The Corona Virus And Possible Effects To GAA Matches

Replying To Saynothing:  "League of Ireland and all soccer, big applause when player kicks ball out over sideline. If a U12 GAA player done it he'd be shouted at."
You haven't a clue about soccer if you think that.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7343 - 15/10/2020 19:09:27    2297855

I had plenty of amateur doctors on here claiming I was Mr Doomsday when I said even if they try and go ahead with it there will be constant headaches. I really hope it does go ahead in some capacity but I fear they need a miracle for all squads to avoid an outbreak, even a small one. Any delays and they will run out of time.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7889 - 15/10/2020 19:17:30    2297857

Replying To Saynothing:  "Ah your having a laugh when you mention league of Ireland and professional in the same sentence. Please get a grip of yourself. Your good craic if nothing else."
There are some league of Ireland players on as much as 20k euro a month. 4 of the clubs are full time pro. Don't get mixed up with the Irish League.

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1318 - 15/10/2020 19:25:51    2297861

Replying To GreenandRed:  "You haven't a clue about soccer if you think that."
I know it's over 40 years ago but our old soccer manager used to have a saying for the lads at the back.
"if in doubt kick it out"

OhtobeARossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 1764 - 15/10/2020 19:40:41    2297865

I see all the kill joys and whingers out today complaining about the Championship and league going ahead, listen the people need something to look forward to or we'll all go bloody mad, it's going to be along enough winter.
Sure what are we going to do next year? hide behind the sofa till it all goes away? I'm starting to agree with Trump, just get on with life, there may never be an effective vaccine for this covid and the vaccine might end up doing you more harm than the virus, survival of the fittest, that is how nature works.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2746 - 15/10/2020 19:54:33    2297868

Replying To GreenandRed:  "You haven't a clue about soccer if you think that."
To take a quote from Effie Eddie, "It's on the screen, ye can't miss it".

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2012 - 15/10/2020 19:59:22    2297871

Replying To Stmunnsriver:  "i see there is not a great understanding of science in roscommon, theres a surprise!!!!"
Look after yer own house.

OhtobeARossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 1764 - 15/10/2020 20:14:04    2297873

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "I see all the kill joys and whingers out today complaining about the Championship and league going ahead, listen the people need something to look forward to or we'll all go bloody mad, it's going to be along enough winter.
Sure what are we going to do next year? hide behind the sofa till it all goes away? I'm starting to agree with Trump, just get on with life, there may never be an effective vaccine for this covid and the vaccine might end up doing you more harm than the virus, survival of the fittest, that is how nature works."
There is nothing wrong with wanting certain things to go ahead if we can. But your comment about survival of the fittest? You are an idiot if you actually really think that. You agree with Trump? Let's get one thing straight Donald is only taking that view as he let it get out of control at the start. Now he is going to try and claim he wanted herd immunity etc. Surival of the fittest? Go tell that to someone who might lose someone close to them.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7889 - 15/10/2020 20:47:21    2297883

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "I see all the kill joys and whingers out today complaining about the Championship and league going ahead, listen the people need something to look forward to or we'll all go bloody mad, it's going to be along enough winter.
Sure what are we going to do next year? hide behind the sofa till it all goes away? I'm starting to agree with Trump, just get on with life, there may never be an effective vaccine for this covid and the vaccine might end up doing you more harm than the virus, survival of the fittest, that is how nature works."
Yeah sure. So when the mortuaries in Donegal are full, what do you propose to do with your dead?

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2458 - 15/10/2020 20:59:48    2297888

Gemma O Doherty must be on Hoganstand

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2763 - 15/10/2020 21:01:30    2297889

Replying To FoolsGold:  "Gemma O Doherty must be on Hoganstand"
I read on another thread that Jim Allister and Arlene Foster are on here as well posting from the 'royal' county of course, so maybe this Gemma is on here too whoever she is,
hope the games go ahead anyway is all I'm saying, fed up listening to doom mongers, people are dying everyday of the week from different things, why all this focus on covid?
Look at Sweden they just carried on more or less as normal, don't know if they'll finish up much worse than anywhere else when all is said and done.
the school children are mixing everyday and going back home to mix with their families, what's the harm in having a game of football behind closed doors? doesn't make sense to me anyway but sure what would I know.
what do all you geniuses plan on doing next year if there's no vaccine or treatment found? life has to go on.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2746 - 15/10/2020 21:31:02    2297897

this is a horrendous take on whats going on.
People against the games going ahead are far from kill joys and whingers.
and survival of the fittest? Tell that to anyone who's lost someone to covid and see how you get on.

KillingFields (Limerick) - Posts: 3509 - 15/10/2020 21:51:26    2297902

It should be possible to play a few games, no replays, without fans. So long as you hafve an internet connection, it's 1000% better than no football at all.

Trump? Get on with life? Sure, provided you have a personal Dr standing by in the next room, a private helipcopter on the lawn, and your mate who owns the big pharma company gives you expensive drugs that nobody else can get.

The vaccine trials are looking pretty positive; it's not guaranteed they'll get some, but it is probable.

essmac (Tyrone) - Posts: 1141 - 15/10/2020 21:55:56    2297904

General point - since no fans and therefore no real home advantage, why in the name of sanity are teams being asked to travel miles - pick the nearest pitch, any pitch - even lots of clubs have very good pitches these days; they may not have the stands and the capacity to cater for crowds and parking etc, but sure that's irrelevant now. Just play the game anywhere mutually convenient that has a decent pitch

essmac (Tyrone) - Posts: 1141 - 15/10/2020 21:59:05    2297905

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "I read on another thread that Jim Allister and Arlene Foster are on here as well posting from the 'royal' county of course, so maybe this Gemma is on here too whoever she is,
hope the games go ahead anyway is all I'm saying, fed up listening to doom mongers, people are dying everyday of the week from different things, why all this focus on covid?
Look at Sweden they just carried on more or less as normal, don't know if they'll finish up much worse than anywhere else when all is said and done.
the school children are mixing everyday and going back home to mix with their families, what's the harm in having a game of football behind closed doors? doesn't make sense to me anyway but sure what would I know.
what do all you geniuses plan on doing next year if there's no vaccine or treatment found? life has to go on."
Agree, they put people with heart problems, cancer patients, dialysis, ect to bottom of list. Is one disease more important than the other. Try telling that to patients where the cancer has spread during this time. Criminal.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2012 - 15/10/2020 22:25:04    2297908

Replying To Saynothing:  "Agree, they put people with heart problems, cancer patients, dialysis, ect to bottom of list. Is one disease more important than the other. Try telling that to patients where the cancer has spread during this time. Criminal."
I'm no expert or conspiracy theorist but after a while even ordinary folk start to smell the bull****, suppose we'll know more in month or so if these big daily numbers are going to lead to this doomsday scenario that's being trotted out, I don't think it will but we'll see.
as long as the football goes ahead I'm happy enough for now anyway, and if we beat Tyrone twice in 2 weeks as well of course!!

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2746 - 15/10/2020 22:46:48    2297914

Go and ring someone you love who worked in a nursing home or ICU during the first wave. Wash Trump's words out of your ears, don't fall for it for a second.

SurelyToGod (Donegal) - Posts: 376 - 15/10/2020 23:52:22    2297923

Replying To galwayford:  "Have you any proof of all of this. Or is it just your opinion. Provide some links, data and statistics and I might believe you. It seems to me, and I know you from the Galway forum, that you just don't like Gaelic games."
Walter Mitty.

moc.dna (Galway) - Posts: 1212 - 15/10/2020 23:55:22    2297924

Replying To Crinigan:  "There are some league of Ireland players on as much as 20k euro a month. 4 of the clubs are full time pro. Don't get mixed up with the Irish League."
Which League of Ireland players are on 20K a month? Possibly a few of the top paid, likes of Jack Byrne, are on about 5K a month. Maybe with Europa qualification Dundalk players will get a big bonus. A few are in good jobs that'll improve their income. Not sure, outside Shamrock Rovers and Dundalk, that there are other fulltime professional clubs, especially in COVID times. A lot of players sign on the dole for the off-season and do that to get a part-time contract next season. For my money that makes some of them the most dedicated and possibly insane group of athletes in Ireland. I have no to admire their dedication for little or no reward.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7343 - 16/10/2020 01:27:47    2297927

https://www.skysports.com/gaa/football/news/30553/12104773/james-mccarthy-dublin-players-living-like-a-hermit-to-avoid-coronavirus

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3727 - 16/10/2020 08:58:51    2297937