Wexford Club Hurling Championship.

Serious questions need to be asked of the county board in the off season by clubs from what has transpired in the last few weeks in particular by Bunclody and Fethard.

Is there any word on if Bunclody are lodging an appeal to the Leinster council?

OpenStandWall (Wexford) - Posts: 142 - 16/10/2024 12:08:54    2575261

Replying To Viking66:  "The CCC do it for u14s upwards. They have to do the adult fixtures also. None of them are paid to do it. Games Development organise the u12s downwards. Thankless job if ever there was one."
There's actually a separate CCC for Coiste na nOg fixtures at U14, U16 and U18.

You're correct that the Coaching Office organises the U12 Leagues and the Go Games for younger groups.

As for St. Patrick's Park, I think the main issue there is one man who won't listen to the Co. Board no matter how often he's told something, and not the Co. Board itself.

Pikeman96 (Wexford) - Posts: 2553 - 16/10/2024 12:37:45    2575272

Replying To OpenStandWall:  "Serious questions need to be asked of the county board in the off season by clubs from what has transpired in the last few weeks in particular by Bunclody and Fethard.

Is there any word on if Bunclody are lodging an appeal to the Leinster council?"
What type of questions need to be asked? .. Based on what we are seeing the referee is stating that he overruled a score in the first half of extra time that the umpires didn't seem to acknowledge and therefore his score is correct. Hard to blame the county board for that.

I do think the fairest option is a replay

MyOhMi (Wexford) - Posts: 149 - 16/10/2024 12:44:36    2575274

Replying To OpenStandWall:  "Serious questions need to be asked of the county board in the off season by clubs from what has transpired in the last few weeks in particular by Bunclody and Fethard.

Is there any word on if Bunclody are lodging an appeal to the Leinster council?"
Why the County Board? The referee isn't on the Board. And you are forgetting St. James, who now have to wait to see what happens as well. And whoever wins Intermediate is likely to miss out on Leinster.
There are serious issues with refereeing standards OK, but these aren't easy to address. To put it simply, anyone can become a ref because so few people want to be one. All they have to do is go on a course. And after they do the course they seem to be nearly untouchable, no matter how many mistakes they make. They don't have to apologise, explain decisions, correct errors etc. And then everyone blames society for the abuse GAA referees get compared to other sports, which are all played and watched by people from the same society, and in the case of soccer in rural areas by alot of the same players.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 13600 - 16/10/2024 13:03:09    2575279

Replying To Pikeman96:  "There's actually a separate CCC for Coiste na nOg fixtures at U14, U16 and U18.

You're correct that the Coaching Office organises the U12 Leagues and the Go Games for younger groups.

As for St. Patrick's Park, I think the main issue there is one man who won't listen to the Co. Board no matter how often he's told something, and not the Co. Board itself."
Ah ok Pikeman. I've dealt with the same people to do with issues to do with both, so assumed there was only one. Fair play to them for doing the 2 jobs!

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 13600 - 16/10/2024 13:04:45    2575280

Just one small point, Jenkins said the final score after normal time was 1.21 to 2.18. He says Bunclody got 1.3 and Fethard got 6 in extra time to leave it 1.27 to 3.21.

He said he disallowed a Fethard point. Every report that was there had Fethard scoring 1.27. He didn't disallow a Fethard point, he has given Bunclody one extra. The score at full time was 1.20 to 2.17, that's on record and 100% fact. The reports on twitter and at the game prove that. So his own report or clarification letter is totally wrong and shows him up. Bunclody were asked if they'd offer a replay and refused. Now it's gone against them. They knew leaving the ground they didn't win.

james2011 (Wexford) - Posts: 612 - 16/10/2024 13:21:31    2575288

Replying To Pikeman96:  "Ah, the old chestnut about U21. As I've stated before, it's a problem grade, no matter what you do.

- Can't play it in the early part of the year due to how clubs would be without their county players.
- Play it midweek in the summer, alongside the adult championships, and adult team managers aren't happy.
- Leave it until the adult championships are finished, and there are complaints about "leaving lads sitting around all year, and then making them play in these conditions"
- Do like the last couple of years, with the early rounds midweek in summer and then finishing it after the adult championships, and you get the worst of both worlds.

Even a 4G pitch for matches wouldn't solve everything. Firstly, if there was only one - and there's unlikely to ever be a stack of them, any time soon anyway! - then there might have to be six or eight matches on it a day. You could have a throw-in time of 9 a.m. on a frosty November or December morning for the first of them.

Secondly, you'd still be training on an ordinary pitch with floodlights during the week for those matches. So playing on soggy wet ground for training, and then a completely different surface for a match a few days later."
I only meant that u21 reference as an example of how bad playing hurling is in November and December. There is zero fun in it. But if it was on a better pitch (e.g. 4G), it could be so much better.
We trained for Aussie Rules on an astroturf pitch when the weather was bad in the winter and it was a world apart from a boggy pitch we ended up playing on some weekends. It made the training so much more fun.

StoreysTash (Wexford) - Posts: 1780 - 16/10/2024 13:48:31    2575292

Replying To Viking66:  "
Replying To zinny:  "[quote=Viking66:  "[quote=zinny:  "[quote=Pikeman96:  "I notice that the statement from Wexford GAA includes this bit:
Furthermore, during the course of extra time, there was no evidence of any score being cancelled or disallowed by the referee and/or his officials.

Crossing the flags is supposed to happen if a "point" is being disallowed, same as a goal. So I'm taking it to mean that the video didn't show flags being crossed. Which then means that if the referee says he overruled a "point", but he didn't tell the umpires to cross the flags to signify this, he's in a way saying "I didn't perform my duties properly".

No idea how that stuff from the referee ended up with that Sports News Ireland Twitter account, but I believe there are a couple of Wexford lads involved with Sports News Ireland. They'd also be involved with GAA, but wouldn't be County Board officers or members of the CCC. Possible that they got the thing directly from the referee, because I don't see who else would have it.

Haven't heard anything about how other refs feel about the whole thing."
The referee has the power to determine if it was a point or not and he does not need to consult with the umpires. The crossing of the flags relate to the umpires and their duties in respect to their decisions. There is a disconnect in the rules - the referee has the duty to keep the score, the power to overrule the umpire but in doing that he is not obliged to consult with the umpire or tell them to overrule their decision and therefore cross the flags. Of course that may be what should be intended but its not what is written"
A referee has to tell them to cross the flags if they raise a flag and he then disallows the score. I've seen that rule played out numerous times. Otherwise how will the players, management, press and spectators know what the score is?
Likewise if they don't give a point and the referee overrules them he instructs them to put up a flag. They then wave it."]He doesn't have to tell them anything according to the rules - that may be best practice but not a rule. The umpire has a power to decide if its a score and a duty to raise the crossed flags if he decides to cancel the score.
The ref can overule umpire and may or may not even discuss it as he is certain of his decision. He has no duty to tell the umpire either. So where the ref is certain of his decision nothing more is needed, if he is not then he discusses with the umpire and makes a decision - if it changes the initial decision by the umpire he is not required to tell the umpire to do anything. The refs letter was factually correct."]I can't see how you are right there Zinny. So what you are saying there is that a referee has the power to determine the result of a game without anyone else in the ground being aware of the result the referee has determined? In this instance everybody in the ground had the same different score to the referee, including his own linesmen, umpires, and the Bunclody stats man.
That's some power to give one man."]*****

Well in a lot of games when you have no neutral umpires and linesmen that's what exactly happens. However I do not see a problem with the powers of the ref as most sports they have exactly the same power but how they exercise those powers is the problem. There has to be a duty placed on the ref to communicate with his umpires.

How may times have you seen in games where there are no neutral umpires the umpire raise his hand for a point there may or may not be a flag, and the ref signal wide and that's the end of it. People watching the game see the ref doing it and accept it. However people expect more when there are six other neutral officials watching the game.

zinny (Wexford) - Posts: 1893 - 16/10/2024 13:50:28    2575294

Zinny, surely they'd be entitled to expect more. At an u12 game if a young lad or slightly biased parent doing umpire puts his hand up for a point, the referee often over rules it. But as you say, he'd always indicate a wide himself.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 13600 - 16/10/2024 14:42:01    2575306

do we know if bunclody went and appealed to leinster council?

ontheball247 (UK) - Posts: 18 - 16/10/2024 15:38:19    2575322

The word is they have and have solicitors involved

lefty (Wexford) - Posts: 213 - 16/10/2024 16:06:20    2575329

Replying To james2011:  "Just one small point, Jenkins said the final score after normal time was 1.21 to 2.18. He says Bunclody got 1.3 and Fethard got 6 in extra time to leave it 1.27 to 3.21.

He said he disallowed a Fethard point. Every report that was there had Fethard scoring 1.27. He didn't disallow a Fethard point, he has given Bunclody one extra. The score at full time was 1.20 to 2.17, that's on record and 100% fact. The reports on twitter and at the game prove that. So his own report or clarification letter is totally wrong and shows him up. Bunclody were asked if they'd offer a replay and refused. Now it's gone against them. They knew leaving the ground they didn't win."
https://m.independent.ie/regionals/wexford/sport/gaa/fethard-lodging-objection-after-hwh-bunclody-win-on-penalties-in-controversial-circumstances/a1839261759.html
I watched a game with Michael before, he's very thorough with his stats. He had the final score 1-27 to 3-20 as well.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 13600 - 16/10/2024 16:14:51    2575333

Replying To lefty:  "The word is they have and have solicitors involved"
Any idea what the grounds for the appeal are?

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 13600 - 16/10/2024 16:33:41    2575336

Regardless of the accuracy, does the referee not have the final say?
If he says penalties, then that's gone previous is deemed to be a draw, right or wrong.
There's no winners in this situation. Just unfortunate. The GAA are very poor at taking control when stuff like this happens. Not surprised to hear solicitors are involved.

Ban (Westmeath) - Posts: 1463 - 16/10/2024 16:44:49    2575338

Replying To countyman2022:  "I see we are now making u-16's warm up in car parks using car lights as floodlights before co finals? This Co Board is at rock bottom."
It's an absolute disgrace.

Not even just clubs, wicklow ans wexford minor footballers had to do the same this year warming up for an intercounty championship game in a car park whilst cars drove around them.

Literally what is it going to take, someone to get seriously hurt? A player to be hit by a car?

tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1418 - 16/10/2024 18:46:42    2575365

People are over thinking this and getting way too complicated.

The fact of the matter is that Fethard scored more than Bunclody. The referee made an error in recording the scoreline. The rules allow for the county board to correct that error. Therefore Fethard have been correctly declared winners.

Onfor15 (Wexford) - Posts: 531 - 16/10/2024 19:08:24    2575371

Replying To lefty:  "The word is they have and have solicitors involved"
Solicitors involved? Oh dear. It's exactly one month to start of the Leinster Senior Hurling Championship.
There might not be a representative from Wexford, the way this is developing.

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2649 - 16/10/2024 20:50:34    2575387

Replying To Onfor15:  "People are over thinking this and getting way too complicated.

The fact of the matter is that Fethard scored more than Bunclody. The referee made an error in recording the scoreline. The rules allow for the county board to correct that error. Therefore Fethard have been correctly declared winners."
I disagree. This sets a precedent, we've had many games over the years where scores weren't recorded by the referee because an umpire waved a point wide, or games where wides where given as a score. Never before has the result of a game been overturned because of the scores recorded.

Only last month, Oylegate and Gusserane played an U16 Camoige County Final. The game finished level in normal time with Gusserane winning in extra time. However during normal time Gusserane were awarded a point by the umpire that was at least 1 foot wide, this was obvious to everyone at the game and highlighted to the referee by the Oylegate manager when it happened and again at half time. Are you now saying at if we had the luxury of video evidence that the result of this County final should be overturned and awarded to Oylegate as they technically won by one point.

WEX98 (Wexford) - Posts: 458 - 16/10/2024 21:46:32    2575399

Replying To Viking66:  "https://m.independent.ie/regionals/wexford/sport/gaa/fethard-lodging-objection-after-hwh-bunclody-win-on-penalties-in-controversial-circumstances/a1839261759.html
I watched a game with Michael before, he's very thorough with his stats. He had the final score 1-27 to 3-20 as well."
Have just spotted an anomaly myself, if the actual real score at the end of extra time was 1-27 to 3-20 in favour of Fethard, rather than the 1-27 to 3-21 "draw" that the referee declared.

According to the statement from Wexford GAA, the CCC declared the final score to be 1-28 to 3-21, so now that's incorrect too if the real final score was 1-27 to 3-20.

Bunclody might have some course of appeal there, by saying that the CCC verdict was itself wrong. However, most likely outcome from that one might be for Leinster to just send the matter back to Wexford to deal with again, and for our CCC to then correctly (apparently) declare it 1-27 to 3-20 instead. End result would be the same, with Fethard going through and Bunclody going out, but Bunclody might try that tactic anyway in the hope that Leinster sets aside the Wexford verdict completely, and decides that the result as declared by the referee should stand.

But to the best of my knowledge, Fethard would still have a right to appeal that decision, and so it still wouldn't be the end of it.

Pikeman96 (Wexford) - Posts: 2553 - 16/10/2024 21:56:15    2575400

Replying To Formertownie:  "Weekend games
Senior
Shels v c/beg shels by 8
Rapps v annes anners by 5
Martins v ferns win for martins by 3
Hars v gorey draw win for gorey extra time
Intermediate
Rath v Rocks Rath by 10+
Bunclody v fethard draw fethard after extra time
James v horeswood James by 4
Alley v askamore . Askamore by 2 can't believe I m actually typing that one."
Just looking back at predictions for 1/4 finals .
All quite close or right . Bar alley even then I did nt trust my judgement . And gorey winning in normal tome not extra time
Depending on.the appeal by bunclody now . It's as hard to call now as it was then who will go through

Formertownie (Wexford) - Posts: 292 - 16/10/2024 22:03:14    2575401