Agree 100%. And if he wants next years League off to go back to Oz again I'd be saying absolutely fine with me if I was Keith. His workrate has been really good this year compared to last year, he obviously still has the hunger and appetite for it. Also he's only 32, it's not as if he's old.
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16027 - 26/05/2025 10:52:57 2612660 Link 0 |
Don't forget the famous win in 2017 also which kick started our decent record against them in the last 8/9 years
Purpleandgold72 (Wexford) - Posts: 271 - 26/05/2025 11:21:41 2612669 Link 0 |
Do you really think so? I'd have thought another few years at least yet. He looked fit and fresh yesterday and is playing as well as ever. Of course, only he knows how his body is and how much more it can take.
Purpleandgold72 (Wexford) - Posts: 271 - 26/05/2025 11:32:38 2612675 Link 0 |
100% if Lee wants to travel and come back towards the end of the league Keith should let him do that. He has earned the right to do that with his performances this year alone he's been outstanding and I agree his workrate off the ball has went up this year.
Afinestick96 (Wexford) - Posts: 642 - 26/05/2025 11:33:54 2612677 Link 0 |
Young Joey Tobin is only 15. , won't be 16 till later in the year. He can play junior hurling again next year with his school. He got a few minutes of game time alao on the Good counsel senior team this year as well. Wexfordabu25 (Wexford) - Posts: 5 - 26/05/2025 11:43:25 2612683 Link 0 |
Both those narrow losses were only by a point, the latest with a controversial penalty decision against us. We beat them in the only Leinster Final we played them in, and a Leinster semifinal. We were a little unlucky not to win the other semifinal in normal time also. Apart from that we beat them in Nowlan Park in 2022 when Galway did them a huge favour by beating Dublin, otherwise they wouldn't have made the AI series. I'm sure they tried their hardest to beat us that day, I'm not sure Cody would've wanted to be relying on a flakey Galway side to save their season. The narrative that we only beat them because they aren't trying is just bull####. Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16027 - 26/05/2025 11:47:06 2612686 Link 0 |
Agreed, playing in full back line is often about making good decisions, old rule of the ball or the man can pass you but not both. Their goal yesterday, was that Foley? Running out to attack the ball one hand on hurl and missed it. That's not how to play in the full back line! Keep the forward in front of you and then go for it.
Timbertony (Wexford) - Posts: 422 - 26/05/2025 11:51:05 2612689 Link 0 |
He's looked really really good this year but he really wants to win a county title which is more likely than winning another Leinster with the county team. Maybe rushing off the pitch yesterday was a good sign. If yesterday was his last game I don't think he'd have done that. Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 3669 - 26/05/2025 12:03:30 2612697 Link 0 |
In terms of his hurling Chin is arguably hurling better than he ever has, that's why it would surprise me to hear words about retiring, he definitely has everything that's needed to hurlnwell into his 30's so I hope he's not thinking of retiring. tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1509 - 26/05/2025 12:13:01 2612698 Link 0 |
Wonder will Chin be asked in by the Wexford footballers, they have a big match v Fermanagh on the 1st of June in Croke Park? Past hurler (None) - Posts: 949 - 26/05/2025 12:57:29 2612712 Link 0 |
He's a good prospect for sure. Downey, O'Neill and Cullen all started games this year and are minor again next year also.
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16027 - 26/05/2025 13:22:18 2612726 Link 0 |
Lee chin is an absolute legend of wexford hurling ,up there with all the greats of wexford,owes us absolutely notting!!! He looks so good,but look what happens to him against better teams he's just nullified because teams can just concentrate on him and they more than likely beat us!!! It's time the for a couple of lads to stand up if he is goin to stay and take the load off him!!! I'd say for him looking at division 2 hurling next year wouldn't entice him to stay around,but if we do happen to get a couple of retirements then he will have to stay as I don't think we would have any chance of coming back up without him!!! For a lad that plays hurling full time,it just shows how much effort it takes to be that good fair play to him for doing it!!! I hope when he does finish that he's not forgotten and maybe the county board keep him involved employed to help get the game going here again,he would be a great ambassador for that!!!u21 and senior leinster medal is a really poor return for a generationl talent,we will only truly understand how good he is when he's gone!!! I hope he stays goin till he's 35 or 36 theboys (Wexford) - Posts: 272 - 26/05/2025 13:35:02 2612733 Link 0 |
It really is a full time job to be at the very top for so long! TJ Reid was the same, opened up gyms to get the best out of himself and to the top. I am hopinh Chin will give Wexford another 2-3 years anyway, staying injury free is the key to that happening. Past hurler (None) - Posts: 949 - 26/05/2025 13:53:24 2612740 Link 0 |
Lads in their 18th year were able to play in the adult grades when we had minor at U17. But then people complained that too many weren't ready for it yet and were dropping out instead, so we went back to U18. And now if you want second year minors to play in the adult grades, you face holding up the entire minor championships until the adult ones are finished. You can't play minor matches midweek from about the middle of September onwards, for reasons I've outlined before. And you can't start them any earlier than the end of June, because of the inter-county championships up to May, and then the Leaving Cert after that. There is one option, if the rules allowed (and I'm not sure they do) - just as you can't go back to Junior if your play Senior with your club, have it so that if an 18-year-old moves up to an adult grade, he can't go back to minor. Clubs would be able to decide where the relevant players are most needed and best suited. But I'm realistic enough to know there'd be all sorts of opposition to that idea too. Pikeman96 (Wexford) - Posts: 2888 - 26/05/2025 13:53:40 2612741 Link 0 |
He's actually working as a sales rep now so not full time hurling any more. No doubting his importance to us but he will go some time so we need to be getting important minutes into Redmond and Codd etc. Now. Even if he does keep going I doubt he'll play any part in the league and we have to believe we can get the job done. There's plenty of talent there to come back up. Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 3669 - 26/05/2025 13:58:13 2612746 Link 0 |
No chance id say Lee wants to give his body a break before the hurling club championship
Afinestick96 (Wexford) - Posts: 642 - 26/05/2025 14:06:45 2612752 Link 0 |
Full agree with everything
Afinestick96 (Wexford) - Posts: 642 - 26/05/2025 14:08:24 2612755 Link 0 |
From what ive heard he has dropped 6 or 7kg over the last few years which has helped him stay injury free
Afinestick96 (Wexford) - Posts: 642 - 26/05/2025 14:09:37 2612758 Link 0 |
Beating kk in nothing games will not get u any silverware
Newyorkkat (Kilkenny) - Posts: 160 - 26/05/2025 14:31:04 2612766 Link 1 |
Chin hasn't even played club football these past few years. Am sure he'd do a job for any football team all right, but parachuting him into the county squad now would be a bit much. Pikeman96 (Wexford) - Posts: 2888 - 26/05/2025 14:45:28 2612770 Link 0 |