Master Calendar 2020

Gus Chapman

MrWest91 (Sligo) - Posts: 14 - 16/09/2020 09:35:15    2292399

Big weekend ahead. So can 200 attend each game?

MrUnderhill (Sligo) - Posts: 90 - 16/09/2020 11:22:31    2292438

Replying To townietalk:  "unfortunate for Judge that the altercation with tour management probably cost him"
No love lost there it seems. Though I think he's one of the better ones in the county in fairness

putyourfootunderit (Sligo) - Posts: 74 - 16/09/2020 17:20:04    2292539

Replying To MrWest91:  "Gus Chapman"
Not good.......

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 2074 - 16/09/2020 18:49:14    2292552

So a limited number of spectators back should give the finals a bit more of an atmosphere which is a good thing.

Junior A Final: I think Owenmore Gaels will reach the promised land at last but they'll get nothing easy from Tourlestrane who in fairness have a second team that would compete with some of the Intermediate teams. I just think Owenmore have become wise to getting complacent and seem to have good fire power up front.

Intermediate: I'm going to back Curry to make amends for their group loss to Molaise. Keeping Curry goalless should be the aim for Molaise as it's goals that's pulling them through games. I hear all key players for them are fit and ready to. Either way there'll not be a lot between the teams.

Senior: More talk of off the field news this week and Tours management suspensions may appear to be a distraction from the task at hand. Is it true Cathal Henry is out? It's some achievement for Drumcliffe to get to the final when no one would have seen it at the beginning of the championship. They'll have the backing of the whole county you'd imagine but I'd be thinking Tourlestrane have got their frights against Calry and St Mary's and will probably target Logan as key man to keep quiet. While I'd love to see Drumcliffe win I just dunno if it'll happen but they'll certainly give a great account of themselves.

Sligoman1234 (Sligo) - Posts: 488 - 17/09/2020 08:18:15    2292610

Replying To Sligoman1234:  "So a limited number of spectators back should give the finals a bit more of an atmosphere which is a good thing.

Junior A Final: I think Owenmore Gaels will reach the promised land at last but they'll get nothing easy from Tourlestrane who in fairness have a second team that would compete with some of the Intermediate teams. I just think Owenmore have become wise to getting complacent and seem to have good fire power up front.

Intermediate: I'm going to back Curry to make amends for their group loss to Molaise. Keeping Curry goalless should be the aim for Molaise as it's goals that's pulling them through games. I hear all key players for them are fit and ready to. Either way there'll not be a lot between the teams.

Senior: More talk of off the field news this week and Tours management suspensions may appear to be a distraction from the task at hand. Is it true Cathal Henry is out? It's some achievement for Drumcliffe to get to the final when no one would have seen it at the beginning of the championship. They'll have the backing of the whole county you'd imagine but I'd be thinking Tourlestrane have got their frights against Calry and St Mary's and will probably target Logan as key man to keep quiet. While I'd love to see Drumcliffe win I just dunno if it'll happen but they'll certainly give a great account of themselves."
OMG did reach the promised land in 2015, but couldnt stay in Intermediate the following year. Lost to Easkey in Final in 2018 (the year Easkey went all the way to Croke Park) and fancied their chances last year, but took their eye off the ball. Winning Junior A isnt worth a damn unless you consolidate into the Intermediate.

dissentinggael (Sligo) - Posts: 6 - 17/09/2020 12:35:46    2292658

I give Drumcliffe no chance on Sunday with or without the Tour mgt .I like everyone else (outside of Tour) would love to see Drumcliffe winning it for the first time. That's not ABT, it's just human nature, everyone loves the underdog. To balance that I think the Juniors from Tourlestrane will win. Marten, Dunne have so much cuteness, lundy is going well in the forwards, Phelim is a colossus in midfield. I just can't see Owenmore Gaels winning. Geevagh ladies will also beat them in the Ladies Final. The underdog also only gets one chance. I think Tourlestrane s chance is gone. Intermediate is very difficult to call. Curry are conceding big scores. If Molaise can keep out the goals they could really put it up to them. I'm going for a draw.

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 2074 - 17/09/2020 12:58:06    2292666

Up Drumcliffe

steakknife (Galway) - Posts: 30 - 17/09/2020 13:31:22    2292681

i saw the cliffe tour game last year. very tight game but goals from tour were crucial. i hope drp do the job with the experience of Durcan, Ewing and the lad from westmeath who changed the game in the semi.

townietalk (Sligo) - Posts: 44 - 17/09/2020 13:48:49    2292687

As Eoinog would say 'ABT ABT ABT ABT ABT' up drumcliffe

sligopublican (Sligo) - Posts: 45 - 17/09/2020 15:37:09    2292720

all joking aside, its been a very enjoyable championship considering, i see curry just about edging it, if curry can get a goal or two they should clinch it, as much as id love to see drumcliffe winning, it would be some achievement, and nobody deserves it more then O flaherty, put in serious time and effort below the last few years,
owenmore gaels should just have enough to come through the junior final,
its great some spectators can finally get through the gates

sligopublican (Sligo) - Posts: 45 - 18/09/2020 14:23:19    2292915

So Tourlestrane have the first cup of the weekend claimed and with plenty to spare. I know the sending off didn't help Owenmore Gaels but from watching it Tour seemed to have every part of the field under control and if they play like that next year could well hold their own in Intermediate.

Sligoman1234 (Sligo) - Posts: 488 - 20/09/2020 08:50:52    2293129

Loads of silly talk before the matches. None then after the games.

Tells a lot about some off ye.

NewSligofan (Sligo) - Posts: 258 - 22/09/2020 13:00:43    2293554

I guess the Sligopublican is gone back to work and doesnt have the time.

Fair play , he/she predicted a Molaise and Curry win so he had all bases covered there.

republican (Sligo) - Posts: 347 - 22/09/2020 13:50:40    2293568

Replying To NewSligofan:  "Loads of silly talk before the matches. None then after the games.

Tells a lot about some off ye."
No idea what you mean with that post. I said Tourlestrane would win the double, which they did. I also said Geevagh would win the ladies which was correct. I went for a draw in the intermediate, I was wrong. What do you want me or other posters to say. I admire people who have the balls to make a prediction before a game rather than wait like the cute bucks till the game is over and then come on spewing rubbish.

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 2074 - 22/09/2020 13:53:57    2293569

tour were nearly out of sight in the first qtr, then again no team is going to kick 100%. DRP did well to come back into it. some decisions went against drp at times when they were getting a small bit of momentum. Harte was very pivotal for tour and his experience was evident. Kelly was very impressive . Massive spirit shown by drp, lally was excellent driving at the tour defence.

Going forward tour look hard to stop, drp have a young team with smith to come back in in the coming season.

townietalk (Sligo) - Posts: 44 - 22/09/2020 13:55:02    2293570

Replying To NewSligofan:  "Loads of silly talk before the matches. None then after the games.

what do you want us to say ? what will we talk about the under 12 game this evening?

sligopublican (Sligo) - Posts: 45 - 22/09/2020 14:19:23    2293573

Replying To republican:  "I guess the Sligopublican is gone back to work and doesnt have the time.

Fair play , he/she predicted a Molaise and Curry win so he had all bases covered there."
im here man, anytime you want to talk let me know, i didnt think id be missed so much

sligopublican (Sligo) - Posts: 45 - 22/09/2020 14:20:26    2293574

long time lurker first time posting, but that is a very harsh statement? to be fair the lads are entertaining, why else do we keep coming back visiting the page? they give predictions and opinions? i don't see you adding much,
if you want to start off a topic then post a comment, your comment is quite childish,
i get great value off the posters, eoinog gives great insights and the sligopublican is clearly here just to rise some of ye,
if you have nothing good to say don't bother coming on the page,
'Tells a lot about some off ye' ...... stupid comment

howmanysteps? (Sligo) - Posts: 8 - 22/09/2020 14:27:56    2293577

I think its a fair comment to say how bizarre it is to have no analysis after a bumper weekend of matches in Sligo GAA. Eoinogs many posters using his/her account to gloat about the predictions which were tough to predict in fairness is about where its at....

I thoroughly enjoyed this year's championship, living away from home was great to see the games. Sligo GAA did a fantastic job imo on the streams, even got to see the Minor A final which was one of the best matches I've ever seen and full of amazing quality.

First off massively disappointed to see us lose the Intermediate final, congrats to Curry who were deserving winners and will hold there own in senior imo. Adrian Marren was my man of the match, he was outstanding, pulling the strings and I think got 5 from play. Red Og was unreal with the frees down the final stretch but he needs to have a bigger impact from play if he is to deliver on his potential. Jason Marren was unstoppable at times. In fact, for most of the game, I felt we were hanging in there even when we got ahead but the black card finished us and made scoreline look worse, our character and Alan McLoughlin outstanding performance kept us in it. He needs a county call up, he took the game to Curry on his own at times. We started with too much experience in the middle third as the too many lack any pace on a day with good weather. Leaving one of your fully fit best forwards on the bench cost us too. Id expect more from our Management. We have won 2 of 3 Minor A finals now and that team seems to have improved but I do worry about us bringing it through, no guarantees. Seeing 2 of our starting players playing junior soccer the week before a final says it all about what we are up against in North Sligo. Doesn't happen in Tourlestrane or most clubs. Harps dropped down and Bunninaden beat us in the group stages so no guarantees next year but hopefully we can go one step further.

I really enjoyed the senior final, Tourlestrane were worthy winners as they could have been out of sight but fair play to Drumcliffe who pushed them all the way. This was definitely tours best showing all year in terms of intensity. I thought the ref was incredibly harsh on Drumcliffe at times, did not give 2 blatant scorable frees in first half, and he got in the way of Drumcliffe player once and done him for overcarrying. The thing that annoys as a neutral is why favour Tourlestrane, they don't need it but sure it didn't affect the outcome blah blah blah. I have got a good look at Cian Lally and he looks an incredible player, his ball carrying through the middle was outstanding as he took the game to them. He opened up space in the middle time after time and when DRP needed it most he took the mantle. After he caught my eye earlier in the summer I looked back on his Sligo performances because he should be tearing up Div4 and he's not done a whole lot, hopefully, he'll bring this momentum when the leagues resume because he's a serious talent. Logan was unreal from frees, just unreal, great player, colleary was quite but no space in inside line. It was great to Sean Power back to his best, he was outstanding bombing forward and took his chances. Has to be a starter for Sligo. Ewing did well pulling the strings and their defence held well at times when it looked like creaking. Liam Gaughan has been the player of the championship but hes does need to up his intensity and get into games more. He has everything except that for me at the minute. Phenomenal talent. Whatever we need to do to convince John Kelly back into the panel for Sligo, best ball carrier in Sligo, opens up defences time and again. Any chance pat Harte coverting to us. Worthy man of the match as he was efficient in everything he does, the timing of upping the intensity, shot selection everything was on point. Whilst tours wastefulness opened the door for DRP they showed they are a force for the future and they have plenty of good mix of talent, experience, fire power and pace.

Just on the refs who were absolutely atrocious across most of the senior games and intermediate games I watched, I would like to think Sligo GAA might look at this at some stage and try to improve the standard or stay in denial. McGowan and O Hara were 100% right having a go at the ref the last day, it was almost a like for like penalty decision which he consulted his umpires on one end and not on the other, it's as simple as that and I bet that's all they asked.

Having seen so many games, way more than any other year I do believe we have the players to do be competitive in Connacht (not get hammered) and definitely get out of Div4 by beating Carlow and Limerick.

Sligonian (Sligo) - Posts: 1831 - 22/09/2020 23:07:53    2293661