The Corona Virus And Possible Effects To GAA Matches

Replying To royaldunne:  "Entitled to ur opinion. Look when Andy took over we were pretty much rudderless, has thing's gone as quickly as he or I or anyone in Meath would have liked ? Nope. But we getting there. He has introduced new young players while slowly moving on. Unlike the chop and change that put us in this position in first place. Keoghan has gotten better which very few thought he could, menton came back and is now a proper midfielder, Newman has also recaptured his game, Conlon (19) walsh (18) been brought in at them ages and are been slowly turned into first team starters. Campion same, McGill and lavin are two of the top defenders in country. We still have a major goalkeeping problem in the form of kick outs. Without doubt that is the number one issue that needs to be sorted. Going forward we will get there under Andy. It may take another year or two. But we are getting there."
Oh I know and I'm not bashing McEntee(not saying you said that about me) he is an excellent coach who.os doing a good job and giving young lads a chance and take it from there.

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 01/09/2020 21:15:33    2290131

My cat has more concern for the plight of the GAA than the average politician.

They see themselves as an elite.

They literally dont give a s***e about any of us.

Golfgate was 100% proof of this.

Covid compliance is falling apart as a result.

We are leaderless and probably have been for decades.

People are sick to the teeth of being told what they can and can't do by a government who sit at home on full pay doing Jack S**t ...

They are now cutting the Covid payment to the very people that they won't allow back to work...

More people have died from suicide in the last month, than have died from COVID-19 in the last 3 months.

WTF are people supposed to do?

johnocarroll17 (Limerick) - Posts: 408 - 02/09/2020 10:12:07    2290163

Replying To johnocarroll17:  "My cat has more concern for the plight of the GAA than the average politician.

People are sick to the teeth of being told what they can and can't do by a government who sit at home on full pay doing Jack S**t ...

They are now cutting the Covid payment to the very people that they won't allow back to work...

More people have died from suicide in the last month, than have died from COVID-19 in the last 3 months.

WTF are people supposed to do?"
How many died from suicide last month?

Breezy (Limerick) - Posts: 1236 - 02/09/2020 10:30:28    2290164

Fair statement but the politicians would blame coronavirus for suicides and most other deaths anyway. They are politicians.

suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1667 - 02/09/2020 10:35:13    2290166

Replying To Breezy:  "How many died from suicide last month?"
https://www.who.int/mental_health/prevention/suicide/suicideprevent/en/

lionofludesch (Down) - Posts: 475 - 02/09/2020 10:38:11    2290168

Replying To johnocarroll17:  "My cat has more concern for the plight of the GAA than the average politician.

If you were Michael Martin what would you do differently?

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7337 - 02/09/2020 14:08:07    2290204

Replying To GreenandRed:  "If you were Michael Martin what would you do differently?"
Doubt he/she would do much differently.

In truth, healthcare workers and residents of hospitals/old folks homes etc were badly affected when the first wave hit back in March/April. They were in situations where isolation, distancing etc wasn't possible.

But outside of that, there has to be a certain level of personal responsibility taken by each and every one of us and you can see everywhere, in every location, every single day, that people are blatantly endangering themselves and others with their irresponsible and careless behaviour.

There's NOTHING (short of full lockdown) that any government can, or should be expected to, do about that.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5010 - 02/09/2020 14:17:10    2290207

Replying To GreenandRed: "If you were Michael Martin what would you do differently?"

Doubt he/she would do much differently.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 3866 - 02/09/2020 14:17:10

I always thought Michael Martin was a 'he'. Is there something I missed?

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2447 - 02/09/2020 16:11:41    2290228

Replying To cavanman47:  "Doubt he/she would do much differently.

In truth, healthcare workers and residents of hospitals/old folks homes etc were badly affected when the first wave hit back in March/April. They were in situations where isolation, distancing etc wasn't possible.

But outside of that, there has to be a certain level of personal responsibility taken by each and every one of us and you can see everywhere, in every location, every single day, that people are blatantly endangering themselves and others with their irresponsible and careless behaviour.

There's NOTHING (short of full lockdown) that any government can, or should be expected to, do about that."
Exactly. The government can lay down guidelines as best they can based on advice from the health care professionals who know best. After that it comes down to us to adhere to them. You only have to briefly peruse any social media platform to find "experts" dismissing the wearing of masks, anti-vaxxers and what have you. Jesus Christ like....

Whilst in no way disputing the mental health impact of the Covid situation I think that in general we've gone soft as a nation. We're being asked to do a few simple things to protect our vulnerable and elderly. No-one is asking us to go to war & we're not going to starve.

Yes the government could have provided more clarity at times and things can always be done better with hindsight. But it's hardly a time to throw the toys out of the pram and say to hell with the consequences. The virus was never beaten - we just suppressed the flames a bit and we need to continue with those same efforts to keep it that way.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9116 - 02/09/2020 16:39:23    2290237

Cat sounds a decent sort, as for WTF you should do-try runnung your rants past your feline friend before posting.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2136 - 02/09/2020 19:15:16    2290268

And now for an even more popular opinion. . .

Any pub that really wanted to be open, they could be. They've had 6 months!

An air fryer or a sandwich toaster, a fridge/freezer. Or an agreement with a nearby chipper (which the guards have been happy to turn a blind eye to).

There might be the VERY few places that are simply too small to maintain social distancing, but that'll still be the case when they do eventually open.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5010 - 02/09/2020 21:12:21    2290287

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Exactly. The government can lay down guidelines as best they can based on advice from the health care professionals who know best. After that it comes down to us to adhere to them. You only have to briefly peruse any social media platform to find "experts" dismissing the wearing of masks, anti-vaxxers and what have you. Jesus Christ like....

Whilst in no way disputing the mental health impact of the Covid situation I think that in general we've gone soft as a nation. We're being asked to do a few simple things to protect our vulnerable and elderly. No-one is asking us to go to war & we're not going to starve.

Yes the government could have provided more clarity at times and things can always be done better with hindsight. But it's hardly a time to throw the toys out of the pram and say to hell with the consequences. The virus was never beaten - we just suppressed the flames a bit and we need to continue with those same efforts to keep it that way."
In fairness a lot of the anti lockdown crowd are listening to other medical opinions from outside Ireland which differ from what we're hearing here. There are fruitcakes out there but not them all.

lilypad (Kildare) - Posts: 1363 - 02/09/2020 23:01:30    2290302

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Exactly. The government can lay down guidelines as best they can based on advice from the health care professionals who know best. After that it comes down to us to adhere to them. You only have to briefly peruse any social media platform to find "experts" dismissing the wearing of masks, anti-vaxxers and what have you. Jesus Christ like....

Yes the government could have provided more clarity at times and things can always be done better with hindsight. But it's hardly a time to throw the toys out of the pram and say to hell with the consequences. The virus was never beaten - we just suppressed the flames a bit and we need to continue with those same efforts to keep it that way."
Completely agree with you. The one thing that the WHO and all western medical experts got wrong from the start was the wearing of facemasks however does this still explain why people now do not wear them? Its amazing how the minor inconvenience of wearing a facemask can be turned into some sort of suppression of human rights. Why is it that in cities like HK and Singapore that people accept wearing a mask everywhere outside their own house and in Ireland people will not even wear them in shops or on public transport.
Anyway on a side note I see that schools and classes being suspended have shoved the GAA club suspending activities off the headlines - I guess papers believe its a more sensational headline.

zinny (Wexford) - Posts: 1800 - 03/09/2020 12:15:21    2290359

Yeah I've seen people argue that human beings aren't built for wearing clothing over our mouths and noses. Yet people still wear clothes, shoes, pierce their skin and get tattoos. A lot of it is just plain contrarian nonsense. If the government had advised us NOT to wear face masks in public these same people would likely be up in arms about our government ignoring health advice.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9116 - 03/09/2020 15:35:32    2290419

Replying To maroondiesel:  "The league will be completed even it is in the new year and behind closed doors. Championship is another story."
At this point I'd take either one.

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2113 - 05/09/2020 12:01:20    2290663

My cat has more concern for the plight of the GAA than the average politician
johnocarroll17 (Limerick) - Posts: 34 - 02/09/2020 10:12:07
Theyre cutting the covid payment because its unrealistic to keep it at the 350 rate.
They do give a shite about us as its their job to and many actually do care.
Covid compliance isnt falling apart. We havent been leaderless and certainly havent for decades.
The government arent sitting at home doing f all.

KillingFields (Limerick) - Posts: 3499 - 05/09/2020 12:19:02    2290665

Replying To KillingFields:  "My cat has more concern for the plight of the GAA than the average politician
Theyre cutting the covid payment because its unrealistic to keep it at the 350 rate.
Covid compliance isnt falling apart. We havent been leaderless and certainly havent for decades.
The government arent sitting at home doing f all."
So you are an apologist for the Government?

johnocarroll17 (Limerick) - Posts: 408 - 05/09/2020 22:00:47    2290748

Replying To KillingFields:  "My cat has more concern for the plight of the GAA than the average politician
No but we just have a very weak leader who's been flip flopping on many issues since the formation of the coalition.

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 06/09/2020 00:09:37    2290760

Best outcome from covid has been the entertaining clubs games on tele compared to the one sided county games. The Club season should be finished every year before the county season begins.

brisbane (Galway) - Posts: 674 - 06/09/2020 18:23:01    2290821

Replying To johnocarroll17:  "
So you are an apologist for the Government?"
Not at all. Im on the covid payment with my work having stopped because of covid but its completely unrealistic for the government to keep paying everyone at the 350€ rate long term.
Can you counter my post or say anything other than meaningless statements.

KillingFields (Limerick) - Posts: 3499 - 06/09/2020 18:51:38    2290824