Galway Football thread

Replying To JahTribe:  "I was thinking the same myself that John Daly cant get into the team and O Flaherty was really good when he came on in the league and we have Hernon back and Sweeney is also in the mix but cant get on. Its a strong Galway team that is capable of challenging over the next few years. Get Cooke and McLoughlin back next year and its a very strong panel. Use the league next year to get further experience into likes of O Currain and O Conghaile, Egan."
lets focus on the lads who are playing this year. not sure why were always talking about next year on this forum

cavan.galway (Galway) - Posts: 199 - 03/07/2024 09:12:24    2556662

Replying To Hill16!:  "Where did you rewatch the match! I was looking yesterday but only place i can find it is via gaa go and it still costs 12 euro on that to rewatch. Very bad form"
I've a GAAGO subscription so watched it on that.

centrefield99 (Galway) - Posts: 122 - 03/07/2024 09:34:31    2556664

Replying To JahTribe:  "I was thinking the same myself that John Daly cant get into the team and O Flaherty was really good when he came on in the league and we have Hernon back and Sweeney is also in the mix but cant get on. Its a strong Galway team that is capable of challenging over the next few years. Get Cooke and McLoughlin back next year and its a very strong panel. Use the league next year to get further experience into likes of O Currain and O Conghaile, Egan."
Yes our panel is getting strong. Not sure if Cooke will return . It would have been brilliant to have him this year. I wouldnt give up on McLoughlin but he remains unproven. O Currain, O Conghaile and Egan should develop into good squad players and posssible starters but none of these will become replacements for Walsh, Comer,Conroy. I'd also be looking at the next wave Sam O'Neill, Matthew Thompson, Shay McGlinchey, Ross Coen,Ciaran Mulhern + others, we should be investing in development plans for these lads to expedite the process of bridging the transition from under age to senior.

anotheralias (Galway) - Posts: 884 - 03/07/2024 11:15:00    2556686

Replying To cavan.galway:  "lets focus on the lads who are playing this year. not sure why were always talking about next year on this forum"
Perhaps because it's tended to be a somewhat relevant topic for the last 22 seasons.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3655 - 03/07/2024 12:23:37    2556709

True enough, McGlinchey looks like a prospect.

Whats the craic with ticketmaster only tickets available behind the goal or the hill, no hogan or cusack tickets, surely not sold out already.

JahTribe (Galway) - Posts: 140 - 03/07/2024 12:47:21    2556712

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "Perhaps because it's tended to be a somewhat relevant topic for the last 22 seasons."
are you still recovering from galway winning last saturday
i know it was a difficult one for you to take

cavan.galway (Galway) - Posts: 199 - 03/07/2024 14:14:53    2556747

Replying To anotheralias:  "Yes our panel is getting strong. Not sure if Cooke will return . It would have been brilliant to have him this year. I wouldnt give up on McLoughlin but he remains unproven. O Currain, O Conghaile and Egan should develop into good squad players and posssible starters but none of these will become replacements for Walsh, Comer,Conroy. I'd also be looking at the next wave Sam O'Neill, Matthew Thompson, Shay McGlinchey, Ross Coen,Ciaran Mulhern + others, we should be investing in development plans for these lads to expedite the process of bridging the transition from under age to senior."
Disagree, by all accounts Ó Conghaile is being talked about as a very able replacement for some of the starters. He just needs another good winter in the gym

The_DOC (Galway) - Posts: 714 - 03/07/2024 14:20:25    2556751

My advice for ye is hold back on tickets..the same has happened with the hurling semis,the better tickets went on sale this week..it seems to happen for all games these days..

CTGAA10 (Limerick) - Posts: 2287 - 03/07/2024 14:48:08    2556756

Replying To JahTribe:  "True enough, McGlinchey looks like a prospect.

Whats the craic with ticketmaster only tickets available behind the goal or the hill, no hogan or cusack tickets, surely not sold out already."
Hogan and Cusack tickets are being distributed to the clubs first. They will then go on general sale.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2098 - 03/07/2024 15:02:52    2556759

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "Perhaps because it's tended to be a somewhat relevant topic for the last 22 seasons."
It's not relevant at the moment though, which was his point. We have an All-Ireland semi-final in this year's championship coming up.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2098 - 03/07/2024 15:04:03    2556760

Replying To WanPintWin:  "Hogan and Cusack tickets are being distributed to the clubs first. They will then go on general sale."
Thanks, I'm not living down home so will have to wait.

JahTribe (Galway) - Posts: 140 - 03/07/2024 15:44:54    2556764

Replying To The_DOC:  "Disagree, by all accounts Ó Conghaile is being talked about as a very able replacement for some of the starters. He just needs another good winter in the gym"
What portion do you disagree with? . I didnt say that Liam O Conghaile wouldnt be a starter or that he wouldnt be a good replacement for some. I said he would not be a replacement for 3 particularly special players that we are set to lose over the next few years.

anotheralias (Galway) - Posts: 884 - 03/07/2024 16:06:54    2556769

Replying To cavan.galway:  "are you still recovering from galway winning last saturday
i know it was a difficult one for you to take"
Not at all, delighted with it like everyone else. Still recovering from surprise alright maybe, but I'll get over it to say the least.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3655 - 03/07/2024 16:16:47    2556773

Replying To Belclare7:  "Where's Fallenstar?"
Any sign?

Belclare7 (Galway) - Posts: 52 - 03/07/2024 20:03:33    2556804

Lads can we max out the hill and just take it over July 14th? Fill the ground with maroon...everyone buy a flag and wear the maroon and roar this team to the win.

Salthillsham (Galway) - Posts: 11 - 03/07/2024 23:14:36    2556836

Replying To Salthillsham:  "Lads can we max out the hill and just take it over July 14th? Fill the ground with maroon...everyone buy a flag and wear the maroon and roar this team to the win."
I think people are coming out of the woodwork to support this team now, especially after witnessing their heroics against the mighty Dubs in their own back yard. Neighbours that mightn't go too often had the tickets bought as soon as they went up on ticketmaster. Massive crowds of our younger supporters buying up the Hill tickets, from what I'm being reliably informed! It'll be some craic up on the Hill. Transport situation needs help for that late teens / 20s brigade, as buses and trains are selling out or already sold out. I'd imagine there'll be more slots added. There's air horns, bodhrans and vuvuzuelas being dusted down from the good side of Ballymoe to Inishbofin! The tribes are on the march - there's no surer thing. Jimmy's gonna get a match alright. Gaillimh go Deo!!

togoutlads (Galway) - Posts: 924 - 04/07/2024 10:36:03    2556874

Replying To anotheralias:  "What portion do you disagree with? . I didnt say that Liam O Conghaile wouldnt be a starter or that he wouldnt be a good replacement for some. I said he would not be a replacement for 3 particularly special players that we are set to lose over the next few years."
I hear what you are saying. LO'C will become (and is well on his way) an important player for us. He won't replace a Shane or Damo in that explosive forward sense.

I think CO'C has the potential to be a big scoring forward for us at the top level over next few years but is probably a bit too hit and miss at the moment. A full league season will do him the world of good.

Mayonman (Galway) - Posts: 1864 - 04/07/2024 14:01:00    2556906

Replying To Salthillsham:  "Lads can we max out the hill and just take it over July 14th? Fill the ground with maroon...everyone buy a flag and wear the maroon and roar this team to the win."
Great idea. Traditionally, we play well into the Davin end. So, a good vocal crowd on the hill will help keep the scoreboard ticking over.
Employers also very accommodating with shift/roster changes.

Really (Galway) - Posts: 604 - 04/07/2024 14:04:04    2556907

Replying To togoutlads:  "I think people are coming out of the woodwork to support this team now, especially after witnessing their heroics against the mighty Dubs in their own back yard. Neighbours that mightn't go too often had the tickets bought as soon as they went up on ticketmaster. Massive crowds of our younger supporters buying up the Hill tickets, from what I'm being reliably informed! It'll be some craic up on the Hill. Transport situation needs help for that late teens / 20s brigade, as buses and trains are selling out or already sold out. I'd imagine there'll be more slots added. There's air horns, bodhrans and vuvuzuelas being dusted down from the good side of Ballymoe to Inishbofin! The tribes are on the march - there's no surer thing. Jimmy's gonna get a match alright. Gaillimh go Deo!!"
Every county has a bandwagon. We should embrace it. Look at the last 12 in 2022 between Armagh and Donegal in Clones
12k was the official crowd. Mostly Armagh from what I recall and noted in the commentary at the time. McGuinness has swelled the Donegal support
Atmosphere will be top notch on Sunday week.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1970 - 04/07/2024 14:54:11    2556916

Replying To kiloughter:  "Every county has a bandwagon. We should embrace it. Look at the last 12 in 2022 between Armagh and Donegal in Clones
12k was the official crowd. Mostly Armagh from what I recall and noted in the commentary at the time. McGuinness has swelled the Donegal support
Atmosphere will be top notch on Sunday week."
I'm fully advocating that we embrace it. From diehards to the even the most fickle supporters, all need to get behind this Galway team on Sunday week. This is a golden opportunity for Galway footballers and one they won't be passing up. They're gunning for this. Complacency won't be a problem. These men have risen to all challenges this year, and the guts and character are strengthening with every game. From everything we're seeing it's becoming very apparent that this Galway team are mad hungry for a shot at the title and they'll leave no stone unturned to get it. Load the wagons!!

togoutlads (Galway) - Posts: 924 - 04/07/2024 20:16:41    2556963