Donegal GAA thread

Replying To Donegalman:  "The only advantage we have over Louth is an extra week preparing and resting. Louth are are a couple of years ahead of us in their development. Mickey Harte did good work there and Ger Brennan has them lit up now. They are a goal machine and should have had 2 against Kerry. I think we can win, but only if we get everything 100% right."
The average age of this team is between 26 and 27. It's not an old team, it's not a young team. The age profile is about right to drive on. Only 4 players i think of the starting team hadn't already won an ulster championship. The team has plenty experience.
No doubt jim had done really well this but how much more development is there going to be. This year might be as good a chance as they're going to have.

Ulsterchamps_32 (Donegal) - Posts: 735 - 28/06/2024 18:00:54    2555445

Replying To rorysboys:  "Of course last year's squad wasn't good enough. Don't waste your time digging out posts sure everyone knows it wasn't good enough.. maybe you have too much time on your hands ha"
I post about a quarter of what you do on this forum roughly at a glance so maybe too much time is your own issue.

So now it's last year's squad that wasn't good enough, so the year before in 2022, it was good enough then? Or when did Jim inherit the good squad you now said that wasn't good enough before, which you also said previously.

You called Jim not coming back wrongly and you wrote off a squad of players wrongly too so just be honest about that? You defended a county board who then went on to be exposed to the world for how it operated. You've a habit of backing the wrong horse.

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1363 - 29/06/2024 07:53:03    2555488

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Yeah I'd say you won't be far wrong there. If Louth go toe to toe with us then I think overall we have better footballers and would win. They'll have seen how Cork were able to hurt us on the counter attack so I'd expect them to sit in a low block, try to frustrate us, and punish us if we overturn ball. We need to be patient early on and be economical and clinical with scoring chances as they present themselves. Ideally you'd be wanting to be in a two or three point lead by say the 55th minute. At that stage they'd need to risk opening up a bit, and it might offer us an opportunity to exploit the additional spaces offered.

I think if we can avoid conceding any goals I can't see Louth out-pointing us. If the focus is right and everyone is tuned in then the lads will get the job done."
Agree on this. I think Louth hit 1-9 against Cork, the points tally was low. 2-12 against Dublin in a Leinster final. Goals are a feature and keep the opposition scoring low. I just feel all year we have been hitting very good point tallies. So if we avoid conceding goals, we win for me. I don't think they'll out point us. Hopefully a good focus tomorrow and move on

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1363 - 29/06/2024 07:58:29    2555489

Replying To Donegal_abroad:  "I post about a quarter of what you do on this forum roughly at a glance so maybe too much time is your own issue.

So now it's last year's squad that wasn't good enough, so the year before in 2022, it was good enough then? Or when did Jim inherit the good squad you now said that wasn't good enough before, which you also said previously.

You called Jim not coming back wrongly and you wrote off a squad of players wrongly too so just be honest about that? You defended a county board who then went on to be exposed to the world for how it operated. You've a habit of backing the wrong horse."
Excuse me get your facts right it was you who said that I said last year's squad wasn't strong enough. Sure I'm right ,go back and check your post. .

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2493 - 29/06/2024 09:07:18    2555499

Replying To rorysboys:  "Excuse me get your facts right it was you who said that I said last year's squad wasn't strong enough. Sure I'm right ,go back and check your post. ."
"Apart from Murphy who's your 4 or 5 key players. I read a lot on here this year that if you're missing players that's what a squad is for. What's the difference now.. I'm sick reading on here about this brilliant squad we have when anyone who knows there football will tell you different.
rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2489 - 08/12/2022 16:47:56 2449885"

This was 2022.

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1363 - 29/06/2024 10:59:11    2555512

Replying To rorysboys:  "Excuse me get your facts right it was you who said that I said last year's squad wasn't strong enough. Sure I'm right ,go back and check your post. ."
"Apart from Murphy who's your 4 or 5 key players. I read a lot on here this year that if you're missing players that's what a squad is for. What's the difference now.. I'm sick reading on here about this brilliant squad we have when anyone who knows there football will tell you different.

This was 2022.

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1363 - 29/06/2024 11:06:19    2555516

Replying To Donegal_abroad:  ""Apart from Murphy who's your 4 or 5 key players. I read a lot on here this year that if you're missing players that's what a squad is for. What's the difference now.. I'm sick reading on here about this brilliant squad we have when anyone who knows there football will tell you different.

This was 2022."
What was this post that you omitted that I responded too. Go back and do another bit of research seeing you have the time. We never had a brilliant squad I never said that I said Jim had a good foundation when he came in. 13 of the starting team tomorrow were brought through by bonner yet we had fools on here criticising bonners selections.. if we had such a great squad why are we using the same subs and bringing them on again after taking them off.. Jim will build a strong squad in the next year or two. As I said before we've win nothing yet that we didn't win before

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2493 - 29/06/2024 12:47:54    2555536

Replying To rorysboys:  "What was this post that you omitted that I responded too. Go back and do another bit of research seeing you have the time. We never had a brilliant squad I never said that I said Jim had a good foundation when he came in. 13 of the starting team tomorrow were brought through by bonner yet we had fools on here criticising bonners selections.. if we had such a great squad why are we using the same subs and bringing them on again after taking them off.. Jim will build a strong squad in the next year or two. As I said before we've win nothing yet that we didn't win before"
You're making no sense, read over your posts. This is your Biden moment. I hope you never have a day in court, you'll be outed in minutes. A walking contradiction.

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1363 - 29/06/2024 13:10:19    2555544

Replying To rorysboys:  "What was this post that you omitted that I responded too. Go back and do another bit of research seeing you have the time. We never had a brilliant squad I never said that I said Jim had a good foundation when he came in. 13 of the starting team tomorrow were brought through by bonner yet we had fools on here criticising bonners selections.. if we had such a great squad why are we using the same subs and bringing them on again after taking them off.. Jim will build a strong squad in the next year or two. As I said before we've win nothing yet that we didn't win before"
You said 18 months ago we had no defenders. Own your posts.....

Scenicparish (Donegal) - Posts: 350 - 29/06/2024 13:54:40    2555556

Replying To Donegal_abroad:  "You're making no sense, read over your posts. This is your Biden moment. I hope you never have a day in court, you'll be outed in minutes. A walking contradiction."
You can't answer my question maybe all this investigation is affecting your mind. lol.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2493 - 29/06/2024 14:48:12    2555564

Replying To Scenicparish:  "You said 18 months ago we had no defenders. Own your posts....."
We can't have because we're playing mostly forwards in our defence. The big test if we have a defence or not will come in the semi and hopefully the final. There's nothing proven yet lad. Yous are being very presumptuous.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2493 - 29/06/2024 14:51:10    2555565

Jeez if Louth are as wrecked as Roscommon look here tomorrow could be comfortable.
Hopefully conditions will be better tomorrow too. Looks very slippy out there today. Think we're more suited to the dry, hard sod.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9279 - 29/06/2024 16:35:00    2555581

Replying To rorysboys:  "We can't have because we're playing mostly forwards in our defence. The big test if we have a defence or not will come in the semi and hopefully the final. There's nothing proven yet lad. Yous are being very presumptuous."
The defence is far more solid than it has been for years. Most people see that except you. I wonder do you even go to matches at all?

Scenicparish (Donegal) - Posts: 350 - 29/06/2024 17:21:07    2555596

Replying To Scenicparish:  "The defence is far more solid than it has been for years. Most people see that except you. I wonder do you even go to matches at all?"
Hope it stays that way lad.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2493 - 29/06/2024 18:39:24    2555631

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Yeah I'd say you won't be far wrong there. If Louth go toe to toe with us then I think overall we have better footballers and would win. They'll have seen how Cork were able to hurt us on the counter attack so I'd expect them to sit in a low block, try to frustrate us, and punish us if we overturn ball. We need to be patient early on and be economical and clinical with scoring chances as they present themselves. Ideally you'd be wanting to be in a two or three point lead by say the 55th minute. At that stage they'd need to risk opening up a bit, and it might offer us an opportunity to exploit the additional spaces offered.

I think if we can avoid conceding any goals I can't see Louth out-pointing us. If the focus is right and everyone is tuned in then the lads will get the job done."
I see it similar to yourself and Kev. I expect Louth to sit deep and compact much like they did against the Dubs and by all accounts earlier in the year against ourselves in Ballyshannon. We need much better focus in possession as Louth will be looking to exploit us from turnovers just like Cork did. However I'd say Jim will have us set up in a way that we're not so open and vulnerable to turnovers. Patience is going to be key. I'm expecting a good start and looking to build a lead. It's not going to be one for the purists but at the end of the day the reward is an AI semi which would be a massive season for us. Plus with the Dubs out it's opened it up and who knows what happens. Let's just hope we're not making the back pages as another shock of the weekend. Really looking forward to a game in Croke Park. I think my last visit was that enthralling game against Kerry. Safe travels to everyone making the journey and let's hope we're discussing a semi final next week. Best of luck to Jim and the lads.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2794 - 29/06/2024 20:26:18    2555699

As with other posters here I agree that Louth will sit deep and be compact, the key for donegal will be patience and to move the ball at pace. Anyone who wants to know how not to play against a compact defence see roscommon first half v armagh

totalrecall (Leitrim) - Posts: 960 - 29/06/2024 21:03:41    2555724

Replying To totalrecall:  "As with other posters here I agree that Louth will sit deep and be compact, the key for donegal will be patience and to move the ball at pace. Anyone who wants to know how not to play against a compact defence see roscommon first half v armagh"
Donegal are well used to playing into those defences after the Ulster campaign. Something this year that's been very encouraging is the want to run hard and incisive into packed defences, punching holes and having runners off the shoulder. I thought a good example of this was in Ulster in the game against Tyrone, they had the mother of all blanket defences and I felt we kept running hard in that second half, over and over, continually trying not to fall into the lateral style you alluded to with Roscommon today.

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1363 - 29/06/2024 21:35:59    2555748

Replying To Donegal_abroad:  "Donegal are well used to playing into those defences after the Ulster campaign. Something this year that's been very encouraging is the want to run hard and incisive into packed defences, punching holes and having runners off the shoulder. I thought a good example of this was in Ulster in the game against Tyrone, they had the mother of all blanket defences and I felt we kept running hard in that second half, over and over, continually trying not to fall into the lateral style you alluded to with Roscommon today."
Agreed, all ireland race wide open, all the teams left now will fancy their chances

totalrecall (Leitrim) - Posts: 960 - 29/06/2024 21:53:20    2555758

Replying To totalrecall:  "Agreed, all ireland race wide open, all the teams left now will fancy their chances"
Yes indeed, Galway have blown the All Ireland race wide open. Should favourites Kerry and Donegal win tomorrow you will have Armagh paired with Kerry having already played Donegal and Galway . Let us see how Sunday's games go first.

Curlew66 (Roscommon) - Posts: 520 - 29/06/2024 22:20:04    2555776

I said Galway were a serious outfit earlier in this topic and they proved me right yesterday. I said I didn't think they'd be beat by anyone except Dublin or Kerry - I don't know if anyone will beat Galway this year now, especially if recovery goes well the next two weeks, but if we are lucky enough to win today and face them in the semi-final I think it would be an absolutely cracking battle

In Dublin now and feeling the buzz for today, ádh mór don panel agus Jim, Louth will be a very tough nut to crack today

CCFabu (Donegal) - Posts: 118 - 30/06/2024 10:56:29    2555896