Donegal GAA thread

Replying To Lockjaw:  "All true and valid points.

But I think it was highly unlikely that Roarty was being earmarked as a senior squad member for the year ahead.
Himself, KJ Molloy, Martin, Carr and Caulfield were in the McKenna Cup squad I believe to give them a taster of senior football. They'll all be dropping down to the u20 panel before long and will be concentrating on Sigerson in the coming weeks."
Will the poor lad that's stuck in this mess miss any Sigersons games. Those games have already started. Some people don't seem to understand that this player was ineligible to play all this year for Donegal seniors. He needed to be 18 at the turn of the year which he wasn't. He's been made a guinea pig by the Co Board and Mgt.

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1870 - 10/01/2024 12:34:24    2519395

Replying To eoinog:  "Will the poor lad that's stuck in this mess miss any Sigersons games. Those games have already started. Some people don't seem to understand that this player was ineligible to play all this year for Donegal seniors. He needed to be 18 at the turn of the year which he wasn't. He's been made a guinea pig by the Co Board and Mgt."
He's still in secondary school so Sigerson of no worry to him yet. Doing the Leaving from what I understand and you'd hope this sorry episode doesn't distract him from his studies.

peiledoir20 (Donegal) - Posts: 966 - 10/01/2024 13:18:46    2519403

Replying To S1234:  "And I'll never forget following year cillian O Connor bagged 3 goals against ye lot never heard Donegal going so quiet or leave Croker as quick ... We're doing just grand ha. Only pointing out the obvious that rules are rules in gaa and if any other county you lot would be saying the same thing just own up and say ye made a mistake and accept the ban end of."
yea, I'll never forget that year when Mayo went on to win a spectacular all ireland. Typical Mayo celebrating mediocrity.

Samforhillsnothill16 (Donegal) - Posts: 3 - 10/01/2024 13:19:04    2519404

Replying To sourmilk93:  "Exactly, Some of the better club players in Donegal not on the panel must be scratching their heads that a lad that hasnt even played senior club football got a run out. Screams on McGuiness ego here"
Why? His ego, what are you on about.

It was a mistake made. That's it. Clearly Jim wanted to give him a taste of inter county action. So what.

As I've said on this thread already, plenty posters outside Donegal including your post show that the issue at hand isn't really bothering many, but the fact that it's Jim McGuinness, let's vilify him. We see through this craic lads.

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1379 - 10/01/2024 13:49:20    2519415

A lot of childish chat on here. Try and keep to the football lads.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2538 - 10/01/2024 13:58:06    2519418

Replying To peiledoir20:  "He's still in secondary school so Sigerson of no worry to him yet. Doing the Leaving from what I understand and you'd hope this sorry episode doesn't distract him from his studies."
The GAA is clipping Jim's wings before he gets going. He is a man to push and test boundaries and he does not care if that means upsetting the studying of this lad to do so. Donegal will need every advantage they can get and he knows this. He will build a siege mentality up now around this ban.

I was glad to see him leave Donegal the last time. These types of incidents are the reason why.

muckla (UK) - Posts: 368 - 10/01/2024 14:08:46    2519419

Replying To muckla:  "The GAA is clipping Jim's wings before he gets going. He is a man to push and test boundaries and he does not care if that means upsetting the studying of this lad to do so. Donegal will need every advantage they can get and he knows this. He will build a siege mentality up now around this ban.

I was glad to see him leave Donegal the last time. These types of incidents are the reason why."
Christ... the paranoia is real!

Al_Maguire (Donegal) - Posts: 257 - 10/01/2024 14:33:07    2519423

Replying To Donegal_abroad:  "Why? His ego, what are you on about.

It was a mistake made. That's it. Clearly Jim wanted to give him a taste of inter county action. So what.

As I've said on this thread already, plenty posters outside Donegal including your post show that the issue at hand isn't really bothering many, but the fact that it's Jim McGuinness, let's vilify him. We see through this craic lads."
It not because its Jim if any other manager broke the rules they deserved to be punished.

Yeah lets give the lad a run out the lad who hasn't even played for his club yet ffs.

Its just madness and deserves to be punished for it.

sourmilk93 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1181 - 10/01/2024 14:33:31    2519424

Replying To Donegal_abroad:  "Why? His ego, what are you on about.

As I've said on this thread already, plenty posters outside Donegal including your post show that the issue at hand isn't really bothering many, but the fact that it's Jim McGuinness, let's vilify him. We see through this craic lads."
Exactly. If there is one thing this incident has proven is just how much Jim McGuinness seems to boil peoples' ****.

Like, it remains to be seen if Jim can acheive as much as he did first time around. Personally, I think it will be difficult because I think he had some generational players during first tenure. The likes of Lacey, Murphy, McGee, McGlynn, McFadden etc are among the best ever to put on a Donegal shirt.

But the very least he'll do is have total buy-in, the players will be fit and they will leave nothing on the pitch. If success follows well and good. If not, the vast majority of fair-minded Donegal supporters will be happy anyway, in the knowledge that full effort and commitment was given.

You can be sure that there will be loads of pundits and social media experts just itching to put the boot in and mock if things don't turn out as successful this time around. But for me, Jim's legacy as a Donegal GAA great is set in stone regardless.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9458 - 10/01/2024 15:03:54    2519432

Over the top reaction by GAA HQ. 8 weeks sideline ban is appropriate for having a go at an official, not for some minor administrative technicality like this. Ridiculous

points50swiththeargyllsonthewrongfeet (Tyrone) - Posts: 269 - 10/01/2024 15:04:15    2519433

Replying To muckla:  "The GAA is clipping Jim's wings before he gets going. He is a man to push and test boundaries and he does not care if that means upsetting the studying of this lad to do so. Donegal will need every advantage they can get and he knows this. He will build a siege mentality up now around this ban.

I was glad to see him leave Donegal the last time. These types of incidents are the reason why."
Calm down.

The Leaving Cert is 6 months away. He's not thinking of getting into Harvard as far as I know.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9458 - 10/01/2024 15:05:15    2519434

Replying To rorysboys:  "A lot of childish chat on here. Try and keep to the football lads."
Rorysboy complaining about childish chat, the world has gone mad lol.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2947 - 10/01/2024 15:09:07    2519435

And what county are you from Muckla?How is the boys studying going to be affected?

gunman (Donegal) - Posts: 1107 - 10/01/2024 15:11:36    2519436

The point I mad earlier, I wouldn't it past Jim that this was deliberate to build that siege mentality and get fellas backs up, the craic about building the fence round the Convoy pitch as well.
What people forget is how clever Jim is, he's smarter than your average bear as the old fox's add used to say.
One thing is evident already, he has put the fear in the opposition and we haven't even started the league yet.
The buzz is back here for county football, going to be some game with Derry in April, two master tacticians ging head to head.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2947 - 10/01/2024 15:15:12    2519437

Your talking a load of muck!!!
Its not the Manager that should have got the suspension but the Secretary that wrote the Team Sheet and signed it. The Secretary should know the Rules as they and the Chairperson are the two main Officers.

Scenicparish (Donegal) - Posts: 402 - 10/01/2024 15:26:50    2519439

Replying To sourmilk93:  "Exactly, Some of the better club players in Donegal not on the panel must be scratching their heads that a lad that hasnt even played senior club football got a run out. Screams on McGuiness ego here"
You know nothing about the footballers in Donegal. I dont know what your problem with Jim? Its not that he is stopping Roscommon from winning anything anyway!!!!

Scenicparish (Donegal) - Posts: 402 - 10/01/2024 15:31:53    2519440

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "Rorysboy complaining about childish chat, the world has gone mad lol."
Must be your allowed to say whatever you want. Double standards lad. This is a football forum which I have been told numerous times . It's about time we spoke about football not having to listen to the same spoofers all the time.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2538 - 10/01/2024 15:57:47    2519442

Replying To rorysboys:  "Must be your allowed to say whatever you want. Double standards lad. This is a football forum which I have been told numerous times . It's about time we spoke about football not having to listen to the same spoofers all the time."
If you read the posts they are all football related, nobody is discussing geopolitics on this thread.
What we have on here this last few days is few lads from other counties who are obviously afraid of Jim McGuiness being back in charge of the Donegal team, and any opportunity to try and put the boot in will be taken out of fear and jealousy.
Not long now till we get the league going against Cork in Ballybofey, important that we win that first league game at home imo.
I wonder will Armagh play the U-20 team again tonight against Tyrone?

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2947 - 10/01/2024 16:11:25    2519445

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "If you read the posts they are all football related, nobody is discussing geopolitics on this thread.
What we have on here this last few days is few lads from other counties who are obviously afraid of Jim McGuiness being back in charge of the Donegal team, and any opportunity to try and put the boot in will be taken out of fear and jealousy.
Not long now till we get the league going against Cork in Ballybofey, important that we win that first league game at home imo.
I wonder will Armagh play the U-20 team again tonight against Tyrone?"
Armagh have the full team out tonight.

SouthOfTheGap (Donegal) - Posts: 680 - 10/01/2024 16:59:56    2519451

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "If you read the posts they are all football related, nobody is discussing geopolitics on this thread.
I wonder will Armagh play the U-20 team again tonight against Tyrone?"
No it's not football talk. I respect every county and I tell you one thing, we have no right to be laughing at mayo especially or any other team. Stop this silly crack about counties being afraid of Donegal because of Jim. Mc Guinness is a brilliant manager but so to is Dessie Farrell, Micky Harte. Jack o Conner too. Respect everyone . And hopefully we'll earn the respect ourselves..

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2538 - 10/01/2024 17:32:06    2519457