Master Calendar 2020

Replying To eoinog:  "Good to see a new face on here. Sligopublican is not to be taken seriously . He makes outlandish predictions every week and claims to be from about 5 different areas. But he is great craic. I have heard nothing about the duo of managers and their antics. It's a pity that such an experienced couple are so disrespectful to the championship by naming such blatantly inaccurate teams each week. Did anyone really think that the midfield would be 2 Egan's and that Harte, Mc intyre, the 2 Henrys and James Leonard would not be starting"
The team sheets don't bother me, most of them have been a waste of time for a long time. If you look every week most clubs have the same lineup listed weeks in a row. My guess is management name the 34/35 players and don't bother to change it. All part of the tactical battle now.

On the 2 tour lads I won't claim to have been at the game was listening on the radio and it was said both of them finished the game on the terrace after invading the pitch over a penalty decision. They have got away with too much on the sideline for years and it's time they were taken to task at last.

MrWest91 (Sligo) - Posts: 14 - 09/09/2020 13:20:16    2291288

Replying To MrWest91:  "The team sheets don't bother me, most of them have been a waste of time for a long time. If you look every week most clubs have the same lineup listed weeks in a row. My guess is management name the 34/35 players and don't bother to change it. All part of the tactical battle now.

On the 2 tour lads I won't claim to have been at the game was listening on the radio and it was said both of them finished the game on the terrace after invading the pitch over a penalty decision. They have got away with too much on the sideline for years and it's time they were taken to task at last."
"got away with two much" is an understatement - they are the two best managers in the history of Sligo Football ever...........look at their record undefeated in league and championship for past 5 years, yes 5 years, Mr ABT

leyny (Sligo) - Posts: 71 - 09/09/2020 14:31:15    2291308

Replying To leyny:  ""got away with two much" is an understatement - they are the two best managers in the history of Sligo Football ever...........look at their record undefeated in league and championship for past 5 years, yes 5 years, Mr ABT"
I think that has more to do with the fact that sligo club football is at its lowest level in living memory, Curry in intermediate, harps in a senior relegation final. Mary's not good enough or coolera. Tourlestrane are the only club with their house in order it seems and fair play to them but sligo football needs a strong championship not 1 team untouchable.

And on being the best managers in history of sligo their record outside the county leaves a lot to be desired.

MrWest91 (Sligo) - Posts: 14 - 09/09/2020 14:49:14    2291313

Tourlestrane had better teams in the last 20 years. The also had good opposition back then too. Fair play on their achievements and they are a good panel but the quality in Sligo is so poor.

NewSligofan (Sligo) - Posts: 258 - 09/09/2020 16:59:37    2291328

tourlestrane are so hard to watch , their brand of football is brutal, but it wins games, its coming to the end of the road for o hara and mcgowan imo, what more can they do? they wont be a fart in the wind in connacht (and thats not to outlandish eoinog is it?)
as for sligos football, the intermediate championship is where the entertainment factor is, im a harps man till i die after all but that team has been in decline over the years, along with coolaney mullinabreena, tubbercurry, and the likes, no minors coming through whatsoever, tubbercurry mullinabreena and cloonacool had to pull together this year for underage and got a battering by 15 plus points every game, harps and curry in a minor B shield final aswel this week, once that would have been a minor A final, teams just arent producing the development of underage anymore,

not one team could touch tourlestrane in the near future bar drumcliff, they play the same brand , and seem to be going in the right direction, going by the minor A final lastnight , which was a excellent game to watch and fair play to sligo gaa for streaming it free, that molaise team was so physically strong, really showed some of the underage delepment gym programs, as the county lads really stood out, if they can win intermediate and them young lads push on, molaise will be a force aswel in the future, i hope thats not to outlandish eoinog, but thats my opinion on sligo football

sligopublican (Sligo) - Posts: 45 - 10/09/2020 09:02:16    2291377

Replying To leyny:  ""got away with two much" is an understatement - they are the two best managers in the history of Sligo Football ever...........look at their record undefeated in league and championship for past 5 years, yes 5 years, Mr ABT"
I think he was referring to their antics on the sideline. their intimidation of referees/linesmen has been going on too long. there's really no need for it when they are so dominant in the county. they need to be banned for this sort of thing

ProudSligoMan (Sligo) - Posts: 17 - 10/09/2020 14:10:25    2291420

Replying To sligopublican:  "tourlestrane are so hard to watch , their brand of football is brutal, but it wins games, its coming to the end of the road for o hara and mcgowan imo, what more can they do? they wont be a fart in the wind in connacht (and thats not to outlandish eoinog is it?)
as for sligos football, the intermediate championship is where the entertainment factor is, im a harps man till i die after all but that team has been in decline over the years, along with coolaney mullinabreena, tubbercurry, and the likes, no minors coming through whatsoever, tubbercurry mullinabreena and cloonacool had to pull together this year for underage and got a battering by 15 plus points every game, harps and curry in a minor B shield final aswel this week, once that would have been a minor A final, teams just arent producing the development of underage anymore,

not one team could touch tourlestrane in the near future bar drumcliff, they play the same brand , and seem to be going in the right direction, going by the minor A final lastnight , which was a excellent game to watch and fair play to sligo gaa for streaming it free, that molaise team was so physically strong, really showed some of the underage delepment gym programs, as the county lads really stood out, if they can win intermediate and them young lads push on, molaise will be a force aswel in the future, i hope thats not to outlandish eoinog, but thats my opinion on sligo football"
Agree with lots of that I have to say. Curry may go back up this year but I have seen lots of them in intermediate last few years and once Adrian Marren goes they will struggle to win games at that level never mind senior. They will need some youngsters to come through to get them anywhere close to what they were. Harps are going to be intermediate sooner rather than later, maybe not this year coming but its on the cards, again they're being held together by old timers like Ross and Tony Taylor. That can't last either.

Tour you have to give credit too 4 in a row and maybe 5 is great even if its not exactly a golden age for club football in Sligo. That said I cannot see that this Tour team would be doing that 10/15 years ago, there was too much competition then.

Also watched the minor final and it was a great game of football with a few very talented lads on both sides especially in attack, great scoring and I'd imagine for a neutral probably a mile ahead of what will be served up in the senior final where it will be packed defences and low scoring.

maximus_1 (Sligo) - Posts: 25 - 11/09/2020 08:26:24    2291500

Replying To maximus_1:  "
Replying To sligopublican:  "tourlestrane are so hard to watch , their brand of football is brutal, but it wins games, its coming to the end of the road for o hara and mcgowan imo, what more can they do? they wont be a fart in the wind in connacht (and thats not to outlandish eoinog is it?)

not one team could touch tourlestrane in the near future bar drumcliff, they play the same brand , and seem to be going in the right direction, going by the minor A final lastnight , which was a excellent game to watch and fair play to sligo gaa for streaming it free, that molaise team was so physically strong, really showed some of the underage delepment gym programs, as the county lads really stood out, if they can win intermediate and them young lads push on, molaise will be a force aswel in the future, i hope thats not to outlandish eoinog, but thats my opinion on sligo football"
Agree with lots of that I have to say. Curry may go back up this year but I have seen lots of them in intermediate last few years and once Adrian Marren goes they will struggle to win games at that level never mind senior. They will need some youngsters to come through to get them anywhere close to what they were. Harps are going to be intermediate sooner rather than later, maybe not this year coming but its on the cards, again they're being held together by old timers like Ross and Tony Taylor. That can't last either.

Tour you have to give credit too 4 in a row and maybe 5 is great even if its not exactly a golden age for club football in Sligo. That said I cannot see that this Tour team would be doing that 10/15 years ago, there was too much competition then.

Also watched the minor final and it was a great game of football with a few very talented lads on both sides especially in attack, great scoring and I'd imagine for a neutral probably a mile ahead of what will be served up in the senior final where it will be packed defences and low scoring."
yes ya havta give credit to tour, success breeds success after all, they have forgotton what its like to lose a game i say, what i cant understand is the fall of our development teams in sligo , after the minor and under 20 age groups, once they hit the senior club teams they seem to disappear, a very minority progress to be stars of their club teams, not even the infamous red og lit the intermediate championship alight this year, very average, the under 20 team of last year or the year before had like 6-7 shamrock gaels starters did it not? and they struggled severely this year in championship, dont get me wrong teams are allowed bad years, but its no wonder our county team is so poor when there isnt 1 or 3 young bucks lighting up championship games

sligopublican (Sligo) - Posts: 45 - 11/09/2020 12:25:12    2291535

When you put up a good post like this one I have no issue whatsoever with it. The outlandish bits are calling a bunny Ballymote game a west Derby, or you totally wrong on how teams go through if they level on points, bunny's in relegation trouble if they lose their second game (they won the first) and that the intermediate title is Curry's to lose ???? Throw in the fact that you claim to be from Harps which I don't believe cos in nearly every post you have them condemned to intermediate. You claim that they have no minors coming through despite the fact that there must be 6 or 7 of the Minor A Championship winning team playing each week. The minor game was very good. I thought Marten who is u.16 was really impressive. There were good performances from the older minors but I was really disappointed with the current 17 year olds who are on the Sligo team. When your team scores 4.17 and current minors playing in the forwards fails to score there is something seriously wrong. I took in a lot of minor games and I picked out a really good keeper, at least one midfielder and 2 forwards that are not even on the Sligo minor panel. When I mentioned this to someone I was told I was innocent as all minor mgt that have sons of 17 years are all in the minor set up regardless of ability. It was sickening to hear, did we not learn from the Rooney era.

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 2074 - 11/09/2020 13:10:27    2291541

we'l be friends yet eoinog, dont worry ;) was i not right about condemning harps to intermediate? well im nearly right, give me some credit hah harps till i die.....
i was wrong about the group standings but im man enough to admit i was wrong, il know better for next year
molaise will beat curry by 5 points , wait and see

sligopublican (Sligo) - Posts: 45 - 11/09/2020 14:36:04    2291557

Replying To sligopublican:  "we'l be friends yet eoinog, dont worry ;) was i not right about condemning harps to intermediate? well im nearly right, give me some credit hah harps till i die.....
i was wrong about the group standings but im man enough to admit i was wrong, il know better for next year
molaise will beat curry by 5 points , wait and see"
I'm friends with everyone ))

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 2074 - 11/09/2020 15:09:40    2291563

Replying To eoinog:  "I'm friends with everyone ))"
As a matter of interest. What club do you hail from Eoinog. If I'm correct, I believe you were asked this some time ago but didnt give an answer.

Sligoabu123 (Leitrim) - Posts: 9 - 11/09/2020 15:31:06    2291565

As much as I'd like to say I told you so eoinog....but I told you so ;) poor old harps

sligopublican (Sligo) - Posts: 45 - 13/09/2020 13:21:22    2291827

Replying To sligopublican:  "As much as I'd like to say I told you so eoinog....but I told you so ;) poor old harps"
Suppose you had to get one right ))). Still don't think you are from that club though. What's your view on the politics of the Co minor team where all management have sons on the panel

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 2074 - 14/09/2020 14:37:14    2292047

Replying To eoinog:  "Suppose you had to get one right ))). Still don't think you are from that club though. What's your view on the politics of the Co minor team where all management have sons on the panel"
I have match Programmes for sale from 4 recent Connacht Senior Football Finals, that involved Sligo.

1997 Mayo v Sligo
2010 Roscommon v Sligo (includes Match Ticket
2012 Mayo v Sligo
2015 Mayo v Sligo

The above programmes are € 5 each

Also 2019 Connacht Semi Final
Galway v Sligo €3

If anyone is interested, please E-mail me
[email protected]

Rosjohn (Roscommon) - Posts: 13 - 14/09/2020 18:52:00    2292101

Thoughts on Sundays game? The ref is an interesting one

townietalk (Sligo) - Posts: 44 - 15/09/2020 15:23:22    2292274

Replying To townietalk:  "Thoughts on Sundays game? The ref is an interesting one"
very interesting for both senior finals , i think mcgovern deserved a final i think he had a great year, not sure about the senior one

sligopublican (Sligo) - Posts: 45 - 15/09/2020 15:52:39    2292280

unfortunate for Judge that the altercation with tour management probably cost him

townietalk (Sligo) - Posts: 44 - 15/09/2020 16:13:25    2292287

Who is the ref for the senior

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 2074 - 15/09/2020 18:06:36    2292315

Gus Chapman

MrWest91 (Sligo) - Posts: 14 - 15/09/2020 19:31:55    2292330