352420

Replying To avonali:  "Fair play Mick. You are not. a bigot. Apologies for that.
AS you know, my own Dad was a proud Kerryman. He won medals with North Kerry. I can remember the house getting egged when he hung a Kerry flag out the window after the '78 All-Ireland. My first cousins played for. their county at several levels. One of my cousins was a prominent member of of the great Kerry team of the late 2000s.

From what I can see, supporters of both counties -myself included, I regret to say- are equally guilty of dishing out insults. It has been going on for years now. There are Kerry men here who blatantly dislike Dublin and vice versa. The thing is what do you do when you see your county being insulted. Do you respond in kind or do you try to rise above it? The anonymity afforded in a forum such as this can. bring out the worst in all of us.

I guess it takes real restraint to rise above it and not respond in kind- some days I can manage it, other days I just can't resist the impulse to respond in kind. And this is the reason why threads are continually being contaminated and hijacked by the Dublin v Kerry debate. I guess it's utterly selfish of us all to think the whole forum ought to revolve around this stupid conflict. I think it's also linked to a deeper issues like the perceived economic/political/ infrastructura advantagesl enjoyed by Dublin. It's just a variant of the old Dublin V Rest of Ireland debate

Anyway, it's pathetic really to think that grown men and women are happy to spend their time in these rooms slinging insults at each other. We are all as guilty as each other for keeping this idiotic BS going."
Amen to that Avonali.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3675 - 21/06/2021 16:39:54    2352433

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "
Replying To avonali:  "Fair play Mick. You are not. a bigot. Apologies for that.

Anyway, it's pathetic really to think that grown men and women are happy to spend their time in these rooms slinging insults at each other. We are all as guilty as each other for keeping this idiotic BS going."
Amen to that Avonali."
I remember pre internet the rivalry between Kerry/Dublin was brilliant. Win lose or draw all got on well and discussed the match over a few pints. It's still like that to a degree but sadly internet forums created a platform for silly slagging and trash talking teams history and achievements. I take most opinions here with a pinch of salt. Let's look forward and enjoy this year's championship. Ciarrai Abu.

GreenAndGold74 (Kerry) - Posts: 194 - 21/06/2021 18:47:13    2352453

I'd have to agree that all this squabbling is very off putting and shouldn't arise. Some posters, well one in particular, cannot contain their jealousy and anger and is only here to ruin any meaningful discussion.
Pity this sort of thing cannot be better controlled.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 21/06/2021 19:13:52    2352454

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "It Was one of your own that was highlighting Kerry s foul play so a reminder was sent. Let he who has not sinned cast the first stone. Also you are picking me up wrong. I have relations r from Dublin and my children are dubs so I'm not saying anything about Dubs in general. I'm just pointing out that certain posters are able to throw in about Kerry s play so I can point out some of Dublin's play Avon. All counties have done bad things and some more than others. We all can throw stones. There an be a nasty undercurrent from some one here and yes some are Kerry but the others are Dublin. It's never praise but constant jibes. Now I know it's a minority but it's not nice. None of us are holier than thou!"
Jaysus Michael but that's fair bitter stuff for such a nice man. I think you'd be better laying off this aul forum when your in that mood or you could be mistaken for Tommy boy.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 21/06/2021 19:20:05    2352457

Replying To GreenAndGold74:  "
Replying To CiarraiMick:  "[quote=avonali:  "Fair play Mick. You are not. a bigot. Apologies for that.

Amen to that Avonali."
I remember pre internet the rivalry between Kerry/Dublin was brilliant. Win lose or draw all got on well and discussed the match over a few pints. It's still like that to a degree but sadly internet forums created a platform for silly slagging and trash talking teams history and achievements. I take most opinions here with a pinch of salt. Let's look forward and enjoy this year's championship. Ciarrai Abu."]You're dead right GreenAndGold74. These forums are not great for relations and are always going to attract those who are going to use them as a means to vent their frustrations. You know as soon as you start winning it's only a matter of time before the begrudgers appear.
Personally, I don't think they represent the opinions of most decent supporters and seem to bring out the worst in some.
Anyway, the real talking and all that matters is done on the pitch.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 21/06/2021 19:29:29    2352460

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "You're entitled to watch what you want Avon, we got bate fair and square by Cork last year and iv no problem with that, and it could well happen again thís year, it might even happen Saturday evening.

Our management were to blame for us playing only 4 forward last year on a god awful night away from home, but it looks like our management might have learnt their lesson as we're back to playing the the proper swashbuckling attacking off the cuff kerry football that we're used to down here.

Like I said last week, we don't win allirelands anymore (but nobody does outside of dublin) but we play a great style of football."
There were 2 great 'footballing ' games between us in 2013 & 2016, we won both.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8591 - 21/06/2021 19:30:27    2352461

Replying To GreenAndGold74:  "
Replying To CiarraiMick:  "[quote=avonali:  "Fair play Mick. You are not. a bigot. Apologies for that.

Amen to that Avonali."
I remember pre internet the rivalry between Kerry/Dublin was brilliant. Win lose or draw all got on well and discussed the match over a few pints. It's still like that to a degree but sadly internet forums created a platform for silly slagging and trash talking teams history and achievements. I take most opinions here with a pinch of salt. Let's look forward and enjoy this year's championship. Ciarrai Abu."]Well said Green and Gold.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3675 - 21/06/2021 20:14:47    2352467

Replying To catch22:  "Jaysus Michael but that's fair bitter stuff for such a nice man. I think you'd be better laying off this aul forum when your in that mood or you could be mistaken for Tommy boy."
You said all this squabbing is very off putting and you do exactly the same in the very next post -)

KY4SAM2015 (Kerry) - Posts: 898 - 21/06/2021 20:43:04    2352472

Replying To KY4SAM2015:  "You said all this squabbing is very off putting and you do exactly the same in the very next post -)"
I was only pointing out the fact that it's a fine line before you end up posting like some of the worst offenders.
Sure what's wrong with that like ?

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 21/06/2021 21:24:29    2352479

Replying To KY4SAM2015:  "You said all this squabbing is very off putting and you do exactly the same in the very next post -)"
Sorry wrong thread.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 21/06/2021 21:27:35    2352480