The Corona Virus And Possible Effects To GAA Matches

Replying To The_Fonz:  "Ah Pat McDonagh, the saviour of all those who require a chicken breast sandwich or a mighty mac in times of lockdown."
Ahhhh my bowels can't handle such goodies....I hope that wasn't too much information. Ha ha.

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2590 - 24/04/2020 18:10:21    2276665

Replying To catch22:  "I said in September, try reading it helps."
Even in September.... You think it'll be ok for GAA players to risk themselves but not ok for supporters?? Sorry for being so stupid I just can't see the logic.

The_Fonz (Westmeath) - Posts: 214 - 24/04/2020 18:11:09    2276666

Replying To moros:  "Turnip..Cabbage..Onion..what's next..ye boy's are making an embarrassment of yourselves. It's not a time to be snipy in remarks and nasty with each other. Cop on."
I thought we were naming the foods we don't like.

The_Fonz (Westmeath) - Posts: 214 - 24/04/2020 18:14:27    2276668

i thought all the playgrounds were closed, where are these posters parents?

lilypad (Kildare) - Posts: 1363 - 24/04/2020 18:38:42    2276669

They say onions make you cry. Did you ever get a belt of a turnip ? Now that would bring water to your eyes.

Right so , good luck.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 24/04/2020 19:24:00    2276673

Replying To Trump2020:  "Would you say next year is 50/50 in your experience? What odds would you give 1. This year? 2. Next year?"
This year is definitely out. Next year will probably also be impossible, unless a vaccine is developed, which is at best uncertain. We could always start injecting county players with detergent, as Trumpy has suggested.

befair (Down) - Posts: 238 - 24/04/2020 20:05:45    2276679

Replying To befair:  "This year is definitely out. Next year will probably also be impossible, unless a vaccine is developed, which is at best uncertain. We could always start injecting county players with detergent, as Trumpy has suggested."
We will have to restart many areas of society before 2021 or the whole country will be in serious trouble and long term jobs and lives will be at stake.
A vaccine of course will be needed before a return to life very close to what was in place before all this started but we cant just wait until a vaccine is found. We will need to get people working and active though with social distancing in place and limited numbers in venues/shops etc

KillingFields (Limerick) - Posts: 3788 - 24/04/2020 21:11:01    2276681

Replying To befair:  "This year is definitely out. Next year will probably also be impossible, unless a vaccine is developed, which is at best uncertain. We could always start injecting county players with detergent, as Trumpy has suggested."
It's a shame if you are right. Obviously health comes first but if the GAA was to shut down for two years it could have disastrous results for the future of the sports. A generation of children not playing could really upset things in counties where things were already slim. Again I know health comes first but it's a GAA related site.

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2590 - 24/04/2020 21:45:27    2276689

I forgot to ask you in my last post to you what your opinion was as to how SWEDEN is handling all this. "Herd Immunity" is the term I heard about their strategy. Do you think they will be ok doing this? Could Ireland/GAA get away with this strategy?

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2590 - 24/04/2020 22:17:29    2276692

predicting this year not to mind next year is ridiculous....the leading health experts don't even know what the country will be like in 2 months not to mind 6 months or 12 months. all county boards have been contacted by croke park to be ready if the go ahead is given for club matches later in the year . we could be looking at a totally different landscape by august or september.

munsterchamps (Limerick) - Posts: 1143 - 25/04/2020 08:57:54    2276709

Replying To munsterchamps:  "predicting this year not to mind next year is ridiculous....the leading health experts don't even know what the country will be like in 2 months not to mind 6 months or 12 months. all county boards have been contacted by croke park to be ready if the go ahead is given for club matches later in the year . we could be looking at a totally different landscape by august or september."
What kind of training are teams doing at the moment do you think?

I see a lot of our lads out running the roads, that won't be good for them in the long term, as the road is hard on the joints.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 25/04/2020 10:21:29    2276715

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "What kind of training are teams doing at the moment do you think?

I see a lot of our lads out running the roads, that won't be good for them in the long term, as the road is hard on the joints."
Don't think anyone has any interest in this. Doesn't matter one bit. No GAA for 18 months is a good estimate but far from clear. Alot of players over the 30 age bracket may not play the game again.

winatallcost (Meath) - Posts: 736 - 25/04/2020 12:12:52    2276722

Replying To winatallcost:  "Don't think anyone has any interest in this. Doesn't matter one bit. No GAA for 18 months is a good estimate but far from clear. Alot of players over the 30 age bracket may not play the game again."
But you still want to keep in reasonable shape. Remember they are athletes whether paid or not. Good point about some of the over 30s not bothering to come back. Anyone on the fringes of retirement will probably call it a day.

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2590 - 25/04/2020 12:43:39    2276724

Replying To winatallcost:  "Don't think anyone has any interest in this. Doesn't matter one bit. No GAA for 18 months is a good estimate but far from clear. Alot of players over the 30 age bracket may not play the game again."
18 months is bit over estimation IMO. Sport will be back before then. Vaccines will be developed in some form. While social distancing will happen in some form for foreseeable future you cant atop everything to live in fear
And players over 30 will most certainly play the sport again once it's back. Time off and not training could reboot many to play on longer with this time off aiding them not hindering them

KillingFields (Limerick) - Posts: 3788 - 25/04/2020 12:46:19    2276725

Dr Tony Holohan of Templeouge Synge Street fame (and CMO of The Dept of Health).

"Sport and games shouldn't be happening now. That's currently the absolute position in relation to that,".

"Any situation where we have infection at the level where it is, it is not only a risk in terms of people attending those events to watch them, it's also a risk for the players getting in close contact so that's why that's the position at the moment.

"Sport is one of a broad range of cultural measures we have to look at as part of anything that might change in terms of restriction of current measures after the 5th of May, a range of measures across society which will include sport.

"There is a difference obviously between attending a club match and being one of a dozen people standing at a sideline, and attending a large event with 50,000 people.

"There is clearly a difference between it"

John Trecy CEO of Sport Ireland:

"All of us would love to be back in action as soon as we possibly can," Treacy said at the launch of the Government's new In This Together campaign, promoting mental and physical well-being during the lockdown.

"But we're absolutely going to take our guidance from government in terms of when the restrictions are going to be lifted.

"Sport is planning for that day. Some sports are non-contact, done outdoors, with a lot of physical distancing, and they will obviously be a priority."

"I think it will be a lot trickier for some of the contact sports, and we'll just have to monitor that very carefully.

"But it's up to Government to give the green light. We provide the information and the decisions will be made."

Sean Kelly former GAA preseident:

"I wouldn't ever throw in the towel on it. We are only in the middle of April so why would you say you won't play a championship this year. You'll find, looking at other countries, there'll be quick changes, there'll be a return to normality, maybe, quicker than people think,"

"We are better off to keep an open mind, follow the guidance of the HSE, and if we get an opportunity, go for it. Let us wait and see, but don't throw in the towel.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4518 - 25/04/2020 12:55:06    2276726

Replying To KillingFields:  "18 months is bit over estimation IMO. Sport will be back before then. Vaccines will be developed in some form. While social distancing will happen in some form for foreseeable future you cant atop everything to live in fear
And players over 30 will most certainly play the sport again once it's back. Time off and not training could reboot many to play on longer with this time off aiding them not hindering them"
What is your basis on 18 months being excessive and a vaccine being developed? Don't mean to be negative but reality is there has been major efforts to find a vaccine for the common cold for decades while the flu vaccine has a 50% success rate. That will be nowhere near good enough. Some sports like golf and tennis may be managed but will be very gradual. Plus GAA shouldn't operate without spectators. Remember its voluntary and people have far greater concerns at the moment and for the considerable future. Of course people are maintaining basic fitness but not really worth a discussion with no need to prove themselves competitively. A play who is 30 now may be a few years older and have more responsibilities. Will be very difficult for some of these guys to go again.

winatallcost (Meath) - Posts: 736 - 25/04/2020 13:29:55    2276727

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "What kind of training are teams doing at the moment do you think?

I see a lot of our lads out running the roads, that won't be good for them in the long term, as the road is hard on the joints."
No evidence that running is bad for joints KingdomBoy1. In fact some research shows it can actually have a protective benefit against arthritis.

Road running probably not the best for GAA players though. Slow steady running doesn't reflect the demands of the game.

I said in an earlier post that I fear a rise in hamstring and tendon injuries when we return as a result of a lack of exposure to sprinting, jumping, kicking. It would be wise for club players to get some exposure to these things on lockdown if they can do so safely. It will stand to them, whether it's this autumn or as some have speculated (though I really wish people would stop speculating as nearly all speculation to date has been wrong) next summer.

roundball (Tipperary) - Posts: 2514 - 25/04/2020 13:37:19    2276728

Replying To KillingFields:  "18 months is bit over estimation IMO. Sport will be back before then. Vaccines will be developed in some form. While social distancing will happen in some form for foreseeable future you cant atop everything to live in fear
And players over 30 will most certainly play the sport again once it's back. Time off and not training could reboot many to play on longer with this time off aiding them not hindering them"
If something positive comes out of this, it might be a different approach to club football. Football is supposed to be a hobby, but even club footballers now face spartan lifestyles and serious training demands. This makes it v difficult for men with children, or with time-consuming jobs, or with a significant commute to commit. Bear in mind that at this they are in the early stages of their careers, and have to make a life for themselves.
Of course once one team starts on Christmas Day, and working out in the gym, and training 3 times each week, every team has to do it. We are taking all the enjoyment out of our sport
I contrast our men's football team with our ladies' team. For the ladies, it's all about friendship and supporting each other, and it's wonderful to see how our local team has bonded together; occasionally they win something, but that is secondary.

befair (Down) - Posts: 238 - 25/04/2020 14:07:18    2276729

Replying To roundball:  "No evidence that running is bad for joints KingdomBoy1. In fact some research shows it can actually have a protective benefit against arthritis.

Road running probably not the best for GAA players though. Slow steady running doesn't reflect the demands of the game.

I said in an earlier post that I fear a rise in hamstring and tendon injuries when we return as a result of a lack of exposure to sprinting, jumping, kicking. It would be wise for club players to get some exposure to these things on lockdown if they can do so safely. It will stand to them, whether it's this autumn or as some have speculated (though I really wish people would stop speculating as nearly all speculation to date has been wrong) next summer."
Ya round all it was the road running I was on about, and ya you're probably right about the various injuries that could happen lads when we do resume.

It must be hard for players to stick to what used to be their normal routines as regards to eating the right things, I remember when I retired I started having the extra biscuit with the mug of tae and sometimes the extra big slice of cake when it was there.

I'm lucky as far as I'm a farmer so my work can be quit physical and I took up the road running myself about 7 years ago that's how I know it can be hard on the joints, but thankfully my wife bought me a treadmill for Christmas last year and that's much easier but a lot more boring.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 25/04/2020 14:45:24    2276731

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Ya round all it was the road running I was on about, and ya you're probably right about the various injuries that could happen lads when we do resume.

It must be hard for players to stick to what used to be their normal routines as regards to eating the right things, I remember when I retired I started having the extra biscuit with the mug of tae and sometimes the extra big slice of cake when it was there.

I'm lucky as far as I'm a farmer so my work can be quit physical and I took up the road running myself about 7 years ago that's how I know it can be hard on the joints, but thankfully my wife bought me a treadmill for Christmas last year and that's much easier but a lot more boring."
Jaysus , the farm, the treadmill, the cake and the biscuits. We'll for ya and the rest of the country without an arse in our trousers.
Poor farmers is right.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 25/04/2020 15:19:19    2276733