Replying To howmanysteps?: "long time lurker first time posting, but that is a very harsh statement? to be fair the lads are entertaining, why else do we keep coming back visiting the page? they give predictions and opinions? i don't see you adding much, if you want to start off a topic then post a comment, your comment is quite childish, i get great value off the posters, eoinog gives great insights and the sligopublican is clearly here just to rise some of ye, if you have nothing good to say don't bother coming on the page, 'Tells a lot about some off ye' ...... stupid comment" well said
putyourfootunderit (Sligo) - Posts: 74 - 23/09/2020 08:54:24
Replying To howmanysteps?: "long time lurker first time posting, but that is a very harsh statement? to be fair the lads are entertaining, why else do we keep coming back visiting the page? they give predictions and opinions? i don't see you adding much, if you want to start off a topic then post a comment, your comment is quite childish, i get great value off the posters, eoinog gives great insights and the sligopublican is clearly here just to rise some of ye, if you have nothing good to say don't bother coming on the page, 'Tells a lot about some off ye' ...... stupid comment" Great to see a newbie. Could do with a few more posters to liven things up.
eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 2074 - 23/09/2020 11:16:51
On a separate topic, I want to give some praise to the CB (Lord knows I don't give them much), for their coverage during the championship.
Certainly can still be improved upon. I'd like to see the papers with a bit more info and interviews, the league coverage really needs to be upped next year (or why would lads bother taking it serious?). But overall during the championship, the coverage from both the CB and clubs has been very good. The live streams worked very well, even if they are just for the games in Markevievcz. I do think it really helps lads putting in a big effort, if they know an effort is being made to promote their game. I don't remember a year where games were as easy to track overall. Hopefully that can continue to improve in 2021.
Or maybe I'm just drinking less :)
putyourfootunderit (Sligo) - Posts: 74 - 23/09/2020 12:25:53
Replying To putyourfootunderit: "On a separate topic, I want to give some praise to the CB (Lord knows I don't give them much), for their coverage during the championship.
Certainly can still be improved upon. I'd like to see the papers with a bit more info and interviews, the league coverage really needs to be upped next year (or why would lads bother taking it serious?). But overall during the championship, the coverage from both the CB and clubs has been very good. The live streams worked very well, even if they are just for the games in Markevievcz. I do think it really helps lads putting in a big effort, if they know an effort is being made to promote their game. I don't remember a year where games were as easy to track overall. Hopefully that can continue to improve in 2021.
Or maybe I'm just drinking less :)" Agree wholeheartedly. Plus Cathal Mullaney is excellent at a commentary. Miles ahead of what was before him
eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 2074 - 23/09/2020 13:02:41
The analysis was very good and the lads knew a lot about the players involved. But something has to be done about the camera work. The games at the start were good as it was one camera angle but the sideline camera was a disaster. completely ruined the viewing and added nothing . the close ups of a player soloing served no purpose
townietalk (Sligo) - Posts: 44 - 23/09/2020 13:16:51
Streaming and commentary was very good, however once you pay you should have access to the game for good and not have it expire after a week...and have to pay again. Only surprise of the WE was the gap in Junior A result. It looked like there might be a swing in the direction of Silverware this year with 3 teams from the northern part of the county involved but as it turns out all 3 went south. Regarding Gus in senior game, don't think he was hard in DRP considering Logan got so many frees to kick/score, also think their goal was square ball but no matter now, it could have been a major talking point if it went DRP way in the end. Logan flawless on frees. Lally very good and needs to be given more scope in Sligo team, not stuck in FF. Power also deserves a call up. Harte excellent for this stage of his career. Would also love to see J Kelly back in Sligo colours, just has that ability to glide around defenders which is rare.
MrUnderhill (Sligo) - Posts: 90 - 23/09/2020 16:42:19
Streaming and commentary was very good, however once you pay you should have access to the game for good and not have it expire after a week...and have to pay again. Only surprise of the WE was the gap in Junior A result. It looked like there might be a swing in the direction of Silverware this year with 3 teams from the northern part of the county involved but as it turns out all 3 went south. Regarding Gus in senior game, don't think he was hard in DRP considering Logan got so many frees to kick/score, also think their goal was square ball but no matter now, it could have been a major talking point if it went DRP way in the end. Logan flawless on frees. Lally very good and needs to be given more scope in Sligo team, not stuck in FF. Power also deserves a call up. Harte excellent for this stage of his career. Would also love to see J Kelly back in Sligo colours, just has that ability to glide around defenders which is rare.
MrUnderhill (Sligo) - Posts: 90 - 23/09/2020 18:28:07
Replying To MrUnderhill: "Streaming and commentary was very good, however once you pay you should have access to the game for good and not have it expire after a week...and have to pay again. Only surprise of the WE was the gap in Junior A result. It looked like there might be a swing in the direction of Silverware this year with 3 teams from the northern part of the county involved but as it turns out all 3 went south. Regarding Gus in senior game, don't think he was hard in DRP considering Logan got so many frees to kick/score, also think their goal was square ball but no matter now, it could have been a major talking point if it went DRP way in the end. Logan flawless on frees. Lally very good and needs to be given more scope in Sligo team, not stuck in FF. Power also deserves a call up. Harte excellent for this stage of his career. Would also love to see J Kelly back in Sligo colours, just has that ability to glide around defenders which is rare." Yes. I agree on a season pass but considering how quick it was thrown together, not bad at all.
Logan is a very good free taker surely and Lally was getting an opportunity in fairness until Covid. i'm sure he's very much in Taylors plans for the future. Power as good as what's there too you'd think, yes. And have to wholeheartedly agree on Kelly. He wants the ball all the time. Seems to be one of very few Tour players that is permitted to run at players. Something we have very little of in our county panel at the moment. Think he would be a tremendous addition to have in again.
putyourfootunderit (Sligo) - Posts: 74 - 24/09/2020 14:22:32
Lot of good points here, Curry forward line is the most potent in Intermediate any day you get 17 points from 3 players spread evenly you would expect to be winning a game and a couple more chipped in with scores aswell.
Tourlestrane did as expected, fair play to Drumcliffe for keeping them honest but watching the game I never got the feeling that they were in any danger they were always keeping Drumcliffe at arms length.
As many posters have said the streaming was a great option and even clubs own individual coverage was improved drastically from previous years so hopefully this will continue.
Would echo a lot of people that it would be great to see Johnny Kelly back with the county team but maybe it just isn't viable for him with his work situation
MrWest91 (Sligo) - Posts: 14 - 25/09/2020 13:17:24
Great to see some quality GAA coverage in the Sligo Weekender this week. Interview with Aiden Rooney was excellent covering topics from playing days to his coaching Sligo minors and now focusing on bringing underage players to senior level in Saint Mary's.
It would be an idea to have an interview series with other successful managers within the county like Kevin Johnson, O'Hara, McGowan, Tom Breheny et al to increase the coverage in local media. It's been a rough few years for sligo football but I'm optimistic for the future.
BillyBerto (Sligo) - Posts: 3 - 16/01/2021 22:10:57
Mulligan from leitrim to join st mary's in sligo.
Bogger100 (Leitrim) - Posts: 99 - 18/01/2021 12:32:33
Replying To BillyBerto: "Great to see some quality GAA coverage in the Sligo Weekender this week. Interview with Aiden Rooney was excellent covering topics from playing days to his coaching Sligo minors and now focusing on bringing underage players to senior level in Saint Mary's.
It would be an idea to have an interview series with other successful managers within the county like Kevin Johnson, O'Hara, McGowan, Tom Breheny et al to increase the coverage in local media. It's been a rough few years for sligo football but I'm optimistic for the future." Paper never refuses ink.Rooney has never managed to win damn all.minors threw away a Connaught title.marys had tour beaten last year but sat back instead of going at it for last ten.
Bogger100 (Leitrim) - Posts: 99 - 18/01/2021 12:39:01
Replying To Bogger100: "Mulligan from leitrim to join st mary's in sligo." This can't be true? Not like Mary's to poach other clubs players.
NewSligofan (Sligo) - Posts: 258 - 18/01/2021 16:03:23
Replying To NewSligofan: "This can't be true? Not like Mary's to poach other clubs players." Scarism is the lowest form of wit but history would allow it on this occasion
Bogger100 (Leitrim) - Posts: 99 - 18/01/2021 16:30:56
Replying To Bogger100: "Scarism is the lowest form of wit but history would allow it on this occasion" I hope this isn't true especially with the article in the paper referencing player development and retention within saint marys.
BillyBerto (Sligo) - Posts: 3 - 18/01/2021 17:00:44
Replying To BillyBerto: "I hope this isn't true especially with the article in the paper referencing player development and retention within saint marys." Paper never refuses ink.supposedly true all right.rooney full of it
Bogger100 (Leitrim) - Posts: 99 - 18/01/2021 18:58:54
Bogger, does paper ever refuse ink?
republican (Sligo) - Posts: 347 - 19/01/2021 00:57:39
Replying To Bogger100: "Paper never refuses ink.supposedly true all right.rooney full of it" Well with their new additions and the change at Tour, anything but a championship win is a failure in my book
putyourfootunderit (Sligo) - Posts: 74 - 19/01/2021 11:05:06
Have Mary's recruited a Cavan player also?
NewSligofan (Sligo) - Posts: 258 - 23/01/2021 15:37:05
Replying To NewSligofan: "Have Mary's recruited a Cavan player also?" Major push on to win a championship if that is the case. Player development doesn't look like it's high on the priority list. Already have good players so these additions should push them close
BillyBerto (Sligo) - Posts: 3 - 23/01/2021 20:18:45