Donegal GAA thread

Replying To Claretandblue:  "Player welfare. Donegal trained abroad before Christmas for a week. Were they sunbathing??"
Westmeath clearly must have only been sunbathing the last few weeks given they were dumped out of the Tailteann Cup by 2 division 4 teams. One of whom didn't even get promoted.

peiledoir20 (Donegal) - Posts: 1252 - 24/06/2025 11:06:47    2620600

Replying To ORIELMAN85:  "It looked awful. Thankfully I have never saw a Monaghan team do it."
How did it look awful? What's happening at the end of games now is a disaster waiting to happen, pitches being flooded with supporters and players unable to get off the pitch. Someone is going to get hurt badly , possibly a player. All it takes is one upset fan with a few beers inside him....

greenfan (Donegal) - Posts: 698 - 24/06/2025 11:09:03    2620601

It's all about money.donegal should b on sunday same as ourselves.

Dunmore10 (Galway) - Posts: 170 - 24/06/2025 11:09:11    2620602

Replying To gunman:  "Forget about all the games we have played this year,If there was any fairness the teams that played last Sunday should have out this Sunday as well.Funny that Galway got the 7 days."
What's funny about it?

Had a long trek on Sunday and as Jim pointed out that's tough going

Meath played 24 hours before Monaghan week before so Galway are only team playing a side who have 8 days more rest then them.

Both should be playing Sunday if player welfare was more important than maximising attendance

jm25 (Galway) - Posts: 1598 - 24/06/2025 11:15:51    2620604

Replying To totalrecall:  "Who did mayo get in the draw?"
That's a hilarious comment coming from one from Leitrim !

Donegal have now taken over the status of being the biggest moaners .

S1234 (Mayo) - Posts: 242 - 24/06/2025 11:18:53    2620606

Personally I'd have preferred no statement and just get on with things. However, our previous county board took a lot of flack from within the county (for good reason) and I think that the current board want donegal people to know that they didn't just roll over and accept whatever was dished out to them without a fight. Jimmy didn't sound overly excited in a radio interview when asked about Saturday or Sunday. Anyway, on we go. If we're good enough we'll win and I think we will. I wonder will our armagh brethren be laughing equally as hard at kerry's cushy 8 day turn around on Sunday night if they land them out of the championship on their asses.

WeGoAgain (Donegal) - Posts: 87 - 24/06/2025 11:21:12    2620608

Jammys whining matches

farneygael3 (Monaghan) - Posts: 254 - 24/06/2025 11:24:18    2620610

Replying To Breffni40:  "Jaysus, Jimmy really has some of you Donegal lads on strings. Yes Jimmy, no Jimmy, three bags full Jimmy. Get up off your knees and think for yourselves"
Did the Cavan manager ever get out of the box Jim put him in on the sideline a few weeks ago when we beat yous out the gate?

peiledoir20 (Donegal) - Posts: 1252 - 24/06/2025 11:34:10    2620612

Replying To S1234:  "That's a hilarious comment coming from one from Leitrim !

Donegal have now taken over the status of being the biggest moaners ."
At least we have something to moan about? You go around different forums posting nonsense.

Scenicparish (Donegal) - Posts: 625 - 24/06/2025 11:40:06    2620614

Replying To Breffni40:  "Jaysus, Jimmy really has some of you Donegal lads on strings. Yes Jimmy, no Jimmy, three bags full Jimmy. Get up off your knees and think for yourselves"
Thats rich coming from a Cavan person.

Scenicparish (Donegal) - Posts: 625 - 24/06/2025 11:43:21    2620618

Replying To benjyyy:  "I've just seen the statement thats been released tonight.

I've no problem with them making the request and think it is unfair, but releasing the statement is the wrong move. Its just not helpful. Maybe the idea is to have a team against the world scenario but Im not a fan of it."
Why should they not release a Statement? Other posters asking what the Donegal County Board are doing. For player welfare the 6 day turnaround is a disgrace.

Scenicparish (Donegal) - Posts: 625 - 24/06/2025 11:46:20    2620622

Replying To farneygael3:  "Jammys whining matches"
Hopefully

Scenicparish (Donegal) - Posts: 625 - 24/06/2025 11:46:49    2620623

Replying To WeGoAgain:  "Personally I'd have preferred no statement and just get on with things. However, our previous county board took a lot of flack from within the county (for good reason) and I think that the current board want donegal people to know that they didn't just roll over and accept whatever was dished out to them without a fight. Jimmy didn't sound overly excited in a radio interview when asked about Saturday or Sunday. Anyway, on we go. If we're good enough we'll win and I think we will. I wonder will our armagh brethren be laughing equally as hard at kerry's cushy 8 day turn around on Sunday night if they land them out of the championship on their asses."
100%

Scenicparish (Donegal) - Posts: 625 - 24/06/2025 11:47:22    2620625

Replying To greenfan:  "How did it look awful? What's happening at the end of games now is a disaster waiting to happen, pitches being flooded with supporters and players unable to get off the pitch. Someone is going to get hurt badly , possibly a player. All it takes is one upset fan with a few beers inside him...."
Ah wise up but then again maybe the Donegal fans are like that. So you want to stop the young fans and the players families to be kept off the pitch after games. Too used to th soccer lad.

ORIELMAN85 (Monaghan) - Posts: 650 - 24/06/2025 11:48:16    2620626

Replying To Dunmore10:  "It's all about money.donegal should b on sunday same as ourselves."
A sensible posters at last. Thank you

Scenicparish (Donegal) - Posts: 625 - 24/06/2025 11:48:21    2620627

Replying To peiledoir20:  "
Did the Cavan manager ever get out of the box Jim put him in on the sideline a few weeks ago when we beat yous out the gate?"
Your only tactic on here is attacking the county of posters of posts you don't like. I don't think it works as well as you like to think it does. It just looks extremely juvenile and catty. Like I say, up off your knees

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12423 - 24/06/2025 11:49:54    2620628

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "Maybe all the whunging that Donegal did about going to Roscommon didn't pay off when the fixtures were being set for June 28th and 29th."
Probably not, but why should we roll over? I don't think it would have made a difference. Dublin wanted a Saturday night fixture. RTE wanted the Armagh v Kerry match Sunday. The easiest team to shaft was Donegal.

Scenicparish (Donegal) - Posts: 625 - 24/06/2025 11:51:25    2620631

Just as he has riled up so many of you non-Donegal lads that you obsessively rail against everything he says even if he makes a valid point. You even ascribe things to him that he hasn't said in your rush to condemn him.

Shake off the begrudgery and speak without bitterness and irrationality.

Al_Maguire (Donegal) - Posts: 284 - 24/06/2025 11:52:12    2620632

Well done Jimmy for speaking up for your players and supporters. Would Breffni not be the place for this quarterfinal or in the near future Casement?

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2355 - 24/06/2025 11:52:42    2620633

Fair play to donegal on Sunday. Ye were the better team in first half just didn't take your chances. Second half ye blew us away but that was to be expected we never really got going since the lensteir final. I say the game on Saturday is a punishment for Jimmy giving out about being in the Hyde. Although surely it won't make much of a difference as the louth game wasn't too taxing on your players. About the throw in time why did ye refuse to give us the extra 15 minutes just to get better prepared or do you know who made that decision. Finbar roarty definitely on track for young player of the year and an all star a very impressive player. I think with Murphy back ye will have enough to win Sam. Gallen hitting form now aswell.
Ádh mòr i gcoinne muineachán Agus don cuid eile don bhliain.

Lúla571210 (Louth) - Posts: 128 - 24/06/2025 12:07:32    2620643