Dublin v Mayo - All Ireland Football Final 2016

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Jackeen how could you book a holiday on all Ireland final day ? Even back in the late 90's and mid 00's when we'd no chance really of making the final I'd still never book my holiday anywhere near the 3rd Sunday in September just in case we sneaked into it. But with this team right now I'm sorry but how could you be so silly? There's no excuse for that."
I'm a bridesmaid at my besties wedding CD. What can i say!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 13/09/2016 21:20:25    1913937

Replying To Llaw_Gyffes:  "It will be all down to the day Jackeen and the alignment of stars, you being in Spain or me wearing my lucky jumper will have absolutely no relevance. Whoever plays the better will win it. If it's a close game it might be decided by a lucky bounce, a sending off or a poor refereeing decision, but usually finals are won by the better team. Dublin are runaway favourites and rightly so but Mayo are long enough on the road to make it interesting. Don't forget to put your phone on silent!"
True i know. Will be terribly homesick if we manage the win.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 13/09/2016 21:21:39    1913939

Ah sorry I didn't know, but tell the bride n groom their a disgrace for booking their wedding on the 3rd Sunday. All the best for the wedding have a great trip.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 13/09/2016 21:46:17    1913953

Replying To Superglue:  "Will Dublin's achievements of the last few years be overshadowed if they are the first team to lose a final to Mayo since '51?"
We wont lose.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13654 - 13/09/2016 22:08:53    1913969

Replying To Jackeen:  "True i know. Will be terribly homesick if we manage the win."
We'll do our best for you then. My nose is at me as to who your husband is but I know you won't tell us.

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 13/09/2016 22:49:00    1914002

Replying To Lockjaw:  "
Replying To CroiGorm:  "Lastly, and perhaps most importantly, they should have a ravenous appetite for battle on Sunday

As will Dublin. Going for back to back All Ireland's."
I don't doubt Dublin's hunger. I just think if they're even a few % off Mayo can capitalise."
they wont be a few % off. lol..

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2842 - 13/09/2016 23:06:45    1914013

Replying To Llaw_Gyffes:  "We'll do our best for you then. My nose is at me as to who your husband is but I know you won't tell us."
No way! Can you imagine the slagging I would get if he made a mistake out on the pitch on sunday (he wont).

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 14/09/2016 09:49:14    1914087

Replying To Jackeen:  "No way! Can you imagine the slagging I would get if he made a mistake out on the pitch on sunday (he wont)."
Mistake?! Not a chance.

Don't know how you're going to concentrate on your bridesmaid duties though!

CroiGorm (Dublin) - Posts: 1547 - 14/09/2016 09:54:26    1914090

I remember back in 2012, we had our holidays to Italy booked for the Monday after the final. Thank God we hadn't booked a day earlier and missed the game. We did miss the celebrations at home though. We had a wedding down in Naples so there were a good few of us from home there to celebrate. The Neapolitans had never seen drinking like it!

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9518 - 14/09/2016 11:14:36    1914118

This thread is very slow a few days before an All Ireland final. Remarkable shortage of Mayo fans...

The few that are on here aren't great, of course, at talking down their chances.

At this stage 3 weeks ago the forum was alive with Kerrymen saying
"I doubt we'll have 15 players come Sunday ".

Donegal were worse.
"If I had a gun I'd shoot myself".

Mayo are more like
"We're definitely goin to make shi1 of ye this time!"

SirStrawHat (Dublin) - Posts: 58 - 14/09/2016 11:48:09    1914132

Keeping the head down

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20685 - 14/09/2016 12:03:54    1914135

Replying To SirStrawHat:  "This thread is very slow a few days before an All Ireland final. Remarkable shortage of Mayo fans...

The few that are on here aren't great, of course, at talking down their chances.

Donegal were worse.

Mayo are more like
"We're definitely goin to make shi1 of ye this time!""
Don't you worry

If they win they'll soon return

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20685 - 14/09/2016 12:04:23    1914136

Replying To SirStrawHat:  "This thread is very slow a few days before an All Ireland final. Remarkable shortage of Mayo fans...

Donegal were worse.

Mayo are more like
All the talk in Mayo is how much the Dubs will win by. The least I've heard is seven points, the most is twenty five and rising. On the one hand you have the mighty Dubs, unbeaten in years, some lads going for their fourth title and them barely out of nappies and being touted as one of the greatest teams in history. None of the Mayo lads would get on their panel and they are heading for a clean sweep of All Stars. On the other hand you have Mayo, perennial losers of finals, who have stumbled from game to game and are in the final by default. Dublin are such odds on favourites that there are rumours of the bookies paying out on Saturday. None of the usual support is going up on Sunday, the only ones looking for tickets are old fellas , like myself, who want to see Mayo in a final one last time and kids who don't know any better. I heard Mayo had only eleven at training on Tuesday evening as most of the lads are gone back preparing for the club championship. Rochford is in Tenerife on holidays, he booked it after the Galway match, and won't be back till late Friday. This time next year all the talk will be about Dublins three in a row and there won't be any Mayo poster on Hoganstand.

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 14/09/2016 13:05:22    1914162

Replying To Llaw_Gyffes:  "All the talk in Mayo is how much the Dubs will win by. The least I've heard is seven points, the most is twenty five and rising. On the one hand you have the mighty Dubs, unbeaten in years, some lads going for their fourth title and them barely out of nappies and being touted as one of the greatest teams in history. None of the Mayo lads would get on their panel and they are heading for a clean sweep of All Stars. On the other hand you have Mayo, perennial losers of finals, who have stumbled from game to game and are in the final by default. Dublin are such odds on favourites that there are rumours of the bookies paying out on Saturday. None of the usual support is going up on Sunday, the only ones looking for tickets are old fellas , like myself, who want to see Mayo in a final one last time and kids who don't know any better. I heard Mayo had only eleven at training on Tuesday evening as most of the lads are gone back preparing for the club championship. Rochford is in Tenerife on holidays, he booked it after the Galway match, and won't be back till late Friday. This time next year all the talk will be about Dublins three in a row and there won't be any Mayo poster on Hoganstand."
Yes indeed same as that, was down Mayo the weekend and not a green and red bale of silage to be seen, The Gardaí have impounded all red and green painted cars and apparently the training pitch behind Machale park is full of them. Nearly every crossroads in Mayo has a bare spot in the grass where one has been lifted. Mad West Radio has put an embargo on The Saw Doctors ''Green and Red....''and apparently if you are caught singing any dodgy Mayo supporters songs then its 10 Hail Marys and 2 Our Fathers. Elverys are absolutely full of Mayo Jerseys cause there is no one buying. CIE have cancelled a rake of trains and Every bus in Mayo is booked in for the NCT next Sunday. All they talk about there now is the Para Olympics. Meanwhile in the Capital......... the touts are in for a harsh Winter and the hats scarfs and headband brigade will be down a good 30 %.
There is an eyrie silence over Mayo God Help us! never seen the like of it before, its cursed I tell you, roll on Sunday.

mactomac (UK) - Posts: 37 - 14/09/2016 14:29:14    1914183

Replying To Llaw_Gyffes:  "All the talk in Mayo is how much the Dubs will win by. The least I've heard is seven points, the most is twenty five and rising. On the one hand you have the mighty Dubs, unbeaten in years, some lads going for their fourth title and them barely out of nappies and being touted as one of the greatest teams in history. None of the Mayo lads would get on their panel and they are heading for a clean sweep of All Stars. On the other hand you have Mayo, perennial losers of finals, who have stumbled from game to game and are in the final by default. Dublin are such odds on favourites that there are rumours of the bookies paying out on Saturday. None of the usual support is going up on Sunday, the only ones looking for tickets are old fellas , like myself, who want to see Mayo in a final one last time and kids who don't know any better. I heard Mayo had only eleven at training on Tuesday evening as most of the lads are gone back preparing for the club championship. Rochford is in Tenerife on holidays, he booked it after the Galway match, and won't be back till late Friday. This time next year all the talk will be about Dublins three in a row and there won't be any Mayo poster on Hoganstand."
That's more like it, proper talking down of your team. But you know and I know that come Sunday its two of the most consistent teams in the country over the last few years going head to head in a one off match and all the talk of bottle, curses, juggernauts and unbeaten runs counts for naught. I'm really looking forward to the game now as the tension builds as the week progresses, and hopefully we will get a final worthy of the two teams involved, and one decided by football, not a controversy....

AHP (Dublin) - Posts: 323 - 14/09/2016 14:35:54    1914189

Replying To waynoI:  "We wont lose."
Imagine if ye do. What's that like?

Superglue (Kerry) - Posts: 1283 - 14/09/2016 14:41:23    1914194

Replying To Superglue:  "Imagine if ye do. What's that like?"
As you hail from Kerry, we will defer to your expert opinion on the matter of losing.

Jaden (Dublin) - Posts: 139 - 14/09/2016 15:05:03    1914207

Replying To CroiGorm:  "Jaysus Clondalkin. You could ask the circumstances before you get right in there! She's bridesmaid at a wedding in Spain. Considering her ties to this Dublin team do you really think Jackeen would book a holiday by choice the 3rd weekend in September?!"
Back home myself for the week and its actually very quiet over there.
Everyone is hoping they put on a good show against the Dubs because our form going into it suggests we might take a hammering.
Im confident that wont be the case ,but beating the Dubs I cannot see happening.
Dubs by 4/5 points.

Vishred (Mayo) - Posts: 303 - 14/09/2016 16:10:16    1914241

Replying To Superglue:  "Imagine if ye do. What's that like?"
You tell us. You've more experience at losing of late.

CroiGorm (Dublin) - Posts: 1547 - 14/09/2016 17:01:32    1914261

Donegal were worse.

Mayo are more like
What happened to Kerry and Donegal?

tirawleybaron (Mayo) - Posts: 1197 - 14/09/2016 17:58:48    1914297