Cavan v Tyrone

Replying To IrishGael3:  "Seriously Cavan posters just listen to yourselves - you would think you dominated the game and everyone the ref, the crowd, God almighty stopped you from winning. In reality you scored 3 lucky and dubious goals, Tyrone dominated large chunks of the game and have the classier footballers. They prevented you from scoring for long periods in both half's and they should have won it twice at the end. Be greatful you're still in it rather than picking on very small instances that had no bearing on the game. I was a real fan of Cavan before the game and really wanted them to do well to add another force in Ulster but seeing some of this petty stuff from some of your posters I am beginning to hope Tyrone repeat their last replay result with you."
And no one questioned who the better team were. Tyrone's periods of dominance was more than Cavans. Plus they outscored Cavan 16 scores to 10. You're always gonna have debate.

doratheexplorer (Cavan) - Posts: 1467 - 21/06/2016 09:39:38    1870023

God how do these discussions descend to such moronic nonsense so easy.

It was a good game. Either team could have won it. Some calls went to one team. Some calls went to the other. Some calls were marginal and up for debate. Fans from both sides booed opposition kickouts and frees. Fans from both sides used bad language.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12125 - 21/06/2016 10:25:05    1870045

Replying To IrishGael3:  "Seriously Cavan posters just listen to yourselves - you would think you dominated the game and everyone the ref, the crowd, God almighty stopped you from winning. In reality you scored 3 lucky and dubious goals, Tyrone dominated large chunks of the game and have the classier footballers. They prevented you from scoring for long periods in both half's and they should have won it twice at the end. Be greatful you're still in it rather than picking on very small instances that had no bearing on the game. I was a real fan of Cavan before the game and really wanted them to do well to add another force in Ulster but seeing some of this petty stuff from some of your posters I am beginning to hope Tyrone repeat their last replay result with you."
Truly devastated to have lost your support. I implore you to reconsider.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12125 - 21/06/2016 10:52:33    1870061

Replying To Breffni39:  "Truly devastated to have lost your support. I implore you to reconsider."
When you put it that way....

IrishGael3 (USA) - Posts: 1092 - 21/06/2016 14:50:14    1870254

Some cribbing from the Tyrone lads here. The pressure is showing. Yours to lose lads. We will be up for it Sunday week. We can play much better than that. Oh and to abuse Cavan people for booing a '45. Ye have been consistently the loudest and ugliest fans in Ulster as long as I have been going to games (40 years). Id be surprised if any poster from any other county disagreed with that!

Maybe you should be looking at what went wrong internally instead of chastising us. Nervy nervy :)

Reformation (Cavan) - Posts: 356 - 21/06/2016 19:26:04    1870422

Replying To doratheexplorer:  "And no one questioned who the better team were. Tyrone's periods of dominance was more than Cavans. Plus they outscored Cavan 16 scores to 10. You're always gonna have debate."
tyrone only lead for about 20 minutes in the game , whereas cavan led for about 40 mins

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 21/06/2016 19:39:11    1870429

Replying To Reformation:  "Some cribbing from the Tyrone lads here. The pressure is showing. Yours to lose lads. We will be up for it Sunday week. We can play much better than that. Oh and to abuse Cavan people for booing a '45. Ye have been consistently the loudest and ugliest fans in Ulster as long as I have been going to games (40 years). Id be surprised if any poster from any other county disagreed with that!

Maybe you should be looking at what went wrong internally instead of chastising us. Nervy nervy :)"
Maybe you should read the whole thread it is Cavan that are whinging not us fact

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 21/06/2016 19:39:24    1870430

Replying To Reformation:  "Some cribbing from the Tyrone lads here. The pressure is showing. Yours to lose lads. We will be up for it Sunday week. We can play much better than that. Oh and to abuse Cavan people for booing a '45. Ye have been consistently the loudest and ugliest fans in Ulster as long as I have been going to games (40 years). Id be surprised if any poster from any other county disagreed with that!

Maybe you should be looking at what went wrong internally instead of chastising us. Nervy nervy :)"
You've been going to matches for 40 years - with that vast experience you'd think you would have some sense than come out with this nonsense. You obviously haven't been in Croker for a very long time and very few big matches in Clones, then again neither have Cavan - Dubs boo and jeer every kick, Donegal do it in Ballybofey and Clones, Kerry in Killarney, as do Derry/Armagh and as you say some Tyrone fans - I've never thought their fans any worse or better than others, in fact I've met many of them in Croker and they are fine mannered, knowledgeable Gaels and great crack. As one of your posters says on the Cavan forum - Cavan played at close/near their optimum, Tyrone well below par. The weather suited Cavan and not Tyrone - I'd pray for a monsoon if I were you in replay. I believe Monaghan will win other match and can't see Cavan beat them whereby Tyrone have their number.

IrishGael3 (USA) - Posts: 1092 - 21/06/2016 19:49:11    1870434

what are peoples opinions of umpires being chosen by the ref. apparently the 4 umpires on sunday were; the referee's father, the referee's brother, the referee's cousin and the referee's uncle.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 21/06/2016 19:49:17    1870435

You've been going to matches for 40 years - with that vast experience you'd think you would have some sense than come out with this nonsense. You obviously haven't been in Croker for a very long time and very few big matches in Clones, then again neither have Cavan - Dubs boo and jeer every kick, Donegal do it in Ballybofey and Clones, Kerry in Killarney, as do Derry/Armagh and as you say some Tyrone fans - I've never thought their fans any worse or better than others, in fact I've met many of them in Croker and they are fine mannered, knowledgeable Gaels and great crack. As one of your posters says on the Cavan forum - Cavan played at close/near their optimum, Tyrone well below par. The weather suited Cavan and not Tyrone - I'd pray for a monsoon if I were you in replay. I believe Monaghan will win other match and can't see Cavan beat them whereby Tyrone have their number.

IrishGael3 (USA) - Posts: 1092 - 21/06/2016 19:58:16    1870438

Also Reformation are you related to BlueHeaven who's also been going to matches for 40 years - he/she alleges there is a conspiracy from the 6 northern counties over Cavan - particularly Down referees? Also agree with Polecat its the Cavan fans who are belly aching on this forum - very few Tyrone fans. And sorry a Fermanagh poster arguing with Cavan fans over square ball rule - but I guess theres history between your counties.

IrishGael3 (USA) - Posts: 1092 - 21/06/2016 20:10:37    1870446

Ah Cavan people you may get used to Tough ref decisions, booing, chanting, poor official decisions, family relations of the ref doing umpires, raised ticket price.. It's all part of the championship and if yous go as far as you think your going to go then I expect ye will experience it all. Just one word of caution if Sunday 3rd July is a good day weather wise then I expect a big tornado coming down the road from Tyrone,

border Gael (Monaghan) - Posts: 894 - 21/06/2016 20:16:41    1870448

Also Reformation are you related to BlueHeaven who's also been going to matches for 40 years - he/she alleges there is a conspiracy from the 6 northern counties over Cavan - particularly Down referees? Also agree with Polecat its the Cavan fans who are belly aching on this forum - very few Tyrone fans. And sorry a Fermanagh poster arguing with Cavan fans over square ball rule - but I guess theres history between your counties.

IrishGael3 (USA) - Posts: 1092 - 21/06/2016 20:20:05    1870449

IrishGael3 (USA) - Posts: 1092 - 21/06/2016 20:24:04    1870451

Replying To s goldrick:  "what are peoples opinions of umpires being chosen by the ref. apparently the 4 umpires on sunday were; the referee's father, the referee's brother, the referee's cousin and the referee's uncle."
I think it's time the GAA sorted out this ref/umpire business I think we should have four referees doing the job as umpires and from different counties as well.

SamOnErrigal (Donegal) - Posts: 1427 - 21/06/2016 20:28:56    1870452

Irish Gael
I believe Donegal will win the other match and I also believe Donegal will win Ulster.
And with Kerry / Dublin on the same side of the draw( providing of course they win their provincials ) and with Mayo blowing a fuse who do you think is next in the rankings next to Dublin /Kerry
I am taking Donegal to really perform on Sat night, bring something new to the table --- like what we were talking about towards the end of the league, what Rory had up his selve
Nine of the team who played Fermanagh are 27 and younger( 6 are around 22/23) so all this talk about an old team is rubbish.
I also believe the Ulster winners can reach the All Ireland final.
As regards Tyrone are they comfortable playing another defensive /blanket type Ulster team?
Don't think they are and I think they still can trouble Kerry / Dublin even if they loose the replay

SamOnErrigal (Donegal) - Posts: 1427 - 21/06/2016 20:41:32    1870455

Tis only a bit of booing

How about a nice cup of team lads

Keep it in the pants until the replay.. dont be blowing your load before throw in part 2 .

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 21/06/2016 20:59:56    1870462

I actually taught the ref had a decent enough game ,, one thing I liked was that he didn't give Tyrone too many soft free in scoreable positions , it does be a tactic of Tyrone's , . overall I think the draw was a fair result in the end , as for the replay I think Cavan will win it .

goonie (Cavan) - Posts: 308 - 21/06/2016 21:05:22    1870465

I agree with most of your post but don't agree with Monaghan match - Jim had the Midas touch when coming up with a plan - just don't think Rory Gallagher has that in his locker and your discipline has also suffered since he left. But your points on Tyrone are valid and esp Donegals system is difficult for them to break in Ulster - be interesting to see them meet in Croker where they seem to be a different animal. The match on Saturday night is definitely going to be fascinating - I hope it's as good as the Cavan - Tyrone recent meetings no matter what other people seem to think on this forum.

IrishGael3 (USA) - Posts: 1092 - 21/06/2016 21:07:02    1870467

Irishgael3 - you must be up all night over in the US watching these games. Or are you afraid to post your county?
I actually had no problem with the ref in the main, he was consistent if nothing else. No complaints.
If you think that was Cavan at full tilt then you are wrong and haven't seen us play at all this year. McKiernan was annonymous as was Johnston. Jason McLoughlin to come back in. We will improve. Credit to the Tyrone defence for that but they wont be as quiet the next day. We can raise our performance from Sunday and I am confident that we will.
Im not going any further on the fans, ive said my part. But its give and take and ill hold my hands up for the whistling for the last 45. Was that the only occassion that there was booing? No. Maybe the only occassion that Cavan fans booed. Good to be back in the big time anyway. But we wont be pushed around on forums or on the field!!

We can win the replay. I think we will win it. There you go.

Reformation (Cavan) - Posts: 356 - 21/06/2016 21:19:39    1870477