I hear ya. It can be hard to remain hopeful and optimistic. I sincerely hope the efforts we're making continue to have a positive impact. But the virus isn't going away. All we're doing is lowering the infection rate. Might that be enough to see the virus weaken and fizzle out? I pray to God it does.
Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9873 - 23/04/2020 23:01:26 2276613 Link 2 |
Behind closed doors cabbage. Try keep up. That's a mighty head on you boy.
catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 23/04/2020 23:02:47 2276614 Link 1 |
Same here lockjaw, it's crazy how this has taken hold in such a short time and the measures that have to be applied now to get through it.
KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 24/04/2020 10:49:29 2276623 Link 4 |
Any historians among us with information on how the GAA got on after the 1918 pandemic. I was always drawn to reading about the 1916-1923 fascinating period ,but found little on the pandemic. Must have been so horrible that no one spoke about it. Ashrules (Dublin) - Posts: 575 - 24/04/2020 11:52:09 2276626 Link 2 |
That's a good question ashrules, I wouldn't mind hearing that myself.
KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 24/04/2020 12:22:17 2276627 Link 3 |
It says the Tipp-Wexford Final was postponed. https://www.irishexaminer.com/breakingnews/lifestyle/features/the-deadly-trail-of-the-spanish-flu-through-ireland-in-1918-868857.html Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2590 - 24/04/2020 12:45:13 2276632 Link 0 |
I doubt very much that the flu pandemic had any impact on peoples behaviour back then. Way different world back then. Life expectancy much lower, plenty of diseases about that there was no cure for. Death was very much a part of life and having a job and trying to keep poverty from the door and put food on the table was the real struggle. They had no choice but to get on with things.
PoolSturgeon (Galway) - Posts: 2051 - 24/04/2020 13:11:16 2276633 Link 1 |
The good news back then was that travel was a lot less than today even though the troops coming back from WW1 brought it with them. But most people didn't leave their Parish very often. Church on Sundays and maybe a few basics from a local shop. Nobody had money back then.
Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2590 - 24/04/2020 13:31:51 2276634 Link 0 |
If the virus was under control why would it need to be behind closed doors? Turnip!
The_Fonz (Westmeath) - Posts: 214 - 24/04/2020 13:39:57 2276636 Link 1 |
Because you run risk of a second surge of new cases.
KillingFields (Limerick) - Posts: 3788 - 24/04/2020 14:26:42 2276640 Link 2 |
And you don't think that could happen anyway with players in close contact on team buses, in dressing rooms and standing side by side on the field??
The_Fonz (Westmeath) - Posts: 214 - 24/04/2020 14:35:18 2276641 Link 1 |
You'd still be running it as a risk behind closed doors. Jack McCaffrey, Ryan Wylie work in medical. FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2894 - 24/04/2020 14:36:44 2276642 Link 3 |
Great points. Good luck getting lads to do all that. I know they all love to play but that would be pushing it. And unlike professional players whose JOB it is to play most of the GAA lads have jobs to go to or farms to run.
Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2590 - 24/04/2020 15:08:29 2276645 Link 0 |
Turnip..Cabbage..Onion..what's next..ye boy's are making an embarrassment of yourselves. It's not a time to be snipy in remarks and nasty with each other. Cop on.
moros (Roscommon) - Posts: 1154 - 24/04/2020 15:26:02 2276647 Link 2 |
All that food talk is making me hungry....wish the Chipper was open....sigh. Supermacs, Galway Jerseys, chips lightly salted with plenty of vinegar and ketchup...
Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2590 - 24/04/2020 16:16:28 2276650 Link 0 |
It's a precaution against unnecessary risk of reoccurrence . Under control is the minimum requirement ya cabáiste mór. A head on ya the size a Europe.
catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 24/04/2020 16:20:21 2276652 Link 1 |
So you're saying that playing an amateur sport at this time isn't an unnecessary risk??
The_Fonz (Westmeath) - Posts: 214 - 24/04/2020 16:35:54 2276656 Link 1 |
I said in September, try reading it helps.
catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 24/04/2020 16:55:57 2276659 Link 1 |
Ah Pat McDonagh, the saviour of all those who require a chicken breast sandwich or a mighty mac in times of lockdown.
The_Fonz (Westmeath) - Posts: 214 - 24/04/2020 17:31:02 2276662 Link 1 |
It's the thick country vegetable mix lad. Sure you're probably a class of a sort yourself.
catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 24/04/2020 17:54:12 2276664 Link 1 |