Cavan v Tyrone

Still don't know how Tyrone have not found a reliable free taker for the past 6 or 7 years. Every decent side has at least 1 good free taker. Tyrone just seem to constantly change. They need to pick one player and stick with them to allow confidence to build. Morgan is no longer.a reliable taker and hasn't been for past 2 seasons

kevin03 (Tyrone) - Posts: 276 - 20/06/2016 17:48:07    1869822

Replying To Breffni39:  "Ah now Dell, no need to start this tit-for-tat nonsense."
Sorry buddy I just thought it was wrong and then booing when we where taking 45 near end .even look at the BBC championship Facebook page on there comments on the ref who actually had great game and every media outlet agreed despite square ball . I just think language used in front of children is shocking ,

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 20/06/2016 18:44:08    1869846

Replying To Dellboypolecat:  "Sorry buddy I just thought it was wrong and then booing when we where taking 45 near end .even look at the BBC championship Facebook page on there comments on the ref who actually had great game and every media outlet agreed despite square ball . I just think language used in front of children is shocking ,"
Every Cavan free and kickout was booed by a group of Tyrone fans behind the goal so people in glass houses and all that. As for the booing of 45 at end, this was mainly because a 45 was given with no Cavan touch on ball. Watched it back and no sign of a touch. As for referee he called that 45. Also gave one soft free for Tyrone i ln front of goals in first half, gave Tyrone a free for a blatant dive and didn't call for a free when Mossy Corr dragged to ground.

doratheexplorer (Cavan) - Posts: 1467 - 20/06/2016 20:45:36    1869900

Replying To doratheexplorer:  "Every Cavan free and kickout was booed by a group of Tyrone fans behind the goal so people in glass houses and all that. As for the booing of 45 at end, this was mainly because a 45 was given with no Cavan touch on ball. Watched it back and no sign of a touch. As for referee he called that 45. Also gave one soft free for Tyrone i ln front of goals in first half, gave Tyrone a free for a blatant dive and didn't call for a free when Mossy Corr dragged to ground."
Never heard booing from kick outs and once again Cavan blaming ref when everyone media outlet praised him .on the 45 tv replays showed a block and what is your excuse on abuse on BBC championship after game . Booing is wrong when free takers are lining up pathetic excuse you give for that.

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 20/06/2016 20:54:30    1869905

Replying To doratheexplorer:  "Every Cavan free and kickout was booed by a group of Tyrone fans behind the goal so people in glass houses and all that. As for the booing of 45 at end, this was mainly because a 45 was given with no Cavan touch on ball. Watched it back and no sign of a touch. As for referee he called that 45. Also gave one soft free for Tyrone i ln front of goals in first half, gave Tyrone a free for a blatant dive and didn't call for a free when Mossy Corr dragged to ground."
I am sick of negative people like Dora et al. - why don't you accept it was a good game, played in good spirits like the NFL final and stop dragging this conversation further into the gutter - I'm actually embarrassed for you and your ilk

IrishGael3 (USA) - Posts: 1092 - 20/06/2016 20:56:02    1869906

He made one or two shocking calls against Cavan (you didn't mention the blatant foul on Mackey. It was just confusing that he saw that and didn't chose to award the free - one of the most blatant I've ever seen not given). But that ball did touch a Cavan hand, cameras may not pick it up but was pretty clear to see from the stands.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5018 - 20/06/2016 21:10:45    1869921

Replying To IrishGael3:  "I am sick of negative people like Dora et al. - why don't you accept it was a good game, played in good spirits like the NFL final and stop dragging this conversation further into the gutter - I'm actually embarrassed for you and your ilk"
I never said it wasn't a good game. Putting words in my mouth. I questioned a couple of refereeing decisions. Relax.

doratheexplorer (Cavan) - Posts: 1467 - 20/06/2016 21:16:30    1869922

Dellboy, we get it, you think this was the best refereeing performance of the century. Great for you to think that. I originally thought he had a terrible game, but in fairness, when I watched the match back, I can say he got a lot of things right. I'm happy to hold my hands up here, things can look different when you're there in the rain.

Saying that he did make mistakes. Problem is that they were vital mistakes, couple of handy frees to Tyrone and a few against Cavan directly led to scores to Tyrone which turned out to make a difference. I feel he wasn't consistent a few times regarding carrying the ball into a tackle. Cavan were sometimes done for overcarrying, while a similar incident would see Tyrone get a free. But he did get a lot right, pity some of the few mistakes led to scores.

And there is no way you didn't hear those lads booing. They were directly behind the town goal singing all game (no problem there) but they booed and jeered every Cavan free and kick out. I was on the other side of the ground and I could hear them. Didn't make a difference to be honest, our issue was wides from play, but not nice to hear.

Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2407 - 20/06/2016 21:41:05    1869930

Oh and last goal was never a square ball. Givney was in the box earlier in the move, but he got his hand to it when he was outside, or at least on the line. I've read Gotmilks posts and agree on what he pointed out, but he wasn't in the box when he punched the ball

Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2407 - 20/06/2016 21:43:36    1869931

Replying To Loughduff Lad:  "Oh and last goal was never a square ball. Givney was in the box earlier in the move, but he got his hand to it when he was outside, or at least on the line. I've read Gotmilks posts and agree on what he pointed out, but he wasn't in the box when he punched the ball"
Square ball all day long

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 20/06/2016 21:54:34    1869936

Replying To Loughduff Lad:  "Dellboy, we get it, you think this was the best refereeing performance of the century. Great for you to think that. I originally thought he had a terrible game, but in fairness, when I watched the match back, I can say he got a lot of things right. I'm happy to hold my hands up here, things can look different when you're there in the rain.

Saying that he did make mistakes. Problem is that they were vital mistakes, couple of handy frees to Tyrone and a few against Cavan directly led to scores to Tyrone which turned out to make a difference. I feel he wasn't consistent a few times regarding carrying the ball into a tackle. Cavan were sometimes done for overcarrying, while a similar incident would see Tyrone get a free. But he did get a lot right, pity some of the few mistakes led to scores.

And there is no way you didn't hear those lads booing. They were directly behind the town goal singing all game (no problem there) but they booed and jeered every Cavan free and kick out. I was on the other side of the ground and I could hear them. Didn't make a difference to be honest, our issue was wides from play, but not nice to hear."
Anyhow I said what I had to say good luck in replay because yous will need it lol

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 20/06/2016 21:56:30    1869942

Replying To Dellboypolecat:  "Square ball all day long"
But he was outside the box when he punched it Dell.... How do you figure it's a square ball?

Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2407 - 20/06/2016 22:06:46    1869946

Replying To Loughduff Lad:  "Dellboy, we get it, you think this was the best refereeing performance of the century. Great for you to think that. I originally thought he had a terrible game, but in fairness, when I watched the match back, I can say he got a lot of things right. I'm happy to hold my hands up here, things can look different when you're there in the rain.

And there is no way you didn't hear those lads booing. They were directly behind the town goal singing all game (no problem there) but they booed and jeered every Cavan free and kick out. I was on the other side of the ground and I could hear them. Didn't make a difference to be honest, our issue was wides from play, but not nice to hear."
U are talking rubbish about the ref. Please take off the blue tainted glasses.
You are correct about a small minority of supporters behind the goal. I've been going to clones for a long time and there is always booing from the O'Duffy terrace.....get over it. It happens on Hill 16 and many other grounds around the county.

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 20/06/2016 22:10:13    1869948

Replying To The_Fridge:  "U are talking rubbish about the ref. Please take off the blue tainted glasses.
You are correct about a small minority of supporters behind the goal. I've been going to clones for a long time and there is always booing from the O'Duffy terrace.....get over it. It happens on Hill 16 and many other grounds around the county."
Blue tinted glasses? Hardly. I was just pointing out a few mistakes he made, nothing more. I'll call a game as I see it, and like I mentioned before, I am willing to change perspective after rewatching etc., I'm not narrow minded in watching a game, even with my own team.

I reiterate that I do think he had a good game, but imo there were a few mistakes he made, that happened to lead to scores. What you would expect in any match... Anyway, didn't matter in the end. If Tyrone only led by one or two points at the end, rather than three, ye may have won as we wouldn't have went for goal and we didn't look like getting a point. We got a replay and I'm happy there. We learned from the previous defeats this year and we're still in with a chance next day. Mentally, going in as big underdogs and not being beat will do wonders for the team.

Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2407 - 20/06/2016 22:41:51    1869958

Seriously Cavan posters just listen to yourselves - you would think you dominated the game and everyone the ref, the crowd, God almighty stopped you from winning. In reality you scored 3 lucky and dubious goals, Tyrone dominated large chunks of the game and have the classier footballers. They prevented you from scoring for long periods in both half's and they should have won it twice at the end. Be greatful you're still in it rather than picking on very small instances that had no bearing on the game. I was a real fan of Cavan before the game and really wanted them to do well to add another force in Ulster but seeing some of this petty stuff from some of your posters I am beginning to hope Tyrone repeat their last replay result with you.

IrishGael3 (USA) - Posts: 1092 - 20/06/2016 23:09:56    1869976

Replying To cavanman47:  "He made one or two shocking calls against Cavan (you didn't mention the blatant foul on Mackey. It was just confusing that he saw that and didn't chose to award the free - one of the most blatant I've ever seen not given). But that ball did touch a Cavan hand, cameras may not pick it up but was pretty clear to see from the stands."
agree, it was a good touch too as I think it prevented the winning point.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 20/06/2016 23:40:09    1869987

Replying To shaggylegend:  "
Replying To FrDougalMaguire:  "gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts:3090

Is there anything to be said for saying another mass ?

Square ball or no square ball, the goal was given. The result stands and we go to a replay to add to the GAA coffers. Poor aul minors had to play additional time but not the seniors.

Both sides had missed chances, both had good spells and both had luck.

Anyway, we can back bite, analysis and reanalyse all we like, it won't matter. What is done is done and we do it all again on the 3rd.

BTW, personally, I thought Tyrone were the better team but we didn't give up.

For next year, you should offer your services as an umpire, as I doubt either umpire had a chance to check if Givney was in the square as it all happened in a split second. They didn't see the one that was a foot across the line in the first half and fair dues to the ref, he followed up.

As brolly says, the umpires in the modern game are as useful as a chocolate tea pot"
umpires did call the goal it's obvious on the video that the umpire on the left clearly speaking into the microphone on his collar to inform the referee that a goal was scored. Gough then moves in an consults with the two umpires and awards the goal. Excellent refereeing with the help of his umpires."
so why did the umpire not raise the green flag ?

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 20/06/2016 23:46:47    1869989

Replying To s goldrick:  "
Replying To shaggylegend:  "[quote=FrDougalMaguire:  "gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts:3090

Square ball or no square ball, the goal was given. The result stands and we go to a replay to add to the GAA coffers. Poor aul minors had to play additional time but not the seniors.

Anyway, we can back bite, analysis and reanalyse all we like, it won't matter. What is done is done and we do it all again on the 3rd.

For next year, you should offer your services as an umpire, as I doubt either umpire had a chance to check if Givney was in the square as it all happened in a split second. They didn't see the one that was a foot across the line in the first half and fair dues to the ref, he followed up.

As brolly says, the umpires in the modern game are as useful as a chocolate tea pot"
umpires did call the goal it's obvious on the video that the umpire on the left clearly speaking into the microphone on his collar to inform the referee that a goal was scored. Gough then moves in an consults with the two umpires and awards the goal. Excellent refereeing with the help of his umpires."
so why did the umpire not raise the green flag ?"]Yes your right umpire radioed him though wondered why they never lifted flag

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 21/06/2016 01:49:24    1870001

Replying To s goldrick:  "
Replying To shaggylegend:  "[quote=FrDougalMaguire:  "gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts:3090

so why did the umpire not raise the green flag ?"]Probably waiting on the ref to call the square ball ;)

benched (Tyrone) - Posts: 534 - 21/06/2016 08:55:28    1870014

Replying To IrishGael3:  "Seriously Cavan posters just listen to yourselves - you would think you dominated the game and everyone the ref, the crowd, God almighty stopped you from winning. In reality you scored 3 lucky and dubious goals, Tyrone dominated large chunks of the game and have the classier footballers. They prevented you from scoring for long periods in both half's and they should have won it twice at the end. Be greatful you're still in it rather than picking on very small instances that had no bearing on the game. I was a real fan of Cavan before the game and really wanted them to do well to add another force in Ulster but seeing some of this petty stuff from some of your posters I am beginning to hope Tyrone repeat their last replay result with you."
If you don't like people questioning or discussing stuff don't go on a forum. What some salt with that chip on your shoulder.

doratheexplorer (Cavan) - Posts: 1467 - 21/06/2016 09:35:01    1870021