2022 Wexford Intercounty Hurling

What's the latest on the injury front lads do we have a full squad to choose from? Suspect Kerry may play a sweeper as their full back line looked liable to leak goals at the weekend . Kerry will fight to the end but we should have have something to spare if we hurl like we can . Then we have a shot at Clare in a quarter final. I think this weekend will take a lot out of Clare physically and mentally. If they bring the same intensity against us we will struggle big time but it will be hard to replicate that again I think.

Afinestick (Wexford) - Posts: 999 - 07/06/2022 11:02:45    2422903

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "Sweet Jesus. Are you actually trying to say Chin is better than Tony Kelly? My good god, delusion.

As I said Chin is a great player and will no doubt be a legend in Wexford as one of Wexfords finest. With Kelly you are talking about one of Irelands greatest ever players. He has already solidified himself as Clare's greatest ever player and when he retires he will be talked about like Shefflin, Ring and DJ.

I know people like to support their own but a bit of balance is needed. Chin and Kelly aren't at the same level but that is not a slight against Chin, Kelly is operating out of this stratosphere"
Chin isn't even in the same class as Tk ffs. Chin missed 6 frees against Westmeath. Tk has been consistently class for the last few years. It's not even a comparison. Lee is so important for us need him performing every game he helps to drive us on.

Get over Kerry focus on Clare after

Wexfordgaa (Wexford) - Posts: 265 - 07/06/2022 11:24:50    2422916

Replying To Wexfordgaa:  "Chin isn't even in the same class as Tk ffs. Chin missed 6 frees against Westmeath. Tk has been consistently class for the last few years. It's not even a comparison. Lee is so important for us need him performing every game he helps to drive us on.

Get over Kerry focus on Clare after"
Why do people compare apples and oranges. Chins role in our team is very different to TK in Clare. Fitzgerald would be more the comparison to what Chin does for Wexford. Not sure what anyone would want to try and compare what they do for each team.

zinny (Wexford) - Posts: 1806 - 07/06/2022 12:08:21    2422949

No offence intended, Chin is a great player but Tony Kelly is different class.
And to be honest, I think you are being wound up here Lohan because Wexford above all have seen how good Kelly is a few times in recent years, having beaten Wexford on his own more than once.

ExiledInWex (Dublin) - Posts: 1140 - 07/06/2022 12:18:24    2422961

Replying To Afinestick:  "What's the latest on the injury front lads do we have a full squad to choose from? Suspect Kerry may play a sweeper as their full back line looked liable to leak goals at the weekend . Kerry will fight to the end but we should have have something to spare if we hurl like we can . Then we have a shot at Clare in a quarter final. I think this weekend will take a lot out of Clare physically and mentally. If they bring the same intensity against us we will struggle big time but it will be hard to replicate that again I think."
Shane Reck held Tony Kelly to one point from play last year so I hope he is fit to start vs Kerry to get some game time into the legs

Limerick were too proud to sacrifice a player to man mark Kelly - I think we will deploy a man marker on him though.

Yellow (Wexford) - Posts: 555 - 07/06/2022 12:29:44    2422967

Rory O Connor and Mac havent clicked yet in this years championship - lets hope it all comes together for the Clare match ( all respect to Kerry blah blah)

Yellow (Wexford) - Posts: 555 - 07/06/2022 12:56:28    2422982

Replying To Yellow:  "Shane Reck held Tony Kelly to one point from play last year so I hope he is fit to start vs Kerry to get some game time into the legs

Limerick were too proud to sacrifice a player to man mark Kelly - I think we will deploy a man marker on him though."
It's a mistake to man mark him.

Cork and Tipp found out to their detriment. Kelly will throw your defenders shape out of sinc and O Donnell, Taylor, Fitz, Duggan and Meehan (who I think will start) will make hay.

If ye focus too much on Tony ye will take your eye off our other attackers who are more than capable of wracking up a big score. Ye should go man to man and hold your shape and try and out score us.

No disrespect but if we are on, we will win.

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2492 - 07/06/2022 13:05:43    2422991

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "It's a mistake to man mark him.

Cork and Tipp found out to their detriment. Kelly will throw your defenders shape out of sinc and O Donnell, Taylor, Fitz, Duggan and Meehan (who I think will start) will make hay.

If ye focus too much on Tony ye will take your eye off our other attackers who are more than capable of wracking up a big score. Ye should go man to man and hold your shape and try and out score us.

No disrespect but if we are on, we will win."
Duggan probably be suspended by look of it so won't have to worry about him. And deservedly so. Clare getting a bad rep again like their teams of the past.

countyman2022 (Wexford) - Posts: 643 - 07/06/2022 14:27:59    2423051

Ye thought that in2014 as well.

Tiger1 (Wexford) - Posts: 240 - 07/06/2022 14:47:35    2423062

Will you grow up we have played 5 matches now isolated incidents only RTE highlighted them no one would have noticed

When had we the bad name a few Wexford Boys also well known to be hardy

clooney (Clare) - Posts: 891 - 07/06/2022 14:51:24    2423066

Replying To countyman2022:  "Duggan probably be suspended by look of it so won't have to worry about him. And deservedly so. Clare getting a bad rep again like their teams of the past."
To be honest I'd rest him anyway and give someone else a run

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2492 - 07/06/2022 14:52:33    2423068

What are you saying here LRH? Do you want us to leave him free? I heard TK is a serious doubt for the Quarter final.

logger (Wexford) - Posts: 297 - 07/06/2022 14:56:06    2423070

We will see LRH after this weekend. Worry about the weekend after afterwards.
You started off like a freight train last year and only ended up winning by 3 after leading by 10 or 11 halfway through the 1st half. Agree though whoever is more up for it will win. Hopefully with Egan rather than Davy managing we should be fresher this year than the last 3 occasions we lost to you. And we definitely have a stronger panel this year as do yourselves.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12093 - 07/06/2022 15:05:48    2423076

Replying To clooney:  "Will you grow up we have played 5 matches now isolated incidents only RTE highlighted them no one would have noticed

When had we the bad name a few Wexford Boys also well known to be hardy"
Around the same time we both were winning titles in the 90s. Think to be successful you have to play with a bit of steel. Then the begrudgers highlight it. Currently Limerick, Kilkenny in the 00s, etc etc.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12093 - 07/06/2022 15:18:33    2423086

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "To be honest I'd rest him anyway and give someone else a run"
I'd say we will do better against ye if he plays. We've done well this year when teams have opted to play it long.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12093 - 07/06/2022 15:20:55    2423089

Replying To logger:  "What are you saying here LRH? Do you want us to leave him free? I heard TK is a serious doubt for the Quarter final."
He didn't play against Waterford and Clare still did well. Although it has to be said most of the Waterford team didn't play either.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12093 - 07/06/2022 15:22:16    2423091

Replying To countyman2022:  "Duggan probably be suspended by look of it so won't have to worry about him. And deservedly so. Clare getting a bad rep again like their teams of the past."
Stop talking bout ifs and buts only thing we can concentrate is bating Kerry

Wexfordgaa (Wexford) - Posts: 265 - 07/06/2022 15:27:12    2423095

If there's one team that can go to Nowlan park and beat Kilkenny only to follow it up by loosing to Kerry it's Wexford. I'm pretty sure we will win at the weekend but let's not even mention TK or Clare before the game on Saturday.

Finchfurlong996 (Wexford) - Posts: 255 - 07/06/2022 15:27:47    2423096

Replying To Viking66:  "Around the same time we both were winning titles in the 90s. Think to be successful you have to play with a bit of steel. Then the begrudgers highlight it. Currently Limerick, Kilkenny in the 00s, etc etc."
Fair enough point I suppose but Media went to Town on Clare after one incident at start of 98 MHF Radio phone ins ect never a mention that we were best team in Ireland that year we were defined by that one incident and it stuck to us for a long time.

If we meet Wexford it will be a battle royal WX as good as anyone if they hit right notes

clooney (Clare) - Posts: 891 - 07/06/2022 15:39:17    2423104

clare will have to play a bit below themselves and wexford will have to play prob even better than they did against kilkenny.....

munsterchamps (Limerick) - Posts: 1101 - 07/06/2022 15:47:42    2423110