Wexford Hurling 2025

Kilmore winning the B division in Rackard League hurling should be encouraging for everyone in the county, goes to show that good hurlers aren't born, they're made

ElGranSenor (Wexford) - Posts: 556 - 23/05/2025 18:11:25    2611957

Its been as gloom week in terms of Wexford hurling as I can recall and that's honestly saying something. Its the sense of resignation that hurts, we're beyond anger or even hurt and that's really sad BUT as the saying goes 'you can curse the dark or light a candle' and if you have any ability to arrest the decline now is the time to act. If you can train a team do it, is you are training a team, ask yourself how can we do it better, if your team trains once a week, can you move this to twice for the rest of the summer?

wexford2012 (Wexford) - Posts: 104 - 23/05/2025 18:59:51    2611962

In case some posters don't know, the Wexford/ Limerick minor hurling game is live from Thurles on
Tg4 sport. This is a free streaming service.
Just Google Tg4 sport and scroll down to our game.

Magpie2 (Wexford) - Posts: 501 - 23/05/2025 19:21:04    2611964

I see Wickam and Sean O brien both named on the bench for minors.

The seniors have a pretty strong almost full line. Cory Byrne Dunbar starting midfield snd Mike Dwyer full forward. Pretty standard Wexford team

WEXILE (Wexford) - Posts: 415 - 23/05/2025 21:06:39    2611972

Replying To WEXILE:  "I see Wickam and Sean O brien both named on the bench for minors.

The seniors have a pretty strong almost full line. Cory Byrne Dunbar starting midfield snd Mike Dwyer full forward. Pretty standard Wexford team"
I would imagine OBrien will start and Ryan back to no.6. Think Padraig Devereux who's named at 6 is out injured for tomorrow so that'll probably line up. Would like to see Ryan start 11 and O'Brien at 10 or 14 would I'd say they'll ever to Ryan back at 6 in for Devereux. Best of luck of to them. Seen Limerick a few times and they're not a vintage side by any measure so should be an even game and give them every chance.

Throughthemidfieldhewasstormin (Wexford) - Posts: 332 - 23/05/2025 21:35:33    2611974

Replying To WEXILE:  "I see Wickam and Sean O brien both named on the bench for minors.

The seniors have a pretty strong almost full line. Cory Byrne Dunbar starting midfield snd Mike Dwyer full forward. Pretty standard Wexford team"
Yes cant understand why we are not experimenting more we have nothing to lose so why not try out more panel members.

Tiger1 (Wexford) - Posts: 371 - 23/05/2025 21:38:48    2611975

Replying To Tiger1:  "And wheres all our players schooled ?"
Wexford too. Might be a few lads in Carnew, not sure as I'm not up that end very often.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16027 - 23/05/2025 21:42:42    2611977

Replying To Magpie2:  "Hard for most people to be anything other than being depressed viking
You always were the eternal optimist and fair play to you for always seeing the glass half full.
I hate writing depressing stuff. I am overjoyed when we win and hate it when we lose.
The results over the last few years have been dreadful to put it mildly. We are just above
Joe Mac standard.
Maybe, Just maybe we will get our act together soon. Billy Byrne in an interview on South east radio reckons it might be 7 years before we are serious competitors again. Hopefully it won't take that long.
Yeah, going in to the park on Sunday I will feel the same coming out, no matter what happens."
In my lifetime we were serious contenders up to around the time I went to school, and then in the early mid 90s, we weren't really serious contenders for AIs for the rest of it. We got to a few SFs by exceeding expectations, 01, 03, 04, 07. 04 and 19 we only reached one because we won Leinster.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16027 - 23/05/2025 21:46:23    2611978

Replying To ElGranSenor:  "Kilmore winning the B division in Rackard League hurling should be encouraging for everyone in the county, goes to show that good hurlers aren't born, they're made"
Excellent approach to hurling in that school. They beat Rathangan who got to the Roinn A final by around 6 points in a challenge game a couple days before that B final also.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16027 - 23/05/2025 21:49:40    2611979

Replying To Slowandshortsighted:  "Its hard to believe the curtain will come on the year sunday. The summer has barely started. The dissapointing thing about looking ahead the next 2 or 3 years kk are a nice bit of everyone in leinster, dublin are the second best team in leinster. Underage hurling is going well in dublin. Galway are galway but are probably 3rd. Theres not a whole lot between offally and wexford as the result proved the other day so the objective will be to blood lads in division 2 and get them up to speed. Keeping lee chin fit and on the field is a must. He will probably give another 2 or 3 years if he is able.
There wont be much intrest in this match from the outside. You have the few diehards from both counties that will be it. I think supporters would be happier see something different this weekend. New goalie,a few positional chages and a few newer lads. A team with an eye on the future. Theres a minority here who are happy enough once kk get bet and it papers over a load of cracks. That doesnt apply to everyone.
Just having a look at the kk team and its a team wexford should definitely be beating and restore a bit of pride. From my reckoning theres 4 or 5 starting who are in and out of the 26 but wont get near the squad at the business end.when they get back eoin cody and shane murphy from injury. Eoghan lyng and marty murphy from the u20 are also involved.. i think the players will be anxious to gibemmm and express themselves
I hear jowlellllllĺl"
You mention there's not much between Wexford and Offaly, yet their game with Dublin was exactly the same.

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 3669 - 23/05/2025 23:19:10    2611985

If Wexford don't get there act together soon the likes of Kildare may replace us in Leinster hurling, that's the sad reality. Imagine that a football county replacing us. But they've a huge population and the game seems to be growing there. They bet us in u21 a few years ago. We need to arrest our decline rapidly but I can't see it with the likes of Chin running out of road and nothing behind him.

WexMurph (Wexford) - Posts: 279 - 23/05/2025 23:19:55    2611986

Replying To wexford2012:  "Its been as gloom week in terms of Wexford hurling as I can recall and that's honestly saying something. Its the sense of resignation that hurts, we're beyond anger or even hurt and that's really sad BUT as the saying goes 'you can curse the dark or light a candle' and if you have any ability to arrest the decline now is the time to act. If you can train a team do it, is you are training a team, ask yourself how can we do it better, if your team trains once a week, can you move this to twice for the rest of the summer?"
That's the spirit wexford 2012

Magpie2 (Wexford) - Posts: 501 - 24/05/2025 04:47:38    2611992

Replying To Throughthemidfieldhewasstormin:  "I would imagine OBrien will start and Ryan back to no.6. Think Padraig Devereux who's named at 6 is out injured for tomorrow so that'll probably line up. Would like to see Ryan start 11 and O'Brien at 10 or 14 would I'd say they'll ever to Ryan back at 6 in for Devereux. Best of luck of to them. Seen Limerick a few times and they're not a vintage side by any measure so should be an even game and give them every chance."
I hope not. Ryan's not a 6. He's always been a forward.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16027 - 24/05/2025 07:46:30    2611994

Replying To WexMurph:  "If Wexford don't get there act together soon the likes of Kildare may replace us in Leinster hurling, that's the sad reality. Imagine that a football county replacing us. But they've a huge population and the game seems to be growing there. They bet us in u21 a few years ago. We need to arrest our decline rapidly but I can't see it with the likes of Chin running out of road and nothing behind him."
There's plenty behind him, just not many who look outstanding yet. But then hw didnt look as great as he is now til he was 24/5 himself.
All the lads on our Senior team played on underage teams that routinely beat teams from the middle tier counties on the way up. Our minors and u20s beat Dublins this year, and the u20s have often beaten them over the last few years..
We have 10 lads in the 21/22 age group or younger picked for tomorrow, 6 starting and 4 on the bench. That's way more than the so called experimental Kilkenny team have tomorrow. Most of those lads played on the u20 team that came very close to beating the only good Offaly team Offaly had in years too in a Leinster final.
Yes it was a disappointing year, but some of the comments like "arrest our decline" are way over the top. We aren't declining, we are pretty much where we always were. We need to up our game and start competing with the better counties more consistently, not arrest any decline.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16027 - 24/05/2025 07:59:36    2611996

Replying To WexMurph:  "If Wexford don't get there act together soon the likes of Kildare may replace us in Leinster hurling, that's the sad reality. Imagine that a football county replacing us. But they've a huge population and the game seems to be growing there. They bet us in u21 a few years ago. We need to arrest our decline rapidly but I can't see it with the likes of Chin running out of road and nothing behind him."
A bit of a long shot that Kildare, if they are promoted would survive in the top tier tbh.
Take Laois, westmeath and Carlow. They were all promoted in the last few years but subsequently went straight back down to the Joe Mac.
It would be great for hurling if the likes of Kildare or any of the above named teams could manage to stay up but realistically it won't happen.
Yo yoing will continue into the foreseeable.
When they are promoted the bar is inevitably raised too many notches and they suffer heavy defeats against the top tier sides.
Offaly are the only team that will in the next few years manage to stay up in leinster.
They may of course lose to Antrim in the relegation game and then it'll be back down again.
However I expect them to win and play with the so called big boys again next year.
I know it's been said many times but it's ridiculous that munster has no jeopardy!!!! All teams survive no matter how bad their season is. How crazy is that????

Magpie2 (Wexford) - Posts: 501 - 24/05/2025 10:56:11    2612006

Replying To Magpie2:  "A bit of a long shot that Kildare, if they are promoted would survive in the top tier tbh.
Take Laois, westmeath and Carlow. They were all promoted in the last few years but subsequently went straight back down to the Joe Mac.
It would be great for hurling if the likes of Kildare or any of the above named teams could manage to stay up but realistically it won't happen.
Yo yoing will continue into the foreseeable.
When they are promoted the bar is inevitably raised too many notches and they suffer heavy defeats against the top tier sides.
Offaly are the only team that will in the next few years manage to stay up in leinster.
They may of course lose to Antrim in the relegation game and then it'll be back down again.
However I expect them to win and play with the so called big boys again next year.
I know it's been said many times but it's ridiculous that munster has no jeopardy!!!! All teams survive no matter how bad their season is. How crazy is that????"
"Take Laois, Westmeath and Carlow. They were all promoted in the last few years but subsequently went straight back down to the Joe Mac. It would be great for hurling if the likes of Kildare or any of the above named teams could manage to stay up but realistically it won't happen."

Two years ago, Westmeath were very close to staying up, with Wexford being relegated.

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2810 - 24/05/2025 11:28:40    2612010

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  ""Take Laois, Westmeath and Carlow. They were all promoted in the last few years but subsequently went straight back down to the Joe Mac. It would be great for hurling if the likes of Kildare or any of the above named teams could manage to stay up but realistically it won't happen."

Two years ago, Westmeath were very close to staying up, with Wexford being relegated."
Every year since there were 6 counties in Leinster whoever goes down is very close to staying up. Carlow were very close to staying up last year until the red card, and whoever goes down this year will have been very close to staying up, just one game away from it. Having 6 counties in it was a better way at the time of reducing the yo-yoing.
If the middle tier Leinster counties continue to improve I think 2 groups of 5 might be the way forward, and put Kerry back in the Munster Championship, possibly Galway also if there are too many in Leinster in years to come.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16027 - 24/05/2025 12:37:42    2612018

Replying To Viking66:  "There's plenty behind him, just not many who look outstanding yet. But then hw didnt look as great as he is now til he was 24/5 himself.
All the lads on our Senior team played on underage teams that routinely beat teams from the middle tier counties on the way up. Our minors and u20s beat Dublins this year, and the u20s have often beaten them over the last few years..
We have 10 lads in the 21/22 age group or younger picked for tomorrow, 6 starting and 4 on the bench. That's way more than the so called experimental Kilkenny team have tomorrow. Most of those lads played on the u20 team that came very close to beating the only good Offaly team Offaly had in years too in a Leinster final.
Yes it was a disappointing year, but some of the comments like "arrest our decline" are way over the top. We aren't declining, we are pretty much where we always were. We need to up our game and start competing with the better counties more consistently, not arrest any decline."
That is the reality.

Right now we're still suffering the Davy hangover where no players were developed during his tenure.

In another 2-5 years the lads you're talking about will have developed loads with a bit of luck

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 3669 - 24/05/2025 12:55:23    2612021

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  ""Take Laois, Westmeath and Carlow. They were all promoted in the last few years but subsequently went straight back down to the Joe Mac. It would be great for hurling if the likes of Kildare or any of the above named teams could manage to stay up but realistically it won't happen."

Two years ago, Westmeath were very close to staying up, with Wexford being relegated."
Yes but they didn't stay up and look
At them now. They are in 4th place out of six teams and are level on points with the 2 bottom teams , who are Kerry and Down if memory serves me well. Had westmeath managed to stay up that year it would only mean postponing the inevitable based on their current standing, winning one game from four with only 2 points.
We were lucky that year and are still struggling somewhat but with one weaker team going up each year its unlikely we will drop down anytime soon.

Magpie2 (Wexford) - Posts: 501 - 24/05/2025 13:03:34    2612022

Replying To Doylerwex:  "You mention there's not much between Wexford and Offaly, yet their game with Dublin was exactly the same."
It was close that night alright and a controversial free in the league gave offally the win and helped get promotion. Imo dublin are a better team than offally. They have reached a couple of leinster finals and doing lots of work underage. I didnt think they would do aswell without eoghan o donnelll and their defense have being concededing goals but the fowards are scoring freely something that always caught them out.
This is all only my opinion but offally will no doubt improve and getting promotion already is great progress. Wexford team is going the other way and fanning,ryan,donohoe,chin and kevin foley are all coming to the end. County board wanted to go back to a wexford man and i think that was the right idea. You wont find anyone more wexford then keith. Jason ryan got the ballygunner job so maybe he will go but a few fresh selectors would be no harm. I was dissapointed how slow they responded in parnell park and playing a sweeper with the wind and no putting someone on mannion. Shane cried off before throw in very unlucky but someone had to go after mannion it was discussed for the week. Keith was over the u20 for a couple of years but i was expecting more youth to push established players.rory jacob was saying not many would of wanted the wexford job because its going the wrong way and it will take 4 or 5 years to build a new team. Division 2 will definitely help blood lads next year. Wexford playing for pride tomor and after seeing the kk team id be very confident a big performance for their supporters and for themselves. Its very much a changed kk team. No one will be more disappointed than the wexford players how the year went

Slowandshortsighted (UK) - Posts: 70 - 24/05/2025 13:26:03    2612023