The Corona Virus And Possible Effects To GAA Matches

Replying To galwayford:  "Well League of Ireland football and Horse racing are taking place all over the country. So why not GAA."
Both are professional or semi professional. Jockeys get paid as do LOI soccer players. GAA is an amateur sport.

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1318 - 15/10/2020 16:01:06    2297807

Replying To Fionn:  "https://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/2020/1015/1171773-wexford-confirm-six-players-test-positive-for-covid-19/"
Jaysus that's not a good start.

I wonder can/will teams forfeit fixtures if there's an outbreak. I know that doesn't make for a great championship but it could be a last resort if there's a push to get the championships finished this year.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 15/10/2020 16:04:12    2297808

Replying To galwayford:  "Well League of Ireland football and Horse racing are taking place all over the country. So why not GAA."
League of ireland football is professional and players can isolate beyond training and playing to their families. Horse racing only trainers, stable staff and limited people beyond that in attendance. very different to gaa. is it not?

KillingFields (Limerick) - Posts: 3510 - 15/10/2020 16:04:42    2297809

Horse racing is an individual sport and to the best of my knowledge, the rider wear face coverings. A horse race lasts a couple of minutes at most, a GAA match lasts up to 70 plus minutes. Horse racing doesn't have 30 players on a pitch tackling one another so I don't think it is a fair comparison to compare horse racing with GAA and soccer. League of Ireland soccer matches shouldn't continue to be played for the same reason that GAA matches shouldn't be played - the levels of the virus in the community is too high. It was acceptable to play games during periods when the virus was low, the GAA choose to play club championships. Now the rates are high, the league and championship shouldn't proceed.

wicklowsupport (Wicklow) - Posts: 1910 - 15/10/2020 16:08:13    2297810

Replying To wicklowsupport:  "Horse racing is an individual sport and to the best of my knowledge, the rider wear face coverings. A horse race lasts a couple of minutes at most, a GAA match lasts up to 70 plus minutes. Horse racing doesn't have 30 players on a pitch tackling one another so I don't think it is a fair comparison to compare horse racing with GAA and soccer. League of Ireland soccer matches shouldn't continue to be played for the same reason that GAA matches shouldn't be played - the levels of the virus in the community is too high. It was acceptable to play games during periods when the virus was low, the GAA choose to play club championships. Now the rates are high, the league and championship shouldn't proceed."
How many cases have been traced back to been spread player to player during the duration of a match? What a load of waffle

sourmilk93 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1144 - 15/10/2020 16:30:04    2297815

Replying To sourmilk93:  "How many cases have been traced back to been spread player to player during the duration of a match? What a load of waffle"
The cases from Fermanagh and now wexford are worrying

Tarismelting22 (Roscommon) - Posts: 760 - 15/10/2020 16:34:08    2297818

Replying To sourmilk93:  "How many cases have been traced back to been spread player to player during the duration of a match? What a load of waffle"
i see there is not a great understanding of science in roscommon, theres a surprise!!!!

Stmunnsriver (Wexford) - Posts: 2842 - 15/10/2020 16:38:52    2297819

Replying To Htaem:  "Jaysus that's not a good start.

I wonder can/will teams forfeit fixtures if there's an outbreak. I know that doesn't make for a great championship but it could be a last resort if there's a push to get the championships finished this year."
I would think that teams are more likely to cover up than forfeit, unfortunately....

Has the makings of a right mess unless they can go into NBA style bubbles...
That is a huge undertaking for amateur players though.

But look - LOI players are mainly amateurs, most have jobs also - so if they can continue to avoid it, then maybe GAA players can too...

I still maintain that a final decision will be made after the league games are completed, and see how it all fared out, and what the Covid numbers are like then.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3732 - 15/10/2020 16:44:49    2297823

Replying To Stmunnsriver:  "i see there is not a great understanding of science in roscommon, theres a surprise!!!!"
In what way Einstein?

sourmilk93 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1144 - 15/10/2020 16:45:01    2297824

Replying To wicklowsupport:  "Horse racing is an individual sport and to the best of my knowledge, the rider wear face coverings. A horse race lasts a couple of minutes at most, a GAA match lasts up to 70 plus minutes. Horse racing doesn't have 30 players on a pitch tackling one another so I don't think it is a fair comparison to compare horse racing with GAA and soccer. League of Ireland soccer matches shouldn't continue to be played for the same reason that GAA matches shouldn't be played - the levels of the virus in the community is too high. It was acceptable to play games during periods when the virus was low, the GAA choose to play club championships. Now the rates are high, the league and championship shouldn't proceed."
I implore you to find an example from any sport anywhere in the world where a case of COVID was passed on the field of play during a match. The vast majority of cases are being transmitted in households (over 3/4 of clusters this past week) and that's why household visits have now been banned. The current outbreaks in GAA circles are nothing to do with matches or training. End of.

Townee2018 (Galway) - Posts: 281 - 15/10/2020 16:51:34    2297828

Replying To Crinigan:  "Both are professional or semi professional. Jockeys get paid as do LOI soccer players. GAA is an amateur sport."
Ah your having a laugh when you mention league of Ireland and professional in the same sentence. Please get a grip of yourself. Your good craic if nothing else.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2012 - 15/10/2020 17:07:45    2297832

Replying To Crinigan:  "Both are professional or semi professional. Jockeys get paid as do LOI soccer players. GAA is an amateur sport."
Thousands of club players played during the summer...no spike or evidence of cases occurred on the field of play.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11230 - 15/10/2020 17:35:09    2297833

For such a load of waffle, there seems to a number of players and the players association very concerned in advance of matches going ahead at the weekend. It may turn out ok but in my opinion it is madness to have players travelling all over ireland playing matches when cases are so high. How are you so sure that the virus isn't being transmitted between players? In a lot of cases we don't know how it is being transmitted.

wicklowsupport (Wicklow) - Posts: 1910 - 15/10/2020 17:56:29    2297837

League of Ireland and all soccer, big applause when player kicks ball out over sideline. If a U12 GAA player done it he'd be shouted at.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2012 - 15/10/2020 18:05:36    2297839

Horse racing is an individual sport and to the best of my knowledge, the rider wear face coverings. A horse race lasts a couple of minutes at most, a GAA match lasts up to 70 plus minutes. Horse racing doesn't have 30 players on a pitch tackling one another so I don't think it is a fair comparison to compare horse racing with GAA and soccer. League of Ireland soccer matches shouldn't continue to be played for the same reason that GAA matches shouldn't be played - the levels of the virus in the community is too high. It was acceptable to play games during periods when the virus was low, the GAA choose to play club championships. Now the rates are high, the league and championship shouldn't proceed.
wicklowsupport (Wicklow) - Posts: 1144 - 15/10/2020 16:08:13
riders are wearing face coverings when not racing. The riders dont have too much contact otherwise.
League of ireland isnt the same as GAA. Most players are pro or semi pro and can isolate themselves...

How many cases have been traced back to been spread player to player during the duration of a match? What a load of waffle
sourmilk93 (Roscommon) - Posts: 468 - 15/10/2020 16:30:04
few probably but its travelling to games etc is the issue.

I would think that teams are more likely to cover up than forfeit, unfortunately....
But look - LOI players are mainly amateurs, most have jobs also - so if they can continue to avoid it, then maybe GAA players can too...
I still maintain that a final decision will be made after the league games are completed, and see how it all fared out, and what the Covid numbers are like then.
Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 2929 - 15/10/2020 16:44:49
do you know percentage of LOI players who have jobs on top of playing? I wouldnt say most have jobs as least during season at least.

KillingFields (Limerick) - Posts: 3510 - 15/10/2020 18:08:55    2297840

League of Ireland and all soccer, big applause when player kicks ball out over sideline. If a U12 GAA player done it he'd be shouted at.
Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 91 - 15/10/2020 18:05:36
what has that to do with the thread?
Its about clearing lines most often....

KillingFields (Limerick) - Posts: 3510 - 15/10/2020 18:29:47    2297844

wicklowsupport (Wicklow) - Posts: 1145 - 15/10/2020 16:08:13
jockeys have to wear face coverings apart from when racing. few people on site at courses apart from minimum needed to have races go ahead.
League of Ireland isnt the same as GAA. League of ireland is pro/semi pro with players able to self isolate if needed.

sourmilk93 (Roscommon) - Posts: 468 - 15/10/2020 16:30:04
it isnt about the spread during a match its beyond the game and travel and other factors.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 2929 - 15/10/2020 16:44:49
but do many have jobs in season and is it not more that some work during the off season of the soccer season.

KillingFields (Limerick) - Posts: 3510 - 15/10/2020 18:32:36    2297845

Replying To KillingFields:  "League of Ireland and all soccer, big applause when player kicks ball out over sideline. If a U12 GAA player done it he'd be shouted at.
Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 91 - 15/10/2020 18:05:36
what has that to do with the thread?
Its about clearing lines most often...."
Lines of what

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2012 - 15/10/2020 18:47:24    2297849

it appears 2 Shamrock players, and 2 of their best players, have now tested positive for Covid.

Can you imagine any GAA team losing 2 of their best players mid-Championship for 2 weeks due to Covid..??

Looking at the Leinster Championship for example - possibly 3 games between 8th and 21st, so if a player gets it on 8th - he will miss all of the Leinster Championship run...!

Likewise after the provincials - top players could miss a semi, a final or even both - due to self isolation.

No sure how counties are going to be able to protect their players over the Winter months from this Covid.
All you need is one case in a squad.

I hope I am wrong and all goes well but.....

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3732 - 15/10/2020 19:01:17    2297852

Replying To Fionn:  "I would think that teams are more likely to cover up than forfeit, unfortunately....

I still maintain that a final decision will be made after the league games are completed, and see how it all fared out, and what the Covid numbers are like then."
Ye you could be right, teams really wouldn't fancy forfeiting. Unless maybe the Gaa works with the HSE to conduct regular tests to try and avoid that possibility.

We are still living day by day with this virus unfortunately so I don't think the plug could be pulled at any time. Both the Government and the Gaa may have the best intentions to see out the championships this year but if the numbers keep ballooning they have to call it.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 15/10/2020 19:05:21    2297854