Wexford Hurling 2025

Replying To WexMurph:  "A lot of talk on here about lads carrying injuries even some of our best players. But come on we can't keep falling back on that excuse when players have a bad game. Your either fit enough to tog out and play or your not. Seems to be an excuse for players the whole time. Let's hope they've put the Cork game behind them and are building towards a big performance v Tipperary."
This! Unless Wexford are completely threadbare, why are injured players on the bench?
I am a long distance removed but to me, injuries in January are mainly due to overtraining or lack of rest for the body. Every year when playing GAA I was injured in the first month or 6 weeks of training. I had injuries at the end of our last aussie rules season and the physio said to give it 2 months rest and do very little. But then when we go back training in a month or two we will increase the training load gently.
But many GAA players got little or no rest from the end of the club season. I feel GAA teams across the board load the training "make it hard in December and January" and then you get torn hamstrings and twisted ankles and all the other injuries they get.
It seems as an organisation, the GAA is just unable to learn that less is more.

StoreysTash (Wexford) - Posts: 1797 - 29/01/2025 12:54:47    2588341

Replying To countyman2022:  "CBD is one of the most overrated we have had in a long long time."
I'm not sure what you mean. Hes a young lad with potential, no more or less than that. What he does with that potential is up to himself. Who is over rating him?

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 14472 - 29/01/2025 13:13:12    2588347

Replying To countyman2022:  "CBD is one of the most overrated we have had in a long long time."
Harsh.

Possibly fair to say he hasn't fulfilled his potential yet, and it remains to be seen if he will. But he's a young lad, and has time to develop and further adapt to the inter-county game. To call him one of the most overrated in a long time is way too much.

Pikeman96 (Wexford) - Posts: 2672 - 29/01/2025 15:20:36    2588377

Maybe I phrased it incorrectly, over hyped may have been a better term. Apologies. From what I've seen with exception of one occasion, in the county colours there has been little to suggest we have a fantastic talent on our hands. Good solid club player, of course. There is better within the squad to be given opportunities.

countyman2022 (Wexford) - Posts: 760 - 29/01/2025 16:24:39    2588388

Just had a look back at the highlights from the other night.

Cork were super sharp and their first touch was excellent.

But my God we offered up scores very easily.

The negative is we were poor.

The positive is a change in attitude should help an awful lot.

Hopefully we approach Tipp with a bit of bite. They seem to be flying.

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 3312 - 30/01/2025 08:58:40    2588455

Replying To Viking66:  "Agree about Aaron but he has young children and couldn't give the time. Kennedy was very good for them the last 2 years, and they played an excellent short game that he was a big part of."
Absolutely. I believe him to be the best keeper in Wexford.

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 3312 - 30/01/2025 08:59:35    2588456

Colm Parkinson has said on his podcast that chin has joined the Sydney shamrocks WhatsApp group should we look into more than he's just doing training to get sharp.

Wexfordgaa (Wexford) - Posts: 333 - 30/01/2025 10:37:03    2588466

Replying To Wexfordgaa:  "Colm Parkinson has said on his podcast that chin has joined the Sydney shamrocks WhatsApp group should we look into more than he's just doing training to get sharp."
That doesnt sound good lads

Afinestick96 (Wexford) - Posts: 421 - 30/01/2025 11:09:31    2588468

Replying To Wexfordgaa:  "Colm Parkinson has said on his podcast that chin has joined the Sydney shamrocks WhatsApp group should we look into more than he's just doing training to get sharp."
Man just Whatsapp group to get training times etc.....

countyman2022 (Wexford) - Posts: 760 - 30/01/2025 11:41:13    2588470

I wouldn't worry about it if I was you.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 14472 - 30/01/2025 11:43:54    2588472

Replying To countyman2022:  "Man just Whatsapp group to get training times etc....."
Chin is staying in Sydney until the end of March.

Past hurler (None) - Posts: 854 - 30/01/2025 12:55:56    2588484

Replying To Past hurler:  "Chin is staying in Sydney until the end of March."
Thats a hammer blow if true

Afinestick96 (Wexford) - Posts: 421 - 30/01/2025 14:19:18    2588498

Replying To Afinestick96:  "Thats a hammer blow if true"
There's absolutely no way he's not coming back.

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 3312 - 30/01/2025 14:32:20    2588504

Replying To Doylerwex:  "There's absolutely no way he's not coming back."
Even if he does come back the end of March he could be under pressure getting his hurling up to speed its a totally different standard training with Sydney Shamrocks

Afinestick96 (Wexford) - Posts: 421 - 30/01/2025 15:01:08    2588513

Really?!!!! Where did you hear that?

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 14472 - 30/01/2025 15:31:52    2588518

Replying To Afinestick96:  "Thats a hammer blow if true"
It's not

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 14472 - 30/01/2025 15:32:16    2588519

A lot of overreaction here on it - my first reaction was - why is anyone surprised and the second was fair play to him, I hope he is enjoying it all.

zinny (Wexford) - Posts: 1912 - 31/01/2025 02:30:39    2588563

Would Jack o Conner be worth a shout at full forward with the likes of cian byrne breaking off him who has an eye for goal or Rory. He's not the best catcher of the ball but the odd time he does he would be hard to stop so close to goal.

Any word on the appeal for Rory o conner

Wexfordgaa (Wexford) - Posts: 333 - 31/01/2025 09:26:57    2588584

Replying To Wexfordgaa:  "Would Jack o Conner be worth a shout at full forward with the likes of cian byrne breaking off him who has an eye for goal or Rory. He's not the best catcher of the ball but the odd time he does he would be hard to stop so close to goal.

Any word on the appeal for Rory o conner"
He might be but route one isn't really working for us at the minute and is generally easy to defend against in the modern game.

I really think the running game is when we're at our best.

If you look back at our best performances last year and in Egan's time it's all off the shoulder stuff and working the ball.

Trying to do route one against Dublin, Kilkenny second half and Clare is what cost us last year.

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 3312 - 31/01/2025 09:56:34    2588587

Replying To Viking66:  "It's not"
He's back in Wexford.

OpenStandWall (Wexford) - Posts: 175 - 31/01/2025 10:31:41    2588595