Donegal GAA thread

Replying To S1234:  " Rules are rules and there for player welfare. Donegal only have themselves to blame if it affects their placings in league etc if the ban is held. The ban should not be over turned

If it was any other county the same rule would apply and the ban would stay. To be fair a simple rule like that counties should be well aware of rules like that."
I think you should be more worried in Mayo about why you bottled every All Ireland final you were in since 1951 than worrying about the goings on in a pre season tournament in Ulster in all fairness.
I'll never forget Murphy bursting the Mayo net with that goal in 2012, never heard a set of mouthy fans go quiet so quick.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2947 - 09/01/2024 13:07:56    2519232

Rules were broken - simple as. no one wants controversy and no one is out to get Jim or Donegal. Its one of those unfortunate incidents, Donegal broke a clearly stated rule. it happens. County Board should have noticed it but the buck stops with Jim.

Do i feel 8 weeks is to much? Properly yes, 4 weeks and loss of points enough. Might get reduced on appeal. But at least its the McKenna cup and not the league.

What's the story with the table now - If Tyrone win by more than 2 they go though? I thought Armagh were playing an u20 team in mckenna cup - i see there line up for Tyrone game and its quite strong.

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2092 - 09/01/2024 13:33:20    2519235

Replying To S1234:  " Rules are rules and there for player welfare. Donegal only have themselves to blame if it affects their placings in league etc if the ban is held. The ban should not be over turned

If it was any other county the same rule would apply and the ban would stay. To be fair a simple rule like that counties should be well aware of rules like that."
The gaa are very good at forgetting they are a voluntary organisation. If a young lad is good enough to play and both he and is parents are happy for him to play. Then let the lad play football

Thejampot (Leitrim) - Posts: 305 - 09/01/2024 13:43:41    2519237

Replying To veterngaa:  "Buck stops at the manager.

Why are people even debating this? Rules were broken end of, move on"
Punishment should fit the crime, people are debating the severity of the punishment.

greenfan (Donegal) - Posts: 551 - 09/01/2024 13:46:19    2519238

The media brought the rules to light after all ireland club final and the GAA failed to act, why the clamour to enforce this Mickey mouse rule??

totalrecall (Leitrim) - Posts: 983 - 09/01/2024 14:35:32    2519245

Replying To veterngaa:  "Buck stops at the manager.

Why are people even debating this? Rules were broken end of, move on"
I don't see many comments challenging whether a rule was broken or not, it seems clear one was. The severity of the punishment is what most are debating. You can choose just to ignore the topic if it doesn't interest you. In the grand scheme of things it's not a big deal, the punishment will possibly be reduced if appealed and will soon be off the agenda when the National league gets up and running.

BeardedBorderGael (Donegal) - Posts: 44 - 09/01/2024 14:36:08    2519246

Replying To greenfan:  "Punishment should fit the crime, people are debating the severity of the punishment."
Broke the rules, ban shouldn't be over ruled.

INTOTHEWEST1 (Galway) - Posts: 9 - 09/01/2024 14:41:34    2519247

Replying To monaghanmad:  "Thats only a minor matter, what was the point of playing him in the game if there was not a vision of him being used in other games against full strength teams? Fact is that an underage, underdeveloped lad played a game against a senior team. Why was this done?

If monaghan done that down here there would be uproar with regards to player welfare, We have a great lad coming through who easily could have played senior at 17 but thank god he didn't play last year and played a year at club and helped his club go senior and is now playing college football and is primed to play county senior."
The clue is in your username, you must be Mad.

You talk about obeying rules around player welfare, were Monaghan not one of the counties caught training during Covid? It was very risky when half your players were in a vulnerable age category.

Roarty is 18 years old, he's old enough. He's big enough and hes strong enough. And as for criticising us for playing young fellas, you should try it yourselves some time, instead of flogging the same ould fellas over and over again. Not much player welfare there.

SouthOfTheGap (Donegal) - Posts: 680 - 09/01/2024 14:42:59    2519248

Reading between the lines on some of the social media platforms the pearl clutching about young player welfare is amusing. Yes we need to look after our young players, but it's not as if Roarty is being lined up as an automatic starter for the year ahead. In every county in Ireland good young players are flogged this way and that so posters from other counties shlould look in their own back yards too.

To me, the criticism from certain quarters is based more on a dislike of Jim McGuinness than any great concern about a young hitherto unheard of Donegal defender.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9458 - 09/01/2024 14:48:10    2519252

Some nonsense talked on this one.

The fact of the matter is that Jim played an ineligible player and that is a serious offence in the GAA, and rightly so. What in Gods name was the rush to play a young lad who hasn't even played for his club yet is beyond me.
A mistake was made and the price now has to be paid.

We can blame the rule, blame the punishment, blame the Ulster council or blame the weather.. we all know the where the buck stops on this one!

PeterQ92 (Donegal) - Posts: 109 - 09/01/2024 14:51:59    2519254

Replying To The_Fridge:  "Rules were broken - simple as. no one wants controversy and no one is out to get Jim or Donegal. Its one of those unfortunate incidents, Donegal broke a clearly stated rule. it happens. County Board should have noticed it but the buck stops with Jim.

Do i feel 8 weeks is to much? Properly yes, 4 weeks and loss of points enough. Might get reduced on appeal. But at least its the McKenna cup and not the league.

What's the story with the table now - If Tyrone win by more than 2 they go though? I thought Armagh were playing an u20 team in mckenna cup - i see there line up for Tyrone game and its quite strong."
Donegal would top the table on head to head if Tyrone win. If Armagh win by more than 2 they'd finish top. Although if their attitude towards the competition thus far is anything to go by, I'd very much doubt McGeeney is too fussed on progressing.

WeGoAgain (Donegal) - Posts: 51 - 09/01/2024 14:54:08    2519255

The change of the minor grade from U17 to U18 this year has led to a change in the rules regarding lads eligibility to play Senior. Unlike the last number of years, I believe 17 year olds can now play Senior club football, subject to having 60 hours between games. Its not as clear cut as some of the puritans here would have you believe.

SouthOfTheGap (Donegal) - Posts: 680 - 09/01/2024 15:01:36    2519262

Replying To Al_Maguire:  "Debating the severity of punishment. Not the fact rules are broken"
He should have got longer.

sourmilk93 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1181 - 09/01/2024 15:08:46    2519265

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Reading between the lines on some of the social media platforms the pearl clutching about young player welfare is amusing. Yes we need to look after our young players, but it's not as if Roarty is being lined up as an automatic starter for the year ahead. In every county in Ireland good young players are flogged this way and that so posters from other counties shlould look in their own back yards too.

To me, the criticism from certain quarters is based more on a dislike of Jim McGuinness than any great concern about a young hitherto unheard of Donegal defender."
You're right, and the same people overreacting about Jim Mc Guinness are the same people waiting on Derry to break a tiny rule so they can have a go at Micky Harte. As I said earlier bigger rules were broke during Covid. It's a non story.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2132 - 09/01/2024 15:24:19    2519271

I wonder if this was another manager other than Jim McGuinness in charge of Donegal, would there be the same outcry to uphold the punishment dished out? Some posters from other counties only too glad and could care less about the issue.

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1379 - 09/01/2024 15:28:34    2519273

Replying To SouthOfTheGap:  "The change of the minor grade from U17 to U18 this year has led to a change in the rules regarding lads eligibility to play Senior. Unlike the last number of years, I believe 17 year olds can now play Senior club football, subject to having 60 hours between games. Its not as clear cut as some of the puritans here would have you believe."
Rules didn't change for inter county. Since 2016 players who turned 18 in a calendar year couldn't play Senior county

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2792 - 09/01/2024 15:32:08    2519276

Replying To INTOTHEWEST1:  "Broke the rules, ban shouldn't be over ruled."
You obviously know nothing about appeals and the season for them. Under the GAA when an individual, team or County get a sanction they have a right to Appeal. Maybe the Rules are different in Galway......

Scenicparish (Donegal) - Posts: 402 - 09/01/2024 15:45:09    2519277

Replying To PeterQ92:  "Some nonsense talked on this one.

The fact of the matter is that Jim played an ineligible player and that is a serious offence in the GAA, and rightly so. What in Gods name was the rush to play a young lad who hasn't even played for his club yet is beyond me.
A mistake was made and the price now has to be paid.

We can blame the rule, blame the punishment, blame the Ulster council or blame the weather.. we all know the where the buck stops on this one!"
Excellent post. Full of common sense and an acceptance to admit that rules were broken. Not trying to hide behind it was only a MC Kenna Cup game, or against Armagh U.20 (who didn't play any 17 year old) or that he is a big lump of a lad and can take care of himself nor that he should be able to play because mammy and daddy said he could play. Such rubbish that's written on this topic. MC Guinness missing from training sessions will hurt Donegal hard. They will need to put up a strong case to get the ban at least halved. No one wants any teams preparation to get disrupted over a stupid, careless but costly mistake.

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1870 - 09/01/2024 15:46:07    2519278

Replying To sourmilk93:  "He should have got longer."
There is a similarity between sour milk and sour grapes. Jim has a great affect on some of you??

Scenicparish (Donegal) - Posts: 402 - 09/01/2024 15:48:28    2519279

It's great to see the interest from Monaghan in the welfare of Donegal footballers. Perhaps they should concern themselves with the young footballers of Currin. Will they have a team in a few years? Will they all be welcome in Scotstown? Will Jim have to take Donegal to Darver for training to Circumvent an Ulster GAA suspension or does that only apply to a club in Monaghan?

themaddog (Wicklow) - Posts: 133 - 09/01/2024 16:38:52    2519291