Kerry v Dublin, All Ireland final 2015

CroiGorm: He pulled up just before he passed the ball to Kevin Mc for his last point and then her was helped off the picth between the dublin physio and another member of the back room team. Nothing confirmed yet, but as it happened when he was running, has to be the hammer.

Marse (Dublin) - Posts: 217 - 06/09/2015 21:18:39    1783590

Slly
Ye got a few good decisions against mayo ye'r selfs , a penalty that was a free , macminamin hopping the ball twice for a point , Kilkenny taking 8-9 steps for another point , mcmahon feigning an injury no retrospective action , Johnny coopers attempted leg break on diarmuid O'connor , Johnny cooper getting Seamie O'Shea sent off yesterday, brogan throwing the ball across the goals and so on and so on.
Avonali
Not making excuses just stating a fact , ye can't lose the final.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 06/09/2015 21:21:27    1783595

Everybody has different views but I would like to know how did Dublin win the game, was it a management decision that won or lost the game, was it 1 team upped the ante or did the other team bottle it? Again what happened to cause that? My simple view is Mayo lost O'Shea to a black card then the management took off our other 2 midfielders which meant we gave up on midfield but our goalie kept kicking the ball long, at the same time Jim Gavin made 3 crucial subs Michael Dara in midfield he won everything, Alan Brogan a great player and Kevin Mc his goal was worth watching again, a class player. But the underlying thing is Mayo had no midfielders for the last 15-20 mins which Dublin exposed, Mayo seemed tired and the 3 Dublin subs destroyed us. Were Dublin brilliant? No, they had the better tactician on the sidelong and he made the right call and proper subs at the right time, Mayo management made a mess, I'm only giving my opinion, if Dublin play like that they will be destroyed, they have 2 weeks to sort out their weaknesses, that'll what teams want to hear not overhyped nonsense. Dublin can't afford to panic, they need leaders on the pitch when Kerry hit their purple patch to hold their own and not lose the plan, Mayo didn't have that when it mattered

riverboys (Mayo) - Posts: 1389 - 06/09/2015 21:33:56    1783610

Lads, what's the craic with ciaran Kilkennys boots? They look like a pair of polished altar-boys shoes

flack (Dublin) - Posts: 1054 - 06/09/2015 21:43:10    1783619

Delighetd with the Mayo Dubin result. Another soft one for us.

thykingdomcome1 (Kerry) - Posts: 78 - 06/09/2015 21:44:19    1783623

Cheers Marse. Couldn't see it from where I was sitting and haven't watched the game back yet. Hopefully it's not as bad as it looked and he's fit for the final.

CroiGorm (Dublin) - Posts: 1547 - 06/09/2015 21:52:19    1783631

Received wisdom says...

Kerry will push up on Cluxton, lord midfield but struggle against direct running towards their goal.

Dublin will vary their kickouts, run hard and often from the half forward line but gasp for air if under a lot of pressure in the final quarter.

So, what will happen, given past experience, is most of the above won't happen. Finals are the twilight zone: strange things happen there.

plike (Kerry) - Posts: 569 - 07/09/2015 09:23:06    1783668

CroiGorm : No probs, hopefully he is ok. But it didn't look good for a 2 week turn around.

Marse (Dublin) - Posts: 217 - 07/09/2015 10:04:17    1783719

Ah yes the push up on Cluxton Kick out thing

Sure Kerry have tried that the last two occasions we met...

Our midfield is in a far better place since then

Dublin have had a fantastic couple of games to prepare for the final only two weeks out

Against an excellent team - who played their guts out and caused Dublin massive problems

Cant ask for better prep to take on the best team in the country

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 07/09/2015 10:53:24    1783776

I have to fancy Kerry this time around. A young team rebuilt since 2013 when we were written of for the next 5-6 years by most on here and in press. We've now got a serious attack, serious midfield, battle hardened, not shy to play defensively anymore and arguably have the better manager based on evidence to date. Our defense is on the light side but is extremely quick and now gets the support it requires from the rest of teh team. Thank you to the teams who we have learned from over the past decade.

I thought Brolly was spot on regarding Mayo. Can't believe the 10 minute spell between 43 and 53mins. Lee Keegan, a great point taker lobs the ball into Cluxtons arms from 25 yards in front of goal which would have put Mayo 5 points up. That's nothing but panic and brain freeze from one of the team's leaders. Very disappointing and really needs to be straightened out. It's almost upsetting to watch. Instead Dublin score down the other end to make it a 3 point game. Neither side scored for the next 10 but mayo gave the ball away incredibly softly during that period. Some strange changes from the sideline also.

3rd goal was a cracker but first 2 either shouldn't have been allowed or should have been avoided. By the way, Mayo's goal should have been disallowed immediately. Schoolboy error by the ref. Wouold have been the best thing that could have happened Mayo in hindsight.

Was sitting back very relaxed after the first game because neither of those performances would worry us. Dublin did improve on Saturday though but no alarms bells ringing just yet.You never know on the day though as everyone knows.

thykingdomcome1 (Kerry) - Posts: 78 - 07/09/2015 11:26:25    1783810

How does a neutral warm to this final? It's hard to cheer on a team who never left their own county on route to Sam but then how do you cheer on a team who lets Donaghy give a victory speech. I suppose I'll just hope for a good game and turn it of at the final whistle. But please! next year someone else step up with no fear and give us neutrals a bandwagon to jump on.

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2389 - 07/09/2015 11:48:30    1783845

Did one Dublin fella on here actually claim he could smell the 'fear' in Kerry playing Dublin last February?

Quick history lesson lad, you've won two championship games against us in 35 years, that's THIRTY-FIVE YEARS.

I'm sure you remember those awful beatings we gave you in 2004 and 2009, or where you not supporting Dublin then ;)

You won't see Kerry ever capitulate to you, like you have to us on many, many occasions.

We may lose the final, we may not

But we are Kerry

and we don't fear Dublin or any one else, not now, not ever.

When you have 37 All Ireland's its the other counties that fear you....

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 07/09/2015 11:52:17    1783849

Kerry for me, all day long.... Probably between 3-5 points.

- Two weeks in not enough time for Dublin to prepare for Kerry..
- Kerry have the most clever manager in the game and he has seen the best and worst of Dublin over the last few weeks...
- One aspect that he will certainly target is cluxtons kick outs, they will be no giving up of his kickouts, they will press Dublin hard on this as mayo did in the last 15 minutes of the drawn game, this will put pressure on him to kick long where Kerry will destroy them......

ben1977 (Donegal) - Posts: 364 - 07/09/2015 12:00:25    1783866

I give Dublin a great chance v Kerry. The two competitive games with Mayo will have brought them on a ton. They will have found out a lot about the team after those games.
It'sDublin for me.

thelongridge (Offaly) - Posts: 1751 - 07/09/2015 12:41:09    1783920

Interesting to hear the Dublin footballers visited the kids in Crumlin hospital this morning, usually the winning team do that the day after they win the All Ireland. Clearly the lads are getting it done today as they know they'll be too hungover after celebrating on the 21st :)

CroiGorm (Dublin) - Posts: 1547 - 07/09/2015 12:56:42    1783934

As evens at it gets.

Kerry were pushed close by Cork & Tyrone. Got the breaks and won those games. Dublin for sure have the forwards to take their chances in the way Tyrone didn't. We are hoping for a classic final but can see it being a bit cagey. Dublin need it at high tempo so Kerry may try slow it down . I do think Dublin will still have the better bench and ,in a tight game, am hoping that'll swing it for the Dubs.

poguemahone (Dublin) - Posts: 365 - 07/09/2015 14:02:52    1783995

The odd- and they are odd- Dublin poster on here seems hell bent on getting a rise out of Kerry. Yawn. It's close enough. Neither team are perfect. Whoever holds their nerve will win. Simples.

Here's a thought. This is a fascinating and diverting past time every summer for many of us. Respect to the players, management and officials for whom it is a truly serious business. For the rest of us, it's a bit of fun... no more & no less. In other words, enjoy it for what it is ... & ... behave.

plike (Kerry) - Posts: 569 - 07/09/2015 14:06:16    1784000

Eamon will have known who we are playing since the first dub mayo game so our boys will be well prepared plus Dublin can only play the one style of football which will suit us as we can play many different styles , Gavin has 2 weeks to gets his boys sorted which is plenty of time since Dublin can only play one way. Gavin would make a great rugby league coach IMO.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 07/09/2015 14:16:51    1784010

I will be neutral, but I expect a handy Kerry win here.

I can see Kerry sticking 4 or 5 goals to be honest.

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 07/09/2015 14:16:57    1784011

For those who want a game where money is everything, the players are drama qyeens and the fare on offer is in inverse proportion to the amount of money "invested"... take up soccer. The play played by morons for morons. You know it makes sense... like.

plike (Kerry) - Posts: 569 - 07/09/2015 14:57:38    1784044