Donegal GAA thread

Replying To peiledoir20:  "If two teams are level on points it's head to head. Any more than two it comes down to score difference which we why we would need Tyrone to win both their games."
Thank you

letterkennyGuy (Donegal) - Posts: 161 - 01/06/2024 17:53:24    2548729

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "Not actually certain myself now. Head was addled with the Leinster scoring permutations in hurling so am averse to researching that!

Kerry lost to Mayo last year and they still reached final.. Groups are predictable still in terms of the 12, but there is uncertainty about who will meet who in quarters with chances of leading contenders meeting earlier than hoped or expected.

Cork are decent team. Will take another decent team to put them out."
Always a big performance in Cork and today was theirs so fair play.
On the other hand this result was in the waiting for Donegal and will do them good imo.
Wel see all the mc guinness haters jumping outta the woodwork now after loosing his 1st match lol

letterkennyGuy (Donegal) - Posts: 161 - 01/06/2024 17:57:02    2548730

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "Not actually certain myself now. Head was addled with the Leinster scoring permutations in hurling so am averse to researching that!

Kerry lost to Mayo last year and they still reached final.. Groups are predictable still in terms of the 12, but there is uncertainty about who will meet who in quarters with chances of leading contenders meeting earlier than hoped or expected.

Cork are decent team. Will take another decent team to put them out."
Always a big performance in Cork and today was theirs so fair play.
On the other hand this result was in the waiting for Donegal and will do them good imo.
Wel see all the mc guinness haters jumping outta the woodwork now after loosing his 1st match lol

letterkennyGuy (Donegal) - Posts: 161 - 01/06/2024 18:07:04    2548733

Replying To Ryanteam:  "I believe if 3 teams are on 4 points, placing is decided on score difference. If 2 teams are on 4 points, head to head is in play and is over score difference. If donegal, Tyrone and cork end up on 4 points, score difference will decide placing! We had this in Munster hurling!"
If three teams end up level on 4 points, do they take into account total score difference or only the score difference from the games between those three teams that are level on points?

HandballRef (Donegal) - Posts: 521 - 01/06/2024 18:08:40    2548734

Replying To HandballRef:  "If three teams end up level on 4 points, do they take into account total score difference or only the score difference from the games between those three teams that are level on points?"
Total score difference.

Ryanteam (Cork) - Posts: 262 - 01/06/2024 18:34:42    2548736

Can't understand not starting Curran in a game like that. Can't understand not switching him in when Cork started to get joy.

SurelyToGod (Donegal) - Posts: 410 - 01/06/2024 18:57:15    2548738

Went down to the game. Did well to recover after the two quick fire goals. The game then rested on two decisions. One to blow McGonigle for overcarrying when level which cork scored from. Michael Langan tried to go for goal when he could have tapped over for a point. Small margins. Ryan McHugh also gave a poor kick away and missed two shots at goal the second dropping short.

argael (Donegal) - Posts: 133 - 01/06/2024 20:07:01    2548746

We got what we deserved in the end, too many errors and you won't get anything out of a game when you concede 3 goals. Early on it looked like it was going to be a game where there could have potentially been goals in for us, but not to be.

I was surprised at the big Cork crowd there

totalrecall (Leitrim) - Posts: 957 - 01/06/2024 20:15:51    2548748

Pitch invasions last week like yous won the all Ireland … back to reality today

veterngaa (Monaghan) - Posts: 453 - 01/06/2024 20:32:21    2548751

Replying To Ryanteam:  "Maybe Jimmy was listening to you!"
I have to honest I didn't see this result coming, but as you mentioned we have been creating goal chances, but not converting these opportunities.

St.Mologga (Cork) - Posts: 117 - 01/06/2024 20:33:53    2548752

Replying To veterngaa:  "Pitch invasions last week like yous won the all Ireland … back to reality today"
I could have predicted that you would reappear from under your mushroom.

Monaghan didn't have your annual pitch invasion this year, you know the one that yiz usually have after the last league game.

And wait till the Louth supporters are invading Clones tomorrow afternoon, just like we did a few weeks ago when we won the Ulster Title.

Now jog on.

SouthOfTheGap (Donegal) - Posts: 616 - 01/06/2024 21:01:21    2548759

Replying To veterngaa:  "Pitch invasions last week like yous won the all Ireland … back to reality today"
Good man veterngaa, if Donegal losing provides you with a little joy and distracts from the considerable decline in Monaghan cling to those small crumbs of comfort.

BeardedBorderGael (Donegal) - Posts: 42 - 01/06/2024 21:05:17    2548761

Away you go, Monaghan heading for Tailteann Cup soon enough.

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1351 - 01/06/2024 21:05:47    2548762

Lads looked terribly jaded early on today. Twenty five minutes in in the first half cork got a 45, there was four of our boys hands on knees tongues out. I know cork were the fresher team with the longer tome between games but to see our lads well goosed after 25 mins dosnt stack.
Anyways we could of stole it only for a few poor kick passes near the end which normally stick.

Tyrion (Donegal) - Posts: 162 - 01/06/2024 21:06:40    2548763

I have to say that I thought our game plan was poor today. It was very disjointed. McGonagle, Mogan, Ban and McHugh ran themselves to a standstill, but they were completely disconnected from the forward line. The distance between them was vast. And credit to Cork, they had their homework done and stopped us at source. And every time they got a turnover they looked like scoring.

Anyway, let's regroup and go again.

SouthOfTheGap (Donegal) - Posts: 616 - 01/06/2024 21:10:22    2548764

Still a chance to top the group, if Tyrone beat cork and we beat Clare it will come down to score difference. And with a two week rest, hopefully we will respond with a big performance against Clare. Under the circumstances I was afraid of this game. A tough game last week and then a long trip to cork who had a extra break and were ready to spring a suprise. In my opinion the championship is becoming a joke as regards to many games in to short a period, they are amateurs at the end of the day with work commitments. It's time to bring back the days of after Ulster, straight into a quarter final and playing a team that went through the qualifiers.
Hopefully the players will speak out and some common sense prevails.

In Jim we trust

The keeper (Donegal) - Posts: 694 - 01/06/2024 21:13:59    2548766

Monaghan don't need to worry about pitch invasions. You will never know what it's like in your lifetime.....

Scenicparish (Donegal) - Posts: 339 - 01/06/2024 22:27:59    2548788

Replying To St.Mologga:  "I have to honest I didn't see this result coming, but as you mentioned we have been creating goal chances, but not converting these opportunities."
6 day turn around against a tough Ulster team. It was always going to be a tough ask to go to Cork and win. Cork were far fresher after a 2 week break.

Scenicparish (Donegal) - Posts: 339 - 01/06/2024 22:31:50    2548789

Replying To SurelyToGod:  "Can't understand not starting Curran in a game like that. Can't understand not switching him in when Cork started to get joy."
In Jim I trust. He sees the panel training every night.

Scenicparish (Donegal) - Posts: 339 - 01/06/2024 22:34:06    2548790

Jim McGuinness summed it up pretty well in that you can't concede three goals like that. Concede two and probably would have scaped a win or even a draw that would have done. Cork were going for goals when they got a sniff at all. It really doesn't help when unforced errors give them the opportunities and there were just too many. Donegal definitely looked jaded and I guess that was a factor in the sloppiness.

Near the end it was all going through Ryan McHugh and it really wasn't working for him today. Others standing up and him realising there are others to lean on.
The over carry decision on mcgonagle near the end also looked very harsh in the context of how the game was referreed. Pushing for the lead with momentum and he gives I think his only over carry free of the match.

Hope me gee is ok but it's always a worry to see him go off. He's rarely had a clean run of things when playing for Donegal.

Anyhow two weeks to get some freshness back and see what happens.
It was a long aul trek to cork and great to see so many supporters down. Hopefully we'll have a big crowd in two weeks and they'll pick a neutral venue that's not miles away!

Ulsterchamps_32 (Donegal) - Posts: 730 - 01/06/2024 22:34:53    2548791