Got beat to every ball yesterday,tj obviously didn't care because he dropped every ball and was minding himself,couldn't understand why he was playing to be honest!!! Like most people on here you need to come out of the fog!! What did he do in the games that needed to be won when teams are going at it!!! There's your answer,getting away with it for a long time now and I don't know how the subs who are backs are sticking around when he starts day in day out,absolute mystery!!! Obviously he tries hard but just doesn't cut it,a stopper at best,a hurlers no way!!! We have to many stoppers in our defense and not enough hurlers to get the ball up the field fast,no wonder our forwards are struggling to put up good scores!!! That was an nonsense game yesterday kilkenny second team playing nearly our best we were always going to win!!! Some of them kilkenny lads probably won't ever get a game again unless the same situation presents again!! Leave it so lads till next February and see where we are at!!! Retirements or not it won't change anything really our level is exactly where we are at 4th best in leinster bearly hanging onto that really!!!
theboys (Wexford) - Posts: 272 - 26/05/2025 09:19:20 2612606 Link 0 |
Not sure if it's true to say that Simon put TJ in his pocket. Lyng knows how important Reid is to the team and I'd say he wasn't concerned one bit that he didn't do much during the game. They have a leinster final next week and I'm certain TJ will play a major role in it he lad is 37 and he wasn't going to burst his gut and risk injury in a meaningless dead rubber game. Their eyes are firmly fixed on next week and the games to follow. I don't think too many of the cats team yesterday will even make it into the 26. How Lawlor, Mikey Butler, Martin Keoghan sat glued to the bench. Lyng could have played them if he was really wanting to win that game. On Fanning, he made no mistakes yesterday and it's true to say he has had a good year. Can't recall him making any blunders in any game during the season. The lads played well and gave it everything. A win is a win and we'll take it. However when all is said and done we messed up in the earlier games and must now suffer the consequences. Magpie2 (Wexford) - Posts: 501 - 26/05/2025 09:30:07 2612608 Link 0 |
I agree with you regarding young players playing adult level. We have an under 20 county team where a lot of lads havent even played adult for their clubs. How are we supposed to compete against other counties when most of their players have at least one or two years competing against men? I also caught the end of the chat on South East Radio after the match yesterday regarding Wexford Hurling. Billy Byrne pointed that out we need to give young lads the chance to hurl adult at 18 . They also spoke about our under 14 and 15 squads. Over the last few years we have had very good up there with the best in Ireland. Why is it when these lads get to u17 and u20 we seemed to have went backwards?
Afinestick96 (Wexford) - Posts: 642 - 26/05/2025 09:35:56 2612609 Link 0 |
I thought Tj looked very laboured yesterday and looked to have pulled up with his hamstring at the very end.
Afinestick96 (Wexford) - Posts: 642 - 26/05/2025 09:37:22 2612610 Link 0 |
Tj bet him to nearly every ball then he'd drop it or whatever,don't be fooled he's not good enough!! Tj didn't want to be there and if it was a meaningful game donohue was cleaned!! No discussion on this lad anymore,he should move on,and thanks for your service,next man in!!!
theboys (Wexford) - Posts: 272 - 26/05/2025 09:41:38 2612612 Link 1 |
Strange atmosphere in the park yesterday. Was great to see so many kids there but its some shame we wont see the likes of Lee Chin in a Wexford jersey until February now. Thought we worked the ball well. Was shocked at how little Kilkenny offered thought their fringe players would be busting a gut to get into the reckoning for a Leinster final . Thought Niall Murphy did well when he came on and has been unlucky not to get game time this year. Corey looked very good midfield had some brilliant touches . Theres no doubting his skill. He looks to have put a bit more size on and will need to put on more if he is to reach his huge potential. Same with Cian Byrne gets knocked off the ball a lot but hes still only 22. Chin was class the day he retires will be a sad one. I hope we have Rory next year too . Overall a disappointing year but I still cant wait for next year to see us in action again! Afinestick96 (Wexford) - Posts: 642 - 26/05/2025 09:46:46 2612618 Link 0 |
Jesus I hope not he still has so much to offer
Afinestick96 (Wexford) - Posts: 642 - 26/05/2025 10:01:47 2612624 Link 0 |
Oh I'm under no illusions. I said toy daughter alongside me it was a disaster waiting to happen when I saw them side by side but fair play he did well yesterday even though it wasn't the real TJ. Agreed. He's been a great servant and best of luck to him. Actually thought Niall Murphy did well when he came on. Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 3669 - 26/05/2025 10:08:18 2612628 Link 0 |
There's potential for us to lose both Rory and Chin to Australia next year....... I was chatting to Rossi yesterday and I must say I've softened a bit. It's a big task he has the next 2/3 years but I think we can do it. He needs to shake up the backroom team but I'd like to see him finish out the three years. Objective for next year is to give the league every to go back up, then not get relegated in Leinster. For the age/experience level we need performances more than results at the minute. Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 3669 - 26/05/2025 10:11:36 2612630 Link 0 |
I think Jippo retires, wouldn't blame him, seems to be an endless cycle of injuries ElGranSenor (Wexford) - Posts: 556 - 26/05/2025 10:14:43 2612633 Link 0 |
Also, saw it mentioned earlier but combined colleges is a non-runner with four schools hurling in Senior A next year ElGranSenor (Wexford) - Posts: 556 - 26/05/2025 10:16:08 2612636 Link 0 |
TJ only started Championship hurling 2 weeks ago, after returning from injury. He needed game time, especially before the upcoming Leinster final.
Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2810 - 26/05/2025 10:16:39 2612637 Link 0 |
Thought it was strange yesterday there was a load of kids surrounded him and he bolted for the dressing room something id never seen him do before. Credit to him he generally always has loads of time for the kids signing autographs. I hope he can be persuaded to give it at least one more year. I think we need to freshen up the backroom team maybe get a top coach like Mullally or Joe Fortune involved he could be persuaded we can improve next year then get out of 1b and compete for a Leinster final. I would let him do the same as this year let him travel if he wants and come back fresh at the latter end of the league.
Afinestick96 (Wexford) - Posts: 642 - 26/05/2025 10:21:27 2612644 Link 0 |
Yes
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16027 - 26/05/2025 10:33:08 2612648 Link 0 |
TJ hasn't been great this year, and is trying play his way back into form. He still scored 1-1 from play, the most he's scored against us from play in a long time as far as I can remember.
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16027 - 26/05/2025 10:35:20 2612649 Link 0 |
Mark didn't make any bad blunders leading to goals ok, but we cant/don't have a short game on account of his puckouts. TJ pulled up after scoring his goal, and felt his hamstring, Lyng probably left him on too long. They were 12 down as normal time was coming up, no point leaving him on.
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16027 - 26/05/2025 10:38:22 2612651 Link 0 |
Looking at the Sunday game I think fanning caught him with his knee so possibly dead leg
Wexfordgaa (Wexford) - Posts: 366 - 26/05/2025 10:38:37 2612652 Link 0 |
We have done ok at u16 also. After u16 the lads get handed over to whoever the minor management team for that year are.
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16027 - 26/05/2025 10:39:53 2612653 Link 0 |
Hopefully we see Lee in purple and gold in February, he is still our best and most important player for the next few years by a country mile. If we are going to bring guys through and improve he is badly needed!!
FearBeag (Mayo) - Posts: 85 - 26/05/2025 10:41:38 2612655 Link 0 |
Niall Murphy is really under rated I think. He's a proper fullback, a little small maybe, but far better there than a bigger lad who doesn't know how to play the position.
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16027 - 26/05/2025 10:41:41 2612656 Link 0 |