Advertisement

Meath V Dublin Leinster Final.

Bring it on.
This has been the goal that has been set since last years draw. We hugely underperformed last time we met in championship, it's great to be still in championship with likes of Kerry galway Tyrone all gone on their winter breaks. Dublin of course will be rightly raging hot favourites for this game .
Meath will go for goals and lots of them. We have finishers now that are always looking for goal. Can't wait for Saturday tbh.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 15/11/2020 17:07:05    2309349

Get the popcorn lads this'll be good

mhunicean_abu (Monaghan) - Posts: 1106 - 15/11/2020 17:28:28    2309382

Replying To royaldunne:  "Bring it on.
This has been the goal that has been set since last years draw. We hugely underperformed last time we met in championship, it's great to be still in championship with likes of Kerry galway Tyrone all gone on their winter breaks. Dublin of course will be rightly raging hot favourites for this game .
Meath will go for goals and lots of them. We have finishers now that are always looking for goal. Can't wait for Saturday tbh."
Dublin will easily beat Meath next Saturday, there's no doubt that Meath have improved since last year but still some way behind Dublin, there's a big difference between beating Wicklow and Kildare and then playing Dublin, i don't mean to be disrespectful but Meath hold absolutely no fear for Dublin sure why would they? If Meath keep Dublin down to a 10 point win i think that would be a great achievement for them but somehow i don't even think that will happen!

DUBJOHN (Dublin) - Posts: 973 - 15/11/2020 17:32:47    2309384

Surely it'll be in a neutral ground like Tullamore or Portlaoise. No argument not to have it in a neutral ground this time, no fans.

icehonesty (Wexford) - Posts: 2598 - 15/11/2020 17:35:12    2309390

Replying To mhunicean_abu:  "Get the popcorn lads this'll be good"
It be good in looking through through your fingers in a horror film sort way with Dublin taking on the role of Freddie Krueger! #Massacre !

DUBJOHN (Dublin) - Posts: 973 - 15/11/2020 17:35:43    2309393

Meath will go for goals and lots of them. We have finishers now that are always looking for goal. Can't wait for Saturday tbh."
Ah sure it'll be better game this time I'd say. Surely Meath have improved from the 4 over Cluxton debacle.
I'd fancy them to keep it tight and could be tough day for the Dubs.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 15/11/2020 17:36:57    2309395

Ah sure it'll be better game this time I'd say. Surely Meath have improved from the 4 over Cluxton debacle.
I'd fancy them to keep it tight and could be tough day for the Dubs.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 15/11/2020 17:36:57    2309396

Looking forward to it old pal, ye look like a different proposition this year, let's see :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8821 - 15/11/2020 17:37:54    2309398

The best team ever to play the game vs a second rate division 2 team?

Dublin to rout Meath by 10+ points.

I will eat my hat if I am wrong.

Wally (Tyrone) - Posts: 941 - 15/11/2020 17:44:59    2309402

Did anyone mention we're going for 10 Leinster titles in a row?

Surely if any team isn't going to let us do that it's Meath.............

*Runs.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4541 - 15/11/2020 17:48:03    2309403

Sadly as Roscommon, Armagh, Laois; good strong Div 2 teams and two of them now Div 1 and part of that 6 - 12 range along with Meath have shown the top 3 - 4 are streets ahead and on another level.

Cork bucked the trend but I actually think Cork have the biggest potential outside the top 5 to get amongst it in 2021 and might end up in this years All Ireland Final.

Meath will go the same way as Armagh, Roscommon and Laois; hopefully I'm wrong and we see the re emergence of a strong Meath team but sadly I don't see it.

Dublin by 15 plus which will be depressing for the Leinster championship and teams outside the top counties.

sam1884 (UK) - Posts: 999 - 15/11/2020 17:49:51    2309408

Sure look it, we'll turn up for a little kick about next saturday night but it's a big ask for amateurs to beat professionals!

I think Dublin winning 10 Leinsters in a row is a phenomenal achievement despite their massive financial advantage and I'd like to congratulate them on their victory.

There'll be serious celebrations in Meath next saturday.....where most of the Dubs now live :-)

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 15/11/2020 17:50:21    2309410

14 scores will be nowhere near enough even if half are goals. Meath very flat in 1st half and poor in own kick out. Fenton and Kilkenny look better than ever and need to be stopping from lording it as they have done up to now. Other Dublin players have major improvement to make also. If Meath can get some platform with possession, it couldn't be interesting but its a massive task.

winatallcost (Meath) - Posts: 1056 - 15/11/2020 17:55:03    2309413

Meath will "hope" to get goals..

But will setup quite defensively and try to counter when they can

I hope they go gung-ho and setup accordingly but Royaldunne and Co talk a good game online but reality is a very different thing

Look at Meaths Division 1 table stats, look at Meaths super 8 stats from last year.

Bring it on is right

Anything over 4 pts for Meath will be seen as progress ;)

I really hope Meath do go all out

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 15/11/2020 17:56:44    2309419

How I miss the old days when a Meath team could take lumps out of the city slickers. Keep your wisecracks and your attitude and see if you can meet your bark with bite. All codding aside I got lured into a forum like this in Spring 2019 when Meath were to play the Dubs in a Leinster Final and I dont want to go down that rabbit hole again on a personal note. We're all excited for this game, it has huge tradition. However, If a certain Meath poster could throw his phone in a safe and lock it until next saturday and save us all the embarrassment it'd mean a lot, sincerely, the entirety of the forum and particularly the Meath element.

Young_gael (Meath) - Posts: 627 - 15/11/2020 18:09:00    2309436

Replying To realdub:  "Looking forward to it old pal, ye look like a different proposition this year, let's see :D"
Ahh we are. In fairness we were last year too, only our forwards would have missed the davin stand never mind the posts A big change in the forwards this year. The new young lads have added a new dynamic to the team.
Morris is some player not only a finisher. He can track back too.
I do think we have a bigger shout than some will think. And that suits us just fine.
The only pity my only friend is that we have to watch it on tv

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 15/11/2020 18:09:06    2309437

Has anyone mentioned Dublin are going for 10 Leinster Championship in a row. The first time any county will have achieved 10 provincials in a row.

Surely if any team can stop them it's Meath...........

*Runs

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4541 - 15/11/2020 18:14:11    2309446

Replying To icehonesty:  "Surely it'll be in a neutral ground like Tullamore or Portlaoise. No argument not to have it in a neutral ground this time, no fans."
Sure why not !

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2904 - 15/11/2020 18:15:05    2309449

Meath to look strong, they're a very balanced team with good players all over the field. Kick outs will be their biggest problem I'd say when Dublin put their press on. They haven't found a good goalkeeper have they? 12 goals in 2 games is phenomenal, it's be great if they could get 2 or 3 again, a big ask though. I think they'll put in an encouraging performance and keep it to 5 or 6 points. Howard and Mannion will surely start for Dublin?

Kerry15 (Kerry) - Posts: 996 - 15/11/2020 18:21:03    2309459

Replying To mhunicean_abu:  "Get the popcorn lads this'll be good"
Excellent post. Lol

thegadfly (Cavan) - Posts: 299 - 15/11/2020 18:29:43    2309469