Great to see you lads beat Dublin. Brilliant match. We are a year or two away from being at that level yet I think. I hope I'm wrong. But I think you're going to be too strong and powerful for us around the middle. We are a very small and light team. Mogan will be tied up I'm sure. Galway look like the winners this year. I just hope whoever wins we beat Kerry in the final. TheRock2121 (Donegal) - Posts: 1208 - 06/07/2024 00:03:04 2557139 Link 0 |
Was anyone at the D1 league final last night? Did Tuam put it up to Corofin? GDL (Galway) - Posts: 781 - 06/07/2024 11:50:45 2557172 Link 0 |
Ah lads, its reported John O'Mahony has died. A great servant to Galway GAA and will be forever remembered as the manager of the great All-Ireland winning team of 1998-2001. May he rest in peace. JahTribe (Galway) - Posts: 155 - 07/07/2024 12:44:08 2557376 Link 1 |
Congrats to Galway ladies who were so brave in front of a home crowd at Parnell Park last night. Not too many 'bandwagon jumpers' or others present to see it live. Very proud to be represented by this team. Thanks to all involved. Salthillsham (Galway) - Posts: 43 - 07/07/2024 18:19:40 2557469 Link 2 |
Johno was a gentleman - an honorary Galway man. Galway must now go out, and do it in his honour. Really (Galway) - Posts: 626 - 07/07/2024 18:24:38 2557474 Link 0 |
Is that Donal O'Sullivan the Limerick County Keeper playing in goal for Salthill Knocknacarra. smallfrank (Galway) - Posts: 477 - 07/07/2024 22:08:00 2557551 Link 0 |
It is him yes. I'm pretty sure Rob is going to have surgery on the knee once Galway are done so that will surely kill their chances of winning the championship. They have a seriously strong squad but their style of football is horrid. I think it was last year that they lost a league final 0-06 to 0-04 to Barna or something like that? Serious underachievers when they have had Finnerty, Sweeney, Maher, Culhane, O'Flaherty etc together a good while now. Adding in Thompson this year as well.
galway19 (Galway) - Posts: 841 - 07/07/2024 23:15:14 2557570 Link 0 |
Congrats Galway on beating the All Ireland Football Champions 2 weeks in a row. Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 4116 - 08/07/2024 00:33:10 2557583 Link 1 |
Sad to learn of John O'Mahony's passing. John drove dreams to reality. A gentleman, a gifted leader and a legend to so many of us in Galway and in Mayo and Leitrim too. We'll never forget you, John. Ar dheis Dé go raibh a anam. togoutlads (Galway) - Posts: 1031 - 08/07/2024 07:54:41 2557601 Link 2 |
Very sad to hear about John O'Mahoney. Honorary Galway man, a legend and a gentleman. What he did for Galway, Mayo and Leitrim was unbelievable. Mayonman (Galway) - Posts: 1916 - 08/07/2024 08:58:26 2557611 Link 1 |
Anyone have any injury news for sunday? Galway456 (Galway) - Posts: 131 - 08/07/2024 18:54:03 2557809 Link 0 |
I heard from one man Sean Kelly is out and another man that he will be fine haha I don't think anyone has a real clue until the teams are named before throw in. ahsure. (Galway) - Posts: 1648 - 08/07/2024 20:58:07 2557847 Link 0 |
Big week main concerns is the injuries and specifically Shane Walsh & Finnerty who despite being heavily strapped for past while plays but is obv carrying an injury.. I dont think Kelly will be right and he has not been all year IMO and we cant risk using a sub after 20mins in a game which could go to the wire against a very athletic donegal team. Our own Kickouts are an issue and this was highlighted in 1st half against dubs but to be fair we were much better in 2nd half & this is not purely down to gleeson we started to win more breaks etc. Tierney has not played well and seems to struggle in Croke Park but i believe there is a huge game in him & hoping its sunday. Injury dependant I would go with same 15 as dubs except Darcy in for Kelly. nothing to fear after our performance against the dubs & confidence should be high Eire89 (Galway) - Posts: 320 - 09/07/2024 09:43:28 2557946 Link 0 |
Smoke blower! So many Donegal lads excel at this craic. 'Galway are the best.We are happy just to be playing GAA up in Donegal...in our bare feet!' Cop on the lot of ye!
Salthillsham (Galway) - Posts: 43 - 09/07/2024 10:57:21 2557968 Link 2 |
I would leave darcy as impact sub even if Kelly unfit. I would have concerns Darcy getting exposed if on the wing as he was against Westmeath and Monaghan and that is probably Donegal biggest area of strength. I'd start Hernon or Heaney if Kelly out. Watching back Dublin game I thought Fitz struggled a lot more then in the flesh, he gets turned and left for dust very easily on a couple of occasions. I'd leave him on mcbrearty who wouldn't be paciest. Tierney played well v armagh in 2022 but agree we need more from him Sunday. I'm hoping comer will be flying Sunday 15 days break should have given him more time to freshen up jm25 (Galway) - Posts: 1417 - 09/07/2024 11:42:33 2557987 Link 0 |
Going by your post, complacency should be a fear. I expect Donegal to be a pacier kettle of fish than Dublin at the very least, and they've been putting up decent scores in matches also, which is always an alarm call. I'd be delighted with any kind of victory TBH.
Triffic (Galway) - Posts: 166 - 09/07/2024 12:29:46 2558000 Link 1 |
70 mins in the legs v the dubs would have done the world of good, if he rattles in a early goal croker will be hopping
Galway456 (Galway) - Posts: 131 - 09/07/2024 12:40:27 2558002 Link 1 |
this is not a game to start lads with injuries.. gbay (Galway) - Posts: 264 - 09/07/2024 13:01:17 2558007 Link 3 |
Donegal will drive and drive at us relentlessly for 70 minutes, we need legs on the bench and I think we have that now with O'Flaherty, Heaney, Molloy, Darcy which will be crucial here. How is Sweeney doing? Another lad with a great engine. ahsure. (Galway) - Posts: 1648 - 09/07/2024 13:17:55 2558012 Link 1 |
What is Sweeney issue ?
jm25 (Galway) - Posts: 1417 - 09/07/2024 13:27:14 2558014 Link 1 |