Donegal GAA thread

Replying To Donegal_abroad:  "Not relevant at all. The question here is why Kerry get 8 days, Galway get 7 days as do Dublin. We get the short end of the straw again with 6 days, similar to The Hyde Park situation for the Mayo game. It's predictable and very frustrating. That's what people are frustrated about."
You got the 6 days rather than Galway as you were considered to have got the easier draw. It will only take 20 minutes labour on Saturday and you will be safely on your way to your next whinge, which will be that you shouldn't have to play Armagh in Croke Park. Then onto the final, playing Dublin in Croke Park. That should ensure Jimmy and Donegal walk away with the whinger of the year award. Hopefully the sun shines on Saturday and the beaches in Donegal will be empty for us Monaghan people to enjoy a day on them.

ORIELMAN85 (Monaghan) - Posts: 650 - 24/06/2025 12:12:24    2620644

Speaking of stuff to moan about. Ticketmaster.ie playing a blinder again this morning. Dhia mo shábháil....

Can't even join the queue.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9834 - 24/06/2025 12:13:13    2620645

According to the Irish news galway have clocked up 1680km donegal 1135km and that's not including galways trip to New York 3 of donegals matches have been at home so the Hyde Park thing should have been maybe kept quiet or come 1st in the group and now possibly they get the thorny end of the stick looking forward to Saturday and May the best team go on to win it outright

Farneyblueandwhite (Monaghan) - Posts: 99 - 24/06/2025 12:15:33    2620647

Replying To farneygael3:  "Jammys whining matches"
JImmy's spinning matches, Jimmy's spinning games...

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12423 - 24/06/2025 12:17:28    2620648

The match should be on the Sunday, that's obvious. And the Donegal county board are right to make their annoyance public. We deserve the advantage of the extra week for coming top of our group, but not taking the option of giving the PQF winners an extra day feels unfair.

Anyway, 4 amazing games of football to be played at the weekend. Monaghan Donegal is always a great match, and Saturday would be a serious battle if the two teams only had six hours to prepare!

MunnionOfMunnionHill (Monaghan) - Posts: 21 - 24/06/2025 12:18:43    2620649

Replying To farneygael3:  "Jammys whining matches"
Very original! You must be proud of coming up with that all by yourself. You'll have the whole summer for comedy come 6pm Saturday.

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1468 - 24/06/2025 12:20:39    2620652

Replying To Scenicparish:  "
Replying To Breffni40:  "Jaysus, Jimmy really has some of you Donegal lads on strings. Yes Jimmy, no Jimmy, three bags full Jimmy. Get up off your knees and think for yourselves"
Thats rich coming from a Cavan person."
No it isn't, your post makes no sense

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12423 - 24/06/2025 12:25:32    2620653

Replying To ORIELMAN85:  "Ah wise up but then again maybe the Donegal fans are like that. So you want to stop the young fans and the players families to be kept off the pitch after games. Too used to th soccer lad."
don't really care how it looked on Sunday, as I said those players have given so much of their time to young fans all year long, and they would have spent time with them after coming out of the dressing room too on Sunday away from the TV cameras but that doesn't suit the narrative at all

CCFabu (Donegal) - Posts: 229 - 24/06/2025 12:29:55    2620655

Replying To Breffni40:  "JImmy's spinning matches, Jimmy's spinning games..."
Jimmy's spanking Ceeeeeavan (by 19 points at home).....

peiledoir20 (Donegal) - Posts: 1252 - 24/06/2025 12:30:07    2620656

Replying To ORIELMAN85:  "Ah wise up but then again maybe the Donegal fans are like that. So you want to stop the young fans and the players families to be kept off the pitch after games. Too used to th soccer lad."
At the end of a game, We have players who have given everything they have for 70 minutes, pushing their bodies to the limit, to entertain a crowd. And then if they don't stand round for an hour getting selfies and signing children's jerseys, people like you criticise them and say it 'looks bad' .

greenfan (Donegal) - Posts: 698 - 24/06/2025 12:32:48    2620657

Replying To peiledoir20:  "Jimmy's spanking Ceeeeeavan (by 19 points at home)....."
Doesn't work on any level sorry. fair play, you tried

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12423 - 24/06/2025 12:32:57    2620658

Replying To Donegal_abroad:  "Very original! You must be proud of coming up with that all by yourself. You'll have the whole summer for comedy come 6pm Saturday."
Yeah the height of wit there. He'll be performing Vegas soon with this kind of material.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9834 - 24/06/2025 13:06:24    2620667

It's about time this nonsense stopped. Game is on Saturday not going to be changed. It's pretty boring at this stage. We're better than that.. huge game Saturday will we win. We will but it might not be easy.hopefully we travel in big numbers. Ticket booked staying up sat night. Wee bit nervous but

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2640 - 24/06/2025 13:29:05    2620672

Replying To ORIELMAN85:  "You got the 6 days rather than Galway as you were considered to have got the easier draw. It will only take 20 minutes labour on Saturday and you will be safely on your way to your next whinge, which will be that you shouldn't have to play Armagh in Croke Park. Then onto the final, playing Dublin in Croke Park. That should ensure Jimmy and Donegal walk away with the whinger of the year award. Hopefully the sun shines on Saturday and the beaches in Donegal will be empty for us Monaghan people to enjoy a day on them."
Fond of a whinge yourself I see.

It's funny how it's the posters from counties who don't have a realistic chance of an All Ireland in the foreseeable future that are all on here giving it large.

This post, and posters from Cavan, Westmeath, Longford and Mayo.

Begrudgery is an awful thing.

Al_Maguire (Donegal) - Posts: 284 - 24/06/2025 13:34:17    2620674

Replying To Breffni40:  "Doesn't work on any level sorry. fair play, you tried"
It's a pity Cavan didn't try harder in their only home championship game of the year, instead of being pummelled by 19 points.

It's also a pity your supporters didn't come out. We outnumbered you at home. Mustn't have been any free tickets going in Cavan.

peiledoir20 (Donegal) - Posts: 1252 - 24/06/2025 13:37:26    2620675

Replying To rorysboys:  "It's about time this nonsense stopped. Game is on Saturday not going to be changed. It's pretty boring at this stage. We're better than that.. huge game Saturday will we win. We will but it might not be easy.hopefully we travel in big numbers. Ticket booked staying up sat night. Wee bit nervous but"
there is a lot of buzz I'd expect a big crowd for Donegal there

won't be easy at all but I think so long as we play to our ability we will be good enough to do it. if we underperform or are off it at all Monaghan are too good and will take advantage in my opinion

CCFabu (Donegal) - Posts: 229 - 24/06/2025 13:39:50    2620676

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Speaking of stuff to moan about. Ticketmaster.ie playing a blinder again this morning. Dhia mo shábháil....

Can't even join the queue."
Thats something we can agree on. And the Sunday games are even worse. They have no business having the sale of GAA tickets.

ORIELMAN85 (Monaghan) - Posts: 650 - 24/06/2025 13:48:41    2620682

Replying To rorysboys:  "It's about time this nonsense stopped. Game is on Saturday not going to be changed. It's pretty boring at this stage. We're better than that.. huge game Saturday will we win. We will but it might not be easy.hopefully we travel in big numbers. Ticket booked staying up sat night. Wee bit nervous but"
Yeah, people need to stop taking the bait, ignore the begrugers . Let them criticise all they want. If Donegal match Monaghan's effort and intensity, Donegal will win the game because they are a better team than Monaghan. Maybe, in today's world where everyone is obsessed with political correctness, I'm not allowed to say that in case it offends someone.

greenfan (Donegal) - Posts: 698 - 24/06/2025 13:50:11    2620684

Replying To peiledoir20:  "It's a pity Cavan didn't try harder in their only home championship game of the year, instead of being pummelled by 19 points.

It's also a pity your supporters didn't come out. We outnumbered you at home. Mustn't have been any free tickets going in Cavan."
Catty and juvenile as always.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12423 - 24/06/2025 13:50:34    2620686

Replying To peiledoir20:  "It's a pity Cavan didn't try harder in their only home championship game of the year, instead of being pummelled by 19 points.

It's also a pity your supporters didn't come out. We outnumbered you at home. Mustn't have been any free tickets going in Cavan."
Not so long ago Ballybofey was half empty for Donegal games. Then along came Whinging Jimmy.

ORIELMAN85 (Monaghan) - Posts: 650 - 24/06/2025 13:55:35    2620690