Donegal GAA thread

Replying To Scenicparish:  "Monaghan don't need to worry about pitch invasions. You will never know what it's like in your lifetime....."
2013 and 15

veterngaa (Monaghan) - Posts: 453 - 01/06/2024 22:39:29    2548792

Replying To veterngaa:  "Pitch invasions last week like yous won the all Ireland … back to reality today"
Bad result today... Could be worse though, we could be as bad as Monaghan

greenfan (Donegal) - Posts: 507 - 01/06/2024 23:29:19    2548798

Replying To Scenicparish:  "6 day turn around against a tough Ulster team. It was always going to be a tough ask to go to Cork and win. Cork were far fresher after a 2 week break."
Yes Donegal certainly seemed to be caught in possession at times & gaps appeared in their defense, which is not an issue for Donegal normally.

We were full of running & got joy from turnovers & key scores at good times.

I think long term for Jimmy & his side this might prove to be a beneficial defeat once learnings are taken on board, heading into knock out football.

St.Mologga (Cork) - Posts: 117 - 01/06/2024 23:55:46    2548801

Munster's second best team (and a very second at that) comfortably beat the Ulster champions! What does that say about your very vaunted Ulster championship?

I shudder to think what Kerry would do to ye!

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 2011 - 02/06/2024 01:56:36    2548802

A disappointing result yesterday but as others have said, it won't define our season. A case of getting back up the road, getting the recovery in & analysing what went wrong. Topping the group is still achievable but we'll likely need Tyrone to beat Cork & we'll need a decent sized victory over Clare.

What would concern me more about yesterday is Jason McGee's injury. I haven't heard how bad it is. Himself & Langan have been outstanding so any disruption in that sector would be very worrying indeed.

I also don't want to sound like a broken on this, it's an old cliché but goals win games as we suffered to our cost yesterday. Listening on the radio it appeared that McBrearty had one chance first half when the keeper pulled off a good save (got a point), and then Langan had half a goal chance second half. A goal in either half yesterday could have swung it in our favour.

We have to stay positive overall though. It's been an excellent year so far. The two week break is welcome and the hype will be dialled down a notch, which may be no bad thing.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9264 - 02/06/2024 08:29:36    2548811

Replying To Scenicparish:  "6 day turn around against a tough Ulster team. It was always going to be a tough ask to go to Cork and win. Cork were far fresher after a 2 week break."
After the dust has settled a bit unfortunately its a big defeat imo. I am still thinking Tyrone will beat Cork but depending on Tyrones result today if they were to win big we are up against it & Tyrone cud very easily win the group.
Realistically I think we will finish second which means reaching a semi now is next to impossible because we would have to win 3 in a row 3 weeks in row! Hope I'm wrong

letterkennyGuy (Donegal) - Posts: 161 - 02/06/2024 09:30:33    2548815

Yesterday showed how badly the GAA got the fixtures for the round robin. We played Tyrone late on a Saturday evening and then have a 450km drive the following Friday for an early throw in on the Saturday, Tyrone get an extra day and a home fixture and on top of that both Cork and Clare got a two week break. The GAA needs to come up with a fairer system for amateur players. There was no reward for winning Ulster.
Learnings to be taken from the Cork trip, move on and prep now for Clare. It will be interesting to see how they get on today in Omagh.

Ulsterchamps72 (Donegal) - Posts: 92 - 02/06/2024 11:08:46    2548829

Wasn't our day yesterday we looked tired which is understandable. Great to see a big donegal following. I must say the cork support surprised me they were really up for it. As for the game we fought back brilliantly from the three goals and could have got something out of it. But you can't gave away 3 goals in championship and expect to win especially against a decent team. Cork opened us up at will. Which will worry Jim. I've been saying it this while my fear is our defence all good attacking players but when the better teams run at us we look in trouble. Hopefully injury to mc gee is not serious we can't afford to lose him. Bit tired today but the week off will hopefully refreshen the lads, all is not lost . Finally too much talk of all Irelands going about Donegal gave the lads a chance a lot of people on here too are loosing the run of themselves. Let's all get out in two weeks hopefully Tyrone might do us a favour we definitely can do without finishing 2 nd. .

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2472 - 02/06/2024 11:19:08    2548833

No need for panic after yesterday. No doubt, Jim will learn from the game and make the necessary adjustments. Everyone just ignore the idiots coming out of the woodwork now. Donegal are in a great place and there are good days ahead.

greenfan (Donegal) - Posts: 507 - 02/06/2024 11:29:50    2548835

Replying To foreveryoung:  "Munster's second best team (and a very second at that) comfortably beat the Ulster champions! What does that say about your very vaunted Ulster championship?

I shudder to think what Kerry would do to ye!"
Maybe Kerry should be less concerned with a team that are only with their management 8 months and be more concerned with the Dubs who have led them on a merry dance since 2011. They laugh at Kerry now when they land to Croker.

peiledoir20 (Donegal) - Posts: 862 - 02/06/2024 11:32:23    2548836

Replying To St.Mologga:  "Yes Donegal certainly seemed to be caught in possession at times & gaps appeared in their defense, which is not an issue for Donegal normally.

We were full of running & got joy from turnovers & key scores at good times.

I think long term for Jimmy & his side this might prove to be a beneficial defeat once learnings are taken on board, heading into knock out football."
First of all well done to Cork, you are sitting on top of the group now, win or draw with Tyrone and you have home advantage in the quarter final I think?
I think the amount of high intensity games we played recently caught up with us on a hot day after along trip to the other end of the country but taking nothing away from Corks victory which they fully deserved.
I just feel sorry for all the little children that have been flocking after Jim but it is a good life lesson for them and a good time to suffer this defeat because we have the chance to get back on track straight away now.
Jim has taken us from nowhere again to be Ulster Champions in a very short window of time and we have a lot to contribute to the All Ireland series still I have no doubt.
I don't know a lot about Clare and we'll see how Tyrone fair today but I think with time to prepare and fellas wanting to put things right after yesterday we'll will be well ready to take them on.
I'd pay no attention to any trolls on here or attack whatever county they claim to be from on an anonymous forum, what they are saying says more about them than anything else, 'haters are gonna hate' lol.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2860 - 02/06/2024 12:04:02    2548848

Replying To Ulsterchamps72:  "Yesterday showed how badly the GAA got the fixtures for the round robin. We played Tyrone late on a Saturday evening and then have a 450km drive the following Friday for an early throw in on the Saturday, Tyrone get an extra day and a home fixture and on top of that both Cork and Clare got a two week break. The GAA needs to come up with a fairer system for amateur players. There was no reward for winning Ulster.
Learnings to be taken from the Cork trip, move on and prep now for Clare. It will be interesting to see how they get on today in Omagh."
The gaa has done a very poor job at making the system fair. The super 8s weren't fair in that dublin got two home games. It wouldn't hardly matter where dublin played but it wasn't fair. And then it's sure we'll assess it after three years and then see. Even though there's blatant anomalies there that don't need three years to rectify.
If you are making teams play week on week then make all teams play week on week so it's a t least equal on that front.

If you take winning ulster out as a goal and I in know way want to do that you'd be as well playing the under 20s in the first match.
Donegal were pretty poor last year. One win and one draw in the league and a bad defeat to down in ulster. But our reward was much greater than this year. Two week break between all games. Away game first with loads of time to prepare. We could have ambushed derry and nice neutral game close to home.

Ulsterchamps_32 (Donegal) - Posts: 730 - 02/06/2024 12:17:31    2548854

I know I'll get chastised for this, just a wee bit disappointed not to get at least a draw yesterday. Still had a great evening and night in cork afters.
In hindsight it's more the pity that with the six day turnaround we didn't trust our panel more to start a few of these lads that are coming in off the bench this past few games. I know it's hindsight but we've got a good panel of players atm. I suppose jim was just trying to get the result quickly and guarantee the topping the group as early as possible. Anyways think we will qualify but whatever rds ahead weill give it a good blast.

Tyrion (Donegal) - Posts: 162 - 02/06/2024 13:06:15    2548862

Replying To Ulsterchamps_32:  "The gaa has done a very poor job at making the system fair. The super 8s weren't fair in that dublin got two home games. It wouldn't hardly matter where dublin played but it wasn't fair. And then it's sure we'll assess it after three years and then see. Even though there's blatant anomalies there that don't need three years to rectify.
If you are making teams play week on week then make all teams play week on week so it's a t least equal on that front.

If you take winning ulster out as a goal and I in know way want to do that you'd be as well playing the under 20s in the first match.
Donegal were pretty poor last year. One win and one draw in the league and a bad defeat to down in ulster. But our reward was much greater than this year. Two week break between all games. Away game first with loads of time to prepare. We could have ambushed derry and nice neutral game close to home."
We discussed it on the way back last night and the general consensus was that the Provincial championship should be played over one weekend, with two games on the Saturday and Sunday, that the Provincial Champions then get 3 home games, the Provincial runners up get two home games and the 3rd seed get one home game, with the 4th seed on the road for all three games. This then rewards the teams that have gone deep into the Provincial championships. This then makes winning the Provincial worthwhile.

Ulsterchamps72 (Donegal) - Posts: 92 - 02/06/2024 13:37:09    2548867

Disappointing result yesterday but it was always going to be a difficult game away to Cork. I didn't get to the game but from the commentary it sounds like Cork got most of their scores from turnovers. I wouldn't be too hard on the players, they have been terrific all year and probably were tired yesterday. One worry is that we aren't scoring goals. I don't think we will concede 3 goals again.

The two week break to the Clare game is very welcome. Any word on where that game will be played? Let's get to this game in huge numbers, Jim and the team need the support now. The fans have been great this year so let's keep it going.

Conor O'Donnell is back in training, what a tonic that could be. Hopefully Jason not too badly injured, we can't afford to be without him.

Green_Gold (Donegal) - Posts: 1897 - 02/06/2024 14:18:15    2548871

Replying To foreveryoung:  "Munster's second best team (and a very second at that) comfortably beat the Ulster champions! What does that say about your very vaunted Ulster championship?

I shudder to think what Kerry would do to ye!"
Would ya aye? All things being equal I wouldn't shudder at all. With all that went against Donegal yesterday, short turnaround, tiredness after a series of tough games, uncharacteristic mistakes and unforced errors coupled with a long trek to the far end of the country , the second best team in Munster edged out a result in the dying minutes of the game. Fair dues to Cork who capitalised on defensive errors and took their goals well but let's not delude ourselves with talk of anyone being comprehensively beaten.

WeGoAgain (Donegal) - Posts: 47 - 02/06/2024 14:30:29    2548872

Replying To WeGoAgain:  "Would ya aye? All things being equal I wouldn't shudder at all. With all that went against Donegal yesterday, short turnaround, tiredness after a series of tough games, uncharacteristic mistakes and unforced errors coupled with a long trek to the far end of the country , the second best team in Munster edged out a result in the dying minutes of the game. Fair dues to Cork who capitalised on defensive errors and took their goals well but let's not delude ourselves with talk of anyone being comprehensively beaten."
Agree no big setback for Donegal but I suppose it does indicate that while Derry, Tyrone, Armagh and Donegal can get a result against anyone on their day, currently the three best teams in the country are not from Ulster, Dublin, Kerry and Galway.

sligo joe (Dublin) - Posts: 735 - 02/06/2024 14:50:32    2548876

Replying To sligo joe:  "Agree no big setback for Donegal but I suppose it does indicate that while Derry, Tyrone, Armagh and Donegal can get a result against anyone on their day, currently the three best teams in the country are not from Ulster, Dublin, Kerry and Galway."
Galway been ahead of Donegal on what basis ? Beating Derry ?

letterkennyGuy (Donegal) - Posts: 161 - 02/06/2024 15:16:52    2548882

Replying To sligo joe:  "Agree no big setback for Donegal but I suppose it does indicate that while Derry, Tyrone, Armagh and Donegal can get a result against anyone on their day, currently the three best teams in the country are not from Ulster, Dublin, Kerry and Galway."
I always laugh at this craic, ranking the teams in Ireland, Dublin and Kerry are ahead of us all, after that there's a group of teams who could each beat each other on a given day depending on the players they have available, tiredness from recent consecutive tough games, ref decisions/rub of the green as they say, etc etc.
Winning a tough Ulster may be a disadvantage in trying to win the All Ireland series the way it's structured now, but I wouldn't trade that fantastic Ulster win this year, we are building nicely and Rome wasn't built in a day.
Hope to see massive support at the Clare game wherever it is, this team deserve it.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2860 - 02/06/2024 15:22:15    2548884

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "I always laugh at this craic, ranking the teams in Ireland, Dublin and Kerry are ahead of us all, after that there's a group of teams who could each beat each other on a given day depending on the players they have available, tiredness from recent consecutive tough games, ref decisions/rub of the green as they say, etc etc.
Winning a tough Ulster may be a disadvantage in trying to win the All Ireland series the way it's structured now, but I wouldn't trade that fantastic Ulster win this year, we are building nicely and Rome wasn't built in a day.
Hope to see massive support at the Clare game wherever it is, this team deserve it."
I suppose it's all opinion but if Galway met Donegal in a knock-out now I'd fancy Galway. Bookies, funny enough, have Galway clear 3rd favourites for Sam.

sligo joe (Dublin) - Posts: 735 - 02/06/2024 15:36:04    2548888