Donegal GAA thread

RTE are showing Meath v Kerry live, that will be some borefest, Tyrone v Clare would be a better game to show early on Sunday.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2860 - 30/05/2024 15:01:24    2548421

Anyone at the Carndonagh game at the weekend did conor odonnell featured heard on Saturday was a chance he could play in the club game

He be a great addition to the squad moving into the latter part of the season another scoring threat even if it wad coming off the bench for 20 minutes

Donegal-lad27 (Donegal) - Posts: 9 - 30/05/2024 16:25:44    2548441

Replying To Donegal-lad27:  "Anyone at the Carndonagh game at the weekend did conor odonnell featured heard on Saturday was a chance he could play in the club game

He be a great addition to the squad moving into the latter part of the season another scoring threat even if it wad coming off the bench for 20 minutes"
He didn't feature no. Given the game was quite low scoring his presence would have been welcomed!

peiledoir20 (Donegal) - Posts: 862 - 30/05/2024 17:23:29    2548453

Replying To TheRock2121:  "Mc Gonagle at 6 and with the introduction of Moore it has helped our defence. Curran has been very good in defence this year also but maybe lacking in attack as of yet. That could come. I also think Mc Colgan will start when he's fully fit, probably next year. Mc Cole has been excellent. Mogan, at times, it seems has been asked to do more defensive duties, occasionally playing plus one. At other times he's given that license to move forward.

Our defensive shape has been excellent. Id still question some of our one on one defending. Armagh exploited this with quick transition from their own kickouts and left us one on one where Moore and Curran did struggle a bit.. Saying that how many teams are comfortable defending ones on ones with quality forwards facing them. To solve this issue we could drop off the opposition kickout. Something to consider I guess.

Overall our defence has been very good, we aren't conceding many goals or chances.

How far will we go this year Audiman?"
Hi TheRock2121: Good points regarding defence. Pedal to the floor and see where it takes us this year, we have serious momentum at the minute that only a few other teams have.

AudiMan (Donegal) - Posts: 656 - 30/05/2024 19:31:36    2548469

Cork named their starting 15 last night same team that started the game against Clare 2 weeks ago. 8 of the team started the league game against us in ballybofey earlier this year. For comparison this was our starting 15 that day

Gavin Mulreany
Mark Curran
Brendan McCole
Kevin McGettigan
Ryan McHugh
Caolan McGonagle
Ciaran Moore
Ciaran Thompson
Domhnall Mac Giolla Bhride
Peadar Mogan
Odhran Doherty
Shane O'Donnell
Daire Ó Baoill
Patrick McBrearty
Jamie Brennan

Cork weren't able to live with us that day and is some big names missing from that 15 that will start tomorrow. I understand travel etc will play a factor but let's be honest Jim's setup is as close to a professional setup as you going to get the team will travel down today and be ready to go at 2:30pm tomorrow afternoon. I do think it be closer that the league game but still travelling down very confident we will win and get the result that should guarantee top spot in the group

Donegal-lad27 (Donegal) - Posts: 9 - 31/05/2024 08:44:54    2548512

Listening on the radio here, and I hate bring critical because I'm damn glad to be able to tune into live coverage. But the commentary is far too excitable. Just breathe. At times when an attack is developing, they'd be far better just toning it down a bit and describing the action a bit more carefully.

Anyway, sounds like we've been a wee bit sloppy thus far but when we get things right we're cutting through them.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9264 - 01/06/2024 14:48:11    2548688

Need to wake up quickly here

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9264 - 01/06/2024 15:30:08    2548693

Didn't see that result coming. Fair play to the rebels!

SimonstownBack (Meath) - Posts: 157 - 01/06/2024 16:14:40    2548698

Replying To SimonstownBack:  "Didn't see that result coming. Fair play to the rebels!"
No ice cream cones from Jimmy today I'd say!!

onthefortyfive (Sligo) - Posts: 32 - 01/06/2024 16:16:49    2548699

Makes little difference. Donegal will most likely comfortably beat Clare so top two spot for certain, good chance of heading the group still.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2859 - 01/06/2024 16:20:22    2548700

Made life very hard for ourselves conceding 3 goals, very difficult to get that back without scoring one ourselves.

Disappointing surely but we are still there. And if I'm being honest better getting beat in a group game and learn the hard lessons rather than being beat in a knock out game.

If Tyrone beat both Cork and Clare (not beyond the realms of possibility) and we beat Clare well we'll top the group.

Safe journey to all those heading home.

Keep the faith.

peiledoir20 (Donegal) - Posts: 862 - 01/06/2024 16:40:16    2548706

Replying To SimonstownBack:  "Didn't see that result coming. Fair play to the rebels!"
Cork have been creating goal chances this year, just not taking them. I think Tomás O Shea mentioned that the day they'll start converting goal chances is the day they'll beat top teams. Cork could easily have had another 2 goals today, now need to push on and beat Tyrone. Hopefully, Powter will be ok

Ryanteam (Cork) - Posts: 262 - 01/06/2024 16:56:51    2548710

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "Makes little difference. Donegal will most likely comfortably beat Clare so top two spot for certain, good chance of heading the group still."
Is it head to head 1st then score difference so if that's the case we can't top the group ? Just asking as I am not sure

letterkennyGuy (Donegal) - Posts: 161 - 01/06/2024 17:05:55    2548712

Horrible loosing to a score line like that but goals win matches I guess!
Hopefully it stands to us but uphill now to reach a semi final imo.
If we top group we might...

letterkennyGuy (Donegal) - Posts: 161 - 01/06/2024 17:07:38    2548713

Replying To St.Mologga:  "Safe travels to all from Donegal next weekend. If ye looking for a bit of grub or a pot of tea the Silver Key is quite close to the ground & in I my opinion is a good house.
Please don't go too hard on us, it could be a long afternoon for us Rebels if Jimmy's lads go full pelt."
Maybe Jimmy was listening to you!

Ryanteam (Cork) - Posts: 262 - 01/06/2024 17:20:25    2548717

Replying To letterkennyGuy:  "Is it head to head 1st then score difference so if that's the case we can't top the group ? Just asking as I am not sure"
Not actually certain myself now. Head was addled with the Leinster scoring permutations in hurling so am averse to researching that!

Kerry lost to Mayo last year and they still reached final.. Groups are predictable still in terms of the 12, but there is uncertainty about who will meet who in quarters with chances of leading contenders meeting earlier than hoped or expected.

Cork are decent team. Will take another decent team to put them out.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2859 - 01/06/2024 17:28:24    2548721

Apart from the mayo aberration of 2013, when donegal as defending champions were probably far from their best, has a McGuinness team conceded 3 goals in a championship game?

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1796 - 01/06/2024 17:34:18    2548722

Replying To letterkennyGuy:  "Is it head to head 1st then score difference so if that's the case we can't top the group ? Just asking as I am not sure"
If two teams are level on points it's head to head. Any more than two it comes down to score difference which we why we would need Tyrone to win both their games.

peiledoir20 (Donegal) - Posts: 862 - 01/06/2024 17:40:30    2548723

I believe if 3 teams are on 4 points, placing is decided on score difference. If 2 teams are on 4 points, head to head is in play and is over score difference. If donegal, Tyrone and cork end up on 4 points, score difference will decide placing! We had this in Munster hurling!

Ryanteam (Cork) - Posts: 262 - 01/06/2024 17:41:39    2548724

Replying To Ryanteam:  "I believe if 3 teams are on 4 points, placing is decided on score difference. If 2 teams are on 4 points, head to head is in play and is over score difference. If donegal, Tyrone and cork end up on 4 points, score difference will decide placing! We had this in Munster hurling!"
Good man thank you!

letterkennyGuy (Donegal) - Posts: 161 - 01/06/2024 17:53:05    2548728