Mayo V Dublin

My Kerry-supporting other half (originally from Dublin funnily enough) was shouting for Mayo yesterday, as was her auld lad, a native Kerryman.

I was saying though, if Mayo do beat Dublin, and ye beat Mayo in the All Ireland final (assuming Kerry beat Tyrone tough which is no guarantee), ye'll get f all credit for it. Would Kerry not like to have a go at beating Dublin in the final?

ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1246 - 11/08/2019 08:00:54    2223793

Replying To DonegalAtlantic:  "No one makes a show of Lee Keegan. COC did little in the first half, he got two particular chances and buried them but that's what he's there for. If he didn't do that what is he on the team for? Keegan scored another big game goal today as well. A four time All Star and former POTY is made a show of by no one - including Kilkenny, Connolly, Murphy and any others who he'a sent out to mark. Perspective! And Context."
I actually thought it showed the character of Keegan. After the two goals he didn't drop the head. He drove forward on a number of occasions and scored a cracking goal. He's a phenomenal player. Even the greatest of defenders have bad days in Croke Park. It's inevitable. His reaction to it was pure class though.

HighKings (Meath) - Posts: 271 - 11/08/2019 08:53:13    2223803

Replying To bdbuddah:  "'O'Connor letting his team down badly there', you do realise he got sent off for a second yellow card in injury time of a game where his team were being well beaten. His sending off was meaningless in terms of the games outcome at that stage so he didn't really let his team down at all."
His slap to Coopers face for his first yellow card resulted in the free kick that lead to Dublins second goal. And his behavior for the second yellow showed absolute childishness. He was lucky not to be gone earlier for persistent fowling

The_Fonz (Westmeath) - Posts: 213 - 11/08/2019 09:05:26    2223805

Absolute master class yesterday in the second half. Once Dublin hit the reset button at half time it was hunter killer mode and Mayo were the prey.
Onward to the final and great to be looking forward to it again and the scramble for a ticket.
Just delighted to be able to savour these great players and be there to witness their outstanding achievements. Unbeaten in 5 years in championship.
Simply the best
Just to mention,it was good to see Tom Parsons back and healthy again after a tough year.Also, on another note I think that probably was Andy Moran's last game. If so, good luck to him as he seems like a decent sort.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 11/08/2019 09:23:20    2223814

Replying To TheRock2121:  "Mayo losing 3 times in the championship. Surprised they don't get a 4th bite at it!!!!
Shows that the scoreline was always going to be that, this wasn't a great mayo team like 17, it was always going to end this way."
And the bitter Donegal man is back! Same man that spouted up last year after not getting out of the super 8 group! Don't chat dung mate.....

Tizcold (Galway) - Posts: 239 - 11/08/2019 09:25:54    2223816

Replying To ballydalane:  "Gave Keegan a roasting."
Not really!! Slipped him for The first goal for sure but was well marshalled other than that. Keegan should have been moved of him once on yellow and when con got the ball for the second goal keegan had to pull away for fear of a second yellow. Poor management from horan

Tizcold (Galway) - Posts: 239 - 11/08/2019 09:34:21    2223819

Replying To Royal.Legend:  "Don't know how you can still be excited about dublin games to be honest, hammering sides can't be much fun. Was at the leinster final I'd say there was no more then a couple of thousand dublin fans there when the trophy was lifted. I'd say following dublin sides in the 00's was more exciting with full houses and close games even if ye lost a few."
Youll never know because youll never experience it.

Imagine being a fan of a team that every single person outside of your own county wants to see beaten more than anything. It makes you more and more determined to keep on winning. Imagine your county, your players, not knowing how long they have, because someone else could come and take their spot. Imagine your players then telling their kids and grandkids that they were part of history, their name is in GAA folklore. Imagine how many kids watching yesterday they will inspire to play the game and wear the jersey, Then tell me winning is boring. You say it like someone who has never been there. Who will never be there. Until you're in the shoes of fans who watch and support this team religiously including on those bad days, when we were the ones on the end of absolute pastings and getting laughed out of HQ. As someone who goes to every single Dublin football game, and has done all my life, rest assured, no matter how good these times are, I never get bored of it. I appreciate every single time those fellas take to the field. And I love them all. And I'll never.....EVER get bored of winning, and no matter how much weve won, the scars of humiliation from 10-12 years ago, and the memories of misery don't just go.

Putting a proper team like Mayo with their unbelievable work-rate and never die attitude, sensational footballers and amazing fan base, to sleep in just 600 seconds after the restart was probably the most exhilarating experience of my lifetime standing on Hill 16. It was beautiful. It was emotional. Not because It was Mayo, but because I watched my team put in the most perfect, flawless half of football that ive ever seen. It was awesome. Truly truly awesome.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 11/08/2019 09:43:33    2223821

Replying To ThyKingdomComeThyWillBeDone:  "Professionals playing in an amateur game
Don't cod yourself
Like Man City there's a huge asterisk against any achievement
Anyone who's says otherwise is delusion personified"
I wonder who this new poster is?

jacktheDub (Dublin) - Posts: 944 - 11/08/2019 09:56:39    2223825

Replying To TheFlaker:  "Ran us into the ground in the second half. Super display. Needed to not concede an early goal in the second half, game over from there. We will keep trying."
Well done Tom Parsons great to see him back, it's a pity thousands of so called great Mayo supporters had left the stadium 15 mins earlier .

Belclare (Galway) - Posts: 904 - 11/08/2019 10:08:22    2223831

Replying To ThyKingdomComeThyWillBeDone:  "Professionals playing in an amateur game
Don't cod yourself
There will be no asterisk- maybe in your head.
Dublin players all have jobs or are studying. Stephen Cluxton is a science teacher for example.
If writing that garbage makes you feel better or softens the shock of being unable to boast of Kerry having had the greatest team ever, then go for it.
I'm afraid you are the deluded one.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 11/08/2019 10:09:07    2223832

"Dublin can't and won't lose any meaningful game for the next 20 years. They have a squad of 30, any combination of which will win All Irelands as long as they want to and this will continue ad infinitum"

I've heard some amount of rubbish in my time here but this takes the biscuit!

Hysterical nonsense

Congratulations Ulsterman but not that surprising

That's the 3rd game Mayo have been beaten this year. I don't remember your prediction of absolute ridiculous doom after the first two.. one of which was by 10 pts by Kerry!

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 11/08/2019 10:12:10    2223833

Don't cod yourself
You mean like the asterisk beside Kerry in the 80s Legend? When they were winning Sams by playing just 3 games.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 11/08/2019 10:21:06    2223836

It must have been tough on Rory O Carroll, Eoghan O Gara & Bernard Brogan having burst their b#lls all year to not even make the 26 & watch a guy come on who only for a problem with ESTA would be playing for Donegal Boston now. Imagine if Offaly had those three players the diffference it would make to them, maybe it's time for something like that or else have a second Dublin team. Imagine all the talent that will never get an opportunity to wear a Dublin jersey, time for the GAA to act. But we have a Dublin CEO of the GPA, a Dublin President, a DG who is a member of a Dublin club, the majority funding going to Dublin, more home games in the Super 8's than anyone else, allowed dominate Hill 16, claim the same dressing room & warm up end in Croke Park, the biggest population base, biggest area of economic growth nationally, best transport infrastructure base nationwide, biggest sponsorship base within the Association, more games in Croke Park than any other county & have County Boards nationally (bar Donegal) who haven't the b%lls to tackle the issues at Congress. As for the whole volunteer thing put forward by John Horan, it was nothing but an insult to volunteers in all other counties. Nobody denies that this Dublin team is one of the greats & will deservedly go down in history as the greatest or that Jim Gavin is a brillant manager, the problem is all the added on advantages which are only widening the gap. It is leading to massive apathy, drop out & lack of interest. A talented footballer in Leinster is going to ask what's the point, when he can go over to the States, have the craic, travel & make a few dollars, because the Dubs are unbeatable now. Club players who haven't played for weeks who were watching the game yesterday were flicking over to the Premiership as the game was over after 45 mins, these lads are losing interest in the GAA as it has become boring & predictable & they don't even have club games to alleviate that.
Time for change.

moc.dna (Galway) - Posts: 1212 - 11/08/2019 10:23:52    2223837

Replying To HighKings:  "I actually thought it showed the character of Keegan. After the two goals he didn't drop the head. He drove forward on a number of occasions and scored a cracking goal. He's a phenomenal player. Even the greatest of defenders have bad days in Croke Park. It's inevitable. His reaction to it was pure class though."
O'Callaghan rinsed Keegan in the second half, first time I've ever seen that happen to Keegan. I'm a huge fan of his. And did anyone else see when Con got his man of the match award, Keegan was waiting and then went over to him and shook his hand, absolute class.

dubdec99 (Dublin) - Posts: 180 - 11/08/2019 10:31:56    2223843

You can't blame that great Kerry team for beating what was put in front of it. It is equally foolish to blame this great Dublin team because nobody else can give them a game as they continue their "drive for five".

And if they do what nobody else has done, what are we to make of them? I won't lie that I will be cheering them on their victory lap BUT you have to conceed that they are the best if they do it. No and. No buts. No maybes.

plike (Kerry) - Posts: 569 - 11/08/2019 10:32:50    2223844

Hard luck too Mayo. I was genuinely worried at half time. The passion and commitment the showed in the first half was incredible - but unsustainable. Can't get over C' OC doing what he did. He let his team down badly .
Thought Kilkenny, Con and Mannion were excellent.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 11/08/2019 10:33:47    2223846

Replying To Joxer:  "You mean like the asterisk beside Kerry in the 80s Legend? When they were winning Sams by playing just 3 games."
Kerry folk forget that Mick O Dwyer was the first to breach the amateur ethos by negotiating sponsorship deals.
Certain Kerry players gave up their jobs to focus on their football 'careers'.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 11/08/2019 10:35:59    2223848

Replying To waynoI:  "Youll never know because youll never experience it.

Imagine being a fan of a team that every single person outside of your own county wants to see beaten more than anything. It makes you more and more determined to keep on winning. Imagine your county, your players, not knowing how long they have, because someone else could come and take their spot. Imagine your players then telling their kids and grandkids that they were part of history, their name is in GAA folklore. Imagine how many kids watching yesterday they will inspire to play the game and wear the jersey, Then tell me winning is boring. You say it like someone who has never been there. Who will never be there. Until you're in the shoes of fans who watch and support this team religiously including on those bad days, when we were the ones on the end of absolute pastings and getting laughed out of HQ. As someone who goes to every single Dublin football game, and has done all my life, rest assured, no matter how good these times are, I never get bored of it. I appreciate every single time those fellas take to the field. And I love them all. And I'll never.....EVER get bored of winning, and no matter how much weve won, the scars of humiliation from 10-12 years ago, and the memories of misery don't just go.

Putting a proper team like Mayo with their unbelievable work-rate and never die attitude, sensational footballers and amazing fan base, to sleep in just 600 seconds after the restart was probably the most exhilarating experience of my lifetime standing on Hill 16. It was beautiful. It was emotional. Not because It was Mayo, but because I watched my team put in the most perfect, flawless half of football that ive ever seen. It was awesome. Truly truly awesome."
Waynol... NAIL ON HEAD

TrueBlue35 (Dublin) - Posts: 206 - 11/08/2019 10:38:01    2223850

Replying To Joxer:  "You mean like the asterisk beside Kerry in the 80s Legend? When they were winning Sams by playing just 3 games."
Boxer but sure so were Dublins games in the 70s and 80s, they played maybe 4 games? So Heffos don't count either so?

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 11/08/2019 10:46:26    2223853

Replying To Ulsterman:  "Dublin can't and won't lose any meaningful game for the next 20 years. They have a squad of 30, any combination of which will win All Irelands as long as they want to and this will continue ad infinitum. They are professional in all but name and will swat aside Kerry or Tyrone. The Dubs and and Croke Park may think it's great gas but when they scored their first goal yesterday I turned it off. It's an annual coronation but a massive boring turn off."
20 years, are you serious? come on that's a bit much, I would agree maybe another 2 or 3 years but 20 is ridiculous, how could you even make that prediction

boman11 (Antrim) - Posts: 237 - 11/08/2019 10:55:06    2223856