Advertisement

Meath V Dublin Leinster Final.

Replying To Htaem:  "Sure look it, we'll turn up for a little kick about next saturday night but it's a big ask for amateurs to beat professionals!

I think Dublin winning 10 Leinsters in a row is a phenomenal achievement despite their massive financial advantage and I'd like to congratulate them on their victory.

There'll be serious celebrations in Meath next saturday.....where most of the Dubs now live :-)"
Professionals ?

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2904 - 15/11/2020 18:37:25    2309485

Great to see Mannion, Howard, Costello & Phillly get game time today.
MDMA, Kev Mc & others still to come in also.

Need to be on top form to stop the Royal Express next Sat night though.
Meath nearly scoring as many goals as points these days....

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 5282 - 15/11/2020 18:45:44    2309495

Replying To royaldunne:  "Ahh we are. In fairness we were last year too, only our forwards would have missed the davin stand never mind the posts A big change in the forwards this year. The new young lads have added a new dynamic to the team.
Morris is some player not only a finisher. He can track back too.
I do think we have a bigger shout than some will think. And that suits us just fine.
The only pity my only friend is that we have to watch it on tv"
Yeh its a load of crap isn't it! And surely I'm not your ONLY friend :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8821 - 15/11/2020 18:51:01    2309498

Replying To royaldunne:  "Ahh we are. In fairness we were last year too, only our forwards would have missed the davin stand never mind the posts A big change in the forwards this year. The new young lads have added a new dynamic to the team.
Morris is some player not only a finisher. He can track back too.
I do think we have a bigger shout than some will think. And that suits us just fine.
The only pity my only friend is that we have to watch it on tv"
Yeh its a load of crap isn't it! And surely I'm not your ONLY friend :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8821 - 15/11/2020 18:51:04    2309499

Replying To Young_gael:  "How I miss the old days when a Meath team could take lumps out of the city slickers. Keep your wisecracks and your attitude and see if you can meet your bark with bite. All codding aside I got lured into a forum like this in Spring 2019 when Meath were to play the Dubs in a Leinster Final and I dont want to go down that rabbit hole again on a personal note. We're all excited for this game, it has huge tradition. However, If a certain Meath poster could throw his phone in a safe and lock it until next saturday and save us all the embarrassment it'd mean a lot, sincerely, the entirety of the forum and particularly the Meath element."
In fairness I think a certain Meath poster is a good Meath fan and is entitled to post here like the rest of us.

I don't doubt you're a sincere Meath fan young_gael and I genuinely do like a lot of your posts, but you seem to be on the apologetic side. I don't know if you're just looking for likes but it comes across as pandering to people who probably pleasure themselves to the sight of Meath being beaten.

One feature of the successful Meath teams under Boylan was we didn't give a single fcuk what anybody thought of us and personally that's how I feel and it makes winning all the sweeter.

Now I'm not unrealistic, I know we face a huge task in 6 days time, but we might as well just enjoy the craic on here and not worry too much about what others may think or say about us.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 15/11/2020 18:56:40    2309503

Nothing like stirring the pot early, but watching the Dubs in the Leinster championship over this past 5 years has been akin to being made to watch the same episode of Fair City over and over again, here's hoping Meath can make it stop

mhunicean_abu (Monaghan) - Posts: 1106 - 15/11/2020 19:06:50    2309513

Replying To Htaem:  "In fairness I think a certain Meath poster is a good Meath fan and is entitled to post here like the rest of us.

I don't doubt you're a sincere Meath fan young_gael and I genuinely do like a lot of your posts, but you seem to be on the apologetic side. I don't know if you're just looking for likes but it comes across as pandering to people who probably pleasure themselves to the sight of Meath being beaten.

One feature of the successful Meath teams under Boylan was we didn't give a single fcuk what anybody thought of us and personally that's how I feel and it makes winning all the sweeter.

Now I'm not unrealistic, I know we face a huge task in 6 days time, but we might as well just enjoy the craic on here and not worry too much about what others may think or say about us."
Wel Htaem you can think and say as you please but dont assume Im here looking for likes like a teenager on tiktok because I hold my posters to a different standard than you do. I agree being a Meath fan is a lonely road and its hard to find any support among neutrals for varying reasons, and yes for that reason alone any time we are succeeding and going even semi-decently it is sweet; because it sickens thousands of begrudgers across the land, but c'mere to me, apologetic?! Not a chance. Im every bit a proper Meath supporter in real life as anyone, but it isnt real life, this is a nationwide forum... and a few bad apples spoils the barrel in relation to a good debate and a bit of craic in my view. Thats my point. Everyone like this because im mad for likes. Im sitting in my race car bed in my granny's basement and i need the validation.

Young_gael (Meath) - Posts: 627 - 15/11/2020 19:08:49    2309517

Replying To Htaem:  "In fairness I think a certain Meath poster is a good Meath fan and is entitled to post here like the rest of us.

Now I'm not unrealistic, I know we face a huge task in 6 days time, but we might as well just enjoy the craic on here and not worry too much about what others may think or say about us."
You can tell he hasn't seen much success as a Meath fan, must be under 20. You don't slag off people from your own county in the hope for likes while licking up to Dubs. That's the kind of thing Kildare fans do.

Just look what the mass importation of howyas has done to our royal county!

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1352 - 15/11/2020 19:11:27    2309518

Replying To realdub:  "Yeh its a load of crap isn't it! And surely I'm not your ONLY friend :D"
Haha.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 15/11/2020 19:29:34    2309543

Well said sir. Well said.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 15/11/2020 19:30:56    2309544

Replying To Crinigan:  "You can tell he hasn't seen much success as a Meath fan, must be under 20. You don't slag off people from your own county in the hope for likes while licking up to Dubs. That's the kind of thing Kildare fans do.

Just look what the mass importation of howyas has done to our royal county!"
Howyas hehehe.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 15/11/2020 19:33:44    2309551

Replying To Young_gael:  "Wel Htaem you can think and say as you please but dont assume Im here looking for likes like a teenager on tiktok because I hold my posters to a different standard than you do. I agree being a Meath fan is a lonely road and its hard to find any support among neutrals for varying reasons, and yes for that reason alone any time we are succeeding and going even semi-decently it is sweet; because it sickens thousands of begrudgers across the land, but c'mere to me, apologetic?! Not a chance. Im every bit a proper Meath supporter in real life as anyone, but it isnt real life, this is a nationwide forum... and a few bad apples spoils the barrel in relation to a good debate and a bit of craic in my view. Thats my point. Everyone like this because im mad for likes. Im sitting in my race car bed in my granny's basement and i need the validation."
You made 4 valid points there

You're definitely a true Meath man

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 15/11/2020 19:38:41    2309556

Replying To Young_gael:  "Wel Htaem you can think and say as you please but dont assume Im here looking for likes like a teenager on tiktok because I hold my posters to a different standard than you do. I agree being a Meath fan is a lonely road and its hard to find any support among neutrals for varying reasons, and yes for that reason alone any time we are succeeding and going even semi-decently it is sweet; because it sickens thousands of begrudgers across the land, but c'mere to me, apologetic?! Not a chance. Im every bit a proper Meath supporter in real life as anyone, but it isnt real life, this is a nationwide forum... and a few bad apples spoils the barrel in relation to a good debate and a bit of craic in my view. Thats my point. Everyone like this because im mad for likes. Im sitting in my race car bed in my granny's basement and i need the validation."
Ah look again, I wouldn't worry about the begrudgers, most of them are out of the championship already anyway and the only interest they have left is to watch us being beaten, it's hilarious and pathetic in equal measures.

But we certainly don't need to be 'embarrassed' by other Meath posters or ask them not to post just to please others.

If you wish for genuine debate then you can have it on here, you can choose who you want to interact with, you're not compelled to interact with anyone.

Anyway that's the last thing I'll say on this because again, I do think you're good Meath fan and us bickering will achieve nothing.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 15/11/2020 19:43:00    2309562

Replying To Crinigan:  "You can tell he hasn't seen much success as a Meath fan, must be under 20. You don't slag off people from your own county in the hope for likes while licking up to Dubs. That's the kind of thing Kildare fans do.

Just look what the mass importation of howyas has done to our royal county!"
Young Gael take note..

You need to act a certain way to conform to the hyperbole bollix that your fellow County men spout in the lead up to a Dublin v Meath match

Say stuff like "bring it on" , "we're not afraid" "well at least we got within 8pts" , "we can build again in Div 2" "remember the 90's" etc

You need to stick the chest out more and blab blab blab a bit..

Then you'll be a proud Meath man

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 15/11/2020 19:58:13    2309574

Replying To Htaem:  "Ah look again, I wouldn't worry about the begrudgers, most of them are out of the championship already anyway and the only interest they have left is to watch us being beaten, it's hilarious and pathetic in equal measures.

But we certainly don't need to be 'embarrassed' by other Meath posters or ask them not to post just to please others.

If you wish for genuine debate then you can have it on here, you can choose who you want to interact with, you're not compelled to interact with anyone.

Anyway that's the last thing I'll say on this because again, I do think you're good Meath fan and us bickering will achieve nothing."
Fair enough, and you are right in what you say about choosing interactions etc, and dead right in what you say about begrudgery. And Im not under 20 Crinigan. Not a million miles off but how and ever! I guess we can park this issue to one side and move forward and in all honesty although Im critical of RD, and have been for years, it isnt anything personal, and every now and then he leaves a peach of a comment so I regret people thought I was putting down Meath people to appease Dubs or people who dislikw Meath, was never my intention. My intention was to call out what I personally see as being bad threads.

Young_gael (Meath) - Posts: 627 - 15/11/2020 20:10:17    2309581

Replying To Young_gael:  "How I miss the old days when a Meath team could take lumps out of the city slickers. Keep your wisecracks and your attitude and see if you can meet your bark with bite. All codding aside I got lured into a forum like this in Spring 2019 when Meath were to play the Dubs in a Leinster Final and I dont want to go down that rabbit hole again on a personal note. We're all excited for this game, it has huge tradition. However, If a certain Meath poster could throw his phone in a safe and lock it until next saturday and save us all the embarrassment it'd mean a lot, sincerely, the entirety of the forum and particularly the Meath element."
Dont understand why you feel the constant need to apoligise for any Meath poster, this is a forum and all are entitled to their opinions- even at the cost of your embarrassment. If admin are happy with post then so be it. I am one part of the Meath element you do not speak for.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2257 - 15/11/2020 20:12:47    2309582

Replying To Fionn:  "Great to see Mannion, Howard, Costello & Phillly get game time today.
MDMA, Kev Mc & others still to come in also.

Need to be on top form to stop the Royal Express next Sat night though.
Meath nearly scoring as many goals as points these days...."
Yes, like U10s :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8821 - 15/11/2020 20:15:43    2309585

Replying To jimbodub:  "Young Gael take note..

You need to act a certain way to conform to the hyperbole bollix that your fellow County men spout in the lead up to a Dublin v Meath match

Say stuff like "bring it on" , "we're not afraid" "well at least we got within 8pts" , "we can build again in Div 2" "remember the 90's" etc

You need to stick the chest out more and blab blab blab a bit..

Then you'll be a proud Meath man"
I completely and wholeheartedly see where youre coming from, and I got a laugh too, but my views make me Judas Iscariot somehow in the eyes of some and thats just the way the cookie crumbles.
But still all that nonsense aside, as a proud Meath man id love nothing more than to see your lads beaten, and we have to believe that it can be us to do it. Its been 6 years, everyone has to believe it at this stage. Otherwise why bother?

Young_gael (Meath) - Posts: 627 - 15/11/2020 20:16:40    2309587

It'll be a good game

Meath will be bringing good momentum. They need to be careful though, and I see a more cagey setup on Saturday for them. They've not had to do much of that, although Kildare gave them the run around for 35 minutes today so they'll be much more cautious compared to what we've seen to date

Dubs have done well introducing a few new faces who have done well and took their opportunity

Costello, Mannion, Howard, Philly coming in though too is very impressive to see and there's a few more there to come along.

But this evenings game was a cake walk and Dubs were trying out a couple of things, with a bit of fine tuning they really should have had 5-6 goals, didn't quite get a few weighted hand passes right and their handling was poor at times

Lots to look at it in the build up, but it's another final achieved with no injuries and the panel looking very healthy.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 15/11/2020 20:16:49    2309588

Replying To Young_gael:  "Fair enough, and you are right in what you say about choosing interactions etc, and dead right in what you say about begrudgery. And Im not under 20 Crinigan. Not a million miles off but how and ever! I guess we can park this issue to one side and move forward and in all honesty although Im critical of RD, and have been for years, it isnt anything personal, and every now and then he leaves a peach of a comment so I regret people thought I was putting down Meath people to appease Dubs or people who dislikw Meath, was never my intention. My intention was to call out what I personally see as being bad threads."
Well I agree that RD can be bit of a headwrecker and I don't agree with much of what he says but I've seen him at O Byrne cup matches etc in all sorts of weather and he's as passionate as they come.

Hon Meath. Hopefully give the Dubs a good go next week.

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1352 - 15/11/2020 20:17:44    2309589