Hurlers With Potential But Never Quite Made It

dubshurling7

641725 John Reddan for Clare minor captain in 1997, midfield in 98 when Colin Lynch was suspended, midfield in 2002. Nowhere to be seen now
Also Richie Murray has the potential to be the best hurler off this decade

Football for all you Dubs who remember Wayne McCarthy going to be the next Charlie.

John Reddan now playing club hurling in London,he is gone back so much now you would not believe it. He just arrived this year.

stranded (UK) - Posts: 408 - 10/05/2010 19:00:21    642977

County: Limerick

613941 Peter Lawlor and Mark Keane from Limerick

I think its well documented what happened to these great talents.It seems to be a common culture with some limerick hurlers...

stranded (UK) - Posts: 408 - 10/05/2010 19:03:13    642981

What's happened to Kerril Wade? Didn't he figure last year or was it two years ago? Is he still playing with a Galway club? He has buckets of talent.

Oggy (Galway) - Posts: 245 - 10/05/2010 19:04:13    642983

Fair play Fonejacker, you must really know your hurling.
You are 100% right about Thomas Walsh, he is actually a better hurler than a footballer. Saw him a few times for his hurling club and he was quality, but he seems to focus more on the football. Would be a great addition to the Carlow hurlers, but very tough to be a dual player these days it seems.

The Real 1944 (Carlow) - Posts: 1114 - 10/05/2010 19:08:23    642989

Leon O'Connell was a very good hurler but yeah he never was as good at adult level, and is now hurling 2nd or 3rd team with Rathnure. Was a very good free-taker and line-ball expert but his contribution from general play was limited I reckon. Another couple from Rathnure is Richard Flynn and Mick O'Leary, Eddie Cullen from Ferns was another.

Pinkie (Wexford) - Posts: 4100 - 10/05/2010 19:15:44    642997

Oggy apparently Wade was asked to join the Galway panel but he ( unfortunately in my opinion ) refused.Hes is still playing well for Sarsfields in the county championship.Hopefully he will soon see sense.

Barnowl94 (Galway) - Posts: 3150 - 10/05/2010 20:12:59    643069

A nice few names popping up now that i resurected this thread, good to see, Hag and Cheese a few interesting names there especcialy the lad from laois captaining St Kierans college, yet another one i thought of a Kirby lad from Knockainy i think in Limerick, made his debut in 2003 drawn game vs Waterford, was supposed to be a big find for Limerick he was only young as well. He played in the fowards he was placed alongside shaughnessy to be the next great players from limerick, as regards shaughnessy he carried on but he never really lived up to what he could have become either.

fonejacker (Kildare) - Posts: 315 - 10/05/2010 21:09:36    643159

Paul Kennedy from Galway ,good minor and u21 poised for senior team action but just disappeared it seemed around 2000.I heard a rumour he was playing in Roscommon now...

Rossy (UK) - Posts: 86 - 10/05/2010 21:24:58    643179

i know john walsh from laois quite well and he still is a fine hurler. i know im sidetracking here but if anyone watched that Irelands Got Talent show this year,he was in that trad band Na Fianna!!!

probably the biggest lost talent i know of in laois is Dean Delaney from camross. he played in the tony forrestal with laois and was widely acknowledged as one of the best players at the tournament overall. you might remember he was knocked out and stretchered off the field in a county final against castletown when he was 16. and im only after copping it there now but it wasnt long after that that he kind of lost interest in the game, should certainly be playing senior county now.

as regards to fonejacker,andrew o shaughnessy suffered from MS i believe so thats why he's faded away in the last few years unfortunately,it was great to see him play his best all the same.

catch_it_wil_ya (Galway) - Posts: 541 - 11/05/2010 09:35:55    643299

John Devane, Clonoulty Rossmore and Tipperary, just disapeared off the scene
Nigel Skehan, O loughlin Gaels kilkenny, remember him in club championship about 6 years ago, was a great freetaker looked like he was gonna break into kilkenny team at the time, hes gone now though

fonejacker (Kildare) - Posts: 315 - 22/05/2010 13:40:13    655248

catch_it_will_ya

Agree about Dean Delaney being a great talent but wasted it all away himself. A nuisance. County final incidents had no bearing on his demise.

0853658 (Laois) - Posts: 25 - 22/05/2010 14:46:19    655303

what ever happened to Peter Barry from kilkenny won an All Ireland with KK got cleaned out by Mark Kerins in 2001 and never seen on county scene again

dubshurling7 (Dublin) - Posts: 1017 - 01/11/2011 18:29:27    1061590

was 2005 for Peter Barry not 2001 just thought he left the game very early say he must only have been 30ish when he left the county scene

dubshurling7 (Dublin) - Posts: 1017 - 01/11/2011 18:34:28    1061595

when Peter Barry retired he had 7 Leinsters,3 AIs 3 NHL,1 u21 1 AI club championship and 3 All Stars,I would say he fulfilled his potential

mooncat (Kilkenny) - Posts: 533 - 01/11/2011 20:13:30    1061650

2 words: Kerril Wade.. the most outstanding minor I ever seen and I include Joe Canning in that.

Also Mark Gorman and Craig Moloney (Waterford)

deisebhoy (Waterford) - Posts: 416 - 01/11/2011 20:49:14    1061677

Keith Dunne,Kevin OReilly(Dublin)
Enda Flannery,Gearoid Considine,Ronan O'Hara(Clare)
Michael Healy,Diarmuid Cloonan,John Culkin(Galway)
Patrick Kirby,Peter Lawlor,Mark Keane(Limerick)
Bonny Kennedy,Aidan Doyle(Tipperary)

Gael85 (Dublin) - Posts: 1433 - 02/11/2011 10:47:32    1061813

real 44 your on here praising t.walsh now when he went to plat with wicklow a few years ago you were slating him calling him allsorts of names some hypocrite

rats (Carlow) - Posts: 133 - 02/11/2011 11:26:19    1061858

Des Mythen was a real enigma. Had everything to make it and didnt. Think he thought he didnt need to work for it. A real pity as cant help for thinking that these lads will look back in 20-30 years time and wonder why they let it slip. His older brother Johnathan was a mighty underage hurler too but never made it.

Pinkie (Wexford) - Posts: 4100 - 02/11/2011 15:36:47    1062077

wexford also had a smashing minor that was a v good soccer player as well. ducker hawkins? think he had trials with newcastle. was a lovely wingback.

old yellar (None) - Posts: 2625 - 02/11/2011 21:33:45    1062347

i guess about 20 Galway minors with great potential seem to fall
by the way side every year.

4bythenore (Kilkenny) - Posts: 360 - 03/11/2011 19:42:52    1062829