Cavan v Tyrone

So it was a square ball then Dell?

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 20/06/2016 03:10:24    1869264

Regardless of any refereeing controversies,square ball or soft frees,I thought the ref was fair and made common sense calls on cards etc.I fully expect Tyrone to win in the replay because as I said already there will never be 3 goals allowed next day out,never.And Tyrone will be better prepared defensively. Pat Spillane said today Cavan had to bring something new and they did but it will be better contained next time and if we can take 15/16 scores again then we will win.Total faith!

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 20/06/2016 03:17:10    1869265

The referee was excellent. I never noticed him. No glaring mistakes which is all that can be asked of him. Having said that there was no great cynicism either.

Tyrone should improve but may come to rue the lack of a long-range freetaker.
Also when the pressure was on some forwards lost their nerve.
Colm Cavanagh very good this year but should be banned from shooting.

Cavan hardly likely to kick so many bad wides again but hardly likely to score 3 goals either!

It surely cant be as wet again next time so a completely different type of game in prospect.
Then again its Ireland!!!

BIG SACKS (Tyrone) - Posts: 1681 - 20/06/2016 07:56:32    1869274

im surprised the tyrone keeper hasnt got a touch yet, what was he thinking coming of his line for that last goal?

Id expect tyrone to win by 3/4 points the next day.

Big problem.....Blatantly evident now that tyrone dont have a reliable long range/ or even short range free taker. What is with the continual rotation, Yesterday i seen, mccalliskey, mccurry, oneil and harte all step up to take a free, what is it, miss 1 and your out? No freekick taker will ever get any confidence at that carryon

abitawit (Fermanagh) - Posts: 274 - 20/06/2016 08:39:42    1869284

Replying To gotmilk:  "I suppose Dessie Dolan and the computer in the sunday game studio are anti cavan too."
well in fairness they didn't really analyse the third goal properly. Dessie just said it was a square ball end of story. It may well have been but if you look at the very last replay of the goal. (the camera angle from behind the goal) it looks like the ball was played in either on the line or outside the square. True Givney had been in the square . but the question is. did the ball enter the square before it was struck by Givney . I am not convinced.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 20/06/2016 08:41:58    1869286

I have looked at the replay of the third goal a couple of times now and at no point does the ball enter the square and givney punches it in from outside the square. The rule only applies if the ball enters the square so a perfectly legitimate goal.

BlueHeaven (Cavan) - Posts: 75 - 20/06/2016 08:54:57    1869290

I have looked at the replay of the third goal a couple of times now and at no point does the ball enter the square and givney punches it in from outside the square. The rule only applies if the ball enters the square so a perfectly legitimate goal.

BlueHeaven (Cavan)

That's the way I seen it too, you would have to give the forward the benefit of the doubt here, he was moving out to meet the ball

mhunicean_abu (Monaghan) - Posts: 1044 - 20/06/2016 09:21:36    1869316

Best to just get on with it now lads...

Tyrone had two clear cut chances to win the game and fluffed them both.. especially their last effort.. there wasn't a Cavan man within 5 yards of him and he tamely dropped it a mile short

So the probable square ball shouldn't have even been a factor...

Onto the next game...

Tyrone by 3+ I reckon... finish what they should have finished off.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 20/06/2016 09:47:31    1869335

Replying To BlueHeaven:  "I have looked at the replay of the third goal a couple of times now and at no point does the ball enter the square and givney punches it in from outside the square. The rule only applies if the ball enters the square so a perfectly legitimate goal."
Except, the rule book doesn't say that. For the 3rd goal, Givney was in the square before the ball was played to him. He was also in the square when he himself fisted the ball. Either way, Givney was in the square before the final playing of the ball, and the goal should have been disallowed.

The 2nd goal should also have been disallowed, again from whichever point you decide to start. If you use the freekick as the starting point, then he was in the square before the ball arrived (Square ball). If you use the punch into the square as the starting point, he was in the square before the ball was punched (again Square ball).

2 howlers from the umpires. Overall, however, I felt that Gough did well in tough conditions.

Thomas Clarke (Tyrone) - Posts: 1002 - 20/06/2016 10:08:41    1869360

Initially at the game i though the referee was harsh on Cavan and gave Tyrone a few softies. After watching it again he wasn't the worst and there were cases for both teams.

Regarding the goal, not one Tyrone player complained. They only had their heads in their hands as the knew they'd get a right bollocking from Mickey for conceding 3 goals.

There is no doubt Tyrone were the better team overall, but Cavan dominated for periods and got around them. McKiernan and Johnstone hadn't great games being double marked and i suppose the same goes for Sean Cavanagh. Others stood up and we are more than a two man show....

ponger (Cavan) - Posts: 542 - 20/06/2016 10:09:54    1869361

Replying To s goldrick:  "well in fairness they didn't really analyse the third goal properly. Dessie just said it was a square ball end of story. It may well have been but if you look at the very last replay of the goal. (the camera angle from behind the goal) it looks like the ball was played in either on the line or outside the square. True Givney had been in the square . but the question is. did the ball enter the square before it was struck by Givney . I am not convinced."
The only way givney is getting that ball of its not in the square is if he's stretch Armstrong.

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 20/06/2016 10:13:50    1869363

Replying To BlueHeaven:  "I have looked at the replay of the third goal a couple of times now and at no point does the ball enter the square and givney punches it in from outside the square. The rule only applies if the ball enters the square so a perfectly legitimate goal."
The ball to me is in the square. Givney never leaves the square at any point. Can you can show me where any part of his body leaves the square?

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 20/06/2016 10:15:14    1869366

Just for the record you have no idea what the rule is. You have changed your mind a few times on this thread in the last 24 hours about what a square ball is.

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 20/06/2016 10:16:10    1869368

Gotmilk is 100% right about the Square ball rule although I'm not 100% convinced that Givney is in the square when he actually fists the ball as Goldrick says. Moynagh was in the square though and I said it at the time and I was seated the far side of the ground.

We'll take it though!

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12124 - 20/06/2016 10:39:50    1869395

It is very simple! The ball must go into the square for the square ball rule to apply. It never did and Givney punched the ball from outside the square. The still picture you yourself posted proves that point empathic ally. You seem to believe that you are the only one who understands the rule and you are going to apply it regardless of whether it applies or not. There are none so blind as those who will not see!

BlueHeaven (Cavan) - Posts: 75 - 20/06/2016 10:44:04    1869401

It is very simple! The ball must go into the square for the square ball rule to apply. It never did and Givney punched the ball from outside the square. The still picture you yourself posted proves that point empathic ally. You seem to believe that you are the only one who understands the rule and you are going to apply it regardless of whether it applies or not. There are none so blind as those who will not see!

BlueHeaven (Cavan) - Posts: 75 - 20/06/2016 10:45:26    1869403

goal 3... the ball never goes into the square ... so how can it be a square ball?
goal 2....Dessie on sunday game said square ball... here gotmilk above can come into play .... when the ball was played ( the 45 kick) was he in the squarer ?...no

so please drop the nonsense

Jimjo (Cavan) - Posts: 65 - 20/06/2016 10:50:37    1869408

Replying To BlueHeaven:  "It is very simple! The ball must go into the square for the square ball rule to apply. It never did and Givney punched the ball from outside the square. The still picture you yourself posted proves that point empathic ally. You seem to believe that you are the only one who understands the rule and you are going to apply it regardless of whether it applies or not. There are none so blind as those who will not see!"
Blue for the love of god you didn't even know what the rule was this time yesterday. You have highlighted this already on this thread. Givney is in the square when the pass is given. He doesn't leave the square. For me all of him and the ball are inside the square when he makes contact. The still image I posted a link to shows this.
Funny enough that proverb is quite apt for you.

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 20/06/2016 10:52:12    1869410

who cares, its a goal, and we probably didn't deserve to win on the day. Fair play to cavan, we will really need to lift it the next day. People saying that tyrone will be better in the dry weather (if it comes) but so will cavans game, they dropped a lot going in in the first half. I have faith mickey will come up with a plan and justy will come in on givnney.

Another thing, Cavan could beat anyone in Ireland on their day at the minute outside Dublin and Kerry. I think they are a really good side. If we do manage to win I still forsee cavan taking a scalp this year, hopefully not us

redhanddefender (Tyrone) - Posts: 913 - 20/06/2016 11:05:03    1869431

Replying To Jimjo:  "goal 3... the ball never goes into the square ... so how can it be a square ball?
goal 2....Dessie on sunday game said square ball... here gotmilk above can come into play .... when the ball was played ( the 45 kick) was he in the squarer ?...no

so please drop the nonsense"
Jim it was goal 3 dessie said was in the square. He highlighted how it was a square ball. Jesus Mary and joseph. The Lord wept, with the exception of goldrick it's impossible to have a discussion with a Cavan man about this goal.

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 20/06/2016 11:08:01    1869434