Change Of Management?

Common sense prevails.
Now put the succession plan in place. And can those who voted against him on board please consider their positions. This has brought the County Through the mud after the success of the minors and ladies. These people must answer for their actions.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 12/10/2021 21:04:24    2385431

Replying To seadog54:  "He has said with backing of clubs, "myself and the management team will be back at work on Wednesday morning for the good of Meath football." No way he will go."
The chairman of the County Board John Kavanagh should now ask the 8 members who voted no confidence in Andy and created this embarrassing mess to step aside. Their actions were beyond gombeen like, timing was terrible, no Plan B, I could go on. Less than 20 clubs voted against Andy as those 8 people could cast their votes again. To lose by such a big margin shows these 8 people on the executive are totally out of touch with reality on the ground in clubs. How can we expect Andy to work with those 8 people knowing they voted no confidence in him.

Meathball (Meath) - Posts: 140 - 13/10/2021 09:17:46    2385438

Replying To Meathball:  "The chairman of the County Board John Kavanagh should now ask the 8 members who voted no confidence in Andy and created this embarrassing mess to step aside. Their actions were beyond gombeen like, timing was terrible, no Plan B, I could go on. Less than 20 clubs voted against Andy as those 8 people could cast their votes again. To lose by such a big margin shows these 8 people on the executive are totally out of touch with reality on the ground in clubs. How can we expect Andy to work with those 8 people knowing they voted no confidence in him."
I think that's a bit OTT. They were asked to vote and it was a free vote.

If there are other reasons to deem them unsuitable to be on the county board then fair enough - but to do something like that would probably cause more division.

stillaroyal (Meath) - Posts: 224 - 13/10/2021 09:35:11    2385439

Replying To Meathball:  "The chairman of the County Board John Kavanagh should now ask the 8 members who voted no confidence in Andy and created this embarrassing mess to step aside. Their actions were beyond gombeen like, timing was terrible, no Plan B, I could go on. Less than 20 clubs voted against Andy as those 8 people could cast their votes again. To lose by such a big margin shows these 8 people on the executive are totally out of touch with reality on the ground in clubs. How can we expect Andy to work with those 8 people knowing they voted no confidence in him."
I do hope the chair asks them to consider their positions or in the very least a explanation as to why the embarrassed the county in this way, which should be made public. The timing , the manner of this was all wrong , clubs voted in a more than 2 to 1 way to totally ignore what now appears to have been a vendetta rather than any concerns or furthering of Meath football.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 13/10/2021 10:20:15    2385449

A sorry affair, the 8 individuals should have been asked for their reasoning in not recommending McEntee. I sincerely hope we learn from this and don't have such unprofessional behaviour again but I won't hold my breath on that one

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 13/10/2021 10:32:31    2385452

Why would John Kavanagh do that. It was a secret vote Maybe he was one of the 8. It's their right to vote as they did it's called democracy maybe you haven't heard of it. To come on here and say less than 20 clubs voted against him is another bit of nonsense the fact is it was a secret vote and 27 voted against him. Who they were is unknown maybe all 8 voted the other way on the night. When you look at the vote over one third of the clubs voted against him so he has a lot of work to do to get their trust again. Now that this is over and he's got the extra year maybe we can all look forward to a successful year ahead .

latouche25 (Meath) - Posts: 520 - 13/10/2021 10:33:18    2385453

Replying To royaldunne:  "I do hope the chair asks them to consider their positions or in the very least a explanation as to why the embarrassed the county in this way, which should be made public. The timing , the manner of this was all wrong , clubs voted in a more than 2 to 1 way to totally ignore what now appears to have been a vendetta rather than any concerns or furthering of Meath football."
Were you at the meeting

latouche25 (Meath) - Posts: 520 - 13/10/2021 10:36:09    2385455

Replying To latouche25:  "You sound very desperate. I asked why no players came out in support of him. You say the whole panel are behind him but show no evidence of this. I didn't say I have 2 sources that the panel are not behind him. What I did say was that 2 players said they would play for him again. Why don't you read my posts properly."
It was just released that of the 38 members of the panel, 24 responded and each and every one of them backed mcentee. He's here for another year so get over it and back him or just forget about it. My advice to you would be get over it and get behind him now, yee have enough wound licking done in kells this year, no need for any more.

southmeathgael (Meath) - Posts: 891 - 13/10/2021 10:37:38    2385456

Replying To royaldunne:  "I do hope the chair asks them to consider their positions or in the very least a explanation as to why the embarrassed the county in this way, which should be made public. The timing , the manner of this was all wrong , clubs voted in a more than 2 to 1 way to totally ignore what now appears to have been a vendetta rather than any concerns or furthering of Meath football."
Bang on.

dunboynelad (Meath) - Posts: 227 - 13/10/2021 10:40:08    2385457

Replying To royaldunne:  "Common sense prevails.
Now put the succession plan in place. And can those who voted against him on board please consider their positions. This has brought the County Through the mud after the success of the minors and ladies. These people must answer for their actions."
Consider their positions? Must answer for their actions? Stop the lights. Like we have loads of people waiting in the wings to step into their position if they go? I agree with Andy staying on because it was too late in the day to replace him. This should have all happened months ago. Andy will be gone at the end of 2022. He won't get another 3 year term, but telling members of the executive to answer for their actions - they are volunteers. They had a view point on it. You or me or others didn't agree, but many clubs did agree. I think everyone should draw a line in the sand.

VernonSmith (Meath) - Posts: 112 - 13/10/2021 10:48:19    2385459

Interesting addition to backroom team, John McCloskey, a very well respected coach, part of Armaghs coaching team when they won A/L. Spent time with rugby union in UK. Hopefully he can add something to our coaching set up. Dont know if he has been involved with GAA in recent times.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2150 - 13/10/2021 11:15:41    2385463

Never happy, do we really want a bunch of yes men/women on our CB? They voted as they saw fit and having an opinion is not a sacking offence. Only option is get behind team and hopefully things will improve in2022.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2150 - 13/10/2021 11:25:18    2385467

Replying To VernonSmith:  "Consider their positions? Must answer for their actions? Stop the lights. Like we have loads of people waiting in the wings to step into their position if they go? I agree with Andy staying on because it was too late in the day to replace him. This should have all happened months ago. Andy will be gone at the end of 2022. He won't get another 3 year term, but telling members of the executive to answer for their actions - they are volunteers. They had a view point on it. You or me or others didn't agree, but many clubs did agree. I think everyone should draw a line in the sand."
I agree. I am glad the vote went the way it did because I didn't agree with the 8 members who voted against him but at the end of the day if we are using a system where a group of 15 people are asked to vote one way or the other they should be absolutely be allowed to vote for what they feel is right . If we are going to start looking for volunteers heads if they don't vote the way we think they should we may as well scrap the system altogether and let the Chairman make the call himself. It is supposed to be a democratic system so the members have to be allowed to vote whatever way they wish without threat of being turfed out. Thankfully common sense prevailed and the Clubs backed Andy convincingly.

Blackspot09 (Meath) - Posts: 870 - 13/10/2021 11:44:50    2385472

Replying To southmeathgael:  "It was just released that of the 38 members of the panel, 24 responded and each and every one of them backed mcentee. He's here for another year so get over it and back him or just forget about it. My advice to you would be get over it and get behind him now, yee have enough wound licking done in kells this year, no need for any more."
Maybe Andy will draught in 7 or 8 of the Kells team for next year. They could start back training now as they have nothing else to be doing. After all they are the best and most consistent team in Meath football over the last 5 or 6 years. That might keep latouche happy!!!!!!!

Blackspot09 (Meath) - Posts: 870 - 13/10/2021 11:50:38    2385474

Replying To southmeathgael:  "It was just released that of the 38 members of the panel, 24 responded and each and every one of them backed mcentee. He's here for another year so get over it and back him or just forget about it. My advice to you would be get over it and get behind him now, yee have enough wound licking done in kells this year, no need for any more."
And this is why Meath football is so mired in the ****...

Someone from one part of Meath having a go at someone from another over small scores and having to get their lumos in ad naseum.

24 members out of 38 responded. The other 14 choose not to or said no by not responding. That's more than 1/3 of the panel.

Have you a source for this, I had a quick look and can't find anything. I'm not questioning the validity of your statement just asking where it was released.

27 out of 74 clubs voted to remove Andy. That's over 1/3 of clubs.

8 out of 15 of the executive voted to remove Andy after an investigation by a 3 man committee was held. That review took way too long and was left another nasty taste. It should've been done within a month to allow a quick decision be made.

I think we can all accept that this will be last year of Andy short of something miraculous happening in 2022. Lets all get behind him and the team and hopefully enjoy some days out over the next year and hopefully a further improvement in the state of meath football.

I hope for all our sakes the county board are already putting the wheels in motion about finding a successor to Andy and will have that person ready to roll. They've been absent at the wheel again over this and need to look at what they want for us to close the gap on those ahead of us. Their underage work is a credit and succession plans in place but the senior team will always be the flagship and needs joined up thinking down to underage. We need the structure to be corrected there, otherwise all of the work below is for nought of the senior manager wants things a different way.

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1954 - 13/10/2021 11:53:34    2385475

Replying To VernonSmith:  "Consider their positions? Must answer for their actions? Stop the lights. Like we have loads of people waiting in the wings to step into their position if they go? I agree with Andy staying on because it was too late in the day to replace him. This should have all happened months ago. Andy will be gone at the end of 2022. He won't get another 3 year term, but telling members of the executive to answer for their actions - they are volunteers. They had a view point on it. You or me or others didn't agree, but many clubs did agree. I think everyone should draw a line in the sand."
I agree that a line in the sand should be drawn. But I do find it very frustrating that from what I've seen reported only 1 of the 26 votes against Andy spoke on the floor and all they said was that they entered the review with an open mind. He didn't detail why the review changed his mind or what the alternative was. It's not good enough anymore to have the decision makers making such huge decisions that the GAA public in Meath broadly don't agree with and a) not putting their names to it and b)not having to explain it. If Meath played badly Andy McEntee is the face of it and he is questioned by fans and media. The same has to be true of the executive. And I'm not saying the county board are all bad. We have the new sponsors, the U13-20 GM and we have learned from the failures of the 2017&2018 under 17 teams and have kept the management involved for under 20's. But we have to ensure that transparency and openness is a requirement for county board decision making because it has become so crucial

LeitrimRoyal99 (Meath) - Posts: 1463 - 13/10/2021 11:58:22    2385478

Replying To Blackspot09:  "Maybe Andy will draught in 7 or 8 of the Kells team for next year. They could start back training now as they have nothing else to be doing. After all they are the best and most consistent team in Meath football over the last 5 or 6 years. That might keep latouche happy!!!!!!!"
And here's another example.... of why Meath football is so mired in the ****...

Someone from one part of Meath having a go at someone from another over small scores and having to get their lumps in ad naseum. It's a county team for a reason, club allegiances can and should be set aside.

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1954 - 13/10/2021 12:15:39    2385480

Replying To brian:  "And here's another example.... of why Meath football is so mired in the ****...

Someone from one part of Meath having a go at someone from another over small scores and having to get their lumps in ad naseum. It's a county team for a reason, club allegiances can and should be set aside."
I think you will find that I have said on here on multiple occasions that I could not care less if the entire Meath panel was made up of players from North Meath clubs or from any other certain clubs if it meant they were successful. Unfortunately the same cannot be said for certain people in a certain area of the county who are completely hung up on how many lads from that area are on the county panel or to be more precise are not on the county panel and this fuels their agenda towards the manager.

Blackspot09 (Meath) - Posts: 870 - 13/10/2021 12:27:03    2385483

That's strange, you were on here yesterday saying there would be a statement from the players last night. Yet there was nothing not a peap from any of them. Wouldn't that be the place for them to show their support not the day after the vote. Before you post think about what you are saying. As for your comment about Kells That's just childish.

latouche25 (Meath) - Posts: 520 - 13/10/2021 12:31:17    2385486

Replying To LeitrimRoyal99:  "I agree that a line in the sand should be drawn. But I do find it very frustrating that from what I've seen reported only 1 of the 26 votes against Andy spoke on the floor and all they said was that they entered the review with an open mind. He didn't detail why the review changed his mind or what the alternative was. It's not good enough anymore to have the decision makers making such huge decisions that the GAA public in Meath broadly don't agree with and a) not putting their names to it and b)not having to explain it. If Meath played badly Andy McEntee is the face of it and he is questioned by fans and media. The same has to be true of the executive. And I'm not saying the county board are all bad. We have the new sponsors, the U13-20 GM and we have learned from the failures of the 2017&2018 under 17 teams and have kept the management involved for under 20's. But we have to ensure that transparency and openness is a requirement for county board decision making because it has become so crucial"
No they didn't vote to remove him they voted not to ratify him for a third year. They acted on the terms of his appointment which was to review his position after 2 years. The chairman is responsible for getting the review complete in a timely fashion. It then went to the club's to decide. The club's did decide and Andy is staying. They did the job they were elected to do. Unfortunately some posters don't agree with them doing their job. To have people coming on here calling for them to be named or calling them cowards is disgusting. These people have the best interest of Meath football at heart and have given a lifetime of service to the GAA all for free. Can that be said by everyone on here

latouche25 (Meath) - Posts: 520 - 13/10/2021 12:46:45    2385489