Advertisement

Meath V Dublin Leinster Final.

Replying To Young_gael:  "Fair enough, and you are right in what you say about choosing interactions etc, and dead right in what you say about begrudgery. And Im not under 20 Crinigan. Not a million miles off but how and ever! I guess we can park this issue to one side and move forward and in all honesty although Im critical of RD, and have been for years, it isnt anything personal, and every now and then he leaves a peach of a comment so I regret people thought I was putting down Meath people to appease Dubs or people who dislikw Meath, was never my intention. My intention was to call out what I personally see as being bad threads."
Ah look you're as entitled to your view as anyone else and I'm certainly not interested in attacking you, I don't want to come across thay way. We might just see certain things slightly differently but there's no harm in that.

Anyway, all the best and let's look forward to saturday, big task ahead of us but we may as well hope for the best and see what happens.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 15/11/2020 20:19:00    2309591

Replying To jimbodub:  "Young Gael take note..

You need to act a certain way to conform to the hyperbole bollix that your fellow County men spout in the lead up to a Dublin v Meath match

Say stuff like "bring it on" , "we're not afraid" "well at least we got within 8pts" , "we can build again in Div 2" "remember the 90's" etc

You need to stick the chest out more and blab blab blab a bit..

Then you'll be a proud Meath man"
Bring it on jimbo!!! ;-)

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 15/11/2020 20:21:28    2309596

Replying To jimbodub:  "It'll be a good game

Meath will be bringing good momentum. They need to be careful though, and I see a more cagey setup on Saturday for them. They've not had to do much of that, although Kildare gave them the run around for 35 minutes today so they'll be much more cautious compared to what we've seen to date

Dubs have done well introducing a few new faces who have done well and took their opportunity

Costello, Mannion, Howard, Philly coming in though too is very impressive to see and there's a few more there to come along.

But this evenings game was a cake walk and Dubs were trying out a couple of things, with a bit of fine tuning they really should have had 5-6 goals, didn't quite get a few weighted hand passes right and their handling was poor at times

Lots to look at it in the build up, but it's another final achieved with no injuries and the panel looking very healthy."
Yep fingers crossed Jimbo.

Easing back into it well.

Next week will hopefully show us where we are at this year. Need to bring our A game from early on.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 5282 - 15/11/2020 20:23:10    2309601

This will be the only provincial final I'll not be eagerly awaiting. Dubs will roll straight over Meath before the first water break, because they can and they'll enjoy it too, because it's Meath!
I haven't seen anything from any team yet to make me believe it won't be 6 for the Dubs and god knows how many Leinsters in a row by the time they are finally beat!!

Tir Conaill Abu (Donegal) - Posts: 1686 - 15/11/2020 20:44:59    2309627

Replying To Fionn:  "Yep fingers crossed Jimbo.

Next week will hopefully show us where we are at this year. Need to bring our A game from early on."
If Dublin bring their A game early on then the game will be over early on. We have to bring our A game and hope the Dubs have an off day, which is possible but hasn't happened too often in recent memory.

In fact it hasn't happened in 6 years of championship football, which is remarkable, this Dublin team just doesn't know how to lose championship matches.

Now I have every faith in Andy McEntee and the lads to put the effort in, no matter what the odds they will be trying to win this game. But we will need a lot of things to go right to be in with a chance.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 15/11/2020 20:54:18    2309638

If you where a beating man you would bet on Dublin, as Meath man that's just ever going to happen. Can Meath win ? Yes is going to be a massive ask. But a massive improvement is required. This is now a bit different Leinster final as unlike other years it knock out. Maybe that might be a bit more pressure on Dublin.

Meath wont have one eye on the back door and keeping the score down as there is no back door. So we can go all out. If we get slaughtered we get slaughtered. No point in keeping the scored down.

Meath have been better since the restart.
Yes, Meath where relegated but we where missing a huge amount of players during the League. but still we where competitive in allot of games even without the missing players , and it was our first time in Div 1 in 15 years or so.
Something most punters never mentioned or glossed over.
A lot lads are back now, but still a few missing Harnan , J, Mc Entee, Shane Gallagher. big players for Meath 2019. But young lads that have come in are flying now.
If we can improve with our kick outs, be more competitive in midfield, we have a chance.

bobkarlgees (Meath) - Posts: 1291 - 15/11/2020 20:58:07    2309639

Replying To Fionn:  "Yep fingers crossed Jimbo.

Next week will hopefully show us where we are at this year. Need to bring our A game from early on."
It will indeed Fionn

I'd expect a very similar setup that brought Meath a bit of success last year against Dublin, they got rightly stuck in but had to sacrifice the offensive side of things

Dubs ran into a few tackles tonight and it reminded me of a couple of things we were doing in the league, last week against WM we were much more like Gavins Dublin, we were looking to suck in players tonight and then have men running in behind for a lofted hand pass, it worked at times but a couple of sloppy ones let us down.. Fenton drop kicking the ball was a no, no too.. we miss a Basquel style goal finisher at times.. not sure what's up with Colm.. anyway yeah missing a bit of composure in front of goal and that's Basquel through and through.

Anyway lots to improve on for next day

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 15/11/2020 20:59:35    2309642

Replying To Htaem:  "In fairness I think a certain Meath poster is a good Meath fan and is entitled to post here like the rest of us.

I don't doubt you're a sincere Meath fan young_gael and I genuinely do like a lot of your posts, but you seem to be on the apologetic side. I don't know if you're just looking for likes but it comes across as pandering to people who probably pleasure themselves to the sight of Meath being beaten.

One feature of the successful Meath teams under Boylan was we didn't give a single fcuk what anybody thought of us and personally that's how I feel and it makes winning all the sweeter.

Now I'm not unrealistic, I know we face a huge task in 6 days time, but we might as well just enjoy the craic on here and not worry too much about what others may think or say about us."
In all fairness I had Young Gael down as as genuine honest GAA fan unlike some who couldn't give a feck, and like nobody only themselves.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2946 - 15/11/2020 21:02:41    2309644

Meath have improved considerably over the last 12 months.. have Dublin?. I doubt it. The Dubs are still.miles ahead of us but I expect it to be a closer affair than our last meeting in the championship..

TobinsBeard (Meath) - Posts: 135 - 15/11/2020 21:05:52    2309646

Replying To Tir Conaill Abu:  "This will be the only provincial final I'll not be eagerly awaiting. Dubs will roll straight over Meath before the first water break, because they can and they'll enjoy it too, because it's Meath!
I haven't seen anything from any team yet to make me believe it won't be 6 for the Dubs and god knows how many Leinsters in a row by the time they are finally beat!!"
Just watching Scannal on RTE2 all about the Louth v Meath Leinster Final in 2010.
Seeing it all again - it was mental.

Wonder will meath break the Louth curse next Sat night.?

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 5282 - 15/11/2020 21:22:52    2309659

Who cares whether you tune in or not. I certainly won't. I wouldn't be counting your chickens yet in Ulster and it'll probably be end of road for Donegal even if they do beat Cavan.

winatallcost (Meath) - Posts: 1056 - 15/11/2020 21:30:57    2309664

Even though we improved in the second half I found that match today hugely frustrating. We need a new goalkeeper with a reliable kick out strategy. Our defending is very lazy at times and we give away needless silly frees constantly. We keep shooting from bad positions rather than be patient working the ball in closer. We really aren't utilising Shane Walsh. We need to keep him closer to goal and we need to provide better service to him and Reilly. I respect Shane McEntee's determination and work ethic but he just doesn't have the athleticism to play centre back. He's always manfully struggling to keep up with the attacking team. I think move Keoghan back into the centre and out Hickey on at wing back.

Is James McEntee injured, and what's the story with Shane Gallagher, both were excellent last year

We have improved in terms of athleticism and have a stronger bench.

Dublin will like suffocate us on our own kickouts and then patiently play the ball around and pick off their points until we get demoralised and goal opportunities start presenting. We also need to avoid running up cul de sac trying to get goals.

They're just too far ahead of us in every Dept. Probably gonna be another rough day at the office. I dearly hope I'm wrong.

HighKings (Meath) - Posts: 271 - 15/11/2020 21:34:54    2309667

Replying To Crinigan:  "Well I agree that RD can be bit of a headwrecker and I don't agree with much of what he says but I've seen him at O Byrne cup matches etc in all sorts of weather and he's as passionate as they come.

Hon Meath. Hopefully give the Dubs a good go next week."
Ahh I love the auld O Byrne cup games. Tbh I think I've said this before, I travel to almost every game. I've missed a few since the youngest arrived (I've layed our the reasons before so not getting into it again) but I can't stay away so last year playing cork in pairc ui rinn I left home at 1ish with one of my daughters, got bite to eat, and drove home afterwards arriving at 1 ish in the morning. I don't drink, and gave up the fags 4 years ago. I have one vice left football, in particular Meath football, I go to as many matches as possible, be they minor u20 or senior in obc league and championship. That's why this year is so hard personally having to watch it on tv.
But it's better than nothing and it will leave the winter that bit shorter. And should we fail to win on Sunday my thoughts will automatically turn to the first round of obc. It's what I live for after my family

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 15/11/2020 21:40:08    2309671

Replying To Saynothing:  "In all fairness I had Young Gael down as as genuine honest GAA fan unlike some who couldn't give a feck, and like nobody only themselves."
Good man Saynothing, will you be supporting us on saturday?

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 15/11/2020 21:44:49    2309675

Unfortunately I think you are right. Dublin would have to malfunction badly for it to be close. Alot of Dublin players seem to be struggling for form but Kilkenny and Fenton better than ever.

winatallcost (Meath) - Posts: 1056 - 15/11/2020 21:45:35    2309676

Replying To HighKings:  "Even though we improved in the second half I found that match today hugely frustrating. We need a new goalkeeper with a reliable kick out strategy. Our defending is very lazy at times and we give away needless silly frees constantly. We keep shooting from bad positions rather than be patient working the ball in closer. We really aren't utilising Shane Walsh. We need to keep him closer to goal and we need to provide better service to him and Reilly. I respect Shane McEntee's determination and work ethic but he just doesn't have the athleticism to play centre back. He's always manfully struggling to keep up with the attacking team. I think move Keoghan back into the centre and out Hickey on at wing back.

Is James McEntee injured, and what's the story with Shane Gallagher, both were excellent last year

We have improved in terms of athleticism and have a stronger bench.

Dublin will like suffocate us on our own kickouts and then patiently play the ball around and pick off their points until we get demoralised and goal opportunities start presenting. We also need to avoid running up cul de sac trying to get goals.

They're just too far ahead of us in every Dept. Probably gonna be another rough day at the office. I dearly hope I'm wrong."
Gallagher injured, mcentee picked up a broken thumb so won't be back I'd say

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 15/11/2020 21:46:56    2309677

Let's talk straight. It's great to see Meath improving but still a bit to go against a team like Dublin. Meath are scoring goals yes but scoring them against Kildare and Wicklow a lot different than Dublin. Kerry played against a better Kildare team in 2015 and scored 7 goals. How many did we score against Dubs in final? Answer zero. Also I know I'm splitting hairs but Kildare outscored Meath today but as they say goals win games. I'd love to see Meath back at the top table and secretly Dublin prob do too but I think the Leinster final is a foregone conclusion I'm afraid. The only team so far I have seen that might be able for Dublin are Donegal.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 4243 - 15/11/2020 21:53:17    2309685

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "Let's talk straight. It's great to see Meath improving but still a bit to go against a team like Dublin. Meath are scoring goals yes but scoring them against Kildare and Wicklow a lot different than Dublin. Kerry played against a better Kildare team in 2015 and scored 7 goals. How many did we score against Dubs in final? Answer zero. Also I know I'm splitting hairs but Kildare outscored Meath today but as they say goals win games. I'd love to see Meath back at the top table and secretly Dublin prob do too but I think the Leinster final is a foregone conclusion I'm afraid. The only team so far I have seen that might be able for Dublin are Donegal."
Thanks username

greysoil (Monaghan) - Posts: 969 - 15/11/2020 22:08:47    2309689

Replying To Htaem:  "In fairness I think a certain Meath poster is a good Meath fan and is entitled to post here like the rest of us.

I don't doubt you're a sincere Meath fan young_gael and I genuinely do like a lot of your posts, but you seem to be on the apologetic side. I don't know if you're just looking for likes but it comes across as pandering to people who probably pleasure themselves to the sight of Meath being beaten.

One feature of the successful Meath teams under Boylan was we didn't give a single fcuk what anybody thought of us and personally that's how I feel and it makes winning all the sweeter.

Now I'm not unrealistic, I know we face a huge task in 6 days time, but we might as well just enjoy the craic on here and not worry too much about what others may think or say about us."
Htaem I had a disagreement with Young Gael over Bobby Sands and even though he did not agree with me he apologized to me for having a row with me. To me that says something about someone. He did not have to say sorry and fair play to him he did. As the great Royaldunne would say opinions are like farts. Everyone's stinks apart from your own. Anyway congrats to Meath on a great win considering they were six points down at half time. Good luck against the Dubs next Saturday evening.

Ollie2 (Louth) - Posts: 1151 - 15/11/2020 22:09:23    2309690

Replying To royaldunne:  "Gallagher injured, mcentee picked up a broken thumb so won't be back I'd say"
Ah, thanks.

HighKings (Meath) - Posts: 271 - 15/11/2020 22:18:39    2309698