2022 Wexford Intercounty Hurling

Replying To munsterchamps:  "clare will have to play a bit below themselves and wexford will have to play prob even better than they did against kilkenny....."
I can see Clare playing below their Munster final performance . That game will take a lot out of them mentally and physically. Lohan said it himself after the game . That will be very hard to replicate but if they do they could give us a good beating .
I agree we will need to play even better than Kilkenny . Hope I'm wrong but I think it's hard to see us improving on that performance .
We need to deliver a good professional perform on Saturday and go into the Saturday week with good momentum and no injuries hopefully

Afinestick (Wexford) - Posts: 999 - 07/06/2022 16:12:30    2423125

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "It's a mistake to man mark him.

Cork and Tipp found out to their detriment. Kelly will throw your defenders shape out of sinc and O Donnell, Taylor, Fitz, Duggan and Meehan (who I think will start) will make hay.

If ye focus too much on Tony ye will take your eye off our other attackers who are more than capable of wracking up a big score. Ye should go man to man and hold your shape and try and out score us.

No disrespect but if we are on, we will win."
Totally disagree we can't allow the best hurler in the country to roam around freely and score at ease

Afinestick (Wexford) - Posts: 999 - 07/06/2022 16:14:52    2423127

I think wexford are ready made to do a man marking job on kelly. They'll play an extra defender as they can adapt to that game plan easily enough. Wexford have the tools to really trouble this clare team. Munster will have taken a lot out of clare and wexford can capitalise in my opinion. Wexford seem to be getting healthy at the right time too.

daveboy (Limerick) - Posts: 1139 - 07/06/2022 16:24:42    2423129

Replying To Tiger1:  "Ye thought that in2014 as well."
Yeah and we didn't perform to our abilities and lost…. What's your point ?

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2506 - 07/06/2022 16:35:03    2423133

Replying To Afinestick:  "Totally disagree we can't allow the best hurler in the country to roam around freely and score at ease"
I'm just telling ye that that is what Tipp and Cork did and our other forwards made hay in the space Kelly afforded them by destroying the defensive shape.

Wexford would do well not the focus all their energy on TK as I could see Ryan Taylor or Davy Fitz continuing their fine form and racking up a big score.

I expect a big game out of Shane O Donnell as well.

Clare have lots of super players and an over emphasis on TK might overshadow this.

That's not without saying I know for a fact that ye will man mark him.

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2506 - 07/06/2022 16:39:51    2423136

Replying To munsterchamps:  "clare will have to play a bit below themselves and wexford will have to play prob even better than they did against kilkenny....."
No side show this year...... we won't give Clare a 10 point start. Clare be ware.

WEX98 (Wexford) - Posts: 382 - 07/06/2022 18:37:44    2423180

Replying To Wexfordgaa:  "Stop talking bout ifs and buts only thing we can concentrate is bating Kerry"
This game is a token gesture, it's meant to be the "All-Ireland series" and it's not even to be streamed legally (Buff Egan will have it more or less live).

If you think Kerry are any threat, you know nothing about hurling. Respect bla bla bla. If the Kerry footballers were coming to Wexford Park I'd say the same about the Wexford footballers.

Wexford are a serious hurling county, I'd even suggest number 4 after the so called traditional 3.

WEX98 (Wexford) - Posts: 382 - 07/06/2022 18:43:46    2423186

Replying To Afinestick:  "Totally disagree we can't allow the best hurler in the country to roam around freely and score at ease"
I see ye haven't learned a lot from your trip to Mullingar

jobber (Westmeath) - Posts: 1471 - 07/06/2022 20:50:53    2423208

If Kelly is fit then there's zero chance of Wexford getting within 10 of Clare. Wexford just don't have the players. It's as simple as that. Lee Chin isn't a better player than David Fitzgerald. He's not even a natural striker of the ball and I love Lee Chin. There's fellas on that wexford panel that wouldn't get on the best club teams in Clare and Limerick. If Wexford muster every bit of defiance and Chin uses all his power and might then I see Wexford losing by 8. Unless Duggan and Rory Hayes get a ban and TK is out injured....all possible. Then I'd see it being more even ...CLare by 5

bloodyban (Limerick) - Posts: 1710 - 07/06/2022 21:31:49    2423216

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "Yeah and we didn't perform to our abilities and lost…. What's your point ?"
No Wexford outhurled Clare and won in 2014.

That is his point.

Past hurler (None) - Posts: 745 - 07/06/2022 21:42:13    2423218

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "I'm just telling ye that that is what Tipp and Cork did and our other forwards made hay in the space Kelly afforded them by destroying the defensive shape.

Wexford would do well not the focus all their energy on TK as I could see Ryan Taylor or Davy Fitz continuing their fine form and racking up a big score.

Clare have lots of super players and an over emphasis on TK might overshadow this.

That's not without saying I know for a fact that ye will man mark him."
Your some dose lad:)

hunting (Wexford) - Posts: 963 - 07/06/2022 21:55:02    2423223

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "I'm just telling ye that that is what Tipp and Cork did and our other forwards made hay in the space Kelly afforded them by destroying the defensive shape.

That's not without saying I know for a fact that ye will man mark him."
As a tactic it worked OK last years championship. If we hadn't of been still on the bus for the 1st 20 minutes that game would've been very close. Was only 3 points in it anyway as it was.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12227 - 08/06/2022 07:20:36    2423240

Replying To WEX98:  "No side show this year...... we won't give Clare a 10 point start. Clare be ware."
Can we just beat Kerry first and show them the respect they deserve.

Tiger1 (Wexford) - Posts: 241 - 08/06/2022 08:38:35    2423245

Catching up on a few weeks.
We need to approach the Kerry game as the banana skin that it is. If we approach it like we did the Westmeath game we'll end up with egg on our faces again.
Go down there to hurl for 70 minutes and do a professional job and we should have enough.
Go down there thinking we will be throwing on 5 subs and things will get more difficult.
Worry about Clare on Saturday evening.

StoreysTash (Wexford) - Posts: 1741 - 08/06/2022 08:58:49    2423249

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "Yeah and we didn't perform to our abilities and lost…. What's your point ?"
Ye didnt play to yer abilities in 7 years by sound of how good you think Clare are.

countyman2022 (Wexford) - Posts: 645 - 08/06/2022 09:03:57    2423251

The only game to talk about is Kerry.
From what I saw in their game versus Offaly and Antrim, they have a number of good hurlers and would be roughly on a par with Westmeath.
Bottom line is that we give them every respect and if we perform to the levels we are capable of, we will beat them.
If not, it will be a tense listen to Spratt!
Best of luck lads at the weekend!

Punter72007 (Wexford) - Posts: 315 - 08/06/2022 09:50:30    2423264

Replying To bloodyban:  "If Kelly is fit then there's zero chance of Wexford getting within 10 of Clare. Wexford just don't have the players. It's as simple as that. Lee Chin isn't a better player than David Fitzgerald. He's not even a natural striker of the ball and I love Lee Chin. There's fellas on that wexford panel that wouldn't get on the best club teams in Clare and Limerick. If Wexford muster every bit of defiance and Chin uses all his power and might then I see Wexford losing by 8. Unless Duggan and Rory Hayes get a ban and TK is out injured....all possible. Then I'd see it being more even ...CLare by 5"
"Lee chin is not even a natural striker of the ball"…. the most ridiculous comment I've read in a long time. You've obviously celebrated to much after Sunday and are looking through foggy eyes. Lol

HurlingBuzz (Wexford) - Posts: 490 - 08/06/2022 10:58:30    2423288

Replying To HurlingBuzz:  ""Lee chin is not even a natural striker of the ball"…. the most ridiculous comment I've read in a long time. You've obviously celebrated to much after Sunday and are looking through foggy eyes. Lol"
Relax, that guy thought 4 teams should come out of Munster on Sunday night.

ExiledInWex (Dublin) - Posts: 1144 - 08/06/2022 11:40:23    2423300

I am presuming there's going to be s semi final draw.But if it's anything to go by for the last few years you could predict the draw for the the semi finals.So this is the draw as follows.
If Clare beat wexford they will be playing kilkenny.If wexford beat clare we will be playing limerick.That is the pairings that suit the Gaa. There is no real structure to it. I can almost Garantee you the above is exactly what will happen.A joke !

Wexpurebred (Wexford) - Posts: 205 - 08/06/2022 12:12:02    2423309

Lads why do we think Duggan and TK might be out for the next one or there is even going to be a ccc meeting. Was it announced or is it hearsay/wishful thinking again. Obviously we saw the incident and possibly TK limping but there hasn't been anything even mentioned from GAA about ccc meetingd etc. Its wednesday now, the game was Sunday.

WEXILE_AGAIN (Wexford) - Posts: 16 - 08/06/2022 12:15:09    2423311