The Corona Virus And Possible Effects To GAA Matches

God be with the good old days when masks were for Halloween.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7342 - 16/09/2020 15:41:50    2292516

Question, if your county moves to level 3, does that mean you cannot play matches?

Green_Gold (Donegal) - Posts: 1874 - 17/09/2020 08:06:12    2292609

Replying To Green_Gold:  "Question, if your county moves to level 3, does that mean you cannot play matches?"
The guidance by level stares no matches or events at level 3. See link Living with Covid plan: What is in each of the five levels?
via The Irish Times
https://www.irishtimes.com/news/health/living-with-covid-plan-what-is-in-each-of-the-five-levels-1.4355417

greysoil (Monaghan) - Posts: 965 - 17/09/2020 10:49:29    2292627

Replying To greysoil:  "The guidance by level stares no matches or events at level 3. See link Living with Covid plan: What is in each of the five levels?
via The Irish Times
https://www.irishtimes.com/news/health/living-with-covid-plan-what-is-in-each-of-the-five-levels-1.4355417"
Guideline states exception to be made for intercounty games and senior club games (and pro games in other sports)

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5012 - 17/09/2020 11:05:34    2292633

Replying To cavanman47:  "Guideline states exception to be made for intercounty games and senior club games (and pro games in other sports)"
Let's hope Cavanman - can't wait for Halloween :-)

greysoil (Monaghan) - Posts: 965 - 17/09/2020 11:49:30    2292647

Replying To cavanman47:  "Guideline states exception to be made for intercounty games and senior club games (and pro games in other sports)"
No it doesn't. It says exception for inter-county and club championship.

The only mention of 'senior' is in regards to training.

liam500 (Wicklow) - Posts: 175 - 17/09/2020 12:26:43    2292656

Replying To liam500:  "No it doesn't. It says exception for inter-county and club championship.

The only mention of 'senior' is in regards to training."
well yes, it includes intermediate and junior too. . .but the game in question is a senior game

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5012 - 17/09/2020 12:59:19    2292667

Replying To KillingFields:  "Whats the reasoning to allow 4% of capacity?"
It's better than nothing I suppose. I'll take anything at this point.

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2119 - 18/09/2020 21:37:56    2292967

Replying To Trump2020:  "It's better than nothing I suppose. I'll take anything at this point."
I don't believe there is any underlying logic behind it, looking at different countries across the world they all use different numbers and nobody ever says why. Perhaps someone has come up with some crazy formula but I doubt it. As one poster pointed out access in an out, even things like toilets etc. are all different even for the same capacity grounds. So I doubt if 200 was an objective number to begin with.

zinny (Wexford) - Posts: 1804 - 19/09/2020 09:23:22    2292994

Replying To zinny:  "I don't believe there is any underlying logic behind it, looking at different countries across the world they all use different numbers and nobody ever says why. Perhaps someone has come up with some crazy formula but I doubt it. As one poster pointed out access in an out, even things like toilets etc. are all different even for the same capacity grounds. So I doubt if 200 was an objective number to begin with."
Probably no science involved just a number out of a hat I suppose. Maybe they're afraid of lawsuits so they go far below whatever the science community allow. Who knows?

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2119 - 19/09/2020 16:26:41    2293048

I see they are testing inter county players I assume before they are allowed back to training. One lad in Donegal found to be I assume asymptomatic. Does anyone know if the three Dublin camogie players were found the same way? Is it an ongoing thing?
I would have thought that one of the key protocols for intercounty players was no socializing with each other outside of training even sharing a lift to training. I wonder what impact that will have on teams especially newer players to the panels

zinny (Wexford) - Posts: 1804 - 19/09/2020 18:12:02    2293055

Replying To zinny:  "I see they are testing inter county players I assume before they are allowed back to training. One lad in Donegal found to be I assume asymptomatic. Does anyone know if the three Dublin camogie players were found the same way? Is it an ongoing thing?
I would have thought that one of the key protocols for intercounty players was no socializing with each other outside of training even sharing a lift to training. I wonder what impact that will have on teams especially newer players to the panels"
Some lads that have older folks or newborns at home won't make themselves available so there may have to be new lads on some teams.

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2119 - 19/09/2020 23:32:45    2293104

Replying To Trump2020:  "Some lads that have older folks or newborns at home won't make themselves available so there may have to be new lads on some teams."
I see the SHC semi and camogie finals were postponed in Galway. I am somewhat amazed that nearly all counties have almost got to their concluding phases without much disruption. I think this is the most high profile one yet? It will definitely hamper Galways return to intercounty training. The way I see it in leinster at the moment is and someone correct me if I am wrong

Wexford - semi finals of Football next weekend that will involve some hurlers. So two weeks min before full squad is available
Kilkenny - county final next weekend
Dublin - county final this weekend
Galway - min one county semi final next weekend.

So you would have to say Dublin will have everyone back first followed by Kilkenny.

zinny (Wexford) - Posts: 1804 - 20/09/2020 13:28:35    2293171

Replying To zinny:  "I see the SHC semi and camogie finals were postponed in Galway. I am somewhat amazed that nearly all counties have almost got to their concluding phases without much disruption. I think this is the most high profile one yet? It will definitely hamper Galways return to intercounty training. The way I see it in leinster at the moment is and someone correct me if I am wrong

Wexford - semi finals of Football next weekend that will involve some hurlers. So two weeks min before full squad is available

So you would have to say Dublin will have everyone back first followed by Kilkenny."
Maybe Galway should just pull out of it this year and concentrate on county only tournaments. So as to not disrupt the rest of the country.

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2119 - 20/09/2020 13:58:52    2293175

Replying To zinny:  "I see the SHC semi and camogie finals were postponed in Galway. I am somewhat amazed that nearly all counties have almost got to their concluding phases without much disruption. I think this is the most high profile one yet? It will definitely hamper Galways return to intercounty training. The way I see it in leinster at the moment is and someone correct me if I am wrong

So you would have to say Dublin will have everyone back first followed by Kilkenny."
An IFC semi-final in Galway and couple of SFC games in Cork postponed as well. Fingers crossed for the rest of the season but all these postponements do not bode well for the return of inter-county.

Gaillimh_Abu (Galway) - Posts: 996 - 20/09/2020 16:19:22    2293207

Some scenes after the Tyrone county final. Pitch invasion by Dungannon fans. Minimal social distancing observed by the looks of it (difficult to do in a pile-on I guess)! We're in county final season now, could these scenes be repeated nationwide I wonder?!

ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1246 - 21/09/2020 23:36:58    2293494

Replying To ballydalane:  "Some scenes after the Tyrone county final. Pitch invasion by Dungannon fans. Minimal social distancing observed by the looks of it (difficult to do in a pile-on I guess)! We're in county final season now, could these scenes be repeated nationwide I wonder?!"
If they are then the blanket ban on spectators will be brought back with the
county matches coming up.

Up to us.

carlovia (None) - Posts: 1517 - 22/09/2020 09:52:04    2293514

Replying To ballydalane:  "Some scenes after the Tyrone county final. Pitch invasion by Dungannon fans. Minimal social distancing observed by the looks of it (difficult to do in a pile-on I guess)! We're in county final season now, could these scenes be repeated nationwide I wonder?!"
Foster made an issue of the Tyrone county final scenes for political purposes. I'm not condoning what went on, but there were similar scenes at county finals across the country - team huddles, crowds congregating in the stands etc. It's not fair to scapegoat the Dungannon reaction- other actions need to be condemned too.

football first (None) - Posts: 1259 - 22/09/2020 10:44:55    2293526

Replying To football first:  "Foster made an issue of the Tyrone county final scenes for political purposes. I'm not condoning what went on, but there were similar scenes at county finals across the country - team huddles, crowds congregating in the stands etc. It's not fair to scapegoat the Dungannon reaction- other actions need to be condemned too."
Yeah and I see Nolan couldn't wait to weigh in either. It's understandable that there will be scenes of wild jubilation but hopefully people can contain themselves. We simply have to get back to the discipline we were all showing in the early weeks and months of the virus.

If there is a glimmer of hope, European health professionals look to the southern hemisphere (Australia) to assess how strong the flu strain is for the upcoming winter. It doesn't always exactly correlate to what we end up getting in the Northern hemisphere in our winter. But so far the data analysed has shown it to be a relatively mild strain of flu in 2020

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9128 - 22/09/2020 13:35:40    2293561

Firstly the pitch invasion was wrong under the current restrictions though I can understand in the circumstances that maintaining a 2m distance from anyone would be the last thing on people's minds when caught up in the euphoria of such a win.

However, the fact that this prompted a tweet of deep concern from the baul Foster and the wrath of that eejit Nolan on his shows is nothing but politics. It's funny how there wasn't the same tweets or shows dedicated to the celebrations of Glentoran fans when they won the Irish Cup at the end of July when they took to the streets on the Newtownards Rd or the people who were out celebrating the 12th in the Shankill and other areas in their numbers. Nor do I remember hearing that the police were investigating either. I wonder why that would be??? Won't be surprised if some of them try to link Storey to the match in some way in the coming days as it must be a couple of days now since they've recycled that story. Jaysus, they might even have him playing before the week is out!

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 22/09/2020 13:47:11    2293566