;o)
Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 5282 - 16/11/2020 14:14:49 2310072 Link 1 |
Your last comment is massively important - the Meath kickouts. Once this is ok, then it gives ye a real chance. Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 5282 - 16/11/2020 14:17:51 2310073 Link 0 |
Remember it's 2020, Meath by 6. oakleafersir (Derry) - Posts: 808 - 16/11/2020 14:19:28 2310075 Link 1 |
Looking forward to this game and hoping that Meath are on the way back to contest Leinster again, everybody is expecting Dublin to win and that's not easy on a team either always being expected to win, I think Dublin minus Gavin Connolly McCaffrey are a weaker outfit but still the strongest team in the country and favs to do 6 in a row All Irelands and 10 Leinsters in a row, incredible stats but this team is probably the GOAT in our game so we are lucky to have seen them first hand. Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 3826 - 16/11/2020 14:27:02 2310083 Link 1 |
Ha jasus it does doesn't it :)
royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 16/11/2020 14:34:10 2310093 Link 1 |
I think its the way we have played since, 14 onwards and because we have been champions its been the vouge thing to do, it only quite recently in my opinion. I think its only last year and this year that probably all teams are doing it and trying to strike the balance. Before that the emphasis was on Blankets, containment and defensive systems in my opinion, i think teams are trying to strike the Dublin balance for want of a better word, Donegal look to have gone the closest. I think certainly last year Meath changed how they play against Dublin and obviously brought the system they did, not really how Meath played in an other game, so that is a case in point. I think most teams change to try and accommodate Dublin if im honest, maybe im reading it wrong, but i often go to games and see team "coming up with a way of beating the Dubs" - they often change what got them their is the first place, maybe that is undermining maybe its the clever play, im not sure its just my experience of watching other team playing Dublin. TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4541 - 16/11/2020 14:34:25 2310094 Link 1 |
I can't see Meath winning it with their current goalkeeper based on his kicking display yesterday. Meath though in fairness have proved they will go for goals given half a sniff. I'm not sure how Dessie Farrell matches up to Gavin in the tactical stakes though. I think it'll be the Dubs by 7 or so but it will in no way be a close game if you follow me. daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 16/11/2020 14:42:08 2310103 Link 1 |
I honestly don't know how you beat Dublin in championship football, nobody has had that answer since Donegal in 2014, and while Dublin were a brilliant team then, they've gotten much better since which is insane. What Donegal did that day (and what they will probably be planning for again), was defend brilliantly, hit Dublin quickly and efficiently on the counter attack and crucially, scored 3 goals and conceeded none. Panic then set in on the Dubs and Donegal pressed home. But the crazy thing is, we're talking about a game that took place in August 2014!!! Most of the current Dublin players don't know what it's like to lose a championship game and off the top of my head I'd imagine Cluxton is the last Dublin player to lose a Leinster championship game (perhaps I'm wrong on that?). ...suppose there's no better time to teach them :-) But jokes aside, no amount of clichés, rhetoric or grandstanding is going to get the job done for us, and we can't depend on Dublin having an off day because 3rd gear is often enough for them to win comfortably anyway. If we do get over the line by some miracle it will be down to bloody hard work, grit and luck (but you need to stick at it to even be in a position to get lucky). And I don't consider those clichés because I think the same is true for life in general, you have to work hard to get what you want, and even then it's not guaranteed. Anyway, Meath v Dublin still means a hell of a lot to me (although I feel I could be a dying breed in that regard) and I just hope it means something to our players! Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 16/11/2020 14:42:39 2310105 Link 7 |
I think it will be same as per usual for Meath. Ryan will drop back from half forwards to take up the number 6 position leaving mcentee as a sweeper, and letting keoghan and Costello to bomb forward, that might be the difference on sat , as will either keoghan or Costello make as much runs ? Leaving a Dublin half forward free , what if a turn over happens. It could spell disaster, that been said it's all or nothing, but it might be cagey for first half. O Reilly and walsh will stay in with Morris moving out to half forwards with O'Sullivan (provided he is not concussed) McMahon will work as a link player. But I think he is probably one in danger of been not on starting 15 with scully maybe getting the nod instead. Menton and Jones need to break even at midfield. Yeah we have problems in our own kick outs, and unfortunately that's the one area I can't see improvement in on sat as Dublin will know that is our weakest aspect and will punish us should it not improve. royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 16/11/2020 14:50:07 2310116 Link 0 |
There's a goalkeeper from Donegal a Garda in Navan I'd say they wouldn't mind signing him up to the Meath ranks!!
Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 3826 - 16/11/2020 14:51:13 2310120 Link 0 |
Very interesting to see Meath piling on the goals in their two Leinster matches to date. I don't think they can out-point Dublin so going for the jugular a few times might just be the way they'd manage to topple them. Obviously a huge difference in standard to what they've played so far but you never know! Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 10468 - 16/11/2020 14:56:05 2310127 Link 2 |
We have two excellent keepers coming through. One from each of my former Meath clubs. But they still only kids, I don't think it's a position to be given to maybe a inexperienced head.
royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 16/11/2020 15:00:47 2310132 Link 1 |
We actually changed into a more defensive style after the Dublin game cos we got such a trouncing. Any Donegal fans who were at the game in Ballybofey will confirm that.
HighKings (Meath) - Posts: 271 - 16/11/2020 15:10:51 2310141 Link 0 |
Meath are in for a rude awakening, nearly as rude as Colm O' Rourke's dismissal of Galway's efforts yesterday! baire (Galway) - Posts: 1849 - 16/11/2020 15:15:42 2310145 Link 2 |
Ah galway are the new Kildare. Over hyped
royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 16/11/2020 15:39:00 2310159 Link 2 |
When Kildare and Meath start winning All Irelands in both Football, Hurling and Camogie at senior level then you may wish to compare notes!
baire (Galway) - Posts: 1849 - 16/11/2020 16:18:32 2310191 Link 2 |
Oh wow. Sure we won the handball.
royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 16/11/2020 16:25:54 2310199 Link 1 |
Honestly though how bad were galway yesterday? Totally disjointed, worst mayo performance in a long time and the 1 point victory was flattering to galway.
royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 16/11/2020 16:27:35 2310201 Link 0 |
It wasn't a good game of football but one must look at the circumstances. Galway's first championship game, preparations done during a pandemic and played in extremely difficult conditions. I wouldn't say they they were totally disjointed, they looked like a first round of the championship team especially in the first 25 minutes, were beaten by a team playing their third championship game. Galway improved as the game went on and Mayo were on the ropes near the end. They were only beaten by a point and you could see the relief on the Mayo lads and management at the end. I wish Meath the best against the Dubs but I must say I thought O' Rourke's criticism last night was unfair considering the circumstances.
baire (Galway) - Posts: 1849 - 16/11/2020 16:50:19 2310218 Link 2 |
I actually didn't hear what he said. I only saw the last 20 mins of the game. Galway seemed tired. And if I'm honest I think missing the Sligo game was the deciding factor. That's just my opinion , not based on fact or figures. royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 16/11/2020 17:01:48 2310229 Link 1 |