Mayo V Dublin

Replying To SamandLiamSoon:  "Pity he didn't show Keegan the same respect when he dived to try and get him sent off."
Oh cop on.. O Donoghue was a lucky young fella for elbowing him in the stomach..

Belclare (Galway) - Posts: 904 - 11/08/2019 12:33:17    2223911

Replying To Hitnhurl:  "Lol reading some these messages I feel I should be getting down on knee and genoflecting ....dub great prob best team but you will see they will have quite times again ..........quote me on that:)"
Absolutely. People losing the run of themselves. Granted certain things need to change maybe even tweak. But things will go full circle and while Dublin are unlikely to go long without winning all irelands domination will come to an end.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1946 - 11/08/2019 12:41:01    2223917

Replying To JoeSoap:  "Some amount of doomsday merchants on here, my god.

Personally as a massive fan of GAA, I can't help but admire this Dublin team. They play great football, they have great decision makers and leaders all over the park, they are decent people off the field and are humble and love the sport. What more could you want from your champions? They represent the very best of the GAA, the whole ethos we're supposed to laud, the Dubs have it in spades. They are a special, special group.

If they do the five-in-a-row we couldn't ask for a better bunch to go into the history books."
I said it before and I'll say it again

Ye Donegal lads are a cut above most

Nice words and very appreciated

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 11/08/2019 12:55:30    2223920

Replying To avonali:  "Ever try paragraphing your drivel?"
Ah, don't mind him, he's one of the conspiracy theorists thrashing around for new excuses to explain Dublin's supremacy!

Where were all these people when between 1996 and 2010 we couldn't win an All Ireland. I'll tell where they were. They were sneering and jeering the Dubs always waiting for them to fail. Most of them actually came from counties that hardly ever won a provincial title, never mind reaching an All-Ireland final.

The same chatterers are now demanding that Dublin be split in two, that our funding be curtailed. Ok so, what do you want Dublin North V Dublin South meeting in an All Ireland semi final or final? And cutting our funding, please tell me how that is in any way going to help Mayo, Roscommon, Westmeath, Laois or Meath to win an All Ireland. A number of posters have called this correctly, and Graham Canty spoke about it a few days ago. ….

Would it not be better to stop moaning and trying to match Dublin players fitness and commitment to their county team? Dublin can only put out 15 players on a field at any one time, the same as every other county team. Other counties need to start at juvenile level with county development squads, building up to minor, U20 and finally to senior squad.

Cork, almost the perennial bridesmaids to Kerry in Munster now have a fine U 20 team (an All Ireland winning team) and they are now in the minor All Ireland final. A few years ago there were complaints that Cork footballers could never aspire to an All Ireland title.....well, they're getting there. And before the keyboard warriors say that Cork is a big county with a big population....they're right, it has a big GAA playing population, but Gaelic football in Cork has always suffered a major disadvantage being the secondary GAA sport to hurling in the Rebel County. If Cork footballers can achieve that, so can other counties. But they didn't achieve it by moaning and groaning about Dublin's Gaelic football team. Nor, I might add from feeling sorry for themselves!!

PatdeVerse (Dublin) - Posts: 107 - 11/08/2019 12:57:14    2223921

Replying To kiloughter:  "Absolutely. People losing the run of themselves. Granted certain things need to change maybe even tweak. But things will go full circle and while Dublin are unlikely to go long without winning all irelands domination will come to an end."
Of course it will.

dubdec99 (Dublin) - Posts: 180 - 11/08/2019 12:59:03    2223923

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Good point moc they have all angles covered also I see that section 306 was kept totally for the dubs yesterday, prime seating for fans who don't have to travel."
Bitter.

dubdec99 (Dublin) - Posts: 180 - 11/08/2019 13:00:21    2223926

Replying To moc.dna:  "It must have been tough on Rory O Carroll, Eoghan O Gara & Bernard Brogan having burst their b#lls all year to not even make the 26 & watch a guy come on who only for a problem with ESTA would be playing for Donegal Boston now. Imagine if Offaly had those three players the diffference it would make to them, maybe it's time for something like that or else have a second Dublin team. Imagine all the talent that will never get an opportunity to wear a Dublin jersey, time for the GAA to act. But we have a Dublin CEO of the GPA, a Dublin President, a DG who is a member of a Dublin club, the majority funding going to Dublin, more home games in the Super 8's than anyone else, allowed dominate Hill 16, claim the same dressing room & warm up end in Croke Park, the biggest population base, biggest area of economic growth nationally, best transport infrastructure base nationwide, biggest sponsorship base within the Association, more games in Croke Park than any other county & have County Boards nationally (bar Donegal) who haven't the b%lls to tackle the issues at Congress. As for the whole volunteer thing put forward by John Horan, it was nothing but an insult to volunteers in all other counties. Nobody denies that this Dublin team is one of the greats & will deservedly go down in history as the greatest or that Jim Gavin is a brillant manager, the problem is all the added on advantages which are only widening the gap. It is leading to massive apathy, drop out & lack of interest. A talented footballer in Leinster is going to ask what's the point, when he can go over to the States, have the craic, travel & make a few dollars, because the Dubs are unbeatable now. Club players who haven't played for weeks who were watching the game yesterday were flicking over to the Premiership as the game was over after 45 mins, these lads are losing interest in the GAA as it has become boring & predictable & they don't even have club games to alleviate that.
Time for change."
Feeling better now ?

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 11/08/2019 13:00:36    2223927

Replying To avonali:  "Ever try paragraphing your drivel?"
Don't think it's my sentence structure that's bothering you.

moc.dna (Galway) - Posts: 1212 - 11/08/2019 13:09:39    2223933

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Good point moc they have all angles covered also I see that section 306 was kept totally for the dubs yesterday, prime seating for fans who don't have to travel."
Ha. That's a season ticket section, populated since Jan and the bulk of these fans were in Omagh last Sun for a dead rubber. Must try harder bud. I'm sure your traveling at the moment? Safe journey.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 11/08/2019 13:19:15    2223938

Replying To Dubh_linn:  "Yeah, you keep on with that all you like pal.
Amazing how you seem only to want to detract from what was an awesome display by a young man. There was no diving and if you want to talk about fouling he was getting dragged and pushed all day.
Sure you've probably nothing better to be doing with yourself these days I suppose."
I'm in Croke Park today with our minors. Plenty to do. He had a great game yesterday. Unstoppable at times. Doesn't change the fact he went down gripping his face and stayed down for thirty forty seconds when he wasn't touched by Keegan. But if you've no problem brushing aside this kind of un sporting behaviour then more power too you. I will never condone it. He cheated. Simple as.

SamandLiamSoon (Galway) - Posts: 589 - 11/08/2019 13:26:37    2223940

Replying To Belclare:  "Oh cop on.. O Donoghue was a lucky young fella for elbowing him in the stomach.."
What has that got to do with the incident I referenced?

SamandLiamSoon (Galway) - Posts: 589 - 11/08/2019 13:27:28    2223942

Anyone else see the hand in the air Dublin players did at various times during the game? Not a point for direction, but a fist straight up in the air when they were in possession. Happened 6 or so times throughout the game.

Anyone notice this? Any ideas what it meant?

wicklu (Wicklow) - Posts: 331 - 11/08/2019 13:31:09    2223943

Replying To arock:  "Well I am sorry if that is what you see when you look at this team. Clearly you need to go and watch some other sport. All of your questions are perfectly valid but why why why do they make no difference? Could it be not true? But most of the guys kicking a ball in Galway Don't feel like that. For smaller counties that has always been the question their Intercounty players ask, should I stay or should I go? 28 counties every year have no realistic hope of winning that is a fact. If it is not Dublin now, it will be Kerry, that is the way of the games and its history. If the template for Dublins success is a grande conspiracy of the epic proportions you see well it is very very selective, it hasn't worked with hurling? How come? Or U20s or indeed Minor. Could it not be just these are better players?"
Yep agree with you here, this bunch of players are a once in a generation group, like the kk hurlers, an exceptional bunch have arrived within a short space of each other. The day will come when they get beaten, until that day I will sit back and admire them.
It hasnt happened for them in hurling because they dont have the players at the moment but who knows in a few years they may.

fireinthebelly (Galway) - Posts: 89 - 11/08/2019 13:47:33    2223949

Replying To SamandLiamSoon:  "I'm in Croke Park today with our minors. Plenty to do. He had a great game yesterday. Unstoppable at times. Doesn't change the fact he went down gripping his face and stayed down for thirty forty seconds when he wasn't touched by Keegan. But if you've no problem brushing aside this kind of un sporting behaviour then more power too you. I will never condone it. He cheated. Simple as."
Funny how you didn't mention the great game bit though before and went straight for the negative narrative. You see that's the problem with your sort you forget to even appear unbiased. Good luck now with you and enjoy your day. You might have something to cheer you up a bit if the minors can manage it.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 11/08/2019 14:00:15    2223954

Replying To Dubh_linn:  "Funny how you didn't mention the great game bit though before and went straight for the negative narrative. You see that's the problem with your sort you forget to even appear unbiased. Good luck now with you and enjoy your day. You might have something to cheer you up a bit if the minors can manage it."
I'm massively massively biased. No problem admitting it. Biased against people that dive. It's up there with spitting and eye gouging. Diving has been let creep into our game and nothing is been done to eradicate it . But you don't care. All you care is Dublin win. The sporting nature of the game doesn't bother you. There is more to the Gaa than just Dublin winning. But I get the feeling that doesn't concern you too much.

SamandLiamSoon (Galway) - Posts: 589 - 11/08/2019 14:09:50    2223957

Replying To SamandLiamSoon:  "I'm massively massively biased. No problem admitting it. Biased against people that dive. It's up there with spitting and eye gouging. Diving has been let creep into our game and nothing is been done to eradicate it . But you don't care. All you care is Dublin win. The sporting nature of the game doesn't bother you. There is more to the Gaa than just Dublin winning. But I get the feeling that doesn't concern you too much."
Watch the replay again. He clearly got struck in the face by Keegan's left arm at the end of the incident. The replay from behind the goal shows it.

catchturnscore (Longford) - Posts: 149 - 11/08/2019 14:30:51    2223967

Replying To SamandLiamSoon:  "I'm massively massively biased. No problem admitting it. Biased against people that dive. It's up there with spitting and eye gouging. Diving has been let creep into our game and nothing is been done to eradicate it . But you don't care. All you care is Dublin win. The sporting nature of the game doesn't bother you. There is more to the Gaa than just Dublin winning. But I get the feeling that doesn't concern you too much."
Right , I see. You're just an honest to God nice guy who cares only about the sport.
Pull the other one.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 11/08/2019 14:31:03    2223968

By the way, you seem terribly distracted for a guy who is in Croke Park and has any interest in the game. Mmmm, it does show the real story. Try harder next time.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 11/08/2019 14:36:03    2223969

Replying To Dubh_linn:  "By the way, you seem terribly distracted for a guy who is in Croke Park and has any interest in the game. Mmmm, it does show the real story. Try harder next time."
As you can see I replied to your comment at half time. Great win our minors. Epic. I never said anything about me being a good guy. Or any sort of guy. All you seem to want to do is deflect. So I'll ask you and no one else out straight. Do you think Con dived in the first half going down gripping his face. And so should it be condemned? I don't care about how he played. What else happened in the game or what Michael D had for his lunch. Just that incident. But I already know the answer to those questions. You just won't admit it.

SamandLiamSoon (Galway) - Posts: 589 - 11/08/2019 14:54:26    2223976

Loved every minute of yesterday including the first half. Commisserations to the decent Mayo posters here Greenandred & Yew Tree to name but two.
Also want to say how good it was to see Parsons back too. I don't care who we get in the final now. Every faith in this great team. Up the Dubs!!!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 11/08/2019 14:58:23    2223978