Advertisement

Meath V Dublin Leinster Final.

Replying To Fionn:  "Not for an upcoming force that is Meath...
As you said - very unlucky in most of their Div 1 games. Held their own in most of those matches.
Scoring for fun - and very few injuries to use as an excuse this time. ;o)

Maybe another holiday will be paid for again RD... lol"
You never know. Only thing it most likely be in Westmeath:).

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 16/11/2020 12:34:50    2309987

Replying To Fionn:  "Sorry, Ollie...

The ref was so bloody wrong that day....
Didnt even ask the umpires for their view - just told him to raise the green flag...
10yrs on and the hurt is still there for Louth fans and players.
Definitely not a Leinster title I would still be going on about and celebrating, if I was a Meath fan... ;o)

It was the aftermath of this game, I think, that was the end of fans allowed onto the pitch to celebrate a victory.
I am sure to be corrected if I am wrong on that."
Yes Fionn, that game and it's immediate aftermath was the death knell for fans being allowed to rush onto the pitch. It was the perfect excuse to bring an end to it; they were trying to get it out of the game for a long time before it and sadly from a Meath perspective; yet more controversy followed the tale of the green jersey. I dont know a real Meath football person who even likes to make an uttererance of that game.

Ollie, that game is still always very close to the nerve of every Louth person I know, and I know a lot. As you said its best not to mention the war. What is the situation with the new Louth manager? Or is there any list of candidates?

Young_gael (Meath) - Posts: 627 - 16/11/2020 12:35:46    2309989

Replying To royaldunne:  "You never know. Only thing it most likely be in Westmeath:)."
LOL - class.

You could always get a new kitchen for the Mrs... ;o)

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 5282 - 16/11/2020 12:40:13    2309992

Replying To JoeSoap:  "Yeah I would agree with that, Laois got some joy on their own kickout but were quite wasteful and made poor decisions with the ball. I'd expect playing at a higher level the Meath lads will be a bit smarter once you get your hands on the ball.

I think if there is any doubt it's better to lump it long for a 50/50 than risk a short one getting intercepted, personally. The momentum swings that can occur in games when a short kickout goes wrong is huge and the Dubs are good enough without anyone helping them!

I hope it's a good competitive match as I said I really like this Meath side, lots of very good footballers in my view and a strong Meath is great for the GAA."
Appreciate that. I think if one team knows this Meath set up its Donegal. Unfortunately we have came out on the wrong sides of very close games. But got to say the two trips to ballybofey a couple of years ago, one with a unreal frost on the roads and snow, the other been the hottest day of the year last year was very entertaining, and despite been terribly outnumbered I found the Donegal supporters vocal but not disparaging ( I'm quite vocal myself) and my hand was sore at the end of the Super 8 game with people coming up to me . So despite what went before in the 90s there's a new found respect between both counties.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 16/11/2020 12:43:55    2309995

Replying To Fionn:  "LOL - class.

You could always get a new kitchen for the Mrs... ;o)"
Oh jasus don't let her hear you saying that

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 16/11/2020 12:44:34    2309997

Replying To JoeSoap:  "I really like this Meath side and think they are on the right path however if you don't have security in your own kickout then you are going nowhere against the Dubs, we can talk all day about individual defenders, blanket defence, man-on-man, athleticism, goals in the Meath forward line, it'll all be irrelevant unless Meath can secure 90% of their own ball and pressure Cluxtons as well.

In that regard I think Meath will put up a very decent fight but eventually they just won't starve the Dubs of enough ball and the Dubs will do what they do.

The hope I would give Meath is that Dublin looked very sloppy to me against Laois before they got the first goal (I know they had a couple goal chances before the one they converted in the first half). Meath are a much better side than Laois and I would back them to build a lead given that same first 20 minutes that Laois had against the Dubs (Laois also missed quite a few chances). However Dublin tend to figure things out pretty quick even if they're having an off day so as I said, possession is the biggest thing - if Meath get a few points up then the big thing then is securing your own ball. It takes the pressure off hugely and no doubt about it, Dublin will go after your kickout."
I think you have hit the nail squarely on the head Joe. The kickouts are our to our downfall. It has cost us in every game we have played against top sides, I count at least 4/5 games we should have won but for the issue of kickouts/winning ball/ and giving away easy points and goals from goalkeeping fumbles. At this level it is what keeps Meath down, and it is the elephant in the room of all of our collective excitement for the match. Then again, it didnt really come into play vs. Kildare... even if they did look better in the middle for a lot of the game.

Young_gael (Meath) - Posts: 627 - 16/11/2020 12:45:50    2309998

Replying To Fionn:  "LOL - class.

You could always get a new kitchen for the Mrs... ;o)"
And worse still. She's a dub. I can't get away from you lot. Although I have brainwashed all the kids into the royal ways. She still won't commit to fully been royal,

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 16/11/2020 12:47:37    2310001

Replying To royaldunne:  "And worse still. She's a dub. I can't get away from you lot. Although I have brainwashed all the kids into the royal ways. She still won't commit to fully been royal,"
You might have brainwashed the kids to Green but they still have Dublin blood in them so that is a blessing in disguise for them. That extra something will stand to them in the long run...
lol

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 5282 - 16/11/2020 12:55:37    2310008

Replying To jimbodub:  "It's been a long time since I cursed at the TV watching a match

But both Fenton and Scully ballsing up brilliant moves in the 1st half got a rise out of me.. lol

Scully receives a sublimely weighted cross field pass right into his run, mishandles it, ball gets away from him and then takes the wrong option

Dublin have a great forward unit, highly effective and their shot accuracy percentages are very good, in fact record setting, but they don't have an out and out goal finisher and it's common to see them fluff chances."
Con O'Callaghan for me is an out and out goal scorer Jimbo. Doesn't seem to be at the races so far this season, although he usually saves his best performances for the big games against the big teams. So its unlikely he will perform on Saturday ;)

ConnollyDub (Dublin) - Posts: 2007 - 16/11/2020 12:57:14    2310010

Replying To Fionn:  "You might have brainwashed the kids to Green but they still have Dublin blood in them so that is a blessing in disguise for them. That extra something will stand to them in the long run...
lol"
Haha. Nope .

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 16/11/2020 13:02:01    2310014

Replying To ConnollyDub:  "Con O'Callaghan for me is an out and out goal scorer Jimbo. Doesn't seem to be at the races so far this season, although he usually saves his best performances for the big games against the big teams. So its unlikely he will perform on Saturday ;)"
Don't worry we will see a real goal poacher on Saturday in Jordan Morris. He scores against anyone :)

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 16/11/2020 13:03:34    2310016

Replying To ConnollyDub:  "Con O'Callaghan for me is an out and out goal scorer Jimbo. Doesn't seem to be at the races so far this season, although he usually saves his best performances for the big games against the big teams. So its unlikely he will perform on Saturday ;)"
;o)

I looked at Mannion and when he came on, like Con, he was doing huge work to open spaces for others.

There is no way Dessie will continue with the same tactic if we are in a really tight game.
Use both to their strengths when it is really needed.

Lots of our players still to hit top form this year. Let's see what Sat brings in terms of improvement on that front.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 5282 - 16/11/2020 13:08:01    2310020

Replying To royaldunne:  "Don't worry we will see a real goal poacher on Saturday in Jordan Morris. He scores against anyone :)"
Dessie or the Dubs wont be taking him or anything for granted.

"They've been performing really well of late. We obviously played them in the league a couple of weeks ago in Parnell Park and they will probably feel hard done by that they didn't come away from that game with something.
"So they're in a good place and they've racked up some really big scores. In this game, scoring goals at the rate they're scoring, it definitely warrants plenty of attention, that's for sure," said Dessie.
"We're under no illusions about what lies in store for us next weekend," added the Dublin manager.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 5282 - 16/11/2020 13:11:18    2310022

Replying To Htaem:  "I think to beat Dublin, we need to be ferocious in defense for the whole game, win most of our own kickouts and pressure Dublin's (this has been a real area of weakness for us), drastically improve our supply into the forwards, move the ball much quicker and take plenty of chances up front.

.....also a magic monkey paw which grants wishes wouldn't go astray!"
I think the problem with Dublin is that you have to change your game plan to play Dublin. For instance Meath wont be going toe to toe with Dublin the way they did Vs Wicklow or Kildare. They could but more often then not that just lets Dublin operate in the spaces they want and free run to trigger their quality. Elsewise teams come with a rigid defensive structure or game plan like we saw last year. Most counties change how they play when they play Dublin. Its a strange one, because its obviously something the players aren't used to.

To beat Dublin you need to do what Dublin to, be very good at the back and have a decent defensive structure when you are under the cosh and also have a dead eye attack to score 20+, you need both those things in balance and you have to do it with having better quality of players then Dublin, which is d9iffciult for any county. If you cant do that you are either going defensive or wide open and backing yourself in a shoot out. Elsewise you might get a bit of luck with bad conditions like Tyrone in the league or a sending off like Kerry in the first final last year and you need to power home that advantage.

In all i describe above i thin Doengal are best placed to have a right cut of us and be confident in beating us, but id have a few ideas to hurt them them to.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4541 - 16/11/2020 13:14:13    2310025

Replying To jimbodub:  "They will undoubtedly be much more conservative against Dublin

They had success frustrating Dublin in last year's final but the trade off was that they got juiced and weren't much use up front

They'll try and turn us over and counter

Dubs have to be wary not to be running into swarm tackles and just do the right things that they know well. Hold the ball when necessary etc

They want turn over ball and run at Dublin with pace, negate that as much as possible and they won't score enough

It'll be a nip tuck first half but Dublins fitness levels look really good at present. Hard tackling and playing with purpose right up to the final whistle in both games so far while being able to inject quality from the bench

Dublin aren't functioning 100% up front. Con has been quite on the board but doing an awful lot of work. Hopefully he will click again, Kilkenny is doing the heavy scoring. Mannion just coming back in is a big boost.

Think we're missing an out and out goal finisher at present, pity regarding Basquel. I really think he's it."
I think Dessie is looking at the early stages of Leinster as developing a few lads, Jim, Lahiff, P Small and Bugler etc. These lads are doing well and are getting vital championship experience and exposure - hes looking to the future. Think bugler may have well played himself into the starting 15, but i wont be surprised to see PSmall and Lahiff drop out for Howard and Mannion myself.

I think Con and Ciaran are playing like they did in 2018 with Ciaran inside and Con at 11. Both can flip and play either role in any or during any game. If Con goes goes inside ive no doubt about him. I was thinking to myself yesterday ive never seen Con waste a ball, he just give so much. Its getting to the stage were Kilkenny and Con are able to flood the half forward line - if playing against a blanket and the full forward line if we are getting joy in behind. I think when Mannion comes back in i think we will stretch teams more with his pace and nous. Elsewise the bench and Subs yesterday was so strong - Cormac coming in and scoring 7 in 20 mins, amazing.

One thing I've noticed this championship under Dessie, is that while we aren't relying on one players to score loads, the amount of players scoring is actually ridiculous, all throughout the team, huge breath of scorers, from everywhere all chipping in - i love to say that, its brilliant collective team work. it bodes massively well. I thought we were brilliant yesterday defensively.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4541 - 16/11/2020 13:24:53    2310035

Replying To TheUsername:  "I think Dessie is looking at the early stages of Leinster as developing a few lads, Jim, Lahiff, P Small and Bugler etc. These lads are doing well and are getting vital championship experience and exposure - hes looking to the future. Think bugler may have well played himself into the starting 15, but i wont be surprised to see PSmall and Lahiff drop out for Howard and Mannion myself.

I think Con and Ciaran are playing like they did in 2018 with Ciaran inside and Con at 11. Both can flip and play either role in any or during any game. If Con goes goes inside ive no doubt about him. I was thinking to myself yesterday ive never seen Con waste a ball, he just give so much. Its getting to the stage were Kilkenny and Con are able to flood the half forward line - if playing against a blanket and the full forward line if we are getting joy in behind. I think when Mannion comes back in i think we will stretch teams more with his pace and nous. Elsewise the bench and Subs yesterday was so strong - Cormac coming in and scoring 7 in 20 mins, amazing.

One thing I've noticed this championship under Dessie, is that while we aren't relying on one players to score loads, the amount of players scoring is actually ridiculous, all throughout the team, huge breath of scorers, from everywhere all chipping in - i love to say that, its brilliant collective team work. it bodes massively well. I thought we were brilliant yesterday defensively."
Good post and some very good points.

Dont forget Kev Mc and MDMA were unused subs yesterday also.
Delighted for CC yesterday - as you say - 7pts in 20mins. Remarkable.

Still expect Con to up his scoring rate and with Mannion back too....

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 5282 - 16/11/2020 13:52:53    2310053

I have said it before on here that this is going to be the year Meath return to the top.

muckla (UK) - Posts: 373 - 16/11/2020 13:57:13    2310056

Replying To muckla:  "I have said it before on here that this is going to be the year Meath return to the top."
Well if they beat Dublin and then Donegal and then Mayo - they certainly have returned to the Top....

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 5282 - 16/11/2020 14:00:01    2310060

Replying To Fionn:  "Well if they beat Dublin and then Donegal and then Mayo - they certainly have returned to the Top...."
Ha jaysus when you put it like that it sounds easy.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 16/11/2020 14:11:15    2310068

Replying To TheUsername:  "I think the problem with Dublin is that you have to change your game plan to play Dublin. For instance Meath wont be going toe to toe with Dublin the way they did Vs Wicklow or Kildare. They could but more often then not that just lets Dublin operate in the spaces they want and free run to trigger their quality. Elsewise teams come with a rigid defensive structure or game plan like we saw last year. Most counties change how they play when they play Dublin. Its a strange one, because its obviously something the players aren't used to.

To beat Dublin you need to do what Dublin to, be very good at the back and have a decent defensive structure when you are under the cosh and also have a dead eye attack to score 20+, you need both those things in balance and you have to do it with having better quality of players then Dublin, which is d9iffciult for any county. If you cant do that you are either going defensive or wide open and backing yourself in a shoot out. Elsewise you might get a bit of luck with bad conditions like Tyrone in the league or a sending off like Kerry in the first final last year and you need to power home that advantage.

In all i describe above i thin Doengal are best placed to have a right cut of us and be confident in beating us, but id have a few ideas to hurt them them to."
Not sure teams are changing their tactics to play Dublin. Almost everyone is playing the same style. When you're attacking it's close to a full court basketball style attack. Even the full back line is joining in the attack at times. And naturally if you flood players forward than the defending team is flooding players back. Then teams pass ball around the 45 waiting for an incisive run, space to open up, or to draw a free. Often times the defending teams, including Dublin, end up with 15 players in their own half when defending. Hence why we see the likes of Con or Rock back in their own full back line defending, they're simply tracking their opposite number a lot of the time.

But obviously when most teams play Dublin, Dublin tend to dominate possession so teams naturally fall back to track the runners. But it's not really any different to the defensive system Dublin employs. Dublin just have much better players. McGuinness and Donaghy have both described this in detail. Other than small variations most teams are setting up identically. Meath have played pretty much the same system last year as they have this year. They will play the same way again next weekend. But unlike against Kildare they'll probably find themselves pinned back into their own half due to Dublin controlling possession which will be helped hugely by Meath's poor kickouts.

HighKings (Meath) - Posts: 271 - 16/11/2020 14:12:37    2310069