The Corona Virus And Possible Effects To GAA Matches

Replying To GeniusGerry:  "Both sides felt they left that one after them. Nothing between the two teams that day really and both had long injury lists going in to the game. I'd expect Donegal to have a big say the next time there is a championship.

I really liked the look of Galway in the league too I think Joyce was a great appointment and they have some very good players.

Tbh I think Kerry, Donegal, Tyrone, Mayo and Galway can all beat each other on a given day. Dublin stand alone above them until they are beaten in the Championship."
Yeah I think in a funny way it's part of the problem in trying to down the Dubs. I'm speculating wildly here, but let's just say Donegal were drawn to play Kerry in the AI semi final in 2021. We put in a massive performance to beat ye in an epic encounter (like last summer). Then we go on to play Dublin in the final. The effort to get back to the levels that were needed in the previous match often catches teams out.

The perfect example of this was 2014 after we beat Dublin. We were very flat in the final against your lads. Now I know Fitzmaurice had ye well set up that day and ye were clinical with your goal chances. But I had an ominous feeling from very early on in that match that we simply weren't going to find our usual intensity that we relied on so much under Jim McGuinness.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9870 - 20/04/2020 09:16:46    2276300

Will be no crowd's even if the Championship is played, which looks unlikely, after Simon Harris said no mass gathering for rest of the year.
Behind closed doors wouldn't be straightforward, would need plenty of testing

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2894 - 20/04/2020 09:17:32    2276301

Unfortunately i dont think intercounty has any chance of being played at all and clubs if we are lucky may be played in september/october.

I think it is time for the gaa to start making the hard deceision i dont think it is fair on county players stringing them a long when they no there is little to no hope of the competitions been played.

Tarismelting22 (Roscommon) - Posts: 793 - 20/04/2020 09:51:06    2276305

Clubs football wouldn't be easy either. A player could have an underlying condition like asthma and and would be exempt
Unfortunately I don't think any football for the year.

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2894 - 20/04/2020 12:02:03    2276315

It would appear no-one wants to be the bad guy and say what most likely needs to be said - that there will be no sport for the remainder of 2020. Simply put, the risk is too great. No matter how careful we are the possibility of a second wave of infections overwhelming the HSE trumps any argument over a sporting one.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9870 - 20/04/2020 12:35:32    2276321

people have no sport at moment but if the gaa considered behind closed door and show all the matches to the gaa supporters and also give some level of support to the season ticket holder at the moment their is nothing coming out about the season ticket

lor12 (Wicklow) - Posts: 254 - 20/04/2020 12:42:59    2276323

Replying To lor12:  "people have no sport at moment but if the gaa considered behind closed door and show all the matches to the gaa supporters and also give some level of support to the season ticket holder at the moment their is nothing coming out about the season ticket"
If it's not safe for people to attend matches then it's not safe to players to play matches either. The whole point of what we're doing now in terms of social distancing is to reduce the rate of the virus' exponential growth.

In a typical county championship match how many individuals are involved between players, management, medical, match officials etc. If even one player has the virus the risk of it spreading wildly are massive. Not to mention each individual involved going home to their families as well.

It's different with pro soccer when there is so much eye watering money involved.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9870 - 20/04/2020 13:44:53    2276327

Replying To Lockjaw:  "It would appear no-one wants to be the bad guy and say what most likely needs to be said - that there will be no sport for the remainder of 2020. Simply put, the risk is too great. No matter how careful we are the possibility of a second wave of infections overwhelming the HSE trumps any argument over a sporting one."
I dont think that is true if you look at some of the countries who had their initial cases that bit earlier than us.
Sport will be back before end of this year at first with no crowds and will be strict conditions around who can attend like medics, media and few others with social distancing in place

KillingFields (Limerick) - Posts: 3786 - 20/04/2020 16:09:55    2276332

[url=] https://www.google.ie/amp/s/www.irishtimes.com/sport/soccer/fc-midtjylland-plan-drive-in-experience-for-fans-when-league-resumes-1.4232840%3fmode=amp

Not sure if I can post links here, so delete above if required.

Just an interesting perspective of how club matches might be attended later on in the year - this Danish soccer team are going show their games on a big screen in a car park and charge fans to view while staying in their cars. It's a source of revenue for the team and allows fans to congregate.

Maybe we could see something similar for our clubs games later on in the year? (Yes, I realise it's unlikely!)

Morty (Westmeath) - Posts: 209 - 20/04/2020 16:25:55    2276334

Replying To KillingFields:  "I dont think that is true if you look at some of the countries who had their initial cases that bit earlier than us.
Sport will be back before end of this year at first with no crowds and will be strict conditions around who can attend like medics, media and few others with social distancing in place"
I very much hope you're right.

I think the good recent spell of weather is a complete blessing. Can you imagine if we were on our way towards winter. Dark evenings and bad weather.....

If we can get some form of sport going in Autumn and Winter it will be absolutely fantastic and badly needed.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9870 - 20/04/2020 20:52:42    2276351

They are predicting UK to be the worst hit by the of this. Northern Ireland are following the the same guidelines as UK which is going to set us back. In Cavan there is a high number of cases being a border County.

Forget about Germany doing well. Its not gonna to improve here for a good while

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2894 - 20/04/2020 21:53:11    2276353

Replying To FoolsGold:  "Will be no crowd's even if the Championship is played, which looks unlikely, after Simon Harris said no mass gathering for rest of the year.
Behind closed doors wouldn't be straightforward, would need plenty of testing"
I fully appreciate the point your making here but people who have no interest in GAA would rightly be asking the question "why should a club or county player be prioritised and tested after playing a game of GAA over say a 70 year old who is showing say mild symptoms and has to wait/beg to be tested himself"
I have played a lifetime with my own club and am craving for it to return to club but as my wife pointed out there's much bigger things at stake here than a quick fix of 3/4 months off GAA action

mick2007 (Monaghan) - Posts: 578 - 20/04/2020 22:45:27    2276356

Replying To mick2007:  "I fully appreciate the point your making here but people who have no interest in GAA would rightly be asking the question "why should a club or county player be prioritised and tested after playing a game of GAA over say a 70 year old who is showing say mild symptoms and has to wait/beg to be tested himself"
I have played a lifetime with my own club and am craving for it to return to club but as my wife pointed out there's much bigger things at stake here than a quick fix of 3/4 months off GAA action"
Yes I agree. Sport would obviously be least of the worries, but it would be a nice distraction at
present. To watch a game on TV for a persons mental health. But that's not going to be happening soon.

The likes of the Bundesliga talking of resuming.Professional league, players can isolate and go to a game. The GAA players here some are working and some work in medical like Jack McCaffrey, A different scenario.

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2894 - 21/04/2020 00:30:15    2276362

Replying To FoolsGold:  "They are predicting UK to be the worst hit by the of this. Northern Ireland are following the the same guidelines as UK which is going to set us back. In Cavan there is a high number of cases being a border County.

Forget about Germany doing well. Its not gonna to improve here for a good while"
Would it make sense to close that border for the time being?

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2589 - 21/04/2020 14:18:19    2276390

Replying To Trump2020:  "Would it make sense to close that border for the time being?"
Yes but I think it should have been closed or somehow restricted when the Northern Government were going their own way. They can still close it now but maybe a month too late.

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2894 - 21/04/2020 14:26:12    2276392