Kerry V Donegal

Replying To westkerry:  "2 referees are now needed in the GAA like Aussie rules.
You can't expect a ref to see everything but the fouling off the ball yesterday was scandalous as highlighted on the SG.
The game was an excellent game, Murphy and Mchugh, OBrien, Geaney all excellent.
Paddy Neilan had a poor game and the penalty was dubious to say the least."
An excellent game for sure, given the key men missing on both sides. The 4 lads you've mentioned were the standouts.
I can't agree with you on the penalty though. Thought it was 100% a foul.
Both teams will feel they could have won it or lost it. Kerry are definitely in the driving seat to top the group now, given how porous Meath have looked late in games. Donegal face a very tough trip to Castlebar, against a side with everything to play for.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2037 - 22/07/2019 10:49:55    2214563

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Surely Ordan is worth a phone call with all the injured Donegal players now Muck?

How good is Murphy and Mchugh Muck? Donegal's two greatest players imo

Mcbreaty still not back to his best yet , still very dangerous doh.

I thought you's were slightly the better team you's missed two huge goal chances , Brennan should of passed to Eoin Mchugh first instead of Mcglynn."
I would make a call to Mark McHugh, who is playing great stuff at club, before Odhran tbh.

Don't get me wrong, I would love to see Odhran back, but only if his head is in the right place.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 22/07/2019 10:58:37    2214568

Replying To Al_Maguire:  "Running head first into someone is dubious? If it wasn't a penalty it would have been a goal anyway."
He didn't run head first into anyone my god.
He stood up, was he supposed to step out of the way ??
There was a clash of heads that was accidental.
Any commemt on the consistent fouling by the Donegal backs on Seanie OShea and David Clifford?

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 22/07/2019 10:58:42    2214569

Brilliant game of football , really enjoyed it , both teams had poor calls against them thought a draw was about right .
2 serious teams no doubt about it , both will be around for a long time and im sure winning All Irelands as well .
But hopefully not this year -:)

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 22/07/2019 11:11:33    2214581

Replying To WanPintWin:  "An excellent game for sure, given the key men missing on both sides. The 4 lads you've mentioned were the standouts.
I can't agree with you on the penalty though. Thought it was 100% a foul.
Both teams will feel they could have won it or lost it. Kerry are definitely in the driving seat to top the group now, given how porous Meath have looked late in games. Donegal face a very tough trip to Castlebar, against a side with everything to play for."
My immediate reaction was that it was never a penalty and the more I see it the more I'm convinced that it was never a penalty. Stephen O'Brien stood his ground and never moved into the way of the attacker. More of a free out for charging than a penalty. Ref should have given himself a second to think about it but it all happend so fast it wasn't easy

Sindar (Roscommon) - Posts: 348 - 22/07/2019 11:13:56    2214582

Replying To Curlew66:  "Daragh O Baoill was stopped by a high facial tackle bordering on a head butt, thought O Brien was lucky to escape sanction."
I though O'Brien stood his ground

Superglue (Kerry) - Posts: 1283 - 22/07/2019 11:16:34    2214585

Replying To joeteor:  "What did O'Se get the line for?"
I think I caught a glimpse of a full-on dig to the back of a Donegal head on the Sunday Game, but it was not commented on.

steve097 (Dublin) - Posts: 109 - 22/07/2019 11:17:06    2214586

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Not arguing with you clon as Donegal could have won yesterday but we had 2 good goal chances our selves which Donegal keeper blocked one and another Geaney shot over the bar and another chance with Geaney having a clear run on goal with only the keeper ahead of him only for the reff to stop the game for a head injury.

Also out of the 1:20 that we scored yesterday 1:16 was from play, I think Donegal scored 10 points from play and 1:10 from frees.

Also I haven't had a chance to watch the game back yet but why was the penalty given? It looked to me that Steven just stood his ground and the Donegal lad ran into him?"
Kingdomboy I'm just giving my personal opinion that on the day I thought Donegal were slightly the better team, I felt the Geaney goal was a shocker from a Donegal perspective two lads looking at the ball expecting each other to pick it up and don't and the keeper has to do better, the Eoin Mchugh throw was butchered that should of been an easy goal for Donegal they cut Kerry open for fun, the Geaney shot in the first half was a hit and hope shot from Enright that luckily landed to Geaney again the keeper has to do better with the fists.

Just my opinion KB there was little between them and it was a great game between two very good teams missing a lot of their main players. Moran missing for Kerry was a huge blow.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 22/07/2019 11:27:39    2214593

Replying To Garngad:  "see yesterday when McMenamin collided with White and the ref stopped play, why when play was resumed was it a easy free to Kerry from where the ball ended up when play was stopped?"
Wouldn't be complaining as Kerry should have had the advantage played and a certain goal scored. Kerry should have been more annoyed than donegal.

kevin03 (Tyrone) - Posts: 276 - 22/07/2019 11:36:16    2214598

Replying To westkerry:  "He didn't run head first into anyone my god.
He stood up, was he supposed to step out of the way ??
There was a clash of heads that was accidental.
Any commemt on the consistent fouling by the Donegal backs on Seanie OShea and David Clifford?"
You're the one making the comments. O'Brien moved head first into his opponent and head butted the guy in possession. He didn't stand still.

And besides Ryan McHugh scored a goal just after it anyway.

A couple of neutral supporter have also said it was 100% a penalty.

And I don't really do whataboutery. There was fouling by both teams. In fact statisically we scored more frees which indicates consistent fouling by your backs on our forwards.

I've yet to watch a game where backs don't foul forwards.

Maybe take your blinkers off?

Al_Maguire (Donegal) - Posts: 244 - 22/07/2019 11:36:30    2214599

Replying To Sindar:  "My immediate reaction was that it was never a penalty and the more I see it the more I'm convinced that it was never a penalty. Stephen O'Brien stood his ground and never moved into the way of the attacker. More of a free out for charging than a penalty. Ref should have given himself a second to think about it but it all happend so fast it wasn't easy"
Would agree. Thought a penalty was harsh as the kerry man stood his ground. What did the ref want him to do? Stand out of his way?

kevin03 (Tyrone) - Posts: 276 - 22/07/2019 11:37:18    2214600

The Donegal player charged straight in to O'Brien and he had nowhere to go, it was an accidental clash of heads. Ref was always going to give the penalty but I don't think he deserved a card for it.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 22/07/2019 11:50:23    2214608

Replying To Al_Maguire:  "You're the one making the comments. O'Brien moved head first into his opponent and head butted the guy in possession. He didn't stand still.

And I don't really do whataboutery. There was fouling by both teams. In fact statisically we scored more frees which indicates consistent fouling by your backs on our forwards.

Maybe take your blinkers off?"
You're talking complete nonsense - there was no headbutt!! Here's a neutral who says it was not a penalty. Donegal got lucky. Take the blinkers off!

Sindar (Roscommon) - Posts: 348 - 22/07/2019 11:53:06    2214610

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Kingdomboy I'm just giving my personal opinion that on the day I thought Donegal were slightly the better team, I felt the Geaney goal was a shocker from a Donegal perspective two lads looking at the ball expecting each other to pick it up and don't and the keeper has to do better, the Eoin Mchugh throw was butchered that should of been an easy goal for Donegal they cut Kerry open for fun, the Geaney shot in the first half was a hit and hope shot from Enright that luckily landed to Geaney again the keeper has to do better with the fists.

Just my opinion KB there was little between them and it was a great game between two very good teams missing a lot of their main players. Moran missing for Kerry was a huge blow."
Fair enough clon, I thought we were slightly better but I'd be biased anyway.

When you think we scored 1:20 and 1:16 from play with only about 35-40% possession I'm happy enough, we have plenty to improve on but I'm satisfied we can do that.

Am I right in saying we're through to the semifinal now? If so we can rest a lot of lads against Meath and be fresh for the semifinal.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 22/07/2019 11:54:27    2214611

Replying To kevin03:  "Would agree. Thought a penalty was harsh as the kerry man stood his ground. What did the ref want him to do? Stand out of his way?"
He didn't simply tand his ground though. He lead head first. And it's still obstructing the player in possession. So that's a foul.

Whether he should stand aside or not is not the point.

It's still a foul.

Al_Maguire (Donegal) - Posts: 244 - 22/07/2019 11:55:08    2214612

Replying To Al_Maguire:  "You're the one making the comments. O'Brien moved head first into his opponent and head butted the guy in possession. He didn't stand still.

Maybe take your blinkers off?"
O'Brien moved into his path and initiated the collision. Peno.

steve097 (Dublin) - Posts: 109 - 22/07/2019 11:55:53    2214613

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Fair enough clon, I thought we were slightly better but I'd be biased anyway.

When you think we scored 1:20 and 1:16 from play with only about 35-40% possession I'm happy enough, we have plenty to improve on but I'm satisfied we can do that.

Am I right in saying we're through to the semifinal now? If so we can rest a lot of lads against Meath and be fresh for the semifinal."
Not 100% yet, if Meath beat you and Mayo beat us, it'll come down to scoring difference between Donegal and Kerry. Unlikely scenario I guess but not impossible.

JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 22/07/2019 12:16:13    2214628

Replying To Al_Maguire:  "He didn't simply tand his ground though. He lead head first. And it's still obstructing the player in possession. So that's a foul.

Whether he should stand aside or not is not the point.

It's still a foul."
"And it's still obstructing the player in possession. So that's a foul". Have a think about what you've just said there. Every player on the field is trying to obstruct the player in possession. It's usually referred to as defending and there is mention of it being a foul in the rulebook. It would be a different game if there was

Sindar (Roscommon) - Posts: 348 - 22/07/2019 12:20:28    2214632

Replying To steve097:  "O'Brien moved into his path and initiated the collision. Peno."
He moved into his path which isn't a foul but the Donegal lad went through him.
I can see why it was given but thought he stood his ground before the contact

Superglue (Kerry) - Posts: 1283 - 22/07/2019 12:20:52    2214633

Replying To JoeSoap:  "Not 100% yet, if Meath beat you and Mayo beat us, it'll come down to scoring difference between Donegal and Kerry. Unlikely scenario I guess but not impossible."
Definitely possible, we'll need to get at least a draw so or just not get beat by more than 2/3 points and we could be grand.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 22/07/2019 12:37:53    2214640