Mayo V Dublin

Replying To moc.dna:  "It must have been tough on Rory O Carroll, Eoghan O Gara & Bernard Brogan having burst their b#lls all year to not even make the 26 & watch a guy come on who only for a problem with ESTA would be playing for Donegal Boston now. Imagine if Offaly had those three players the diffference it would make to them, maybe it's time for something like that or else have a second Dublin team. Imagine all the talent that will never get an opportunity to wear a Dublin jersey, time for the GAA to act. But we have a Dublin CEO of the GPA, a Dublin President, a DG who is a member of a Dublin club, the majority funding going to Dublin, more home games in the Super 8's than anyone else, allowed dominate Hill 16, claim the same dressing room & warm up end in Croke Park, the biggest population base, biggest area of economic growth nationally, best transport infrastructure base nationwide, biggest sponsorship base within the Association, more games in Croke Park than any other county & have County Boards nationally (bar Donegal) who haven't the b%lls to tackle the issues at Congress. As for the whole volunteer thing put forward by John Horan, it was nothing but an insult to volunteers in all other counties. Nobody denies that this Dublin team is one of the greats & will deservedly go down in history as the greatest or that Jim Gavin is a brillant manager, the problem is all the added on advantages which are only widening the gap. It is leading to massive apathy, drop out & lack of interest. A talented footballer in Leinster is going to ask what's the point, when he can go over to the States, have the craic, travel & make a few dollars, because the Dubs are unbeatable now. Club players who haven't played for weeks who were watching the game yesterday were flicking over to the Premiership as the game was over after 45 mins, these lads are losing interest in the GAA as it has become boring & predictable & they don't even have club games to alleviate that.
Time for change."
Ever try paragraphing your drivel?

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 11/08/2019 11:05:07    2223861

Replying To ballydalane:  "My Kerry-supporting other half (originally from Dublin funnily enough) was shouting for Mayo yesterday, as was her auld lad, a native Kerryman.

I was saying though, if Mayo do beat Dublin, and ye beat Mayo in the All Ireland final (assuming Kerry beat Tyrone tough which is no guarantee), ye'll get f all credit for it. Would Kerry not like to have a go at beating Dublin in the final?"
Well your other half sounds like she's been brainwashed from an early age by the old boy.
Probably had her watching reruns of the 4 in a row boys back in the 70/80s. You'd never know, with a bit of luck Tyrone might put them out of their misery today. ;-)

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 11/08/2019 11:08:40    2223863

Replying To bdbuddah:  "'O'Connor letting his team down badly there', you do realise he got sent off for a second yellow card in injury time of a game where his team were being well beaten. His sending off was meaningless in terms of the games outcome at that stage so he didn't really let his team down at all."
He didn't let his team down but worse still he let himself down and not for the first time on a football pitch.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2161 - 11/08/2019 11:10:22    2223866

Replying To HighKings:  "I actually thought it showed the character of Keegan. After the two goals he didn't drop the head. He drove forward on a number of occasions and scored a cracking goal. He's a phenomenal player. Even the greatest of defenders have bad days in Croke Park. It's inevitable. His reaction to it was pure class though."
His reaction to conceding a goal and to concede another goal.

Not a man marker inside anyway.

TheRock2121 (Donegal) - Posts: 1141 - 11/08/2019 11:12:18    2223867

Replying To moc.dna:  "It must have been tough on Rory O Carroll, Eoghan O Gara & Bernard Brogan having burst their b#lls all year to not even make the 26 & watch a guy come on who only for a problem with ESTA would be playing for Donegal Boston now. Imagine if Offaly had those three players the diffference it would make to them, maybe it's time for something like that or else have a second Dublin team. Imagine all the talent that will never get an opportunity to wear a Dublin jersey, time for the GAA to act. But we have a Dublin CEO of the GPA, a Dublin President, a DG who is a member of a Dublin club, the majority funding going to Dublin, more home games in the Super 8's than anyone else, allowed dominate Hill 16, claim the same dressing room & warm up end in Croke Park, the biggest population base, biggest area of economic growth nationally, best transport infrastructure base nationwide, biggest sponsorship base within the Association, more games in Croke Park than any other county & have County Boards nationally (bar Donegal) who haven't the b%lls to tackle the issues at Congress. As for the whole volunteer thing put forward by John Horan, it was nothing but an insult to volunteers in all other counties. Nobody denies that this Dublin team is one of the greats & will deservedly go down in history as the greatest or that Jim Gavin is a brillant manager, the problem is all the added on advantages which are only widening the gap. It is leading to massive apathy, drop out & lack of interest. A talented footballer in Leinster is going to ask what's the point, when he can go over to the States, have the craic, travel & make a few dollars, because the Dubs are unbeatable now. Club players who haven't played for weeks who were watching the game yesterday were flicking over to the Premiership as the game was over after 45 mins, these lads are losing interest in the GAA as it has become boring & predictable & they don't even have club games to alleviate that.
Time for change."
Well I am sorry if that is what you see when you look at this team. Clearly you need to go and watch some other sport. All of your questions are perfectly valid but why why why do they make no difference? Could it be not true? But most of the guys kicking a ball in Galway Don't feel like that. For smaller counties that has always been the question their Intercounty players ask, should I stay or should I go? 28 counties every year have no realistic hope of winning that is a fact. If it is not Dublin now, it will be Kerry, that is the way of the games and its history. If the template for Dublins success is a grande conspiracy of the epic proportions you see well it is very very selective, it hasn't worked with hurling? How come? Or U20s or indeed Minor. Could it not be just these are better players?

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4896 - 11/08/2019 11:15:45    2223868

Replying To waynoI:  "Youll never know because youll never experience it.

Imagine being a fan of a team that every single person outside of your own county wants to see beaten more than anything. It makes you more and more determined to keep on winning. Imagine your county, your players, not knowing how long they have, because someone else could come and take their spot. Imagine your players then telling their kids and grandkids that they were part of history, their name is in GAA folklore. Imagine how many kids watching yesterday they will inspire to play the game and wear the jersey, Then tell me winning is boring. You say it like someone who has never been there. Who will never be there. Until you're in the shoes of fans who watch and support this team religiously including on those bad days, when we were the ones on the end of absolute pastings and getting laughed out of HQ. As someone who goes to every single Dublin football game, and has done all my life, rest assured, no matter how good these times are, I never get bored of it. I appreciate every single time those fellas take to the field. And I love them all. And I'll never.....EVER get bored of winning, and no matter how much weve won, the scars of humiliation from 10-12 years ago, and the memories of misery don't just go.

Putting a proper team like Mayo with their unbelievable work-rate and never die attitude, sensational footballers and amazing fan base, to sleep in just 600 seconds after the restart was probably the most exhilarating experience of my lifetime standing on Hill 16. It was beautiful. It was emotional. Not because It was Mayo, but because I watched my team put in the most perfect, flawless half of football that ive ever seen. It was awesome. Truly truly awesome."
why is the dublin support dropping off if its such a exhilarating experience following this dublin team. I live near the dublin meath border and have many friends from dublin who only bother with the later stages of the championship now, these are lads who wouldnt miss a dublin game only a short while ago but are totally bored with it all now, i feel sorry for the genuine dublin supporters who will unlikely experience a tight tense game full of passion and come out the winning side by a whisker again. The type of games that used to get croke park hopping and games youll remember for ever now them games were "awesome".

Royal.Legend (Meath) - Posts: 665 - 11/08/2019 11:22:40    2223871

Replying To westkerry:  "Boxer but sure so were Dublins games in the 70s and 80s, they played maybe 4 games? So Heffos don't count either so?"
There's no asterisks beside any of those Kerry or Dublin wins in the 70s or 80s or any other time. They played in the agreed championship system at the time and there were no teams in Ireland in the years they lifted Sam that were good enough to beat them. If you can't beat them join them and if they beat you then show some sporting humility.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7343 - 11/08/2019 11:26:43    2223872

Some amount of doomsday merchants on here, my god.

Personally as a massive fan of GAA, I can't help but admire this Dublin team. They play great football, they have great decision makers and leaders all over the park, they are decent people off the field and are humble and love the sport. What more could you want from your champions? They represent the very best of the GAA, the whole ethos we're supposed to laud, the Dubs have it in spades. They are a special, special group.

If they do the five-in-a-row we couldn't ask for a better bunch to go into the history books.

JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 11/08/2019 11:37:36    2223881

Replying To dubdec99:  "O'Callaghan rinsed Keegan in the second half, first time I've ever seen that happen to Keegan. I'm a huge fan of his. And did anyone else see when Con got his man of the match award, Keegan was waiting and then went over to him and shook his hand, absolute class."
Pity he didn't show Keegan the same respect when he dived to try and get him sent off.

SamandLiamSoon (Galway) - Posts: 589 - 11/08/2019 11:37:54    2223883

Just a word on Paddy Durcan yesterday as well. Unbelievable marking job 2 weeks in a row to keep McHugh and McCaffrey so quiet in general play and scoreless as well. He also had a few poor shots yesterday so if his shooting boots were with him I think he'd have had 5 or 6 points maybe? As well as keeping Jack quiet. Cert for an All-Star surely!

JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 11/08/2019 11:38:02    2223884

Replying To westkerry:  "Boxer but sure so were Dublins games in the 70s and 80s, they played maybe 4 games? So Heffos don't count either so?"
Yeah look we'll take away your joke titles from the 80s, one game to win a province, and you can have our Heffo titles. We'll take this current team's haul. 8 games to win a title. You happy now?

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 11/08/2019 11:45:28    2223887

Imagine being a fan of a team that every single person outside of your own county wants to see beaten more than anything. It makes you more and more determined to keep on winning. Imagine your county, your players, not knowing how long they have, because someone else could come and take their spot. Imagine your players then telling their kids and grandkids that they were part of history, their name is in GAA folklore. Imagine how many kids watching yesterday they will inspire to play the game and wear the jersey, Then tell me winning is boring. You say it like someone who has never been there. Who will never be there. Until you're in the shoes of fans who watch and support this team religiously including on those bad days, when we were the ones on the end of absolute pastings and getting laughed out of HQ. As someone who goes to every single Dublin football game, and has done all my life, rest assured, no matter how good these times are, I never get bored of it. I appreciate every single time those fellas take to the field. And I love them all. And I'll never.....EVER get bored of winning, and no matter how much weve won, the scars of humiliation from 10-12 years ago, and the memories of misery don't just go.

Putting a proper team like Mayo with their unbelievable work-rate and never die attitude, sensational footballers and amazing fan base, to sleep in just 600 seconds after the restart was probably the most exhilarating experience of my lifetime standing on Hill 16. It was beautiful. It was emotional. Not because It was Mayo, but because I watched my team put in the most perfect, flawless half of football that ive ever seen. It was awesome. Truly truly awesome."
Brilliant stuff from Dublin, my second team after Donegal, not everyone in every other county is against the Dubs, funny what you say about that brilliant second half performance, I remember feeling the same on the 31st of August 2014,
imagine if we hadn't won that day ye'd be going now for 7 in a row, an amazing team and they have no doubt inspired 1000's of Dublin kids to play the game.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2746 - 11/08/2019 11:48:02    2223889

Replying To JoeSoap:  "Just a word on Paddy Durcan yesterday as well. Unbelievable marking job 2 weeks in a row to keep McHugh and McCaffrey so quiet in general play and scoreless as well. He also had a few poor shots yesterday so if his shooting boots were with him I think he'd have had 5 or 6 points maybe? As well as keeping Jack quiet. Cert for an All-Star surely!"
I agree Durcan is a hell of a player, we'd take him in Donegal for sure. thought COC and AOS gave their usual big game performances yesterday ie. disappeared, AOS was through for a point in the first half and he sliced it wide, typical,just not good enough, he can go back now and concentrate on taking selfies.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2746 - 11/08/2019 11:54:13    2223891

Mayo were gone as soon as the halftime whistle blew.... once they sat down their legs went and the huge am out of games caught up on ageing limbs... Dublin found acers of space in the 2nd half that didnt exist in the 1st.... Mayo should have started Andy Moran and let more early ball into the forward line but even if they led by 10pts at ht they still would have lost the game... If Kerry get through today I have a feeling they will win the Final...

Sean.66 (Cavan) - Posts: 293 - 11/08/2019 12:04:12    2223897

Replying To SamandLiamSoon:  "Pity he didn't show Keegan the same respect when he dived to try and get him sent off."
Yeah, you keep on with that all you like pal.
Amazing how you seem only to want to detract from what was an awesome display by a young man. There was no diving and if you want to talk about fouling he was getting dragged and pushed all day.
Sure you've probably nothing better to be doing with yourself these days I suppose.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 11/08/2019 12:11:57    2223900

Concerned at half time Dublin looked seriously undercooked. Long time since I saw Dublin players not having handy passes available. Running into mayo cover and ball been stripped. Mayo were calm in attack and waited for the right opportunity. Half time was used to max by Dublin and in fairness they usually sort out their problems. First 7 - 10 minutes of 2nd half was some of the best football I've ever witnessed. Mannion and o Callaghan outstanding.

theduke66 (Dublin) - Posts: 334 - 11/08/2019 12:14:13    2223901

Mayo were never going to win this game, just look at our starting 6 forwards, 2 young lads that this was their 1st season, 2 other lads that hadn't played a game since April I think and 2 other lads who's inter county careers are over, who scored Mayo's 8 pts in the 1st half, Seamus O'Shea, Boyler, can't remember if Paddy Durcan scored and James Carr I think got 1 and Cillian scored a free or 2, from no 2 to no 9 Mayo were brilliant in the 1st half, our 6 forwards contributed bugger all. Yet again management got the team wrong, 2-06 without reply no switching, no subs, no tactics, no changing in kick outs, no slowing down the game to make changes, like 2012 another f up by Horan

riverboys (Mayo) - Posts: 1389 - 11/08/2019 12:22:23    2223903

Replying To plike:  "You can't blame that great Kerry team for beating what was put in front of it. It is equally foolish to blame this great Dublin team because nobody else can give them a game as they continue their "drive for five".

And if they do what nobody else has done, what are we to make of them? I won't lie that I will be cheering them on their victory lap BUT you have to conceed that they are the best if they do it. No and. No buts. No maybes."
Stop making sense. Leg end and his goons will have you barred from Kerry for high treason against The Doctrine.

steve097 (Dublin) - Posts: 109 - 11/08/2019 12:23:06    2223904

Speaking as someone who does remember everyone outside my county wanting us to lose, I can tell you that this is nothing like that.
I can honestly say this period of dominance leaves me cold. Once it would have really grated but now I couldn't care less one way or the other as the whole thing is artificial. If there are people like you who fail to see it for what it is and are getting some kick from it, then good luck to you. Make the most of it. But don't think that everyone is looking in from the outside enviously.

I liked your line about the players telling the kids and grand kids about this. It may become a popular fairy story. Sort of a Cinderella feel to it, except instead of the fairy godmother/advantages element you could just introduce an army of volunteers that gets Cinders to the ball.

Greenfield (Meath) - Posts: 522 - 11/08/2019 12:23:47    2223905

Time for change."
Good point moc they have all angles covered also I see that section 306 was kept totally for the dubs yesterday, prime seating for fans who don't have to travel.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 11/08/2019 12:31:53    2223910