Donegal GAA thread

Replying To SouthOfTheGap:  "I was surprised by the Kerry crowd yesterday, they had way more than I was expecting thing.

I wasn't surprised by their arrogance. My God they are hard to listen too. A Kerry man arrived in and sat behind me when we were leading 14-9. And he began straight away, insulting the quality of Donegal and Louth. I surprised myself with my patience.

Then the Kerry game started. Not just him, but the whole Kerry crowd. We all know that Derry have a mean streak, and they will look to leave a little bit on you, but my God, Kerry are no shrinking violets. Well fit to mix it. Yes, McKaigue and Clifford had a good physical battle, but to listen to the Kerry supporters you'd be saying prayers for Clifford. What makes it all the more galling, is when you remember the 2014 Final and the treatment Michael Murphy got that day."
Kerry will be in for a rude awakening against Armagh, as I don't think Derry brought anywhere near the level of intensity that Armagh will bring, plus Derry ran out of steam after 55 minutes or so and their transitional play was at times very laboured.

Commodore (Donegal) - Posts: 1136 - 01/07/2024 12:48:27    2556214

Replying To Green_Gold:  "Decent enough performance yesterday again a good Louth side. Louth never throw in the towel and have some fine players. Hopefully they can progress next year and really challenge Dublin in Leinster (they were close this year already).
The winning of the game was our shooting accuracy compared to Louth. We put up a big score which is very encouraging. Peadar Mogan was sensational and some good performances from Gallen, Lanagan, Ryan, Moore and Thompson. Do we have another gear? I think we do and we will need it and more.

We were porous enough in defence at times, particularly in the first half. Our intensity in the tackle wasn't there yesterday but that should return for the semi final. Will upping the intensity levels shore up our defence? Or will Jim consider bringing in more defenders like Curran, McColgan and McMenamin? It was noticeable that we are the team who attacked the most in those games over the weekend, we rarely slowed down the play and just kept attacking, great to see us being so positive.

What a season we are having and it's bonus territory already. However we have a serious chance now and need to go all out to win the All Ireland. There was nothing in the other quarter final matches that should scare us. Galway had a fantastic second half against Dublin but could have been beaten in the first half. Armagh are a very good side but no better than us, two teams are really evenly matched. I wasn't impressed at all with Kerry, they kept Derry in that game for long periods, granted Kerry have more gears and the pedigree."
I'm not sure on the defence. I think made a conscious decision that a player needs to be pacey and a threat going forward. Mccole is the only really natural man marking defender Donegal played yesterday and mccole is pacey They are relying more on a system then to defend and as someone else just mentioned a system to stop goals. They attack with pretty much everyone bar mccole is expected to threaten on attack and when the score is on be able to take the score. Though funnily enough mccole managed one of the most important scores of the year against Tyrone with his less favoured foot.

Derry suffered with their half back line not taking points yesterday. McEvoy and mckindless were turning down opportunities that I'd expect McHugh and Mogan, moore would score.

I think that's the reason why McMenamin has not played much this year and seeing less of curran. It is a bit of a trade off as it takes little edge off the defence. You wouldn't call any of the starting team yesterday are on the edge footballers who really get stuck in. I think Mccolgan has an edge and think when fit McGuinness wants to play him. Though he can be a little rash in defence and he got turned over it attack yesterday (and against Armagh in the Ulster final) he does have pace and does threaten on attack and can can kick a point.

Ulsterchamps_32 (Donegal) - Posts: 740 - 01/07/2024 12:52:46    2556219

Replying To CCFabu:  "do we know when they'll announce what day we are on? I have another f-ing wedding on the 13th!

I'm hoping they fix Armagh for the Saturday as that is also the day of the Tailteann final. Realistically Kerry will not bring a big crowd so they may hope that fixing that semi with Down and Laois in the Tailteann will get it close to a sellout

And then hopefully us being on the Sunday will enable more people, I think Galway will bring a huge crowd."
You got your wish

4pm throw in on Sunday 14th

Al_Maguire (Donegal) - Posts: 255 - 01/07/2024 12:58:45    2556223

Replying To SouthOfTheGap:  "I was surprised by the Kerry crowd yesterday, they had way more than I was expecting thing.

I wasn't surprised by their arrogance. My God they are hard to listen too. A Kerry man arrived in and sat behind me when we were leading 14-9. And he began straight away, insulting the quality of Donegal and Louth. I surprised myself with my patience.

Then the Kerry game started. Not just him, but the whole Kerry crowd. We all know that Derry have a mean streak, and they will look to leave a little bit on you, but my God, Kerry are no shrinking violets. Well fit to mix it. Yes, McKaigue and Clifford had a good physical battle, but to listen to the Kerry supporters you'd be saying prayers for Clifford. What makes it all the more galling, is when you remember the 2014 Final and the treatment Michael Murphy got that day."
Don't want to be tarring all with the same brush but couldn't agree more on the attitude of the Kerry fans in our section.

WeGoAgain (Donegal) - Posts: 49 - 01/07/2024 13:06:31    2556227

Replying To greenfan:  "I might be crazy but I wouldn't be too concerned about the 18 points conceded yesterday. I think Donegal had another couple gears and always felt they could outscore Louth. The game was quite boring because in all honesty, it never looked like Louth could win it. I expect to see much more intensity in 2 weeks time. Galway will be favourites now. Its the ideal scenario for McGuinness, stuff to work on and going into the game as underdogs."
Galway are a different beast to anything we have faced this year, it will be a serious test and Galway are rightly favourites, as the quality they have is off the charts.

Now in saying that, this Donegal team is growing in confidence and experience game by game and have been through a lot of tough battles so far this Championship and are well capable of beating Galway and any of the other 2 teams left in this years Championship on any given day.

Commodore (Donegal) - Posts: 1136 - 01/07/2024 13:09:01    2556229

Ha this is so true. I was waiting on the train in Drumcondra after the game and there were three Kerry lads behind me giving out about Derry and puke football etc. I turned around and said to them, sure ye have it worked out now anyway and Dublin are gone so it's your's to lose. They smirked and I swear to God wouldn't even take me on in a conversation.

Obviously it would be fantastic to win the All Ireland against anyone but it'd be doubly satisfying beating thon crowd who think they've a God given right to be winning it every year.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9300 - 01/07/2024 13:25:54    2556233

Be careful posting that on here... lol

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3846 - 01/07/2024 13:29:35    2556235

Replying To WeGoAgain:  "Don't want to be tarring all with the same brush but couldn't agree more on the attitude of the Kerry fans in our section."
You cant be saying that... ;o)

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3846 - 01/07/2024 13:30:38    2556236

In relation to tickets folks, I think the system employed over the last couple of years has been dictated by Ticketmaster.

The clubs won't be handling physical tickets. What will happen is that the Season Tickets etc will be released first. Then the following day, the clubs will send out an email to Club Members with a link to buy tickets on Ticketmaster. These won't be wonderful, especially if you are looking to buy a few together for your family. The best you'll get in that situation is Davin Stand and Upper Tiers of Cusack 701 - 703, 709-711 etc. Then the remainder will go on general sale on Ticketmaster. Families won't be in the Hogan Stand at all, unless you want to pay Adult prices for kids.

So, get ready for disappointment.

SouthOfTheGap (Donegal) - Posts: 632 - 01/07/2024 13:52:31    2556249

Replying To Commodore:  "Galway are a different beast to anything we have faced this year, it will be a serious test and Galway are rightly favourites, as the quality they have is off the charts.

Now in saying that, this Donegal team is growing in confidence and experience game by game and have been through a lot of tough battles so far this Championship and are well capable of beating Galway and any of the other 2 teams left in this years Championship on any given day."
Yeah, they showed on Saturday that they are a serious outfit. They are big strong men, and capable of kicking scores from distance. I'd be hoping that our kicking ability, along with our speed will be our weapons on Sunday week.

SouthOfTheGap (Donegal) - Posts: 632 - 01/07/2024 13:59:04    2556254

We are now back to the levels we showed in 2018 and 2019 when we were moving very well and putting up big scores and were being talked up as a real threat to Dublin.Unfortunately against Tyrone in 2018 and against Mayo in 2019 both top sides we came up short.We are now coming up against a top side again and the test for the team is whether they can get that extra 10% to make it through.It is largely the same team and they should have more experience now and a top class management team.That is the test in front of them now and I am hopeful they do it.

gunman (Donegal) - Posts: 1089 - 01/07/2024 14:31:28    2556270

Replying To gunman:  "We are now back to the levels we showed in 2018 and 2019 when we were moving very well and putting up big scores and were being talked up as a real threat to Dublin.Unfortunately against Tyrone in 2018 and against Mayo in 2019 both top sides we came up short.We are now coming up against a top side again and the test for the team is whether they can get that extra 10% to make it through.It is largely the same team and they should have more experience now and a top class management team.That is the test in front of them now and I am hopeful they do it."
Yea but unfortunately injury hampered us a lot in 2018 and 2019 .Mc brearty flying in 2018 and eoin ban in 2019 mc Guinness lucky so far and hopefully it stays that way we can ill afford any thing to happen our star players.. because we're using the same subs every week so squad not as strong as some of us believe. I believe we need more out of Niall o donnell , Daire o baoill and ciaran Thompson, if we get these playing well in the semis we're well on our way. Can't believe the room mogan and mc Hugh got, who will Galway put on them it'll be interesting. I felt our full back line were a bit slack yesterday but no doubt mc Guinness will have noticed it. Mark Curran is the interesting one I think he'll start against Galway yesterdays team was very attack minded but against Galway we need to be wary of comer finnerty and Walsh if he plays.. the picking up of Walsh will be vital he plays all over the place and is very dangerous when he gets running.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2517 - 01/07/2024 14:58:54    2556282

Replying To SouthOfTheGap:  "Yeah, they showed on Saturday that they are a serious outfit. They are big strong men, and capable of kicking scores from distance. I'd be hoping that our kicking ability, along with our speed will be our weapons on Sunday week."
I would nearly synopsise the match on July 14th as the best running team in the country (Donegal) versus the best defence in the country (Galway). In my view this will go a long way to determining the outcome on Sunday week.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1970 - 01/07/2024 15:12:23    2556287

Replying To rorysboys:  "Yea but unfortunately injury hampered us a lot in 2018 and 2019 .Mc brearty flying in 2018 and eoin ban in 2019 mc Guinness lucky so far and hopefully it stays that way we can ill afford any thing to happen our star players.. because we're using the same subs every week so squad not as strong as some of us believe. I believe we need more out of Niall o donnell , Daire o baoill and ciaran Thompson, if we get these playing well in the semis we're well on our way. Can't believe the room mogan and mc Hugh got, who will Galway put on them it'll be interesting. I felt our full back line were a bit slack yesterday but no doubt mc Guinness will have noticed it. Mark Curran is the interesting one I think he'll start against Galway yesterdays team was very attack minded but against Galway we need to be wary of comer finnerty and Walsh if he plays.. the picking up of Walsh will be vital he plays all over the place and is very dangerous when he gets running."
The difference now is Jim only plays players that are 100% where previous managers played important players even if they weren't 100%, Hugh Mc Fadden was a perfect example.
Niall wasn't his usual self yesterday. Ciaran had a good second half where he also got two good scores.
I expect Moore to drop back to the backline the next day if Jason is fit.

Scenicparish (Donegal) - Posts: 361 - 01/07/2024 16:42:52    2556322

Replying To CCFabu:  "do we know when they'll announce what day we are on? I have another f-ing wedding on the 13th!

I'm hoping they fix Armagh for the Saturday as that is also the day of the Tailteann final. Realistically Kerry will not bring a big crowd so they may hope that fixing that semi with Down and Laois in the Tailteann will get it close to a sellout

And then hopefully us being on the Sunday will enable more people, I think Galway will bring a huge crowd."
its on Sunday at 4

greenfan (Donegal) - Posts: 515 - 01/07/2024 17:58:28    2556343

Replying To Scenicparish:  "The difference now is Jim only plays players that are 100% where previous managers played important players even if they weren't 100%, Hugh Mc Fadden was a perfect example.
Niall wasn't his usual self yesterday. Ciaran had a good second half where he also got two good scores.
I expect Moore to drop back to the backline the next day if Jason is fit."
Jim was not taking any chances with Jason yesterday. But I was surprised he was in the 26 man squad. By the looks of things he wasn't replaced. So maybe he had a wee bit if it was needed.

Also, the warmups by both Aaron Doherty and Caolan McColgan at half time were akin to fitness tests, conducted by Antoin down in front of the Hill. Not your usual warm ups for lads about to enter the fray.

SouthOfTheGap (Donegal) - Posts: 632 - 01/07/2024 17:59:42    2556345

Replying To Scenicparish:  "The difference now is Jim only plays players that are 100% where previous managers played important players even if they weren't 100%, Hugh Mc Fadden was a perfect example.
With all respect to you McGuinness himself mentioned to the media yesterday that Jason McGee was managing an injury through the Ulster championship!

Ulsterchamps_32 (Donegal) - Posts: 740 - 01/07/2024 18:01:35    2556347

Replying To rorysboys:  "Yea but unfortunately injury hampered us a lot in 2018 and 2019 .Mc brearty flying in 2018 and eoin ban in 2019 mc Guinness lucky so far and hopefully it stays that way we can ill afford any thing to happen our star players.. because we're using the same subs every week so squad not as strong as some of us believe. I believe we need more out of Niall o donnell , Daire o baoill and ciaran Thompson, if we get these playing well in the semis we're well on our way. Can't believe the room mogan and mc Hugh got, who will Galway put on them it'll be interesting. I felt our full back line were a bit slack yesterday but no doubt mc Guinness will have noticed it. Mark Curran is the interesting one I think he'll start against Galway yesterdays team was very attack minded but against Galway we need to be wary of comer finnerty and Walsh if he plays.. the picking up of Walsh will be vital he plays all over the place and is very dangerous when he gets running."
Its clear from the limited number of players that Jim is using that he doesn't see the squad as being as good as some people think it is, we don't have the depth. That can be seen also from how quickly he has tried to get Conor O'Donnell back into the team. Even with Jason McGee being injured yesterday, he didn't take anyone into the 26.

greenfan (Donegal) - Posts: 515 - 01/07/2024 18:06:33    2556348

Replying To kiloughter:  "I would nearly synopsise the match on July 14th as the best running team in the country (Donegal) versus the best defence in the country (Galway). In my view this will go a long way to determining the outcome on Sunday week."
What's the mood like in Galway after the weekend? I loved the Galway Bay FM audio of the victory, was brilliant. After a final in 2022 and a close run thing against Kerry, I would imagine there is a belief that they can go the whole way this year now with accounting for Dublin.

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1371 - 01/07/2024 19:18:58    2556365

We'll agree to disagree Conor o donnell only about 70% fit yet started. Hasn't played football in almost a year

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2517 - 01/07/2024 20:26:35    2556370