Team news: Newcomers among six Limerick changes

February 13, 2020

Limerick's Brian Ryan. ©INPHO/Bryan Keane.

Newcomers Brian Ryan and Darren O’Connell are among six changes to the Limerick team for Saturday evening's Allianz League meeting with Waterford at the LIT Gaelic Grounds.

Ryan (South Liberties) and O'Connell (Kildimo-Pallaskenry) will make their league debuts on the left flank of the holders' attack, as regulars Mike Casey, Diarmaid Byrnes, Cian Lynch and Aaron Gillane all return to the starting 15.

Richie English, Dan Morrissey, Darragh O'Donovan, David Reidy, David Dempsey and Graeme Mulcahy are the players who make way from the 1-19 to 0-14 victory over Galway.

All-Star defender English misses out on the match-day squad due to an injury which he picked up during the eight-point win two weeks ago. Team-captain Declan Hannon also went off injured in that game but retains his place at centre-back.

Limerick (Allianz HL Division 1 v Waterford): Nickie Quaid; Sean Finn, Mike Casey, Aaron Costello; Diarmaid Byrnes, Declan Hannon, Barry Nash; Cian Lynch, William O'Donoghue; Gearoid Hegarty, Tom Morrissey, Brian Ryan; Aaron Gillane, Seamus Flanagan, Darren O'Connell.

Subs: Barry Hennessy, Josh Considine, David Dempsey, Robbie Hanley, Kyle Hayes, Dan Morrissey, Graeme Mulcahy, Darragh O'Donovan, Brian O'Grady, Mark Quinlan, David Reidy.

The Allianz Hurling League returns this weekend, make sure you join the match tracker for live scores from the third round of games.

Most Read Stories