Kerry v Dublin, All Ireland final 2015

JamesH: Did I read you correctly, are you claiming only one Kerry forward would get on the current Dublin team?

Well you'll excuse me if I think you are talking through your Mayo a$$ with that statement....

I'm after watching the two bucko's give their view point. Its all if and buts....

Yes yes Dublin have a fast and dynamic attack, IF, they are given space and IF they can get their hand on the ball...

Dublin have not come up against a side the caliber of Kerry for more than a year and we all know what happened the last time they did...

Do you think Kerry will make the mistakes Mayo did? Do you think Kerry would lose a game being the position Mayo were in both in the draw and replay? Look how Dublin struggled against an attack as limited as Mayo is in comparison to Kerry's.

We have the best full forward line in the country and a criminally underrated half forward line.

I don't think Dublin have learned anything from last year.

Expect Kerry to get off to a flyer forcing Dublin to chase the game, they'll then have to open up allowing Kerry to sucker punch them in the counter-attack and keeping them at arms distance for the rest of the match...

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 14/09/2015 12:26:58    1787020

Good points JamesH - watched the preview myself and found it interesting. Take the point re Dublins strengths and the fact that they could overrun the Kerry defence but what was never mentioned was the fact that Kerry will most likely revert to having 11-12 men behind the ball when defending and keep the game tight for long periods - we have to negate the impact of dublins running power on the field and the crowd off the field. If we're holding our own with 25 mins left then I think you'll see subs on and a big push from Kerry - then it'll be game on.
We're going to need big games from at least 2 of Donaghy/Cooper/O'Donoghue - all 3 have had limited influence on games this year and that wont do come Sunday.I'd call it 60/40 in favour of the Dubs but that'll count for nothing when the ball is thrown in..

blacknamber (Kerry) - Posts: 267 - 14/09/2015 12:38:24    1787033

Looking forward to this game on Sunday. But if i were a Kerry man i would be fearful. I firmly believe that this Dublin team will run riot on an average Kerry defence. One on one there is no Kerry back who will get the better of his Dublin opponent. The Kerry backs were subtly exposed by Tyrone running at them and if Tyrone had taken there goal chances then the Kerry lads would be in Spain now.The other major exposure that Tyrone showed is how to take a much vaunted Kerry midfield out of it. Maher and Moran were taken out of the game in the semi Moran was actually taken off, and this template will serve Jim Gavin well.
Kerry will only stay in this game if they adopt a very defensive approach, and if they do this will mean no start for Donaghy as the will need much more mobility in the forward line of 2 or 3 bodies. Then will Dublin panic if they are faced with a def system, No this is where the Mayo games will have stood to them.
The other conundrum for Kerry is do the start Sheehan or not. His serious lack of mobility versus his serious free kick taking ability has to be a massive headache for Fitzmaurice when he picking his team. Kerry may need every free-kick in the early stages most importantly.
Thats why i am predicting a Dublin win 7 to 9 pts. 9/1 lads.

Jonnycee (Longford) - Posts: 186 - 14/09/2015 13:01:11    1787048

Re to: Hermit,

If it pans out the way you think, then best of luck to Kerry! It's really no skin off my nose which team actually wins as both Dublin and Kerry have won enough. Firstly, I'm not for a moment saying Kerry do not have wonderful attacking forwards but I genuinely think the Dublin forwards are just a bit better. As for talking out my Mayo a$$, I'm not alone in my view. Google the various media sources and find out for yourself, other neutrals such as Peter Canavan, Dessie Dolan, Brian McGuigan and Padraig Joyce are all calling it for Dublin. Maybe Hermit, everyone else is wrong and you're right but let me just say, be careful of the heart ruling the head. Trust me in Mayo we know all about it. Again, good luck to both sides and may the best team win.

JamesH (Mayo) - Posts: 465 - 14/09/2015 13:06:47    1787053

Looking forward to this game on Sunday. But if i were a Kerry man i would be fearful. I firmly believe that this Dublin team will run riot on an average Kerry defence. One on one there is no Kerry back who will get the better of his Dublin opponent. The Kerry backs were subtly exposed by Tyrone running at them and if Tyrone had taken there goal chances then the Kerry lads would be in Spain now.The other major exposure that Tyrone showed is how to take a much vaunted Kerry midfield out of it. Maher and Moran were taken out of the game in the semi Moran was actually taken off, and this template will serve Jim Gavin well.
Kerry will only stay in this game if they adopt a very defensive approach, and if they do this will mean no start for Donaghy as the will need much more mobility in the forward line of 2 or 3 bodies. Then will Dublin panic if they are faced with a def system, No this is where the Mayo games will have stood to them.
The other conundrum for Kerry is do the start Sheehan or not. His serious lack of mobility versus his serious free kick taking ability has to be a massive headache for Fitzmaurice when he picking his team. Kerry may need every free-kick in the early stages most importantly.
Thats why i am predicting a Dublin win 7 to 9 pts. 9/1 lads.

Jonnycee (Longford) - Posts: 186 - 14/09/2015 13:14:57    1787063

'Thats why i am predicting a Dublin win 7 to 9 pts. 9/1 lads.'

Thanks for the tip jonnycake - I'll have some of that!

JamesH (Mayo) - Posts: 465 - 14/09/2015 13:18:51    1787070

Jimbo AthCliath87 et al please take notice and see what the neutrals are saying

KYTitletown (Kerry) - Posts: 816 - 14/09/2015 16:07:33    1787222

Would love to see Tipp win the minor final.

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 14/09/2015 16:59:02    1787254

Another neutral calls it for Dublin - Jim McGuinness in today's Irish Times. Looks like I'm far from alone Hermit.

JamesH (Mayo) - Posts: 465 - 15/09/2015 09:34:40    1787480

As I said on another trend James, I expect most pundits to go for Dublin this week.

I've no issue if you or anyone else thinks Dublin are going to win, I'm just offering the opinion that such a reading, by the likes of Dessie Dolan on the Sunday game, seems to be based on assuming Dublin are still the team they were in 2013 and Kerry are likewise.

And to repeat I think your dead wrong about the Kerry forwards vis a vie their Dublin counterparts.

Kerry have a better full forward line, while there's an argument Dublin shade it at half forward.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 15/09/2015 09:43:14    1787491

'I just feel that the natural instinct of the Dublin team is to go direct and as it happens that is the one area of vulnerability within the Kerry team.' - Jim McGuinness, Irish Times.

Has Jim been reading my posts on HS? ;-))

JamesH (Mayo) - Posts: 465 - 15/09/2015 09:49:17    1787501

Do you think Kerry would lose a game being the position Mayo were in both in the draw and replay?

Short memory there kid.

Floops (Dublin) - Posts: 1623 - 15/09/2015 10:01:06    1787509

Re: To Hermit

'Kerry have a better full forward line....'.?

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Naturally Hermit, I beg to differ. Moreover, I understand where your coming from and not being smart here but it can be very difficult to see wood for the trees when it's your own involved.

For arguments sake, we're out in the backyard picking two teams from the Kerry and Dublin squad. I'm taking the entire Dublin half forward line and the majority of people would and I think you know that. As for the full forward line - be realistic now. Everyone is picking Bernard Brogan - there's just no argument. At full forward, I'm taking Paddy Andrews. Andrews is in the form of his life and currently the best full forward in the country. He's scored 10 points in his last 3 Championship games and is a shoe in for the all-star at full forward this year, no question. This leaves a corner-forward spot, which I would give to JOD of Kerry.

I'll play your team any time with those forwards and back them to win. I repeat the Kerry forwards are brilliant but Dublin's are slightly ahead for me and I honestly think many others would share my view, perhaps even in Kerry but they would never admit it.

JamesH (Mayo) - Posts: 465 - 15/09/2015 10:37:10    1787535

Mayo getting lambasted by Kerry supporters oN the sunday game
Facebook page for blowing a 4 point lead. Really? 2011 anyone? Short memories indeed.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 15/09/2015 11:10:25    1787564

Floops, the Kerry side of 2011 and the Kerry team running out on Sunday are two completely different animals.

JamesH your entitled to your opinion, I'm entitled to mine.

Donnacha Walsh is a brilliant half forward who would grace any county team.

I expect a massive, massive game from Johnny Buckley.

And we will be talking about Stephen O'Brien and Paul Geaney for years to come...

Meanwhile in his pomp I feel Star is a better full forward than Brogan, not that Brogan isn't also excellent.

But sure Sunday will tell all...

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 15/09/2015 11:11:37    1787567

3 lads on radio 1 program 'long grass' went for kerry, one of them was McConville, cant remember the other two.

lilypad (Kildare) - Posts: 1363 - 15/09/2015 11:19:17    1787583

I firmly believe that this Dublin team will run riot on an average Kerry defence.
If they can get their hands on the ball. Kerry will likely win more possession around teh middle 8.

One on one there is no Kerry back who will get the better of his Dublin opponent.
Really?

The Kerry backs were subtly exposed by Tyrone running at them and if Tyrone had taken there goal chances then the Kerry lads would be in Spain now.
1 Save from a super shot stopper, 1 mistake by a Kerry defender handed Tyrone a chance through the middle from which they got a point and 1 scuffed snapshot shot. Kerry, in turn, missed 7 kicks at points I would expect any club forward line to convert. You could also say that Dublin were open to Mayo's direct running. If needed Kerry will test those capabilities a lot more than Mayo.

The other major exposure that Tyrone showed is how to take a much vaunted Kerry midfield out of it. Maher and Moran were taken out of the game in the semi Moran was actually taken off, and this template will serve Jim Gavin well.
Moran was taken off and shouldn't have been. Maher had a cracking game. Also, Tyrone's ball winners around the middle of the park are probably stronger in getting their hands on the ball than the Dubs are. Kerry have Buckley and Walsh who generally hoover up tremendous amounts of lose and scrappy possession.

thykingdomcome1 (Kerry) - Posts: 78 - 15/09/2015 11:24:08    1787586

i am curious

Why are dublin the best team in the modern era ???????
won two extremely tight finals. In 11 kerry were the better team but lost on the day and in 13 if they stopped fouling in last ten mins and let mayo play there is a good chance that mayo would have shaded it.

Dont get me wrong down were the better team in 2010 and cork slipped it

but i really dont know where this idea of dublin being the best team in the modern era.. When did that era start

I give you that dublin are the best team in leinster no question

Im not even sure if dublin are the best team in ireland as we speak

I love the dublin players cause they give is everything and are gracious but some of the supporters my god.
If a foreginer logged in here they would be convinvced that dublin were an all conquering team leaving a wake of destruction in their path where as nothing could be further from the truth

ritchie (Cork) - Posts: 346 - 15/09/2015 11:44:05    1787609

Well the Kerry lads will certainly have plenty to hang around the dressing room wall over the next few days.

Last week we had entitled 'Why Jim Gavin's Dublin are Certain to Win the All Ireland' from Paddy Heaney in the Examiner in which he stated 'Yet, while the Dubs aren't perfect, they're still stronger than any of their opponents...Thus far, the brilliance of Eamonn Fitzmaurice's management has disguised the limitations of his hand. Kerry are the opposite of Dublin. Their strengths have been overplayed while their weaknesses have been conveniently ignored.'

http://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/columnists/paddy-heaney/why-jim-gavins-dublin-are-certain-to-win-the-all-ireland-353042.html

Then yesterday, again in the Examiner, John Fogarty stated: 'Conventional wisdom would indicate Dublin should be favoured because ... this Kerry team, not considered a great one by most people's standards, aren't a patch on the 2007 side that last achieved back-to-back titles.

http://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/columnists/john-fogarty/dubs-have-the-hunger-kerry-the-hurt-353897.html

Jaysus sure what's the point in travelling up at all, just send Star up in the car on Friday to leave Sam at the reception desk in Croker for Jim Gavin to collect on Sunday morning....

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 16/09/2015 11:52:58    1788089

Dont forget the great Jim mcG in yesterdays IT going for the Blue Juggernaut

KYTitletown (Kerry) - Posts: 816 - 16/09/2015 12:54:58    1788127