Fair play most lads would be giving out about the ref but your right should have won it anyway.
Tiger1 (Wexford) - Posts: 380 - 24/05/2025 16:41:46 2612063 Link 0 |
Sickening to have a final place robbed away from the players. Nearly 2 minutes over time, should never have been a 65 as Laois player kicked it out of play and then how many were in the square before afterwards. Disgusting. hurlingguru (Carlow) - Posts: 1847 - 24/05/2025 16:43:55 2612064 Link 2 |
You won't see any of that mentioned in the post match reports.
Passer_By (Carlow) - Posts: 537 - 24/05/2025 17:49:50 2612107 Link 0 |
I am giving out about the ref. My previous post wasn't put up for some reason ha ha! Yes we should of been more than 3 points up but there was absolutely no reason for the ref to add on all that time! It's acceptable if there were stoppages in the 3 minutes but there weren't any.
Unusedsub (Carlow) - Posts: 126 - 24/05/2025 18:15:36 2612114 Link 0 |
Swings and roundabouts - in 2023 were awarded a dubious penalty to draw with Laois. saorkick (Dublin) - Posts: 22 - 24/05/2025 18:25:12 2612117 Link 0 |
That is technically a foul according to rule 4.18. Should've been a free to Laois 13 metres in towards the posts. Didn't Mouse Kavanagh score the equalising point against Kilkenny after one of those fouls? Or if not the equaliser than another one?
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16146 - 24/05/2025 18:42:39 2612126 Link 0 |
That was no dubious penalty in 2023, the replay from the RTE cameras showed a clear horsecollar tackle on James Doyle. The only person arguing the penalty at the time was the Laois manager at the time.
hurlingguru (Carlow) - Posts: 1847 - 24/05/2025 18:44:33 2612127 Link 0 |
Carlow should have seen the game out today but these things happen. The rule is at least the time added and most refs will let a final play at the end. I understand there's a video showing that a Laois player kicked the ball out of play for the last 65 which is a bit cruel but that's sport. Felt we were the better team but we wasted a good few goal chances which came back to haunt us. Kevin Mc was immense at the end and I thought our direct style suited the day. By the way im not sure if you've ever seen a video of the "dubious" penalty Carlow got a few years ago but it shows James Doyle catching the ball, then having his jersey pulled before he got taken out head high. About as clear a penalty as you can get but because it was last minute it got labelled as "dubious " carlovia (None) - Posts: 1539 - 24/05/2025 18:51:41 2612131 Link 0 |
Have to disagree there. A penalty in a game from 2 years ago which could be debatable has nothing to do with today's game. And the point stands regarding the extraordinary amount of time added to the already long 3 minutes. Not Laois fault, done and dusted now. Poor by the ref though.
Unusedsub (Carlow) - Posts: 126 - 24/05/2025 18:52:42 2612132 Link 0 |
That's absolutely right, Saorkick - ball kicked away and certainly time added for that. And I suppose when it went for a 65, he had to allow that be taken. burdizzo (Laois) - Posts: 10 - 24/05/2025 18:55:42 2612134 Link 0 |
Is it not the usual 30 seconds added per sub. I thought I was 1 or 2 subs coming in later on, definitely one for Carlow. Once 65 awarded it has to be allowed to be struck. WEXILE (Wexford) - Posts: 418 - 24/05/2025 19:31:36 2612143 Link 0 |
Kildare have peaked at the right time, they have ferocious pace all over the pitch. It will be some final, really looking to two great teams going at it. Past hurler (None) - Posts: 954 - 24/05/2025 20:55:56 2612184 Link 0 |
The work put into hurling in Kildare is really paying off now. They always had a good but small core of clubs but the game becoming popular in Naas and them winning counties has been game changer. Can't see Laois overturning the last day. Be very interesting to see how the lilies might get on in the top tier. Would love to see them progress as much as I would not lose sleep over their footballers ending up playing in Division 4 :-) BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 3576 - 24/05/2025 21:09:55 2612192 Link 0 |
Kildare had 259 youth hurling teams last year. Not that many less than Clare and Wexford. This isn't a flash in the pan.
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16146 - 24/05/2025 22:32:43 2612229 Link 0 |
Kildare are clearly improving but for me sad to say the standard in the 2025 Mcdonagh has been the poorest in it's seven years. Kerry is in disarray, Westmeath has it's worst team since 2004,Carlow are ageing and Down are limited.I don't think Laois are anywhere near where they were in 2019. So well done Kildare but their improvement is arriving as others decline. jobber (Westmeath) - Posts: 1721 - 25/05/2025 08:07:46 2612273 Link 4 |
You make a very good point,jobber. Same thought struck me.
Overthebar53 (Carlow) - Posts: 365 - 25/05/2025 10:38:13 2612285 Link 0 |
A graceless post... I remember Kildare hurling people applauding the progress of Westmeath hurling. Anyway stew in your jealously, we have a Joe McDonagh Final to get ready for
LilywhiteGael (Kildare) - Posts: 122 - 25/05/2025 10:39:39 2612287 Link 3 |
That's some going. Not one of teams currently on same league and championship par would have anything close to that I imagine? Had nephews who were hurling down there. Seems to be very well organised and coached. Steady as they go and as you say unlikely to be just a one off and back down the grades. BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 3576 - 25/05/2025 10:50:34 2612294 Link 0 |
Kerry are in disarray. Westmeath are at your worst as well. Kildare have raised their game though. In recent years there has been a top 4. Down and Kildare or Meath then battling relegation. Kerry have plummeted out of the top 4. Westmeath have fallen from the top 4 standard but are still top 4. Literally between the top 3 and the remainder. Kildare, Laois and Carlow are a clear top 3 this year. legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 8902 - 25/05/2025 11:07:51 2612301 Link 0 |
Well said.
Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 2375 - 25/05/2025 11:42:40 2612312 Link 1 |