The Corona Virus And Possible Effects To GAA Matches

Replying To Dubsfan28:  "
Replying To KillingFields:  "My cat has more concern for the plight of the GAA than the average politician
They see themselves as an elite.
They literally dont give a s***e about any of us.
Golfgate was 100% proof of this.
Covid compliance is falling apart as a result.
We are leaderless and probably have been for decades.
People are sick to the teeth of being told what they can and can't do by a government who sit at home on full pay doing Jack S**t ...
They are now cutting the Covid payment to the very people that they won't allow back to work...
More people have died from suicide in the last month, than have died from COVID-19 in the last 3 months.
WTF are people supposed to do?
johnocarroll17 (Limerick) - Posts: 34 - 02/09/2020 10:12:07
Theyre cutting the covid payment because its unrealistic to keep it at the 350 rate.
They do give a shite about us as its their job to and many actually do care.
Covid compliance isnt falling apart. We havent been leaderless and certainly havent for decades.
The government arent sitting at home doing f all."
No but we just have a very weak leader who's been flip flopping on many issues since the formation of the coalition."
Most inept Taoiseach ever, when you consider the calibreof the candidates for that title, it says something.
He has more knives in him than a butchers block, his own FF colleagues who he over looked for positions or those he ousted are leaking stories every day to the media & many of these have influential contacts within Irish media. They only care about themselves, their party & power.
Irish politics at all levels is dead, democracy has been shat on, Votegate & Golfgate have proven that. The clowns involved in Votegate have no interest in democracy or the Irish people, just their own greedy agendas.
We are back to the politics of Ahern/Haughey/Lowry era?

moc.dna (Galway) - Posts: 1212 - 06/09/2020 19:06:14    2290831

Replying To moc.dna:  "
Replying To Dubsfan28:  "[quote=KillingFields:  "My cat has more concern for the plight of the GAA than the average politician
People are sick to the teeth of being told what they can and can't do by a government who sit at home on full pay doing Jack S**t ...
They are now cutting the Covid payment to the very people that they won't allow back to work...
More people have died from suicide in the last month, than have died from COVID-19 in the last 3 months.
WTF are people supposed to do?
johnocarroll17 (Limerick) - Posts: 34 - 02/09/2020 10:12:07
Theyre cutting the covid payment because its unrealistic to keep it at the 350 rate.
They do give a shite about us as its their job to and many actually do care.
Covid compliance isnt falling apart. We havent been leaderless and certainly havent for decades.
The government arent sitting at home doing f all."
No but we just have a very weak leader who's been flip flopping on many issues since the formation of the coalition."
Most inept Taoiseach ever, when you consider the calibreof the candidates for that title, it says something.
He has more knives in him than a butchers block, his own FF colleagues who he over looked for positions or those he ousted are leaking stories every day to the media & many of these have influential contacts within Irish media. They only care about themselves, their party & power.
Irish politics at all levels is dead, democracy has been shat on, Votegate & Golfgate have proven that. The clowns involved in Votegate have no interest in democracy or the Irish people, just their own greedy agendas.
We are back to the politics of Ahern/Haughey/Lowry era?"]Michael Martin makes Leo Varadkar look streetwise and decisive in comparison. Never words I thought I'd form into a sentence.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7324 - 06/09/2020 21:06:32    2290860

The govt care about us, sweet landering jaysus.

lilypad (Kildare) - Posts: 1363 - 06/09/2020 22:22:31    2290877

Replying To lilypad:  "The govt care about us, sweet landering jaysus."
Its in their interests to personally and professionally.

KillingFields (Limerick) - Posts: 3494 - 07/09/2020 00:02:40    2290885

Replying To johnocarroll17:  "My cat has more concern for the plight of the GAA than the average politician.

WTF are people supposed to do?"
Same old populist nonsense

My cat has more concern for the plight of the GAA than the average politician.
By and large the GAA gets very favorable treatment from politicians

They see themselves as an elite. They literally dont give a s***e about any of us. Golfgate was 100% proof of this.
Some do, some don't, same as any group in society. Golfgate proves they are exactly the same as us GAA people, trying to bend the rules slightly. What they didn't count on was the "outraged generation"

Incorrect. Compliance is very high with the few exceptions becoming high profile because they are exceptions

Do you remember the eighties.........I'd say we've made some progress. I will agree that we haven't had a leader with real vision for a long time. Enda was boring and steady but he did bring us back from the brink (in football terms out of relegation to top 6 but he was a david moyes)

More rubbish. I'm not a politician and wouldn't do it if i was guaranteed to be elected every election because of the extremely long hours and the personal abuse.

Yes they are. In my lifetime i have never seen as much money handed out in supports. It is unsustainable.

Correct. Are you giving them credit here for reducing the COVID deaths??? Or saying COVID is not the greatest challenge or our generation?

Wash your hands and keep your distance:-)

Mayonman (Galway) - Posts: 1825 - 07/09/2020 09:32:21    2290901

Replying To KillingFields:  "Its in their interests to personally and professionally."
Is it? Then why don't they do that then?

lilypad (Kildare) - Posts: 1363 - 07/09/2020 16:49:55    2291011

Replying To lilypad:  "Is it? Then why don't they do that then?"
What would you propose as an alternative then?

KillingFields (Limerick) - Posts: 3494 - 07/09/2020 20:43:17    2291045

They say 'a picture paints a thousand words'.
Well this has never been so true after what we witnessed in Castlebar with 2 masked-clad Gardai escorting 3 football supporters out of a near empty terrace in McHale Park.
This photograph must be held for posterity to remind everyone how not just Ireland, but the complete World entirely lost the plot in 2020.

hamstring (Limerick) - Posts: 318 - 07/09/2020 20:59:45    2291047

Replying To Dubsfan28:  "Oh I know and I'm not bashing McEntee(not saying you said that about me) he is an excellent coach who.os doing a good job and giving young lads a chance and take it from there."
Nah wasn't saying u saying that. Sorry if it came across that way. I don't know if he will win a Leinster in his tenure (if we even get to play one ). I hope he does. But with the blue wall it is by far the hardest province to win. I mean if we were to win one we would be considered genuine all ire contenders. But I think he will. Unfortunately could take another 2/3 years though particularly with what's happening or not gonna happen this year.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 07/09/2020 21:09:56    2291053

Replying To KillingFields:  "What would you propose as an alternative then?"
I wish I had an alternative, but to actually say the govt care about us is just ridiculous. Are you actually living in this country?

lilypad (Kildare) - Posts: 1363 - 07/09/2020 22:04:28    2291059

Replying To lilypad:  "I wish I had an alternative, but to actually say the govt care about us is just ridiculous. Are you actually living in this country?"
Yes i am. What theyve done has helped reduce cases and deaths and theyd be far higher if they hadnt lockdown
I dont know how anyone could say they dont care. If they didnt care theyd have had no lockdown and not let people know full numbers of cases, deaths

KillingFields (Limerick) - Posts: 3494 - 07/09/2020 22:21:35    2291060

Replying To hamstring:  "They say 'a picture paints a thousand words'.
Well this has never been so true after what we witnessed in Castlebar with 2 masked-clad Gardai escorting 3 football supporters out of a near empty terrace in McHale Park.
This photograph must be held for posterity to remind everyone how not just Ireland, but the complete World entirely lost the plot in 2020."
It was an absolute disgrace. The cops weren't so quick to fire out the untouchables in the Station house hotel in Cliften.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11225 - 07/09/2020 22:32:45    2291061

Replying To KillingFields:  "Yes i am. What theyve done has helped reduce cases and deaths and theyd be far higher if they hadnt lockdown
I dont know how anyone could say they dont care. If they didnt care theyd have had no lockdown and not let people know full numbers of cases, deaths"
Theres absolutely no proof of that, Sweden are doing as well as us. All our politicians have done is to follow the WHOs regulations. Nothing will be known for sure about all this until some time passes. They have flattened an economy, and you have to ask the question, is it worth it to hold the world to ransom for this virus?
30 odd suicides last month, why? Because of the lack of the services so many of them depend on to survive. Why? Because of the 'killer' virus covid.
The pub industry is fooked, as is the aviation and so many peoples small businesses and their livelyhoods gone.
Show me why it was worth it. Show me facts and figures that merit such restrictions and balance it up against what is happening to so many people. And its only getting started.
in case you missed it, 70,000 kids passed through cul camps this summer, how many kids tested postive? one!
Our govt is the EU and these muppets are on their strings.

lilypad (Kildare) - Posts: 1363 - 07/09/2020 22:44:06    2291062

Replying To KillingFields:  "Yes i am. What theyve done has helped reduce cases and deaths and theyd be far higher if they hadnt lockdown
I dont know how anyone could say they dont care. If they didnt care theyd have had no lockdown and not let people know full numbers of cases, deaths"
We've( the citizens) helped reduce the cases and deaths, not the government. They bring in the rules and guidelines but it is the people who adhere to and made the sacrifices to help stop the spread during the height(if that's even happened yet) of the pandemic. We deserve the bulk of the credit, not the government.

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 07/09/2020 23:06:09    2291063

It'll be another 2/3 years before we start getting back to any sort of normality including Gaelic Games. German virologists are saying this virus will flare up in wave after wave until we get a vaccine or it mutates into a less serious cold/flu version. Life as we knew it won't return for quite a while if ever.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9693 - 08/09/2020 03:47:11    2291075

Replying To Dubsfan28:  "We've( the citizens) helped reduce the cases and deaths, not the government. They bring in the rules and guidelines but it is the people who adhere to and made the sacrifices to help stop the spread during the height(if that's even happened yet) of the pandemic. We deserve the bulk of the credit, not the government."
So your saying that regardless the good citizens of the country would have done it all by themselves anyway?

zinny (Wexford) - Posts: 1799 - 08/09/2020 10:56:34    2291096

Replying To Mayonman:  "Same old populist nonsense

My cat has more concern for the plight of the GAA than the average politician.
By and large the GAA gets very favorable treatment from politicians

They see themselves as an elite. They literally dont give a s***e about any of us. Golfgate was 100% proof of this.
Some do, some don't, same as any group in society. Golfgate proves they are exactly the same as us GAA people, trying to bend the rules slightly. What they didn't count on was the "outraged generation"

Incorrect. Compliance is very high with the few exceptions becoming high profile because they are exceptions

Do you remember the eighties.........I'd say we've made some progress. I will agree that we haven't had a leader with real vision for a long time. Enda was boring and steady but he did bring us back from the brink (in football terms out of relegation to top 6 but he was a david moyes)

More rubbish. I'm not a politician and wouldn't do it if i was guaranteed to be elected every election because of the extremely long hours and the personal abuse.

Yes they are. In my lifetime i have never seen as much money handed out in supports. It is unsustainable.

Correct. Are you giving them credit here for reducing the COVID deaths??? Or saying COVID is not the greatest challenge or our generation?

Wash your hands and keep your distance:-)"
Out of relegation to Top 6???

We have the highest mortgage interest rates in the Eurozone, the most expensive city to rent in EU, and we're in the middle of a homelessness crisis.

The recession never ended for the majority and we've suffocated our under 35s.

This is not the fault of recent leadership. It's due to the concessions of Cowen, Ahern, Martin, Kenny, and Noonan. Recent cabinets have just been following the earlier set template of recovery for the rich.

SurelyToGod (Donegal) - Posts: 371 - 08/09/2020 11:11:50    2291098

Replying To lilypad:  "Theres absolutely no proof of that, Sweden are doing as well as us. All our politicians have done is to follow the WHOs regulations. Nothing will be known for sure about all this until some time passes. They have flattened an economy, and you have to ask the question, is it worth it to hold the world to ransom for this virus?
30 odd suicides last month, why? Because of the lack of the services so many of them depend on to survive. Why? Because of the 'killer' virus covid.
The pub industry is fooked, as is the aviation and so many peoples small businesses and their livelyhoods gone.
Show me why it was worth it. Show me facts and figures that merit such restrictions and balance it up against what is happening to so many people. And its only getting started.
in case you missed it, 70,000 kids passed through cul camps this summer, how many kids tested postive? one!
Our govt is the EU and these muppets are on their strings."
Sweden are the only country who adopted that policy where it worked. The UK tried it and failed miserably.
So its ok to let far more die so economy can be better?
Suicide is horrendous but to just blame the government is nonsense.
The pub industry isnt fooked. And i say this as someone who's worked a huge amount in bars/pub industry the industry had to evolve anyway
This virus doesnt completely affect children but they can carry covid and bring it back to their parents/older family/grandparents who are far more susceptible so why allow that happen?

KillingFields (Limerick) - Posts: 3494 - 08/09/2020 12:34:42    2291110

With the news that pubs will be allowed reopen before the end of the month does that put pressure on the GAA to lobby the government to allow some supporters into matches?

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9104 - 08/09/2020 14:13:51    2291128

Replying To KillingFields:  "Sweden are the only country who adopted that policy where it worked. The UK tried it and failed miserably.
So its ok to let far more die so economy can be better?
Suicide is horrendous but to just blame the government is nonsense.
The pub industry isnt fooked. And i say this as someone who's worked a huge amount in bars/pub industry the industry had to evolve anyway
This virus doesnt completely affect children but they can carry covid and bring it back to their parents/older family/grandparents who are far more susceptible so why allow that happen?"
Neither can you compare Sweden with Ireland. Compare it to Norway and see if it worked even if you take into account the population difference. And exactly what worked? a lot of difference between Norway and Sweden was one was compulsory and the other largely voluntary. They still did have legal restrictions but not as much as Norway. On an economic front did Sweden do any better than Norway - well no. However there are a lot of factors at play even when comparing those two. Trying to use Sweden as an example is an excuse to try and doubt the science behind the virus and use it as an excuse to do nothing.

zinny (Wexford) - Posts: 1799 - 08/09/2020 14:29:34    2291133