Replying To 5allirelands: "Goin by the podcast post McKenna Cup Paddy Lynch, James Smith or Gearoid won't be ready ! See bookies have Westmeath favourites !" Jeez, that'll be tight going then if we're missing those. Need a forward to stand up and take the mantle Sunday then so
Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2488 - 24/01/2023 17:05:10
if podcast says they arent available probably means that all three will line out on the day
breffnibluewhite (Cavan) - Posts: 519 - 24/01/2023 20:37:40
Replying To breffnibluewhite: "if podcast says they arent available probably means that all three will line out on the day" I'm predicting the three lads might make the bench (at best) ! you need game time, especially this time of the year and the three boys have had none ?
5allirelands (Cavan) - Posts: 90 - 25/01/2023 11:56:25
Replying To 5allirelands: "I'm predicting the three lads might make the bench (at best) ! you need game time, especially this time of the year and the three boys have had none ?" I'm predicting the three lads might make the bench (at best) ! you need game time, especially this time of the year and the three boys have had none ? 5allirelands (Cavan) - Posts: 81 - 25/01/2023 11:56:25
It's no harm to get a look at someone else around the middle of the field in a competitive game anyway.
RHF (Cavan) - Posts: 892 - 25/01/2023 12:35:12
Replying To RHF: "I'm predicting the three lads might make the bench (at best) ! you need game time, especially this time of the year and the three boys have had none ? 5allirelands (Cavan) - Posts: 81 - 25/01/2023 11:56:25
It's no harm to get a look at someone else around the middle of the field in a competitive game anyway." Just confirmed by the Celt there, you won't see the three boys next Sunday ! Up to the new lads we saw in the McKenna Cup to step up !
5allirelands (Cavan) - Posts: 90 - 25/01/2023 12:50:49
I'd say Sundays game will be a close affair… there will be no easy games in Division 3 particularly with us travelling to both Offaly and Antrim… A win would be a great start
ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 4243 - 25/01/2023 18:19:55
Replying To ForeverBlue2: "I'd say Sundays game will be a close affair… there will be no easy games in Division 3 particularly with us travelling to both Offaly and Antrim… A win would be a great start" Galligan, Niall Carolan, P Faulkner, Evan Finnegan, Holla, D. McVeety, T Madden, Enda Maguire, K Clarke, G Smith, Oisin Brady, Oisin Kiernan, Cian Madden, Ryan O'Neill, Conor Madden my stab at the starting 15, I'm fairly confident 12 of those will start !
5allirelands (Cavan) - Posts: 90 - 26/01/2023 10:06:39
Yeah that team would be close enough. Not a huge amount of scoring threat if Mckiernan and Lynch aren't fit to play. Oisin Brady the main reliable scoring forward m
FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2949 - 26/01/2023 11:19:14
Seems to be a big enough Cavan following heading to Mullingar, which is good to see. We simply have to get out of division 3. The thoughts of playing Tailteann cup for 2 more years are unthinkable, a terribly uninspiring competition with little to no atmosphere. Lots of people talking up Division3 teams which I can't really understand, some very average teams there including Westmeath. For my money, Mickey is working with a very talented squad and there is a bit of pressure on him here to get the best out of them.
McKenna cup went well, thought the debutants were very good and performed better than some of the lads in there 2 or 3 years. On another day with a different referee, Ryan O'Neill would have won a few frees. I'm always a fan of a full forward that can win ball out in front and lay it off and O'Neill does it well. Tiernan Madden was excellent. Think its a big year for Cian Madden who hopefully will do a Niall Scully for us. Cavan seem to really struggle against a packed defence. Top teams these days always have runners ahead of the ball and 3 or 4 men along the endline who loop back around, creating space for men on the ball. We rarely ever have men occupying the endline or corners.
I fancy us to beat Westmeath. Hopefully we have a full bill of health. None of the injuries seem to be long term so maybe Mickey just said to a few to take the McKenna cup off and focus on getting right for the league. If we are at full strength we have a lot of quality 1. R. Galligan 2. J. McLaughlin 3. P. Faulkner 4. K. Clarke 5. C. Moynagh 6. Ciaran Brady 7. T. Madden 8. O. Kiernan 9. J. Smith 10. Cian Madden 11. D. McVeety 12. G. Smith 13. Conor Madden 14. P. Lynch 15. G. McKiernan
Subs. K. Brady M. Reilly D. Brady Conor Brady O. Brady R. O'Neill
Predictions: I fancy Cavan and Down, although I don't know how much quality Down have. Offaly will be tough to beat. Even though they are missing players they still have some good forwards and the traditional Offaly steel seems to be back. Any team that goes away to Dublin on a wet windy night in January and gets a result, has some guts. Good manager too in Kearns. Relegation is difficult to call, may be underestimating Fermanagh 1. Cavan 2. Down 3. Offaly 4. Westmeath 5. Tipp 6. Longford 7. Fermanagh 8. Antrim
97Cavans (Cavan) - Posts: 454 - 26/01/2023 15:52:35
Replying To 97Cavans: "Seems to be a big enough Cavan following heading to Mullingar, which is good to see. We simply have to get out of division 3. The thoughts of playing Tailteann cup for 2 more years are unthinkable, a terribly uninspiring competition with little to no atmosphere. Lots of people talking up Division3 teams which I can't really understand, some very average teams there including Westmeath. For my money, Mickey is working with a very talented squad and there is a bit of pressure on him here to get the best out of them.
McKenna cup went well, thought the debutants were very good and performed better than some of the lads in there 2 or 3 years. On another day with a different referee, Ryan O'Neill would have won a few frees. I'm always a fan of a full forward that can win ball out in front and lay it off and O'Neill does it well. Tiernan Madden was excellent. Think its a big year for Cian Madden who hopefully will do a Niall Scully for us. Cavan seem to really struggle against a packed defence. Top teams these days always have runners ahead of the ball and 3 or 4 men along the endline who loop back around, creating space for men on the ball. We rarely ever have men occupying the endline or corners.
I fancy us to beat Westmeath. Hopefully we have a full bill of health. None of the injuries seem to be long term so maybe Mickey just said to a few to take the McKenna cup off and focus on getting right for the league. If we are at full strength we have a lot of quality 1. R. Galligan 2. J. McLaughlin 3. P. Faulkner 4. K. Clarke 5. C. Moynagh 6. Ciaran Brady 7. T. Madden 8. O. Kiernan 9. J. Smith 10. Cian Madden 11. D. McVeety 12. G. Smith 13. Conor Madden 14. P. Lynch 15. G. McKiernan
Predictions: I fancy Cavan and Down, although I don't know how much quality Down have. Offaly will be tough to beat. Even though they are missing players they still have some good forwards and the traditional Offaly steel seems to be back. Any team that goes away to Dublin on a wet windy night in January and gets a result, has some guts. Good manager too in Kearns. Relegation is difficult to call, may be underestimating Fermanagh 1. Cavan 2. Down 3. Offaly 4. Westmeath 5. Tipp 6. Longford 7. Fermanagh 8. Antrim" Moynagh, seriously. Have you not watched him over the last few games. Offers nothing.
Cutler (Cavan) - Posts: 33 - 26/01/2023 16:16:38
Replying To 97Cavans: "Seems to be a big enough Cavan following heading to Mullingar, which is good to see. We simply have to get out of division 3. The thoughts of playing Tailteann cup for 2 more years are unthinkable, a terribly uninspiring competition with little to no atmosphere. Lots of people talking up Division3 teams which I can't really understand, some very average teams there including Westmeath. For my money, Mickey is working with a very talented squad and there is a bit of pressure on him here to get the best out of them.
Predictions: I fancy Cavan and Down, although I don't know how much quality Down have. Offaly will be tough to beat. Even though they are missing players they still have some good forwards and the traditional Offaly steel seems to be back. Any team that goes away to Dublin on a wet windy night in January and gets a result, has some guts. Good manager too in Kearns. Relegation is difficult to call, may be underestimating Fermanagh 1. Cavan 2. Down 3. Offaly 4. Westmeath 5. Tipp 6. Longford 7. Fermanagh 8. Antrim" Still can't get over how lost some Cavan fans are. Nothing that Cavan have done in the last two years warrants a title of more than an average team. You act like you are better than Div 3. You are there for a reason. Last July you felt you were better than Westmeath and acted like you were above the Tailteann Cup.
In the last two years Cavan have beat not one team in the top 20 teams in Ireland and have also lost to the likes of Westmeath, Tipp, Wicklow and Fermanagh.
Westmeath at the moment are an average team and are also a Div 3 because they deserved to be there. I believe this weekend will be a great game and will be tight! I hope all Cavan fans enjoy their trip down to Mullingar but please leave the delusional one's at home!!!
Temple56 (Westmeath) - Posts: 667 - 26/01/2023 16:23:07
Cavan have had poor results going back 3 or 4 years in the League. A very poor performance against Clare in 2020 before the Covid disruption. Some of the performances last year in Division 4 wouldn't cut it in Division 3. Lucky to get out of Ruislip with a win
There is good teams in Division 3 and they need to be consistent from the start. A lot of managers in Division 3 are in their first year.. Mickey Graham is in his 5th year.
FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2949 - 26/01/2023 17:23:44
Replying To FoolsGold: "Cavan have had poor results going back 3 or 4 years in the League. A very poor performance against Clare in 2020 before the Covid disruption. Some of the performances last year in Division 4 wouldn't cut it in Division 3. Lucky to get out of Ruislip with a win
There is good teams in Division 3 and they need to be consistent from the start. A lot of managers in Division 3 are in their first year.. Mickey Graham is in his 5th year." And if he doesn't get us out of this Division then it should definitely be his last…
ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 4243 - 26/01/2023 21:51:43
Predictions: I fancy Cavan and Down, although I don't know how much quality Down have. Offaly will be tough to beat. Even though they are missing players they still have some good forwards and the traditional Offaly steel seems to be back. Any team that goes away to Dublin on a wet windy night in January and gets a result, has some guts. Good manager too in Kearns. Relegation is difficult to call, may be underestimating Fermanagh 1. Cavan 2. Down 3. Offaly 4. Westmeath 5. Tipp 6. Longford 7. Fermanagh 8. Antrim" '97Cavans' what part of 'the three lads aren't match fit for Sunday' do you not get ? mark my words Paddy Lynch, Gearoid & James Smith will be lucky to be togged ?
5allirelands (Cavan) - Posts: 90 - 27/01/2023 10:37:19
Replying To Temple56: "Still can't get over how lost some Cavan fans are. Nothing that Cavan have done in the last two years warrants a title of more than an average team. You act like you are better than Div 3. You are there for a reason. Last July you felt you were better than Westmeath and acted like you were above the Tailteann Cup.
In the last two years Cavan have beat not one team in the top 20 teams in Ireland and have also lost to the likes of Westmeath, Tipp, Wicklow and Fermanagh.
Westmeath at the moment are an average team and are also a Div 3 because they deserved to be there. I believe this weekend will be a great game and will be tight! I hope all Cavan fans enjoy their trip down to Mullingar but please leave the delusional one's at home!!!" Ack that sort of mentality is pretty uninspiring to be honest and you hear it a lot up here too. Many of our lads have senior and underage ulster medals, played in division 1 in 2017 and 19 and we're relatively competitive, beat 2 division 1 teams on the way to winning ulster in 2020. The majority of them squads are still there with some talented youngsters coming through. I think we have more than enough talent to compete at a higher level. Westmeath also should not be in division 3 and I would expect you will be competitive in this year's Sam Maguire which is a far more exciting prospect for ye than winning a mickey mouse Tailteann cup
97Cavans (Cavan) - Posts: 454 - 27/01/2023 12:15:49
Dont agree about mickey mouse Tailteann Cup Lets face it two teams have a chance of winning Sam this year Kerry and Dublin one team has a chance of winning leinster and one team has a chance of winning munster three teams have a chance in connacht and ulster for a change is quite open this year with even Cavan having an outside chance 25 to 1. We have an outside chance of winning ulster no chance of winning sam like 30 other counties so why should we turn up our nose at tailteann cup. its the second most important championsip competition in the country. i wouid be delighted to see us winning it,
breffnibluewhite (Cavan) - Posts: 519 - 27/01/2023 16:28:17
Any word of a team yet? If we've any chance of getting something on Sunday Micky will have to have the courage to pick our best team and not be stating players or player even that hasn't been good enough to play for years now.
IamADragon (Cavan) - Posts: 310 - 27/01/2023 16:50:04
Replying To 97Cavans: "Ack that sort of mentality is pretty uninspiring to be honest and you hear it a lot up here too. Many of our lads have senior and underage ulster medals, played in division 1 in 2017 and 19 and we're relatively competitive, beat 2 division 1 teams on the way to winning ulster in 2020. The majority of them squads are still there with some talented youngsters coming through. I think we have more than enough talent to compete at a higher level. Westmeath also should not be in division 3 and I would expect you will be competitive in this year's Sam Maguire which is a far more exciting prospect for ye than winning a mickey mouse Tailteann cup" There is no such thing as a team not been in their proper Division…. Cavan were in Division 4 last season because they got relegated and are in Division 3 this season after promotion… it's simple logic and every teams position is of their own making… As for Westmeath been competitive in the race for Sam Maguire…? Don't make me laugh
ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 4243 - 27/01/2023 21:30:32
Replying To breffnibluewhite: "Dont agree about mickey mouse Tailteann Cup Lets face it two teams have a chance of winning Sam this year Kerry and Dublin one team has a chance of winning leinster and one team has a chance of winning munster three teams have a chance in connacht and ulster for a change is quite open this year with even Cavan having an outside chance 25 to 1. We have an outside chance of winning ulster no chance of winning sam like 30 other counties so why should we turn up our nose at tailteann cup. its the second most important championsip competition in the country. i wouid be delighted to see us winning it," Totally agree with all of that…..
ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 4243 - 28/01/2023 09:22:41
Replying To breffnibluewhite: "Dont agree about mickey mouse Tailteann Cup Lets face it two teams have a chance of winning Sam this year Kerry and Dublin one team has a chance of winning leinster and one team has a chance of winning munster three teams have a chance in connacht and ulster for a change is quite open this year with even Cavan having an outside chance 25 to 1. We have an outside chance of winning ulster no chance of winning sam like 30 other counties so why should we turn up our nose at tailteann cup. its the second most important championsip competition in the country. i wouid be delighted to see us winning it," We are 6/7th at best in Ulster. So that's well outside. If you put 10 euro on at 25/1 all it means is that you lose 10 euro.
Breffni1969 (Cavan) - Posts: 510 - 28/01/2023 10:15:58